Silhouette the Atelier

pinkcupcake

Hi ILJC,

Glad to finally see a positive feedback from Poppy. Any photos to show? would like to have an idea how their bouquets are like.

monkeymuffin

jac, Caroline did not arrange with me a date for my next appt yet. She mentioned tt it'll be sometime in May. What about yours ??!!

Actually my wedding prep seems to have come to a sudden standstill. not doing any much lately except reading a few threads on the forum. Perhaps because i'm too depressed abt housing problem

gingerbread_gal

Monkeymuffin,
Caroline didn't make appt with me too. She said to call her sometime in May to fix a date for first fitting and trial. Guess our fitting dates will be close to each other!

You are upset over housing?? Me too!!! You trying for HDB flats? I'm so disappointed and upset over the HDB flats stuff!

monkeymuffin

Ha,
our timing quite similar, perhaps we should do fitting back to back, so tt we can give each other comments, hee.

ya, I'm SOOOO irritated by HDB

btw, you got MSN?

simplebridetobe

Thanks for your email, Midas!

Thaks for your respond, Tonya & momkeymuffin!

Sorry was away from this thread cos I was busy scouting for my venue. Now that its been settled, I can start my gown hunting. Glad to hear such good comments abt Sil & Poppy too.

shermie

Ladies, I am thinking of getting a OTR WG from Siloutte, but package seems ex. No EG, only WG OTR, Men's suit and the other usual for makeup, flowers etc for $3580. Can anyone share their experience/package? Thanks

fortunemew

i juz sign up with Silhouette.. hopefully all things will go well. :eek:) some of the beautiful gowns which i really like are already chosen by other brides already.. hai, i come too late! :p

gingerbread_gal

Hi fortunemew,
welcome here! What type of gown did you get? I think the thing abt Sil is they frequently update their OTR gowns. I'm sure you've got a lovely gown too

binmao

Hi gals, I like Silhouette because they do not share gowns. I quite of like regret not knowing this boutique's existence earlier. Had signed up with one of the Tanjong Pagar bridal but got my evening gown from Silhouette. Their wedding dresses are very new and fashion forward and their evening gowns are classy.

Try asking them for discount because they are quite nice when they realised I am really interest. I bought my eveing gown at $400 lesser after persuading the designer.

633576.jpg

pinkcupcake

HI Jaime, did you buy this evening gown? I was there last week and when my sis and i saw it, we thought it was very, very pretty! the rainbow coloured fabric is a very refreshing change from the usual gowns. If you have bought it, i must say "good taste!

gingerbread_gal

Jaime,
This is a lovely gown!! Love the colours! Do you mind sharing who's the designer and the price? PM me?

sigh, disappointed that Sil won't be having a bridal show anytime soon

fortunemew

hi Jac, i got a heavy netting ballerina ballgown with floral lace deco behind, i think at least got 6 nettings..!! that is the speciality of Silhouette....they produce quality and beautiful gowns...despite the fact that gowns with lots of netting are hard to maintain. The netting will become kinda of "soft" after dry clean,so the designers told us normally they don't let a 2nd bride wear the gown for AD again (unless they insist) as the condition is not as good. Finally i understand why the package is more x, but they give good service and quality gowns. kenji is so nice and paitent, n he is a great designer!

jaime, ya i saw your evening gown there too! so it is yours.. hee.. :eek:)

gingerbread_gal

Hi fortunemew,
Do you mean you got a tulle gown??
Is yes, then we've got a similar typpe of gown cos mine is tulle too...7 layers of tulle! So dreamy and romantic!
And yep, the OTR gowns are first-hand too...

Will you be taking pre-wedding PS? If so, will you be wearing your tulle gown for outdoor PS?

fortunemew

hi jac, sorry i am not good with terms used on a gown. yes i mean tulle gown. i love it.
Kenji is even okie to change the neckline to be more "sweetheart" for me. hee. that is the reason why i go to Silhouette, they have the best quality tulle gowns.

yesterday i saw a bride doing trial make-up and wearing the Beautiful series gown which was advertised in their previous poster... so envy ah....cos i also like that gown!
(not sure if the lady i see is in this forum too?).

i forget to ask Kenji yesterday if i can have another gown for outdoor shoot....cos our gowns will be very heavy....i worry i end up sweating n look tired in photos.. hahaa. anyway, if end up wearing my own gown for outdoor shoot, i dont think i want to go places like lalang field or beach...scare my gown will get too dirty..

man_d

hey gals! may I know if anyone has been to Silhouette recently and have information of their latest package?

Also, do they tie in with any pro photographers?

for pre-wedding photography.. how do you gals go about doing it? like how does the make up artist work with outside photographers? and do u wear the actual gown for the PS?

will appreciate if you guys is able to provide any information... [email protected]

tracie81_sg

Hi fortunemew,
I think you saw me doing the trial makeup on last Tuesday evening =)I was wearing the Beautiful gown which is featured on the poster on the couch.. hee.
Initially, Silhouette wasn't on my list of BS to visit when I was first looking for the gown (cos I shortlist based on website.. haha).. then my friend showed me the Beautiful picture and said that I will love it.. and indeed, I do... Silhouette's tulle gowns take my breath away!! The new season, I think it's called Lovely, also have really beautiful tulle gowns... i wanna wear all of them!! the design and quality and handiwork is really in a class of its own... =)

Anyway fortunemew, I just went for my PS last Sunday with the gown. Wore it from 12 to 7.. Actually, for me, it's not the weight but more of the length that u have to worry about... it's really really long and u have to get a friend to help u with it.. and going to the washroom is a major problem (must ensure dun drink too much water =D).. I think u still can take outdoor shoot with the gown. i went to labrador park... (although we wanted to go Keppel Bay the new bridge, but that's out of bounds apparently - kena chased away by the guard) but u must be really really careful that u dun go to muddy places as the tulle can't be washed.. and becos it is fragile and easy to tear, also must be really careful not to step on it.. that's what I did a couple of times, cos it's too long i can't see my own feet! felt very guilty and heartpain as some of the ends are a bit torn.. luckily, Minda was really nice and didn't scold us.. =)

I guess it would depend on many factors whether u want to wear the tulle gown out. If u are like me, want to have memories of the beautiful gown, then i think the locations can be decided together with Kenji and ur PG =)

tracie81_sg

Hi Mandy,
Silhouette's packages usually include a wedding gown, evening gown (optional), flowers and make-up (4 times). I think u would have to call them for the pricing =)
They also tie in with quite a good range of photographers (AD and pre-wedding).. like Gilbert =)
We chose Gilbert for our pre-wedding (although he ties up with Silhouette only for AD - he can't make it for our AD =()and our MUA is Amy (Highly recommeneded!!) who ties up with the BS.. So what happen is that a location is decided with the MUA on where to begin the makeup..after that she will teach u how to touch up and then u are off for your PS! simple as that! =)
If you choose Silhouette, u definitely won't regret it! Although they are pricier than than those one-stop BS, their gowns are very much more elaborate and their service is great! It's worth it =)

gingerbread_gal

Hi Tracy,
Thanks for sharing your experience! Oh, so it was alright to wear the tulle gown out? I'm quite worried abt it...Cos its so delicate then my designer was saying better dun go to places where there's grass, branches etc.....

Hope you can share with us your PS pics when they are ready

fortunemew

Hi Tracy, so gald to know u are in the forum! so i "met" you again....hee. not sure u remember, there is this girl in dark purple top n black pant, go ard seeing you n other girl doing trial make up....cos i am trying to see which MUA is more suitable for me..! congrats that you choose the Beautiful gown....on your wedding day, u definitely will impress everyone...yes it is breath-taking. =)

thanks for sharing ur PS experience, after reading ur msg here, i call Kenji n ask him if i can wear other gowns for outside shoots. He said OK, but need to see wat gowns he had left.

i am quite a clumsy girl so definitely if i wear my tulle gown, i think i will had some of the ends torn, like wat u mention. moreover i am a nature lover..! i also guess it, wearing such a tulle gown..definitely cannot go places like lalang field, or beach.... i love the Sentosa big tree area where it is a fav spot for bridal photo shoot...it is juz grass area there....not sure how it will dirty my gown...

dun think i can get a friend to hold my gown all the way in the photoshoot.... it's okie, i ask my hubby-to-be to hold for me...
ya lor, going to toilet will be quite a major issue on PS day...

when is ur AD date? =)

tracie81_sg

Hi Jac and Fortunemew,

Dun mention at all.. I would definitely share my PS pics once they are done.. Hope it would be soon! heh heh...

Yep, I think if majority of your shots are going to be outdoor (eg. beach/fields), then there is a higher chance that the tulle gown may be torn... maybe can do half the shots with the tulle gown in a museum or something (the effect is very grand, and focus is alot more on the gown) and the other half outdoootr (maybe a few shots with the tulle then the rest with EG/casual wear maybe?)

I think if a friend can help u that day, it would be really good.. for u and ur huubby.. i had a friend helping me with the gown and touching up of makeup and holding a small fan, and my bf has two friends who help with moving the stuff around (we need to move some furniture for the PS and also the gowns and suits can be really bulky).. despite so many ppl helping, all of us were deadbeat at the end of the PS.. hahha.. but of course, your stamina may be higher than ours. hahaha... but u may want to consider asking a friend to help esp. if ur shoot is mostly outside a studio.. =) just a suggestion..

Fortunemew, u decided on ur MUA yet? I would highly recommend Amy.. Actually that day was my second makeup trial, cos i didn't like my first one.. so I was very skeptical thinking that i may have to get an external one.. Amy is a really pleasant surprise.. She is not only the only MUA i know who does ur curls for trial, she will also try a few different hairstyles during the trial to see which u like.. as for makeup, she will tell u that the trial makeup is for when (eg. for mine is AD), then she will manage ur expectations and tell u that for PS, the makeup will be thicker so that it would appear on the photos and that for AD night, she would do it abit differently to give another look.. She's really detailed and give u many scenarios and suggestions so that u know what to expect and if it's different from wat u want, u can tell her there and then.. And also, on the day of the PS, i used a gel-based moisturizer (which i didn't know I was supposed not to put on just before the makeup cos it would affect the setting of the foundation based) and the foundation didn't go on well.. so she kept wiping off the foundation off and reapply again to make sure the base is set well... in the end, when she found out the problem is with my moisturizer, she washed everything off and reapplied my cream based moisturizer for me.. THEN reapply the foudnation again... she's so thorough.. i really commend her for her skills and professionalism.. if u have no idea who u want for ur MUA, u may wish to consider her =)

My AD is 21 June.... less than 3 months away.. but with the PS done (finally! no worries about pimple outbreaks), now can concentrate on arranging the honeymoon and invitation stuff..

when's both of ur PS and AD dates?

gingerbread_gal

Hi Tracy,
Ya, pls do share your PS pics when they are ready..
I'm thinking of getting someone to help me out on PS day...you have 3 to help you! Wow, that's really nice of your friends.
Who's your first MUA? So what are we not to apply on our face for the makeup to stay on? I hear that its better not to apply sunblock on the face? Glad that you like your MUA.

My AD is on 28th Dec, haven't settled on the PS date yet.

fortunemew

yo Tracy! really thanks for sharing so much info on MUA and PS..!
thanks for sharing ur make up experience with amy! seems like she is also a great MUA! i will see how cos Kenji said he will assign me another MUA, cant remember the name.... she did the make up for my friend wedding last Nov n my friend looks great! didnt know gel based moisturizer can cause so much havoc on makeup..okie i will take note!

my AD on 28th Sept.
3 mths earlier than Jac...hehee..

tracie81_sg

Hi Jac and Fortunemew and Tan =)
seems like this year is a good time to get married.. I have like 6-7 other colleagues getting married this year too.... hahaha...

Forgot the name of my first MUA.. my bf and I and friends didn't really like the makeup she gave me cos it makes me look quite old (think it's becos of the brown eyeshawdow)... and also my bf and I don't feel comfortable having her as our MUA..

But also nto solely her fault lar.. there was some miscomunnication cos initially, she thought that I wanted my eyes to look bigger (i have really small eyes), so she used that type of makeup on me..but actually, what I wanted was something natural (to her, brown is natural) and lighter.. and sweeter (brown definitely is not).. hahaha...

So I think when you girls go for the trial makeup, u must let ur MUA know your dislikes / preferences before the make up.. It's a good idea to show her pics of the look u prefer so that she can get an idea of the style u want to portray.. and also during/after the makeup, must also let her know what u dun like / like.. to my bf and I, must important is that we can get along =) hahaha..

hmm.. amy told me gel-based moisturizer is a no-no before makeup unless u give it one-two hours.. and also Ampoule... ampoule should be applied at least 1-2 hrs before makeup otherwise, the make up won't look good too.. as for sunblock, i'm not too sure.. think will have to check with ur MUA... and amy quite like the bottle of avene spring water.. she said it was useful and to bring for actual day..
she also advise not to drink too much water the day before, or else eyes will look puffy the day after.. and for masks, to do it at least one week before AD.. dun try new products near to the AD..and facial to do 1-2 weeks before..

i will let u girls know once the photos are out =) and all the best for your photoshoots! =)

jvpipi

Hi, I am new here. still deciding my bridal package btw Wedding present and Sil. Anyone has pics of sil gowns to show? The OTR gowns are quite limited there. Thanks in advance

fortunemew

hi Pipi, i think silhouette had made a few more OTR new gowns recently...u can go and try. sorry not so comfortable to post photos of my gown here as the gown have not been amended to my measurements. but my gown is in Female bridal magazine Fall 2007, page title A walk in the clouds, one of the model shoot. it is also featured in the recent Her World Bridal magazine.

favl

tks gilbert for sharing yr photos!
your bride look lovely!
i'm thinking of signing up with sil as well, but can anyone advise on the photography?
any experience with chris ling?

flowers will be done by 86 creation, any experience to share?
both my gowns will be otr, i opt out of the mtm since i do not wish to keep the gown.

what shd i take note or look out for?

gingerbread_gal

Hey Tracy,
wanna check with you...does your gown come with the sequins on the tulle?? If it does, do you think that they don't appear very well in the pics? My gown is supposed to have the sequins and its the main reason why i like my gown so much, so would def want it to be captured.
where else did you go for your PS?

tracy,
you've got beautiful photos
and a very chio office ya. Gilbert did a fantastic job for u guys.

jac,
sequins, crystals n beads wun shine/bling in photos de...very difficult to capture. but tis effect can be added in using photoshop. i suggest u discuss with ur PG regarding capturing blings...he will hv an idea how coz i see diamond ads very bling bling leh but my camera cannot capture.

shermie

Hi Tracy, very nice photos! I just decided to go for a OTR gown with Silhouette but it is with Caroline. Do u know if they will call you to go for first fitting or I have to arrange myself? Other than Amy do u know if any MUA is good? She may not be available on my wedding day =(

gingerbread_gal

Hey Jaime,
Can you share how did you go about the mtm process for your EG?
Did you have an idea of what your EG shld be like when you first started? I'm thinking of mtm my EG but i totally have no idea how i want it to be.

Shermie,
I think you might have to ask your designer when will the gown approx be really (if u r doing any amendments) and then fix a date for the fitting yourself.

fortunemew

typo: i mean sorry i shoot photos of only two gowns...didn't try a lot there.

hi Jac, for mine, kenji ask me to research on the type of EG i want. so i go see all the bridal magazines n tear out the pages of the type of EG i like....n show him agar agar how i want it.
Then he will ask me i want slim cut or the pom pom type. i told him that i want the pom pom type.
he let me try a few EGs on the colors and anyway, he say i should take RED. but anyway, normally one look,they will know what color we are suitable.

from that, kenji will suggest n keep drawing on paper.... he draw two designs out for me, and ask me to go home n think. after that, the 2nd week, i come back with a answer and choose the fabric...but anyway, they already have idea of what fabric to use....mainly is to show us how the fabric is like.

fortunemew

i juz talk to kenji and he say it is better that i don't put the other gown which i didn't choose, i had remove the photos of that gown....didn't want to cause any unhappiness as that gown is already chosen by other bride-to-be.
So now my multiply account will only post photos of my own gown.

gingerbread_gal

Fortunemew,
its nice of you to share the gowns you tried in Silh..... always like to view their gowns

and thanks again for sharing your EG mtm process...i'm looking forward to mine...rather excited abt it!!

gingerbread_gal

Hi Tracy,
Hope you're still reading the forum...wanna check with you...did you remove your can-can for certain parts of the photoshoot? Particularly the part whereby both of you were on the bridge and your HTB lifted you up...
Any idea if the can can you wore is one of the biggest ones?

ju_ed

Hi Silhoutte BTBs,

My bf and I went down last month to take a look at Silhoutte while BS shopping and met up with Kenji. He was really nice and I was impressed he sketched something quick on the spot.

While we were there, we saw a photo album taken on someone's actual day...It was a church wedding in a foreign country. If I recall correctly either the bride or groom or maybe both were caucasian. Does anyone know who did that album?? Please let us know!

cookiefleur

I'll be making an appointment with Silhouette and just wondering who I should make the appointment with... So far I've heard good things abt Caroline and Kenji on this forum...

Anyone has any suggestions??? Advise will be much appreciated! Thanks!

gingerbread_gal

Hi cookiefleur,
I think either Caroline or Kenji will be fine...
Just to share a bit on my designer (Caroline) - I think she can understand what I want clearly esp after I've showed her pics etc...And she'll give very useful comments on whether certain designs i want will look nice or not. Maybe most designers should be able to do that but the way that Caroline can understand my wants makes me very happy each time I go to Silh

keer13

Hi Jamie,

I'm also intersted to buy a EG from Silhoutte. Your gown looks nice. Can you please send some photos on your design. Thanks! My email is [email protected].

Hi all other brides,

Anyone keen to sell their EG? My wedding will be on Dec. If you have a EG to keep & will like to sell after your wedding. Please email me the design: [email protected].

Appreciate if any brides here can share their multiply with me.