Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel

felin

hi dear all, im new in this thread and yesterday i went to attend the wedding show n also hv signed up with them for the weekday package..Well, this is my hubby and 1 1st time attend to such show n jus signed up on the spots,,, so hope the deal i signed up for is worth it one...And regarding further perks, i oso dunno wat to ask for as out of the 6 options i think we only need 3 or 4 which is more impt n worth it one,, so the rest i think still got room to negotiate...mayb can get a room to stay for my sister/bro gang hor? oh ya,, n yesterday we chk wif one of the co-ordinator there regarding usage of projector, she say hv to rent n usual price is abt $300+, but for bride, may be only charge half price... any comment for this?? thanks..

nee

Hi Cherishy, that will depends on the no of guests that you are inviting for your solemnization. Its quite unlikely they can block out the whole dining room if you are inviting many guests cos they have to accomodate their in house guests as well.

Cos mine is a very small party with guests and myself lesser than 10 pax. I cant have my solemnization in the fuction room cos they need min 40 pax, so i hv to pay to rent the waterfall and the buffet lunch after that.

If you have more 40 guests, then yours will be in function room with lunch served after your solemnization.

xiaobaibai

I am a sheraton bride to be also... signed the contract somewhere in end sep or beg oct. Got the 728+++ package too.. I am surprised that the price was actually cheaper than what i have initially checked out to be. Don't really understand why their weekday prices was lowered. But for next year GST at 7%, are we affected? We have already signed the contract orh...?

Felin, usage of projector is normally waived... can ask for it.

felin

ok, thanks, xiaobai2, i oso think tat way...

i've asked regarding the GST 7% yes, they say even we signed up now, we will be affected as under the contract it stated that govt tax will be accordingly subject to change.. tat sort of stuff..
Anyway, ours is 728+++ even plus the increase tax, 1 table will be $859.04 divide 12 pax, per head abt $72.00.. which i think still alright, n reasonable right??(pls say yes cos i nv been to other htl n c their ballroom..) cos others htl also abt this rate.. but in term of food,, i think ST will be nicer...

xiaobaibai

Hi felin
YES... still very reasonable... i have researched and gotten quotation from around 10 to 15 hotels, (intercont, regent, mariott, Marina mandarine, Pan Pac, traders, changi village, fullerton, novotel, M hotel, orchard,hyatt, 4 season,oriental etc...) in the end still signed up with sheraton. Cos for a 5 star hotel, plus nice ballroom, i think their price is really reasonable lor. The only turn off point is their L Shaped Ballroom where ppl sitting at the higher ceiling area cannot see your march in if you chose the longer route. So dun worry lah..... for oriental and intercont, their ballroom is very nice oso.. but their price is really expensive ... So in the end, i still think sheraton is a good choice for me lor.. and is very convenient for guests too...

snow_4ling

Hi Everyone! I too had sign for weekday package on the wedding show. My coor told me that we will not be affected by the GST, as she will state clear on the contract of the nett price. Hope this helps..!

cherishy

Did anyone managed to get the free dessert buffet for all ur guest? I think that's the most attractive offer.. I was very tempted to sign up but Sheraton towers is only the 2nd hotel i went to so I hope to view more hotels before deciding..
i think i could only afford the weekday package.
Anyone book Dec weekday? Can let me know? Thanks!

Nee> I just got sun sun's reply ..i can rent the waterfall area if i invite < 30 guests. But the area is quite small..will it be difficult for the photographer to take photo?

geekysnoop

Hi Sharon, so which extra perk did you get at the wedding show...? It was very innovative of them to release a new perk every 20mins.

Really? Not affected by GST? It is 728+++, one of the + is the gst, right? how come it's nett?

c_k_cher

Good day Sharon and all Sheraton BTBs,
How did u manage to get them to offer a nett price for you. I tried to talk to my manager, she still decline the offer as it is their management's decision to stick with the previlling GST rate. Btw, who is ur manager. Hee hee..

Regards.

felin

hi, xiaobai2, Thanks for sharing ur experience re hotel search n its makes me feel much better... cos i didnt search any at all... yesterday sun2 give my hubby a call n ask for his email add... i think mayb next week or wat will meet her to talk abt the contract...

re: the GST, tat day i asked from Lynn (assistant director of catering)..n tat wat she told us... but more precise details/ enquiries we will liase wif Sun2 when we meet her up since she the coordinator.

nee

Hi Cherishy, ya it is a bit cramped if you hold it at the waterfall with 30 guests, are you considering poolside?

c_k_cher

Good day Felin,

I have also signed up with Sheraton during the wedding show. Would appreciate if you could revert on the GST issue after you have meet up with Sun2. Cos she mentioned to me that the price shall be subject to prevailing GST rate.

Regards.

violetcrystal

Hmm... i checked with Sun Sun during the wedding show coz she's my co-ordinator after the previous one left, and she said we'll be affected by the increase in GST, coz it's stated in the contract...

c_k_cher

Hi Felin,

Our AD will be on 6th of December 07 (Tentative) as we have yet to see the 'Tong Shu'. I think Sharon also mentioned abt the nett price thingy in this forum. Maybe will talk to Sun2 again on the nett price. So which BS did u went for your bridal shoot?

snow_4ling

I took the 728+++ package..
They will calculate out the Nett which is
728 x 1.11 x 0.5 = $848.48
they will just state this out on the contract bah.
Anyway. though i have paid but my coor is stil working out the contract. i ll keep u update after i received it. Anyway, my coor refuse to prov me with the coor room.. as she say is subject to avail.. wat do u think?

satinchris

Hi all, i'm signing up with Sheraton too. Have asked Lynn for a day use room for helpers, but she said no promise as it's subject to availability and can only confirm with us a day or 2 before the wedding day : (

Hi Joey, we asked for additional night.. So total 2 nights.

Anyone who signed up during the wedding show on Sunday and got the free dessert buffet? How are the terms like? We would love a dessert buffet as well but didn't manage to sign up in time for it.

felin

Hi CCk, mine is bridal de couture, its a new bridal shop juz opened tis yr Jan...

Btw, can chk wif u gals out there who signed up at the fair,is it standard we will get 2 nite free when we sign up the package on tat day (according to the promotional leaflet)??

josey

For the GST thingy how does it works? If I sign up now and paid the deposit, does that mean that we have secured the rates base on 5% GST?

c_k_cher

Hi Felin,

I think its a standard 2 days stay in the bridal suite. Cos mine is oso a 2 nite stay. I was thinking to ask for another room for my co-ordinator or anniversary stay. Hee hee...

Sharon,
Am I right to say that you are not affected by the increase of GST based on wat u have mentioned earlier in your reply? Kindly advise. I kinda blur now. hee hee!!!
Regards.

bizibee

Hi all:

Mine is a two night stay also. anyone got 3 night stay....
And also anyone of u have been your contract already. i was been told that the coordinator will come back to us on the contract. but my co didn't call me yet. send her email also no reply....

bizibee

hi all:

My 2 nights stay include one option taken. based on 8 option we choose 6 option. one of my opttion is use to tradse for one night stay.
Is everyone of u like that also....

Or they give u straight away 2 nite stay don't need to deduct any option.

Can advise....

Thank U

snow_4ling

I think 2 night stay is already in the contract ley...According to the leaflet given on the day..

CCK.. You r right according to my coor i will not be affected by the increase of GST. But i haben rec'd my contract yet so everything not confirm till then..

Actuali i m very confuse of the perks given on that day even my coor also very confuse, e.g when we brought up the 2 night stay issue she also quite shocked.. Then.. the coor refuse to give me additional room for helper.. only part i m not hapi but some of the ST bride managed to get it. I think reali depend on the coor bah..

So i guess for those who intend to sign up. Must reali bargain ALL THE WAY.. so ALL THE BEST everyone!

marina5353

If I understand correctly from my coordinator, I think if you had signed up for a WEEKEND package during the bridal show, the pricing is based on 2006's price and you will only get 1 night's stay.

So, if you wish to opt for an extra night, it will be 1 out of the 6 options.

As for WEEKDAY package, the prices for 2006 &amp; 2007 are the same, so as stated in the leaflet for 2007, you will get 2 complimentary nights' stay.

c_k_cher

Hi Sharon,

When is ur AD going to be? Seems that quite a number of brides getting married end of year 2007. Btw, who is ur coordinator?

bizibee

Hi CCK and Sharon:

Do u mean that when we sign the package on that wedding show, we will get the 5% GST. Maintain the price at 2006 at 5% GST and not increase to 7 % GST next year . Can 100% confirm with me. I am quite lost on this.

Hi MW:
I sign up the weekday package for next year. But was told only 1 nite complimentry and nite stay can use one of the option to trade in.
But u stated that leaflet for 2007 show 2 complimentry night stay without exchanging for the option. (which leaflet u refer to, is it the brown printed one)

Thank for all your reply.....

bizibee

hi Satinchris:

Initally, i sign up on the buffet dessert but eventually cancel it. u can check with your CO if u can change your perk to buffet dessert to replace mine...

missypiggy

hi ,

any kind soul can recommend me a gd coord to me, so i can make appointment to have look at the ballroom &amp; package discussion.

As my AD will be NOV 2007.

millh

My AD is also in Nov 2007. I'm also interested in Sheraton. Anyone of you have the pricelist, can PM me?

snow_4ling

Dear all, I have just receive a call from my coor that i WILL be affected by the GST Increase as apparently.. Someone here send an email complaining to their coor that i m enjoying this privilige which they did not.. Well.. Too bad then.. I rec'd my contract too.. sign it.. too bad..

marina5353

Hi Joey,

Yeah it's the brown printed one that was given to us, inside the brochure.

My coordinator was also blur when I 1st pointed out the 2nd night free (that was stated on the leaflet for 2007).

c_k_cher

Hi Joey,

Allow me to clarify on the GST issue. It was brought to my attention, during the wedding show, that my package will be subjected to Taxes at Govt prevailing rate. True enough, this clause was stated in the contract when i received it this afternoon.

Dear Sharon &amp; All Sheraton BTBs,
Lets hope that there will be a delay in the Govt's "initiative" to increase the GST.

Cheers.....

satinchris

I'm also very sure that all of us have to pay the prevailing GST, which is going to be 7%. I've asked my coordinator, Eileen and she confirmed this. Coz when we settle the full bill, it will be after the wedding dinner and not now. Unless some of us are willing to pay first?? Hehe...

Hi Joey
Thanks for the offer. Doubt they will extend further perks to us. Coz initially we have some issues with the package and they are accomodating enough with our requests. So I'm quite sure they won't extend any further perks to us. In fact, I doubt they will give it to anyone else even though you have given it up. But may I know why you are cancelling it? Just curious... : )

Hi BlurZsoTong
You can look for Eileen Eng. She's my coordinator and quite friendly. Her direct line is 6839-5832. The other is Sun Sun (or San San). They are the only 2 wedding planners.

Hi nee
Answering for Cherishy.... Yes, the free dessert buffet is only for those who sign up during that wedding show. In fact, only the first 5 who sign up immediately when this particular perk was announced by the host gets it free. That was the catch!

nee

Hi satinchris, thx, was still wondering if i hv missed out this perk haha...

Hi all Sheraton brides, my coord did mentioned the additional GST will be passed onto us...

felin

juz for info, the contract u guys received is via email? and then if everything ok, juz sign n faxed?? Well, tis is wat happen to my case, n me n my FH was not very happy wif that as we prefer to sit down n talk/discuss wif the coordinator...

janjanblues

Hi felin,

think no problem with that. My FH and i not comfortable with signing the contract and faxinf it too..

we met up with our coordinator in person to sign the contract..im sure they can accomodate to that

satinchris

Yes, the standard practice is via email and then fax back. My coordinator said she will email us too. In fact, other hotels do it the same way. I know, coz we almost signed up with another hotel (luckily did not in the end) and they do this too.

But of coz, I'm sure they will entertain us if we prefer to meet up : )

bizibee

Hi all:

Thank for the GST advise. Let pray that it will not increase..

Hi Satinchris:
I didn't choose dessert buffet, because we are thinking that having a complimentry free table is more worth it. Hehe.... What perks u choose?

And out of the 8 options, which options u choose ?

Do we need to have anything written down when we sign the contract?
Chris, have u fax over your contract?

Thank....