Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

nee

oh piglet, oh u were there... i didnt go down and mingle instead closed frens came up and accompany me... esle i will be very bored ...haha u actually heard Tommy mentioned to the staff we are particular abt service? I guess everyone here are expecting some standard lah cos we are the host for the night, is better to leave the guests good than bad impression on our own wedding... we tot banquet usually will end at 1030pm and i started my march in only at around 840pm leh... so we told him we want to end by 1030 cos today is a working day. I think he is realli a nice AM thats why i was quite relieved even Sun Sun left before my wedding.

Despite his reminder, 1 of my fren did complained that the waitress didnt clear the bowl after the shark fin befoe serving the 3rd dish, guess b cos they realli served the food a little too fast...maybe thats realli our fault cos we told Tommy we want to end by 1030 thats why is a rush for them.

Ah Ping, i seleted the following dishes :-

1) Deluxe Traditional Hors d’ Oeuvre
2) Shark’s Fin Soup with Shredded Chicken and Crabmeat
3) Sliced Abalone with Sea Cucumber and Hong Kong Seasonal Vegetables
4) Steamed Star Garoupa “Hong Kong†Style
5) Sautéed Prawns with Walnut, Celery and Capsicum in X.O. Sauce with Deep-fried Spring Rolls stuffed with Diced Prawns and Yam
6) Roast Pi Pa Duck
7) Stewed Ee-Fu Noodles with Lobster
8) Sweetened Sago Cream with Mango

i didnt notice if the portion is big enough, i guess should be just nice... anyway my untouched portion that was sent to my suite last night was quite a reasonable portion.

PP, thx i paid the florist $300 to do up twinkle light at the backdrop lor, i think they pulled up the screen after the montage cos when i march in, the screen is already drawn up.

I used up 4 white and 22 red wines despite only having 22 tables. Oh i breakeven leh... didnt top up up any actually

nebear, 1 bottle of wine is $20 nett and most of us are getting this price, if you are getting a lot then maybe you can get a better deal from other supplier or you try to neg with ST.

yc_mw

Nee,
Wah, u still haven't sleep eh. Tommy did remind his servers to change all plates & bowls after every dish. Keke. But, tink tst'a not much of an issue la hor. Guess the entire event should be pretty enjoyable for u.

Maybe when u more free, then u can upload a few pictures for us to drOOl over.

nee

piglet, havent lah cos i want to enjoy my last night here leh hee...ya quite enjoyable lah i shld say

I m loading suite pix into my multiply at this pt of time
u can view it tomoro, I'm staying in Paris Suite.

ahping

Hi Nee,

Thanks for the info. This is what i awant for the dishes too...

I also want to engage another florist to do up the deco especially the stage.

Post some pics for us to see.

littlepanda81

Hi Nee, thanks. Wa, it should look nice for the twinkle light for the backdrop. Must show me the pic ya..
Breakeven is good!.. hehe.. Very impt. So little spending on the wine.. hehe. sounds good. Maybe next day is working day. Luckily mine weekday too. haha. I have a quick peek on your pics.. nice suite.
Cant wait to see your actual day photo esp the stage. U look great in your gowns.

Piglet, how about yrself? what are choice that you have in mind?

BTW, anyone got any idea where to get wireless mic? I am having a outdoor ROM...

yc_mw

PP,
I dunnO yet wor. Totally no idea now. Maybe it's bcoz I haven't finalise ba. U got Multiply oso eh.. Can I add u?

nee

i cant wait to see my pix too lol...i hv good comments abt the backdrop even Tommy commented abt it... nt sure i'm the first to use the twinkle light cos he seems surprised when seeing the backdrop

PP, if u r having ROM at Sheraton, they are providing wireless mic. I think most hotels are providing wireless already.

nee

Anlinna, i get the florist to do up the backdrop like this pix... actually i saw my fren's wedding pix at Intercontinental Hotel and HB likes it, so get the florist to quote lor. Attached pix for you to have an idea this is at Intercon, but i remember seeing more lights for my backdrop last Sunday.

481737.jpg

littlepanda81

hi piglet, its ok. Maybe u should take note of wedding show. They usually give good offers.
BTW, when is your wedding? Or u may check with sheraton when is their wedding show?

Hi Nee, wah! Yr backdrop looks really nice! I like it. I think sheraton should take note that this can be done in their existing ballroom. haha. 300 dollars sounds reasonable. Yr florist is recommended by sheraton?
I guess this must be the first time or else Tommy wont praise it.

Nee, i won't be having it in Sheraton. I will be having it at condo function room for buffet. and an area for outdoor solemization. That y i need mic.. wonder if can borrow from sheraton. haha. :p

anlinna

Hi Nee, thanks! Do you mean that the 4 flower arrangement stands or the backdrop with the white dots (seems like lighting from behind)... I find the backdrop plain and small too...have to see how we can beautify it..

I saw that Sheraton is now having free flow of beer etc promotion. I guess they know that we are greatly affected by the departure of Sun Sun...

nee

Janice, i paid $300 for the light

PP & Anlinna, ya i like this backdrop thats y downloaded and show the florist & Sun Sun. Wanted to give up cos i oso find a bit pricey cos i m the first to use it, so florist says gt to do some adjustment to the backdrop to accomodate the lights, thats y quite ex. But HB likes it so we go ahead with it

The florist who did up the backdrop lights is the same florist Sheraton using, Petals & Leaves. Y dun u ask the condo if they provide mic?

Anlinna, the white dot behind the backdrop, $300 nt inclusive of floral stand.

nee

Anlinna, usually the floral stand, centrepieces etc are included in our package.

I have requested the florist to send me a pix taken by them, hopefully i can post it if she replies

anlinna

Oh that will be great! I guess if i want i can tell them that they have done for you too. Keke.. extra income for them..

nee

Hi all i gotten some pix on the twinkle light with the help of 1 forummer here... thx elsis...i think you all can view from my multiply as well cos the lights seems to be 'bleeding' here :p

482476.jpg

littlepanda81

Nee, saw yr photos..very nice deco.
Thanks for sharing.. hee.. BTW, is the food good? heard some ppl commented salty in some threads...

So who is the next one in the pipeline getting married? Anlinna right?

Piglet, so u have confirmed Sheraton? Not looking around anymore? Getting the new promotion? There isn't many upcoming wedding shows.. i think the next one should be intercontinental hotel... Guess all wedding shows need to wait till oct then...

yc_mw

PP,
Should be confirming next Wed. Have oredi received the Draft COntract from Eileen liao. Ask u girls hor, the Draft COntract's date is our Actual Date's date is it? Coz when I browsn through the COntract, the date is stated as 18th March 2007.. Juz thought tat if this is the Dummy Contract, then it doesn't matter. Otherwise, I gotta let Eileen noe liao.

I'm not lookin ard anymore liao lor, coz been to MM, Marriott, GCW & Hyatt.. They're either booked for our date, or only serve buffet.. So, juz forget it la. Better to stay with ST.

anlinna

Hi Nee, I will check out your multiply. Think my multiply has something wrong. I am very sad as i had serveral folders with hundreds of pics kanna all wiped out...sobz.. www.anlinna.multiply.com

Hi PP, mine is 9 Dec 2007.

Piglet i think you better check with Eileen again. I have a feeling that the date you mentioned is typed wrongly...

littlepanda81

Piglet, i think u better check with Eileen. There are two dates on the contact. The first line should be the date that they drafted u the contract. The other date fall under the section EVENT DETAILS undr Day and Date of Event... - This should be yr actual date.
Hope that helps. U looking at early next year or this year? Yr date so popular huh.. hehe.

Anlinna-I think u must be the next one..unless piglet beat u to it..

yc_mw

Anlinna,
Ya. Will check with her on Monday. Anyway, there's oso a few clause tat seems wrong to me..

Check with u ladies again.. How much deposit did u put. I was given answers from $1K to $3K..

PP,
We're looking at 5th Jan 2008 (Sat). Anlinna earlier than me. Tink she's Dec '07.. Rite Anlinna?

anlinna

Yup mine is 9 Dec 2007.

I paid $3k deposit. Stated on the last page of the contract.

I used DBS lady card to pay. If exceed $20k in total then may get a wine chiller.

nee

thx piglet, i was very excited when i saw the pix on ur mutiply!!!!

PP, i gt both good and bad commnets abt the food. But most of them commented the shark fin soup not nice... shark fin not visible. But the ee fu noodle was impressive tho i find it a bit salty. Fish was very fresh i oso like...roast pig in cold dish was nice... think everyone like the mango sago

Anlinna, accepted your invites

yc_mw

Hmm, then I gotta reconfirm with Eileen again. Coz she send me an email sayin deposit is $2K, then when I called b4 she replied, I was told it's only $1K, then now when I c the COntract, it says $3K.

Nee,
We goin to Li Bai for Mother's Day dinner. :p. So, if tomolo eat liao, food not nice.. Then we can feed-back on Wed.

Where are u girls considering for Honeymoon huh?

littlepanda81

Piglet, Sun sun never tell me i can have the choice of 1k-3k. I paid 3k for the deposit. U better check with Eileen again. Maybe they are more flexible now. I think most of the time, the templates of the contracts are fixed. She might have forgotten to amend. Even the promotion on the singapore website is fixed. I saw that reuse.. even though i think they should remove the wordings for renovation of the ballroom completed by oct.

I find banquet food standard usually will drop a lot as compared to normal days. coz they are rushing out the food. depending the no. of ppl working in the kitchen.. seldom eat good banquet food in hotel as gather from my friends feedback.

Thanks Nee for your feedback. Are you having your break now? Hee.. after busy preparing for more than a year...

Honeymoon..mmm..depends how much we loss in the banquet..will determine our honeymoon.haha. :p Few places in mind: New Zealand, Japan.. I been to Paris.. very nice.. got chance must go.

xuanxuan

I am back ! Just landed 3 hours ago. Very sleepy now due to jetlag. But trying to stay awake else tonight cant sleep

I went Europe with Chan Bros. The tour is not very rushed, which I was pleasantly surprised. But I was rather disgusted with some of the Europeans, especially Italians, arrgh, they are really horribly rude. I find them rather racist and when they talk, it is so loud that it seems like quarrelling. But Italian food is very yummy hehe, and all over europe, their wines are so cheap and good that we almost drank them at every meal. Some are even cheaper than their mineral water. Only in Switzerland, Germany and Austria, we can drink from their tap. For the rest, gotta buy mineral water coz their tap water contains huge amount of lead.

For my dinner, I had 38 tables, consumed 52 bottles of red wine. We managed to earn a bit hehehe, very lucky, coz my HB's colleagues were very generous. Surprisingly, we did not lugi on relatives tables, we manage to breakeven for those.

For food, it was rather disappointing. Some commented roast pig was cold and stinky, sharksfin not nice, fish was cold & soggy (we took pan-fried cod). The rest are still ok.

However, most of the guests commented that their service is good.

There was a slight hiccup on their AV system that night and the BM actually forgot to place the baby chairs at the designated tables, despite us reminding him a few times.

violetcrystal

Hi little_ant,

you went to europe with chan brothers for honeymoon? you took the 13R or 15R package? we booked the 13R package as our upcoming honeymoon, but still subject to tour confirmation. Did u extend ur package?

Can i just check with u if u had to top up a lot for the optional tours? and comments on the accomodations?

oh so lucky to be able to earn for ur dinner. i hope i can too. haha... did u prepare any hard liquors? and how many barrels of beer were consumed?

Eh... i thought their food are supposed to be not bad... did it differ a lot from food-tasting ones?

Hee... pai sey, so many questions. Coz we going for food-tasting this coming weekend, and am currently in the midst of planning our honeymoon, as we plan to extend for a couple of F&E days. =)

littlepanda81

Welcome Back Little Ant..

Must get some sleep.. i hate the jetlag also...

Yes, I heard from my friends that they will not go Italy again.. same remarks as you made..they are rude! Hope you enjoy other places other than Italy.. Did u go Paris?

So lucky of u that you earn.
So is the market price still at 80 dollars? Hee... Anyway, looking forward to look at your photos.. can share?

BTW, anybody can give me tips on the Guo Da li? Wat should I prepare? Does it matter if I am Cantonese and my htb is Hokkien? Anywhere I can ask to get information on the preparation? Thanks in advance for your tips

violetcrystal

PP,

u might wanna check out this link, under the betrothal & dowry section for a more traditional feel --> http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/betrothal.html

I planned mine based on some information i got off that site + coupled with what my mom wants + info gotten off other threads found here... haha... mix here and there =P

If you would like me to share my intended list with u as reference, u may wanna send me a pm with ur e-mail so that i can forward u my file

xiaobaibai

Hi nee

I am holding my wedding in sheraton in coming june oso... have not chosen the suite... is paris nice? did u see other suite?
Oh ya, i saw the dishes u had, u had a total of 8 dishes, did u top up for the prawn? Is your dinner on weekend or weekday? Sorry to post u so many qns...

xuanxuan

Hi Violetcrystal

I went for the 13 days one flying qatar. Qatar's flight meals and their service are quite good. But the transit at Doha is really boring. If you going by Turkish airline, the transit is at Turkey, much better and the plane is bigger and newer too. Somemore, Turkish airline prices have dropped significantly due to recent news.

We paid euro$275 extra (2 pax) for optional tours + 13 days tipping fees. The optional tours we went are Seine River cruise at Paris, Tulip festival at Amsterdam, Gondola ride at Venice (comes with a bottle of champagne).

Chan bro is rather good, i find. Most of the hotels we stayed are rather good, but most of them are not near tube stations. Except for Paris & Lucerne. The meals provided are ok, but European food a bit salty, else too sweet. The chinese food in Europe is not good.

You can bring some cup noodles there, we din, and we regretted. Luckily we managed to get it at a Lucerne supermarket, but its ex. $2.20 euro for a cup noodle. We ate those european food till we going to puke. So we tried to find noodles that is suitable for our taste. Bring along a mobile kettle. All the hotels we stayed did not have kettles except in Paris. Also, bring along your own toothbrush and toothpaste, the hotels dun provide any.

The mineral water at Paris is cheapest. We got it at Monoprix supermarket, Crystaline brand at $0.19 euro.(1L) Once you leave Paris, the mineral water is more expensive. Our 1st stop is at Paris, hence many of our tour mates bought 12 bottles (1L to 1.5L each) to sustain them for the rest of the journey.

We bought only 5. Coz in Swiss, Germany and Austria, you can drink and refill from their tap water.

We consumed 3 bottles of hard liquors. Hmm, some of the dishes differ from food tasting. The roast pig was extremely crispy and nice on FT, but AD its so diff. The fish on AD turns out to be so bad that some relatives and frens commented it is a fake cod. But on FT, the fish was really very very nice. Also, the fish noodles we chose turns out diff in appearance. On FT, the noodles are white in colour, AD is black. Luckily, we asked our PG to take a pic of the AD one. Going to use that to check with ST. Do take pics of the food on your FT too.

xuanxuan

Hi PP,

Most of my HB's side gave at least $100 each. Just that my side still goes at $80, some colleagues even gave $50 or $60.....OMG ! And we had no choice but to close their table and shift them so that we can close a reserve table. They got very angry and told my helper that they are not going to move anywhere. Till today, I heard they are still quite angry. Hai, they themselves gave so little, and drank so much, and some even din come, and never give AP, and still wan to complain so much. At least when we moved them, we tried to have at least 2 people sitting together, so that they are not alone. If I shift other tables, there will be people having to seat alone, morever, I cant bear to move them. Imagine they turned up even though I do not see them often, gave quite an amount of AP and was early. My colleagues leh, on the other hand, its totally opposite. So sian having to go back work and face these people.

Xiaobaibai, I also stayed in Paris suite. I had asked for other suites, but they said either its not available or its under maintenance. I think, they tried to ask all the couples to choose Paris suite.

nee

Tolkie, invited you

xiaobaibai, i didnt top up to change for the prawns. You can see Paris suite in my multiply... i've viewed other suites but HB like this so we get Sun Sun to put up first choice for us

wha little ant, so envy... my honeymoon only end of the year leh and i havent even plan yet

xiaobaibai

Hi little ant and nee...

when u all select the suite, sun sun still ard right? Now seems like everything different leh... they told me the suite is subjected to availability.. i can't book it now for the theme i want for my wedding day... they said just put on request only...

violetcrystal

Hi little_ant,

thanks for yr detailed reply.

we'll be flying by turkish airline, but already booked during travel fair le, so... not sure if any price adjustments will be shared by us boh...

Eh, ur first stop is paris eh? mine is last stop paris... do u happen to remember the name of hotel in paris that you all stayed in? does it comes with air-con? coz i trying to decide to get chan brother to arrange for my extension accomodation or DIY.

Oh cool! we plan to take the river cruise and gondola ride, so ur total optional expenses will come in handy towards our budgeting.

Noted abt the cup noodles part, hmm.. okie, shall let my hubby know. haha...

overall, nice to hear that the tour is okie, was afraid it would not be enjoyable, and too rushed when we first booked it.

Oh... the difference btw FT and AD so big? okie, will brg a camera to take photos during FT this weekend.

xuanxuan

Xiaobaibai, mine also subject to availability. But she put up request for me for suites 1213, 1313. Both are the suites she recommended. On AD, only 1213 is available, which is the Paris Suite.

Hi violetcrystal, mine was Rome 1st stop initially, but the itinery was later changed the other way round because the airtics were full for the initial plan. The hotel in Paris is Novotel. Quite a new hotel and tube is just round the corner. There's also a Macdonalds and supermarket within walking distance. I think it comes with aircon.

Some hotels we stayed does not come with aircon, some does. There is a ruling in Europe, that aircons can only be switched on in Summer months, so some hotels do not have aircon. Though now is still Spring time, the weather is very hot already. This year's Spring ends early, our last week in Italy is extremely hot, temperature ranging in the 30's celsius.