Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Flyn,

I can't remember the rates but I guess it's quite close to that amount. Anyway, here are some points to consider:

1. Rental for horse carriage cannot be refunded once you have booked (even if it's raining and the outdoor reception is cancelled).

2. Are you willing to pay for the 2 hrs rent even though you are using it for less than 20 mins.

From my experience, if everything goes well (weather, coordination etc.), you will not regret renting the horse carriage as it's something special...especially in Singapore I suppose : )

Hi Jason/Flyn/Catz

To Jason, thks for sharing the same sentiments with me about Elaine. I think she deserves the credit. Glad that everything turns out well for you and your wife.

I think Horse Carriage would be a romantic idea (further to the nice experience by Jason). Only thing is the unpredictable weather>>>>>
I was thinking of having it for photoshoot for remembrance as well.....would be so nice to keep in album.

Well, have to discuss with my hubby 1st then c how things go.

Anyway, Catz, I think both Syafie and Elaine have their diff style of working, not fair for us to comment on anything. I do noe that both of them are on the same level though. One thing that I must really take my hat off for the good show put up by her and her boss during the Bridal Show in March. Everything was just so well coordinated and planned. Nothing but the best, guess no other hotels have done this well.

I certainly do hope that our wedding would be a successful one!

Hi nana,

where are u? havent heard from u for a long time...yr BIG day is drawing very near...vry excited right. Tell me abt yr prep ok
...all the best.

Hi catz,

thanks for yr advice n info...hey wat u say abt syafie is similar to wat a friend of mine say...his co-ordinator was syafie as well, vry pro-active n extras. now i can rest well haha.

btw, catz did u memtion that we shld contact syafie 3 mths bfore the wedding date to settle wedding invitation cards wif him? tt means i'v to know exactly how many guest i'll hv 3 mths bfore ...also when do i call him for food tasting n arrangements of logistic. also i'v not really seen a night banquet set-up in Pavilion...but nana said that elaine insisted 1 mth bfore for all these, tt's wat elaine told me as well. initially i tot 1 mth is too late, so i need yr advice.....sorry for bombarding u wif soooo many qns.

oh congrates...yr wedding pic on the front page is so sweet...the way yr hubby looks at u....seems like there's no one else around him haha
...hmmm to bad u r not facing the camera, so cannot see u properly.

Hi thedevil, I am lurking around occasionally reading postings but didn't really reply cos was too busy, and also not much updates too lah :P However I just went for the food tasting last night! Pretty satistifed with the food, especially the red bean cream.. slurp!! We finished the whole big bowl even though we were all very full towards the end! We asked to add lotus seeds to the red bean, the chef asked us to tell Elaine, think shd be no problem. The food is really not bad, the roasted chicken is very juicy even at the breast part, the steam prawns are very "crispy"... except the Vegetable-Yam dish. Don't take that, when we told the chef how bad it is, he also agreed it's not good! haha. So we gonna change that. Oh, we also exchange the sharks fin soup to a Three Treasure Soup (fish maw, crab meat, and one more i can't remember :P) -- it looks very similar to sharks fin but tastes quite different from the usual sharks fin soup we had at every dinner. It's something sweeter but quite a different experience. Glad that everyone liked it. We have also just sent in the invitation cards for printing. Very excited yah
Still haven't come to the details of the actual day yet, will share here once I got some details, yah?

p/s got to change my nick to nana77 cos realise forum also got another nana (although hers is in alternate uppercase).

can anybody share with mi what kind of perks and price you gals got during the bridal show in March (for weekend package)?

thanks in advance

Hi Huts,

I booked a sunday banquet during the show. i got 2 nites stay, free flow of beer, $30 off the usual price per table.
The perks are different for weekends (fri, sat) and weekdays(sun).

Hope that's useful...

hi girls!

thedevil, glad you're having a hassle-free time with syafie. yup, i would definitely advise you to get your invites early. he can give you some extra just in case and you can return the excess to him after the printing. i was quite kiasu for my food-tasting.. did it 4 months before the wedding... actually because my sister would be back for her uni vacation. maybe try to get the nitty gritty stuff out of the way 'cos 1 month before the wedding, you'll be running around A LOT!! so try to settle things quickly and you'll be less stressed during the wedding.

thanx for the compliments.. i think hilarion did a really good job with my pix.

I'm going for my food tasting next week, any advice on what I should take note off?

Thanks in advance :o)

hi ladiess,

need advise.. I have booked my package with Rasa...

For those with garden lawn receptions... do rasa provide decor there too as well as the ballroom ?? How abt sound system?? do they provide that too??

Can anyone share their wedding cards design with me?? Like the seashell one that Rasa provide but the inside can't be printed and how do u direct guests entrying into Sentosa??

Do guests have to pay island admissioooon despite showing their invites at the gantry when entering by drive-in or taxi??? understand taxi charges are applicable...

my email - [email protected]

hi little lion,

who is yr co-ordinator? he/she shld hv clarified yr doubts wif u.... i can share what i know, but dont take it as a definite ans, better to hear from yr co-ordinator him/herself.

garden lawn reception? u mean pre dinner cocktail? if yes, i think deco is minimum, but the ballrm where u'll b hving the banquet will b decorated wif plants n flowers...if u mean a solemnization there, then no deco/sound system will b provided unless u pay for it.

u can ask yr co-ordinator for some sample invitation cards designs, i cant share wif u coz i mee too hvnt do my invites yet

yr guest dont hv to pay admission fee but they hv to pay a taxi toll...think its $3/cab. as for private car drive-in, rasa might give parking coupon base on no of guest (but dont expect much)...other than tt, yr guest got to pay for the normal drive-in rates

hope these all help but remember to confirm wif yr co-ordinator
...n let me know if i m wrong, so the blind wldnt b leading the blind

Hi bluez n nana77,

its been so quiet in this thread...how's your prep going?? sorry if i remember wrongly...nana, yr wedding comming real soon in jul02? n bluez, yours is sept02??

wat hv u all been doing for the preparation? me nothing yet coz syafie is on leave till end of this week, he will contact us n hope to meet up wif him (for the first time) sometime next week.
have u'all decided on the outdr soleminsation program (when to start n how)?? i m totally blur... n my photoshoot is early jul02, but dont feel so prepared for it

Hi bluez n nana77,

its been so quiet in this thread...how's your prep going?? sorry if i remember wrongly...nana, yr wedding comming real soon in jul02? n bluez, yours is sept02??

wat hv u all been doing for the preparation? me nothing yet coz syafie is on leave till end of this week, he will contact us n hope to meet up wif him (for the first time) sometime next week.
have u'all decided on the outdr soleminsation program (when to start n how)?? i m totally blur... n my photoshoot is early jul02, but dont feel so prepared for it

Hi thedevil,

Very busy with prep now. A lot of details to work out. I have met up with Elaine 2 weeks ago. Went to see someone else's solemnisation that day too... quite nice leh
I think I will start my solemnisation at 6pm. It will be a short & simple standing affair, except for the long signing tables and chairs for JP, witnesses and ourselves. Hmmm... whatelse you want to know?

hi nana77,

i wish u all the best
...hope tt yr wedding day will go with the flow n be wat u want!! n congrates too.

i think i'll do the same as u for solemnization....we dont hv to pay for the long signing table n chairs right...will you be giving yr guess at the ceremony drinks? how abt yr transportation arrangement? btw, how's yr wedding cards? wat design n which printer u go to? how much does the printer charge...i understand u r really busy, its ok if u wait till after yr Big day, take yr time to ans my so many qns

hi catz,

wonder if u r sttill around...i need some advice. when we signed the contract for the deposit, it stated that our attendance will be 30 table + 2 reserve. but now my FPIL told us they need only 10 table (they told us 20 when we were paying the deposit!!)

so we hv to cut down the no. of table to 25, do u think there's a penalty involved? coz when we put down 30, we tot we can lower the volume

hi bluez,

how's yr prep? hv u gone for food tasting, n collected yr invites? i went rasa weeks ago n finally met syafie for the 1st time. he's a nice chap
...vry detail in explaining...also when we ask abt the invites, he tot for a while n realised its 'u'v t get it NOW!!'...so he got us the invites on the same day.

hi thedevil,

aiyoh... for Rasa, from the start, Syafie told us not to overcommit for tables 'cos you can increase the no of tables but cannot decrease!!! I do believe there's a penalty involved leh but maybe you can look damn poor thing? How come your ILs like dat? Call Syafie lah.. hope he can resolve this for you. He's a really nice guy! In fact, really pity him 'cos after our outdoor ceremony, he was supervising bringing the chairs back in etc.. everyone else was in the banquet hall already and it started to storm! hehe... Check back here and let us know how it is. Worse come to worse, maybe tell him you'll compromise at 27 + 2 loh..

For me, we only committed to 20 tables but in the end, took 25 exactly, didn't open the reserve. That's the advantage about taking Rasa Sentosa.. no 'cling-ons' 'cos we told my IL's side that entry to SEntosa is on a per name per card basis.. hehe... wicked hor? but it worked! No maids, no kids

Hi catz,

Thanks a zillion in replying to my query!!! Seriously we din know we can only increase but cannot decrease!! Elaine din tell us tt, so we juz chin cai come up wif a number. If I know cannot decrease, wld hv committed the minimum!! Ya lor, we were so shocked when my FPIL say they need so little only!!

Haha yr idea vry good leh…but hor, even b4 I say anything abt rasa, my FH relatives all say must ‘pay this, pay that, so troublesome’ liao…so no need us to add salt add vinegar. U know everytime we see them, sure say something no good abt rasa. I was affected at first, but my FH say don’t bother abt them, as long as we like can liao.

Hi thedevil,

Don't worry ok? Just try to talk it out with Syafie. I'm surprised your previous coordinator didn't tell you!!! 'Cos Syafie told us upfront not to anyhow commit first!

Yeah, a lot of people complained about Rasa but in the end, they had a really good time! But it definitely kept the riff raff out of our wedding which was fantastic!! Anyway, like a couple of my friends said, you know that people really care about you if they come to the wedding at Sentosa.
Don't worry ok? Smile smile smile and be a beautiful bride!

Hi catz,

Thnks again for replying…. I m glad that though your wedding is over for more than ½ yr, you r still so willing to ans my qns n so helpful
. We r trying to get syafie, but seem like the whole sales dept is in a mtg… I m so anxious!!

Yup I agree wif u that if pple turn up, they really care. So me n FH only put close friends in our list. Thanks again catz…

Hey thedevil,

No worries... Yeah, I agree it's quite difficult to get hold of anyone from the sales dept. Leave a msg for him... he'll usually respond.

Same here.. we only invited people we knew to the wedding (for my side).. for my hubby's side, we had to invite relatives whom I've never seen before and will never see again but we kept it to 6 tables only. All the no-shows were from that side. *sigh*

hi catz,

all my problems solved....syafie is simply fantastic. some stuff i wont post here coz he says btw us n him (dont wan to get him into trouble
)...so we got everthing we need!!!

glad he's our co-ordinator!

hi thedevil,

so glad you managed to sort things out.
i know syafie is damn solid.
so be a happy bride ok? keep us posted... i'm still in the forum 7 months after the wedding..kekeekk..

hi catz,

good to hv u around to lead us

hi catz, nana77, bluez and all,

i'll b going for food tasting next week. i prefer the weekend Menu A...anything else i shld look out for? catz i remember u saying the seafood fried rice taste yucky!! any advice on other good or terrible dishes? my FPIL dont like rasa, so i hope the food tasting can impress them a little....initially din wan to bring FPIL for food tasting coz afraid they'll critizise the food n place further...but they asked abt it so bring loh.

Hi thedevil,

Yeah, please avoid the seafood fried rice!! :P The rest quite ok.. I swapped a few items here and there so can't really remember what was on Menu A.

Do you know you can get Syafie to arrange for a private dining room at the restaurant for your food tasting? Maybe at least it will make your FPIL happier... Anyway, most importantly, enjoy your food tasting!

hi catz

i juz had food tasting...yum yum the best is the shark's fin...its so thick with shark's fin, unlike alot of htl tt gives mostly starch.

we were happy with all dishes. the lotus rice is great as well

harlow thedevil,

glad that your food tasting went well. Yeah, the soup was pretty good.. think mine was the 3 treasures? not sure but it was pretty ok.
where did syafie arrange the food tasting for you? was it at shells cafe?

hi catz,

just like to find out a few things from u when u had ur wedding at rasa....

1. did ur guests face problems with parking at siloso beach front? e.g. did ur guests leave early as they don't want to be found blocking other cars from driving off?

2. how did u manage the crowd control after the dinner, that is from ballroom to lobby to take the shuttle bus.

3. did you have problems with the service staff? were they experienced, polite and all?

4. any other issues that we shld take note of?

thanks in advance for ur help :o)

Hi Girls, I'm back from honeymoon! I enjoyed my wedding at Rasa, especially the solemnisation, the weather was simply PERFECT that day. Me and my hubby almost couldn't hold back our tears as we say our vows :P My friend who was the main coordinator with Elaine that day even manage to get them to serve soft drinks at the white fence area free of charge, wonder how he did it! Our bridal suite was upgraded to the Presidential suite that day by Elaine, and it was a very plesant surprise
Anyhow, we had a wonderful day. I hope you girls enjoyed yourself too!!

hi girls!

congrats nana77! no wonder you went missing for so long! i'm glad you had a wonderful wedding. do share your pix with us, yeah?
yeah, speaking of which, my hubby and i were both so teary at the altar too.. hehe..
guess it's a rasa wedding thing huh? Wow, Presidential suite! I didn't have a chance 'cos mine was during Dec school hols and the entire place was fully booked!!!

bleuz,
1. parking at siloso beach is definitely limited esp now that they allow the public to drive in. i advised my guests to take the coaches so not so much of a problem. the guests who didn't take the coaches had chauffeurs so that's why it wasn't so bad. don't forget tt there usually are 2 weddings on saturdays/ sundays so better ask your ppl to take the coach unless absolutely necessary to drive.

2. after the banquet, everyone knew that they had to catch the shuttle and the staff directed them to the lobby. no problems there, don't worry

3. service staff pretty good - i was very pleased overall.

4. OK, the major issue I found was the point where my guests boarded the shuttle bus at WTC 'cos some people from the other wedding got confused and boarded my buses. So pls station somebody there to guide your guests to the right bus. And don't forget to remind ppl not to miss the buses! Work out the timings with Syafie and remind them again and again.
Man, I must have been one heckuva naggy bride! hehe...

hi happily-married-nana77

glad u had such a wonderful n memoriabe day!! yr selomnisation at the white fence area? where is it..it it outside the silvershell cafe?

wah, presidential suite, tt's vry nice of elaine!! is it possible to share the flow of yr day's event wif me? eg. yr makeup time, solemnisation duration etc. i hope to get a feel of wat to expect on tt day.

hi catz, nana77, bluez

i'll b hving my solemnisation outside Pavilion ballrm at the lobby lounge terrace (the open space area) and syafie say since i'll b hving my cocktail there, he'll arrange for drinks to b served during the solemnisation....do u girls think its a nice place enough to hold the solemnisation...i m for the place coz it saves trouble, but i too like the beachfront (where the swimming pool, but will noisy as many guests/children will b swinning there)...wat do u think?

btw do u know how many location Rasa has for outdr event? i only know of Beachfront, Waterfront lawn and lobby lounge terrace. coz i feel lobby lounge terrace is not vry "rasa" as its not near the beach. but waterfront lawn is taken n Beachfront is too near the swimming pool (so syafie dont recommend as it's not vry private)

oh nana77, was there another wedding going on when u had yrs?

bluez, wah yr wedding is like 1 mth away only!! who's yr co-ordinator? hope u enjoy yr day like catz n

hi thedevil,
I think nana77 is probably referring to the Waterfront Lawn as the white fence area. That's where I had my solemnisation too. It's a little bit noisy as it's by the swimming pool but it's still quite private. The noise was negligible lah. I think it was very enjoyable. Beachfront, dunno where it is unless it's referring to the strip of beach infront of the hotel swimming pool?!

I like the Pavilion ballroom. It was taken already so mine was at Siloso.

hi catz,

oh ic...then it must b really beautiful!! too bad i cant hv tt place (waterfront lawn). er Beachfront is really juz infront of the swimming pool (but still within the htl precint)...like 5-10 steps away.

do u think the lobby lounge terrace is good for solemnisation?

hi thedevil,
Oh.. such a pity you can't get Waterfront lawn... I really loved it.
Not sure about lobby lounge terrace leh - is it the lounge on the right side of the Pavilion, with the bar counter and lounge chairs/tables?? Dunno leh.
Why not have it in the Pavilion itself?

hi catz,

yup me too feel sad abt not getting the waterfront lawn... yes u r right, its tt lounge, but not there but a open space 'garden' beside it overlooking the swimmingpool n beach. i wont consider Pavilion coz i wan a 'alfresco' feel

wat do u think of the beachfront? (if u can remember where is it)

hi thedevil,

actually, i don't remember where the beachfront is leh... hmmz.. why not ask Syafie to show you exactly where it is? he can arrange for you guys to go into rasa and take a peek right?

the garden sounds good too but will the sounds from the swimming pool waft up to the balcony when you're having your solemnisation? i dunno if i'm thinking of the right balcony though. :P

hi thedeveil,

yeppers.... my wedding is round the corner and i haven't gotten much done....argh... stressed...
my coordinator is elaine... so far my experience with her has been alright. when is your wedding and how are preparations getting along?

hi catz,

thanks for the tips... will keep that in mind..and hey, where are the pictures?? :o)

hi nana77,

wow.... lucky u.... got a presidential suite .... how was everything? anything in particular that we should be taking note off?

hi bleuz,

hehe.. guess what? still haven't scanned properly yet.. if you don't mind some lousy res photos, i'll email them to you. man, i hope this doesn't start a whole bunch of people requesting for the pix :P

i agree, nana77 super lucky!!!! *envious*

hi catz,

noise from the swimming pool will affect Beachfront more than the garden...anyway, either choice also not so good lah!! but bobian!!

hi bluez,

mine is abt 3 weeks after yrs n also nothing is done yet!!! cards not printed, guestlist not finalised etc...i m feeling the stress too!! will u b hving solemnisation at Rasa?

hi catz,

great... email me at [email protected]

hi thedevil,

hmm... i got my invites only 2 wks back and my "guo da li" is tom!!.... sigh.. haven't finished writing the invites too... i won't be having my solemnisation at rasa tho we wld have loved to. but i'm just too afraid the weather will disappoint. another reason was coz we cldn't agree on just 1 guest list.

Me signed up with rasa not so long ago...anyone heard abt chanel and how is she?

Our wedding is in Nov 03 and will be holding it at the pavilion. Chose there cos it will b more convenient for the guest to alight and board the bus. But I think if the beach front is closer to the ballroom, would like to have it near the beach too...

Anyone who had done their wedding in the pavilion? can share ur experience or pics?

Wow nana, so envious u get the presidential suite !!! Hope i get that luck too ;)

Hi! Yah, was very pleasantly surprised to get the presidential suite. I think on the actual day itself, the staff will be more accomodating, so maybe you can try ur luck to request for things (reasonable ones lah!) where possible :P

Khee, I had mine at pavillion, personally like it cos it felt more open due to the glass walls.

thedevil, for the flow of event at rasa: we reached there at about 1pm, waited a short while to check in. freshen up, rest a while then we walk around the area to familarise the helpers. then for me i just hang around the suite to R&R while the others were busy with preparations :P i started my makeup at about 5pm, finished by 6pm and my solemnisation starts at abt 6.15pm. Think it lasted about 15 mins, then about 10mins to take photos etc. then we went up to the pavilion cocktail area, some guests were already there. i was there for 10 mins to chat with some guests then cannot tahan, legs very tired and i went up to room to rest before the 1st march-in :P Most guests were there quite on-time and we started at abt 8pm, everything ended about 10.30pm, timing was no issue. hope this helps!!

Hi nana77,

Thanks vry much for sharing yr day… it really helps. Wah yr make-up vry fast leh. Me not so lucky, m sharing the same artist with another couple n I had to do mine earlier at 4pm…wonder if its too early!!

Was there any complains abt the location of Rasa? Now I feel the pressure coz whenever I tell pple its at Rasa, there’ll b the same reaction “Wah so far, got tpt or not?”. How many buses did u get n Where n what time did u put yr pick-up pts? Also wat aby the car-passes, how many did u get n were they useful?

How did u find the Pavilion cocktail area (is it the open space, overlooking the pool n beach one?)…coz syafie suggest I hv my solemnization there since I cant hv the Waterfront lawn n only left with the beachfront which is juz infront of the pool…pls give me yr opinions…thnks so much n sorry for posting so many qns!!! I’ll posting more!! Hope u don’t mind….i m vry disorganized person n so is my FH….syafie gave us the invites 3mths(jul) prior to our wedding n we’v not done anything yet!!! The cards hv been seating in my FH hse….now I m feeling soooo stress. Die liao.

hi thedevil,

don't stress, k? i was too when i realised a friend of mine, who's wedding is a week after mine, got all her church bulletins already tied up while i haven't even sent my invites to the printer. but well... all will fall into place. what helped for me was to write down a list of things i had to do and the dateline. afterwards, just refer to that and get things done. with that list, you'd also be able to get your closer friends to help out. don't stress k else won't be pretty bride already :o) (shld tell myself that more often too)...

i've exchanged 20 car passes. not intending to change more as i'm not encouraging guests to drive in. am afraid that there won't be enough parking lots as there's another wedding going on too. arranged for shuttle to be at cityhall and spi building. how about yourself?

hi catz,

got ur email, thanks. emailed back earlier today. did u receive? was wondering if u made signs (or did rasa provide) to be put at spi and on the bus to make it more visible to your guests?

Hullo bleuz and thedevil,

Got your email.. thought you hadn't received mine after all that time!

Yes, I put up signs and stationed 2 people at SPI building to guide my guests onto the right buses. It's good that you're not encourage ppl to drive as there really is very limited parking at Siloso beach. The nearest carpark if Siloso is full would be Parade Sq which is a looong walk from Rasa. :P

As for the disparaging remarks, well, there were a lot of grumbles about the distance etc.. but after that, a lot of people commented on how fun it was.
So don't worry too much!

thedevil, the area is ok, but starting at about 7.15-7.30pm they will start some BBQ session below and when the smoke floats up, most of the guests will 'hide' into pavillion lor... that's what we realise. are you having many pple for the solemnisation? cos that area not very big too. we did consider having it there at first cos more convenient mah, but later we felt Waterfront lawn is more special and nearer to the sea. sorry i am not too sure where the beachfront is, but personally i would still prefer somewhere nearer to the sea, more special leh :P

we had 4 coaches, and 40 carpasses. heard that the coaches are quite empty on that day, which was what elaine pre-empt us too! don't know why leh. anyway we were the only couple that day, so there was no issue getting lots at the siloso beach carpark. our experience is most pple would still prefer to drive in if they have car. but we encourage pple to carpool if they know each other and we seat them together too. don't stress, i try to answer your questions. enjoy the process! before u know, it's over and u will miss doing the preparations :P

bleuz, rasa has the standard sign template. what we did was to get elaine to email us the template and then we add/change our own stuff for her to print. felt more personalised...hehe

Nana77, congrats to u!!! U muz be having lots of fun at the wedding. Need some advices from u gals!!!

How soon muz we get the invites from our coordinator ah?? That means we also muz finalise the no. of guests invited? I understand there are 2 actual day makeup for us. Do u guys do it in the day b4 check in or b4 solemnisation then 2nd makeup during dinner time?? How is it gonna be like?? I intend to start my church solemnisation at the lawn (abt an hr or so) in the evening abt 6pm then proceed to dinner at pavilion. Catz, any advices? What time u start your ceremony??

Gals, do your gown have long trains? Is it advisable to have it as attached or detachable?? Sorry ah for my many questions!!! hehehe..... Looking forward to that day... 5 more mths to go... I juz decided on my boutique recently so it's rush, rush, rush for us!!! Feeling kan cheong now... :P