Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi nana,

digital camera? me too...u r wif chris ling? i m meeting up wif choon huat next mon

hv u decided on yr makeup time for solemnization? do u think our hair will b messy outdr wif all the seabreeze...hehe. my FH also warn me tt 5-6pm can b vry stuffy n warm....will our makeup n hairdo withstand all these?

catz...can u advice us on all these
nana yr wedding comming vry soon right?

I started my makeup at around 3pm and was ready by 5pm for my ceremony. The ceremony started at 5.35pm promptly. It was nice and balmy... quite cooling. My make-up was OK throughout.

hi catz,

how abt make-up for yr dinner?? or did u juz stick to the one done for yr solemnization...if not, tt means u hv 3 make-up in a day?? got to pay extra right??

nana,

wat do u think? i dont feel like paying extra leh

yo thedevil,

yup, i'm with chris ling, we went checked out his studio few days ago, he seems quite a nice guy and he just bought a new model of digital camera which he will use in our session, heehee. Sidetrack, we notice that he got 3 big nice cars (don't ask me models, me clueless about cars) parked in front of his shop with ALL THREE of them having the car number "50", and his shop unit is also "50", cool uh? :P

Hope u enjoy meeting up with CH, do update us about the meeting! Did you meet up with any other photographers too?

I don't think there's time for a 3rd makeup? I am assuming that a makeup starts from a clean face, and not just touch up. So I don't think there's a need to pay extra
I have not decided the actual time of the solemnisation yet, thinking of having it at 6pm cos mine should be a 20mins thingy only, what do u think, too late? What time are you going to have it?

Actually how do we start the soleminsation? I mean, do we all sit down and get the JP to start his "usual speech" and then when we are pronounced as "Husband & Wife" and that's it and we can all leave the place?? Sounds kinda "wierd" and "not happening" to me :PP

I'm going for my 3rd fitting next week! Very excited
Phototaking mid-Mar
That reminds me, I haven't decided on my handbouquet flowers and arrangements for my photoshoot!!! Gotta stop "nuan-ing" and go flip thru the mags :P

halo nana,

yah i met chris ling too....the 1st thing my FH noticed was his 3 cars wif the same license plate

i understand wat meant when u say make-up start wif clean face but i remembered catz saying her dinner makeup was completed around 8pm so i assumed she reapplied in the evening. if we start our make-up at 3pm like wat catz did...do u think we'll so look fresh by 7pm??

heehee i actually share the same sentiments.....i tot solemnisation take only abt 20min n JP will start his usu. speech, pronounce us "husband & wife" n then we leave!!!! at least tt's wat happened during my bro's solemnisation at his new hse!!!....oh my it does really sound "not happening" n "weird"!!

wahh..i can feel yr excitment too
. think u must love yr WG right. hope u'll b at yr most beautiful on yr photo-shoot day
...i heard from helen (divine) try not to take photos any day near our mensus coz we'll look bloated in the photos. nana yr wedding is when?

ok we'll keep our discussion on our wedding day arrangement flowing...hee most impt we need catz advice

flyn...hv u decided?

nana...its me again hehe...

juz went thru CH's packages...r u taking his pkg A,B,C or D?....i dont really know wat it means by "Essay Album"...do u?

if i choose A or B, tt means i only hv the small plastic photo albums n hv to buy the big album myself if i want it?? his style (photojournalistic) is the same for all 4 pkg right?? only C n D has big album wif 5R photos?

wah quite confuse leh...hehe

harlow,

I didn't have any major events in the morning so I did my own makeup in the morning. Make-up artiste came at 3pm to do my makeup for my church ceremony. Ceremony ended at 6.30pm, by 6.45pm I was back in my suite for a shower and to do my dinner makeup. Yup, you will definitely need to touch up before your dinner. Plus you need to change your hairstyle, right? :o) Sorry, I've been very busy so couldn't really login to the forum.

Hi thedevil, have u met up with CH yet? How was it? We took pkg B. I think the Essay Album is just a more presentable photo album... can't remember, cos we didn't take that. If i remember correctly, all pkgs comes with 5R...

Hi Catz, so did u have to pay extra for the 3rd makeup? If u do not do a 3rd one, will the makeup still be good enough for the night?

Hi thedevil,

I think most likely i will sign up with Rasa Sentosa...been wanting to hold my wedding dinner near beach. My FH and i like the lawn and pavilion ballroom very much. Spoke to elaine today...they are having a wedding show this march...are u attending? I'm going for the show. Heard that the bridal show is by X-zen that is located at Centrepoint. I will go there to finalise everything with elaine by march. So far do anyone of u get any freebies? Wanna noe how to negotiate lah!!!

hey nana,
if you read my msg, you'll see that i arranged no events in the morning so i only had a total of 2 make-up sessions. shouldn't be a problem 'cos you only need a touch-up, not a major re-do so your make-up artiste should be more than willing to stay on for about an hour extra to wait for you and do the touch-up for free or a token sum.

i think rasa is a wonderful place to have a wedding... lets your guests have that 'holiday' mood.

FLyn how abt the Transport? Are you arranging any special coaches for guest? Rasa Sentosa is in my list too initially cos i like to have mine near the beach as well. But I'm worried about the transport for guest who do not have cars.

hey translucent,

I think Rasa Sentosa will provide 4 coaches if i'm not wrong. We can choose our own pickup points. We can also trade in max 2 coaches for 40 car passes too if u want. They juz started this new scheme this year. ;)

wah wedding show ah?? good leh, shld go coz i heard wedding show always can get alot of freebies!!

sh@# (pls pardon me)...i juz gave my deposit to elaine!!!! tt means i cant bargain according to the show
.....but flyn, i m sure u'll get alot more than us

did she tell u exactlly when's the show? mar when?

hi nana,

juz met CH on mon....hmm he's quite nice, i feel rather comfortable wif him. most of the album he showed us r those tt i'v seen on his website...hee hope he can make us look so beautiful too

i think his normal album is 4R, the essay album is 5R but i think 4R is good enough...yah most prob i'll take pkg B...no pt paying afew hundred bucks on the big album
..can do ourselves too!!
oh will u want the white boarder on yr photos?? its extra $50 for the whole set...

hi thedevil,

I'm not sure exactly when's the show? I oni noe it's in march. I think elaine will send invitation card to me nxt week. She told me that we may get additional 1 nite stay and 20l or 30l beer?? I dun think i will get a lot of freebies lah!! I think some of u may have these offers. When did u pay ur deposit? when's wedding ah? Will update u on the wedding show date again

Hope I'm not asking too much, but one coach can sit how many people huh? ;)

hi Translucent,

elaine told me 1 coach can seat 45...

hi flyn
i know the show date
its 29mar. try getting 1 extra stay!! coz she didnt want to gif us saying tt its $450/night!!

hi thedevil, u mean u try to ask for the extra 1 nite stay and Elaine didn't want to give it to you? I also thinking of asking for it leh, but my FH said chances quite slim that she will give lah, if not everyone will ask for it!! Actually one nite stay to the hotel not very expensive one, if she tell me $200+ i may still believe her but not $450!!

hi nana,

when i met CH, asked him abt u hehe hope u dont mind my kaypohness...yr wedding in jul?? or mayb he got the wrong person

yah elaine told me its originally $600/night for the bridal suite but she's giving us a discount at $450/night if we interested in extending for a night....i think the price is crazy too!!

I don't think she's lying 'cos the discounted rate for sea-facing deluxe is $180 and the bridal suite is an executive suite. Since there are only 8 of these suites, which by the way, are usually booked-up, I think $450 is pretty reasonable. Alternatively, why don't you speak to Syafie instead? I found him very accomodating and non-calculative. Don't forget to ask for special rates for your guests. I booked about 10 extra rooms in total for my relatives and close friends.

Hi thedevil, you kaypo devil! :P Just kidding... haha, yup my wedding in July... how did u ask about me? "The other bride in Rasa Sentosa too" ?So u getting CH as well? As for the white border, I see the sample prints first then decide lor, no need to crack my head now...

Hi Catz, guess you really had a very enjoyable experience with Syafie
How should I ask from him without offending Elaine? Don't want to "spoilt" the relationship if we are still going to be attended by her, u get what I mean? BTW, how to pronounce Syafie's name? :P

heyhey,

Yah, I suppose it's pretty difficult/awkward to ask for a change in coordinator. Unless you say that your friend recommended? Let me be the bad guy loh! Syafie = shaf-fee and he's the catering manager.

hi nana n catz...

but elaine is the catering mgr as well!!! hmm so weird to hv 2 of the same kind.

yah nana i agree wif u totally...initially we wanted to change to syafie as well coz our close friend knows him (our friend is rasa's corporate client)...but we dont know how to tell elaine leh...coz it'll mean losing sales for her!!!

also i m quite worried abt working wif elaine coz our contract does not include the small small stuff n it does not say tt we r having the beachfront for our solemnisation!!! n she's always on urgent leave etc, she's getting impatient wif us too... i m kind of afraid tt she's not as delicated to her job!!

my wedding is also at Rasa Sentosa. On 30/11/02, booked 45 tables + 2 reserve. :D
did Syafie offer you gals anything on wine? elaine said I must order at least 12 bottles to get a special price of $25+++ each. vaguely remember the corkage for wine is high if we bring our own.
btw, engaged Choon Huat as my actual day photographer. he looks pleasant and not that salesman sort. Best of all, 1 roll of film = 36 shots that are edited, i.e. those with eyes closed and not well taken are not counted.

Hi thedevil,

I personally think that elaine is quite dedicated to her job. I did called her on Mon but like u said, she was on urgent leave so i left my msg with syafie to ask her to get back to me. On the same day, she called me back coz she need to handle some stuffs b4 going for compassionate leave till Thu. They have a few catering managers i think but dunno who's the catering director?

Why not u fixed an appt with her to clarify with elaine once and for all? Sometimes over the phone, we tend to forget wat we want to ask and wat she juz said? If u r still not comfy with her, i think u have the rite to change the coordinator.
Dun worry abt the services, i think the Rasa staffs are quite professional and friendly.

hi flyn,

i understand wat u meant...i tot she was really nice too when i met her for the first few times. i guess its becoz we delayed our payment due to us wanting to secure more things n also my FH vry forgetful type...keep forgeting to send her the payment.....

so she got impatient wif us n bcame not as friendly.

hi ping

hey i think u shldnt b charge corkage at all!!! we got free cockage for 24 bottles of wine. try to get tt as well coz i think many of us r getting it
. hee u using Choon huat also....wah so many rasa brides like him. i hope he make all of us beautiful

we didn't get charged for corkage as well... better negotiate properly! and don't forget that if you bring in hard liquor, it has to be duty-paid stuff.
hi ping, welcome to the rasa brides thread!

lately kind of quiet leh this thead...hee mayb i can "spice" it up a bit.

yesterday juz went to confirm my WG design (Divine)...my 1st fitting in May...i think its kind of late coz my wedding 5oct...no choice lah, up to the designer to decide loh coz she's the expert mah.

i'v been talking to elaine lately... she's still as hostile even after we paid the deposit
..hope things will get better, if not very difficult to co-ordinate wif her.

Hi guys

I'll be a Rasa Bride in March too.

My coordinator is Elaine and I have no problem with her. Sometimes she won't budge but certain things have to give and take lor.

Questions - have anyone had/ attended an outdoor wedding before. just wondering what i shld have in the program so that the guest will enjoy. Any inputs?

2. What kind of music will suit the easy environment? I do not want something run-of-the-mill.

Any inputs?

Hi thedevil,

I also face the same problem with Elaine. At first she is veri nice but due to we tried asking for more stuff, she tone changed. (She is nice but she doesn't know how to hide her feelings when she not happy.)

FYI, she is the head there, so who ever not served by her is her junior.

Hi thedevil,

No response recently cos no update to give :P Wanted to go and see an outdoor solemnisation couple of weeks back and then update everyone here, but it rained that day so the couple had it indoor instead...

Anyone going to the wedding show at Sentosa on 29Mar? Was still comtemplating whether to spend the money or not since we already booked and can't get the extra promotion goodies from Elaine.

Hi Elaine..

i got a shock when i first saw yr name thinking its the rasa elaine...hehe.. i m wondering y u still wan to go for the show? also did u pay for it, y do u wan to spend $ since u already confirm the place? (hv u paid deposit for the banquet?)

Hi nana,

i think like u too
....but i tot elaine is quite 'fierce' so abit scare of her. i m afraid tt we try to ask for more, she'll b piss n wont try her best to make our wedding as good as we wan to. aiya its so funny tt we r the ones who's giving her sales yet got to see her face colour.

Hi thedevil,

Hehe, me same name but different person
I shouldn't have place my name there, in case she gets to read this. But too late. Well, I still going to the show because we like there, nope, I do not need to pay for it.

I haven't confirm the place but I heard that on that day (show) they'll be giving a good bargain. Are you going?

Yap, me also afraid of her
I tried to ask more too but got the same treatment as you
But dun worry, I think she will still give us good rate, if we ask. Just be more patient

just attended a wedding at rasa yesterday. it was at the waterfront lawn abt 27 tables. the setting looks quite nice, some comments

thechair coves looked quite thread bare, not the starchy look kind, look very much like cheap cotton

the sound system was credible

flies around the food buffet style, rather turned off

they don't have sufficient main course, by the 2nd march in, there's no more main course, only left dessert.

dinner started at 630 still some light for eating, else once dark, totally can't see much

any othre questions to ask abt my experience, feel free to post

Hi rasa,

May I know how's the attendance rate like (if u know)? Did you hear any comments on the inconvenience of going there? Any problems finding the right coach to take, parking lots etc?

Thank you!!

heard that their buffet isn't very good. had a friend whose buffet went badly 'cos the refills were really slow! but for their banquet, no complaints at all.

my attendance rate was almost 100% and everyone wa son time.
one word of warning, there WILL be confusion at the coaches as there are usually two weddings at the same time so best to post ppl there to guide your guests to the right bus!

yes.. i was confused about what bus to take coz the directions were not stated very clearly on the map. moreover, world trade going through renovations now, so even more messy

the pepper ice cream was really one of the kind, so delicious to some, so revolting to others.

and the attendance was i think they had to close 2 tables off.

the fish items were urgh! but the meat items more bearable.

choose more meat items if you can. fish not fresh and for cold dish, forget about the eggplant. no one touched it.

hi nana,

wah after hearing so much abt rasa from rasa...quite scary right.

hi catz,
is it true abt the sit cover? if it is, then vry disappointing leh. i went to shangri-la (mainland) function last week n was sooo impression by its everything...the seat cover is so fantastic...the alittle crease type n silver in colour!! everything was so wonderful there. but then again, guess i get wat i pay for ....shangrila mainland is so expensive!

hi elaine,
dont know if i shld go since i already paid...but i think u shld definitely go
...so u can get more out of it.

nope, had no problems with the seat covers whatsoever. maybe they use the older seat covers for the outdoor buffets? when i had my outdoor ceremony, the seats were pristine white!
aiyah, don't worry lah. and if you're not happy with your coordinator, change it!

hi thedevil + all,

actually, I went there a few times to check on their indoor and outdoor. I personally feel tat their outdoor is beautiful and the indoor is not to bad, especially the Pavilion, when it over looks the sea. Inside settings for wedding still not too bad, the stage has nice lighting too, but only food, I not too sure. I guess when there's more than one wedding (checking out the place on last sunday 17/03- 3 weddings) 1 of them might be having the old seat covers 'sway'. Most prop the outdoor as lights are dim.

Seen the outdoor seat covers too, just normal(like any others) at one glance, but still not too sure about the cloth. btw, for the buffet, they do not refill the food. They will just cook enough for your no. of guest. I ask tat already.

I think maybe you should go to the show because you might be able to squeeze more from her. Not too sure if it works but can give a try. I guess there'll be a lot of people and she can't show her feelings out. btw, wat did she manage to give you? eg beer, stay, coaches, car pass

when i went to rasa for wedding, there was another couple having solemnisation just by the pool followed by dinner at pavilion. their seat covers were the more starchy look kind, but also look old. dunno why standard for seat covers at both wedding in same hotel so different, guess ultinately its your own luck. hmm.. maybe outdoor wedding the seat cover more threadbare more comfortable , it can get quite warm, esp, that nite, dunno why, no wind.

hi nana & thedevil,

I read some of your past msg, and felt tat CH your actual day photographer is veri reasonable, but just asking, does he use negatives of digital?

I'm a freelance photographer and my rates are about there +, -. But I only take ROM photos as the time spend is lesser. Tat's why your photographer rate is reasonable, but does he include actual developing? 4R? Include a wedding album?

From my experience, I normally take not more than 4rolls for ROM but it all due to the number of people too. Thus you might need 6-8 rolls on your actual day. If you are talking about morning to night & outdoor shots, I guess you might need more.

I normally take 1 full roll at Fort Canning Park for the couple. 1 roll indoor, 1 roll outdoor with friends & family and 1 not full roll for the makan.

For digital shots, the only bad thing is the resolution. Plse make sure tat your photos are in high res, if not when you enlarge them, you'll see pixels on it.

Actually for digital, the photographer can touch-up any badly taken photos before giving them to you, whereas for real photos, they can't unless they scan in and digitally touch-up. But of course they also must have the skill to do tat. If you need more info just ask me.

Anyone book with rasa at the show? I paid my deposit on the spot. Anything to look out for when signing the contract?

Thanks,
Bijou

hi bijou,

I also book during the show. I think there's nothing to look out for when signing as everthing is stated black & white.

Did anyone here booked for solemnisation outdoor? And how much did Elaine quoted u? I was quoted $400 for less than 50 people. Plus I am having my indoor wedding banquet at Pavilion for 35 tables.

Need your advice!!