Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Catz and all,

I have also paid the deposit during the show. Having my church wedding at the waterfront lawn and banquet in Pavilion.

I also want to know how much they quote u for the setup fees at the lawn? It seems different pricing for different ppl? I think mine is around $800 for seating affair for 250 ppl. Need some advices too?? Thks

Hi flyn,

I think for my solemnization, it is just a long table for signing of papers and some chairs for the guests. And I am having it at the beachfront lawn ( the smaller area). Maybe that is the different between the prices. However, I read that some Rasa's brides actually got it FOC if they have less than 20 or 30 guests. Someone please help to verify?

flyn, did u signed up during the Bridal show on March 29th? I did not...mine is the weekend package. Mind I ask did u get any complimentary beer?

hi want-to-know,

yep, i signed up during the Bridal show. Mine also weekend package. I got 1 complimentary 20l beer on top of 30l beer. Wat abt urself? When is ur wedding date? Mine is nxt year jan. Have u booked any bridal package yet??

Hi catz,

Wondering are u still active in this forum?? Need ur advice...wat music did u play during ur march in at waterfront lawn?? the aisle looks quite short...can't really have a grand march in , huh? Will they lay any carpet since the ground looks quite uneven? Any difficulty marching in?? hehehe...scared i sprain my ankle or wat?? :P haha...

Has anyone liaise with Esther at Rasa? I signed up with her during the show. I understand most of you worked with Elaine or Syafie.

Harlow flyn,

Yep, still live and kicking

OK, firstly, I paid $800 for my waterfront lawn set-up for 150 guests incl of 4 mics and full sound system and light refreshments (soft drinks & peanuts). I also managed to get them to use the flower stands for my ceremony and then bring them into the dinner so I did not incur additional costs for deco.

As I had a military wedding, we chose a pretty long song for the march-in - Pachelbel's Canon in D. It was really nice lah... I was also really worried about spraining my ankle but the ground was OK. But there is a tricky patch at the lawn which you must be careful of. Syafie had it filled with sand but it was still irregular. My dad was so frightened that he would trip and bring me with him! But everything was OK. Practice walking in your shoes!!! Also, we were standing throughout the ceremony so I kinda felt my heels sinking into the ground (which was wet 'cos it rained in the afternoon)!!

Hope this answers your questions. Take care!

Hi catz,

Glad tat u are still active in tis forum...
How long is ur song for the march in?? I think mine is abt 4.42mins. When and where do u appeared? I realise the aisle is quite short. I'm afraid even if i walked slowly, I've already reached the aisle b4 the song finished. Any Advice?? Do u have any flowergals or pageboy involved? Did u have any rehearsal for march in? When do u do it? Sorry for bombarding so many questions... ;) Thks a lot!!

Hi flyn,
The song was about 7 minutes so we played it for about half a minute before the sword-bearers started their march in . Yah, you're right, it was a short walk but you gotta walk slowly. My pastor coached me and my dad how to walk. Then we faded the song out, that'ss the best thing about using instrumental.

Yes, I had two bridesmaids who walked in single file in front of me. We rehearsed in church only once... any old how whack on the actual day!
Turned out OK though. don't worry, in my friend's wise words, 'on your wedding day, EVERYTHING will go wrong but it will be OK!' and it's so true!

hi catz,

thks for ur advice...haha well said... hmm..guess i may have to change my march in song...thinking to play From This Moment On by shania twain. I like the vows part for our solemnisation. wat do u think?? thot of playing in banquet for another march in but not appropriate leh!!

hullo,

Maybe you could use the From this Moment On for your banquet march-in? It was very nice when my friend used it. Go for something instrumental for the outdoor ceremony so you can play around with fade-in/out.
Esp if you can't have rehearsals. We actually planned a one hour rehearsal after lunch but ended up with me and my bridesmaids not being able to make it! A lot of last minute things inspite of planning to the T!

Have fun lah, that's the most important thingie.

oh yah, catz, do u have any pics to share during ur solemnisation?? wanna noe how is it like....hehehe

Anybody here booked a weekday package with Rasa Sentosa and manage to get free flow of beer ( not the promo package on March 29, 02 )??

Glad to see so many Rasa's brides here in this thread. I just signed up their package and my wedding is this December. My coordinator is Elaine too and as our package is a weekday we managed to get 30 litres of beer on top of the usual 20 litres included in the package. Is it a good deal?

Hi.

How much is their package? and what are the details inclusive? Are there any pillars in the ballroom?

hi mint,
their package ranges from $600plus to $700plus depending on weekday/weekend and menu. inclusive of honeymoon suite, coaches, food-tasting for 10, beer (depending on promotion) etc... no pillars in both ballrooms.

Hi All rasa brides,

Just wondering if the food tasting comes complimentary from the hotel? I just got my contract and it was not in there. And the promo package does come with food tasting?

HI Bijou,

I had my wedding in Dec 2001 and food-tasting was complimentary. I recall that food-tasting is part of the deal with Rasa and we didn't have to bargain for it but we didn't sign up for our package during promotion. Maybe it would be better to contact your coordinator and clarify ASAP.

BTW, don't take the seafood fried rice... really yucky. Take the Lotus rice instead.

Catz, "both ballrooms" include Pavilion? Cos Pavilion has pillars, unless now they knock down the pillars liao then i will be very happy :P

Sentosabride, I got extra barrel only, no free flow.

Bijou, I checked with Elaine, she can only give me free food tasting if I got min 28 tables.

I been "pestering" Elaine for the invitation cards but she told me no need so soon, she will inform us to go down when it's June (our wedding in July). I thought, where got time to print and send ?! So I called her up again and she said the cards have run out, new batch coming in only soonest late April

We are thinking of changing the shark's fin dish with something else, anyone done that with Sentosa before? What did u change it to? Anyone got any suggestions can share?

hi nana and bijou,

sorry for the mis-info... i had a peek at the pavilion and i don't remember any pillars! :P sorree... but the pavilion is lovely. i had mine in the siloso ballroom... only booked for 20 tables but i still got free food-tasting. my banquet manager was syafie though.. he seemed to be able to give us more leeway.

you'd better chase elaine for the invites 'cos printing takes at least a month, giving time for corrections and mistakes, if any! my invites went bouncing back and forth for about 2 weeks and then they took about 10 days to print. plus you gotta give your guests at least a month or for overseas guests, 2 months!

yah, we were thinking of changing the sharks' fin dish and syafie said that they had some alternatives using lobster etc.. but in the end, got over-ruled by parents-in-law. *sigh* save the sharks!!! (i feel so guilty... got the blood of i dunno how many sharks on my hands :P)

Hi nana,

I had signed up Rasa! We got extra beer in this case too( hard to negotaite for free flow). I too got free food tasting for a min. of 25 tables. I think u can talk to Elaine again. She is flexible in my weekday package.

I was a Rasa bride last month. Had my buffet dinner at the Waterfront Lawn. Here's my experience with them:

1. Played the wrong song and CDs went missing!
2. No replenishment of food. They should, since we pay for the actual attendance. Make sure you have a food coordinator to watch this.

Any other stuff that u need to know?

Hi Sentosabride, when did u sign up? I see if I can hit 28 tables first, if not I will go and pester Elaine again...hehe

Oreocookie, so did u tell them your dissatisfaction? Did they do anything?

Catz, lobster sounds good choice! Will go and ask them

Hi nana,

I signed up recently. Try to talk to Elain.
Although, Rasa is a nice place to hold my wedding, both my mum and my mother-in-law still not very keen about the idea. My mum is most worry about the coordination part of the transportation.
Really at a loss now...

yeap. Told Elaine about the problem but she she said she can't do anything.

As for food - she said no couple ever complain about food shortage! Made me sound like I'm the problematic one!!!

hi oreocookie,

Dun worry, Elaine is like tat. Even I face problems with her. She even said tat I always have too many questions for her. But overall as long as she does wat I wan, can liao

Hi All, how's everyone's preparation?

Catz, can advise me something?
Did u use the seashell invites last time? I just collected the invites from Elaine and realised that the cards with seashell design are very plain on the front page. Wonder if u print anything on the front page? Would it cost more?

Sentosabride, I didn't hit 28 tables, so we asked Elaine again to waive the food-tasting, and this time she finally say yes! very happy

'Allo!

yeah, nana, we used the one with the seashell invites 'cos the envelopes were so cute!!!
we actually just printed our names and the date on the front (+ a verse from the scripture passage we chose for our sermon) and a map behind with instructions on how to get to Rasa. it's the same cost 'cos it's on the same side of the paper (u know what i mean?). we had translucent cream inserts for the inside. i saw some couples who put their wedding pix on the front (sepia toned) or alternatively, you could put any picture/graphic you want on the front page. the printers should be able to do it for you. mine was quite last minute so didn't have enough time to think about it.

Hi All rasa brides,

Just wondering does rasa provide the insert paper and the string to hold the insert to the card? I realized in my contract that they provide 100% invitation cards... which we dun need so many. Do they allow us to trade some of the cards for the inserts?

Thanx...

Hi Catz, I got what u mean cos the printer prints with the card "open up" right?
What's the cost difference if we just print the inserts only (i.e. without the front and back)? Did u print at the recommended printer by Rasa too? Are they good? Heehee hope u don't mind my many qns!

Hi nana,

long time no chat liao...wah yr wedding vry soon
when July is it? hv u decided on the outdr solemnisation thingy? can tell me how u plan to do it? n wat abt make-up timing?

oh wat flowers u choosing for yr banquet deco? btw, my FH managed to change our co-ordination to syafie...hope he'll b alittle better...if not then slap my face!!!

hv u taken yr studio/outdr pics yet? can share wif us? i feel so excited for u
so coincidently, chris ling n kim are my FH neighbour!!! kim told me when i booked wif him. oh yr actual day by CH, can share wif us also hee i vry greedy lah.

congrats to u that elaine gave in to yr wishes...enjoy yr food tasting n remember to tell us abt it
...btw elaine showed us some of the invites bfore by other couples ...some vry sweet looking.

Hi nana and Bijou,

Nope, as far as I know, inserts do not come with the card. You could always just print on the card direct but with the seashells, it's very hard to make the words stand out. Inserts are pretty cheap, around 10cents per sheet.

I sent my cards to be printed at T-dragon. Not bad but you gotta proof-read again and again! Their English quite terok! If you go there, you'll probably get my sample to follow.

As for 100% invites, nope, definitely won't be able to swap for inserts. But do remember to print more to allow for mistakes as a repeat print would be too expensive. And they will charge you for the excess cards if you don't fill up the tables.

Hi thedevil, yup about 2.5 mths to my wedding. However still have not decided on the outdoor solemnisation stuff yet and the makeup timing! Was
playing with the thought of having solemnisation in the morning/early afternoon instead, i.e. when i reach rasa after customary. what do u think?
got pros and cons lor...

Congrats for getting Syafie! Do let us know if he's much better? How did ur FH request for the change? He talked to Elaine? Was she unwilling or something?? I have not decided the details of the banquet yet, cos elaine said will finalise only 1 mth before. so still waiting lor.

yah, i remembered she showed us some of the invites of other couples, but that was last year nov-dec period, now totally forgot :P And we didn't get to refresh our memory cos we collected the blank cards from Shangrila directly.

Hi Catz, thanks for the info! So the thread we got to buy ourselves too right?

Hi Catz,

Thanks for the reply. Guess we have to spend on getting the inserts then... didn't realize there are "hidden costs"...sigh...
Truth is, what is the point of getting 100% invitation cards? Usually only require 30-40% only.

Yup, thread gotta buy yourself but it's not that expensive lah!

Bijou, don't sound so sad lah... you just gotta budget an extra $1k for all the little extras for your wedding. Little things here and there really nip into your budget. True, don't really need 100% invitation cards but it's better than some hotels that charge, right? Anyway, I think we all got pretty good deals at Rasa - good food, nice scenery, good service so n'mind lah.

Just got to know from my friend that there's this forum page. Hope to join you guys on the topic of wedding in Rasa.

My wedding is March next year as well and my coordinator is Elaine! She's a very nice lady and always very accommodating and patient. She's always prepared to answer any queries tha we have. I don't really agree that she 'show you face' b'cos you bargain, just so happens that some people are born with tat kind of face, that does not mean they're not happy with you. You will discover it if you are able to talk more to her, really nice you noe....
Don't understand why one of you guys want to change your coordinator but it's your choice anyway. Hope you don't mind, just being frank. Happened to speak to Shafi b4, dun really like him cos sounds a bit fake....sori...

Hear that if you do change, sometimes there might be some miscommunication if someone else new were to take over. I have a few friends who encountered this before! I also believe it's very common in other hotels that some coordinators are inflexible!

Mine is a Chinese sit down dinner and the place we have chosen is Siloso. Tot of having cocktail at Beachfront cos like to Horse Carriage. Any of you going for it as well?

Tweety

Hi Tweety,

Ny wedding is in Jan nxt year. I also like the Horse Carriage but was told by Elaine tat we hv to rent from Sentosa for min 2 hrs..costs abt $250 p/h for abt $500 loh i think. Elaine is also my wedding coordinator. Still thinking shld i rent it for phototaking with friends and relatives and a so called a "March-In" like Cinderella
in my wedding since mine is an outdoor wedding and dinner in ballroom thereafter?? Any advices??

So far, my FH & i can get along with her very well. Yep, she's quite professional and accommodating. Spoke to Syafie b4 too a few times when i couldn't locate elaine, he's also very friendly and likes to joke around...seems like a fun loving person lah as compared to elaine. She's more serious lah...i shld say she's quite professional.

My opinion is To each on its own, everyone has got the rights to change wedding coordinator if we can't clique together.
Moreover, it's our wedding and we are the one who pay for their services.

All Rasa brides, all the best in your wedding preparation!!!

Hi nana,

how's yr prep so far? tell me abt it ok coz i think the most difficult part of the wedding prep is the dinner!! i need yr 1st hand info hee

hi catz,

sincce i'v changed my co-ordinator to syafie, can u tell me more abt his working style?

Hi tweety,

i agree wif flyn that its our own choice to choose co-ordinator. its natural that certain pple can click wif certain pple....juz that elaine was really nice at first n we were so impress wif her tt we decided to sign Rasa wifout sourcing for other places (of coz we loved that place too)...but her niceness didnt last long so we tot might as well change loh, coz its suppose to b a happy occassion n hate to think that we r not too comfortable wif her. of coz its good that some of u can work wif her....its not possible to please everyone, so there's bound to hv someone more comfy wif her n some more comfy wif syafie.

Hi thedevil,

Syafie *might* be more senior than Elaine that's why he's more able to give you extras. He's quite organised and very efficient, don't have to chase him for stuff. He's got a lot of initiative. Just let him know if you need anything. Like for us, we had the day suites for our sword bearers and helpers to hang out at. Plus he chased for us to be able to check into our rooms at 10am (during Dec hols!).. yeah, very happy with him lah. I think it's important to feel comfortable with your coordinator. For me, I'm a pretty critical person but I didn't find Syafie impersonal or anything like that. Quite enjoyed his personal touches, in fact. Happy planning!
Getting nervous yet? ;)

has anymore attended wedding dinner at rasa shangri la recently? am thinking of booking with them, but don't know how's the food like??

hey mandy,

U met him ah?? no leh, he didn't tell me leh. He don't really tell me much abt his work or if he happen to meet any friends of his or ours. Unless i asked him abt his work or we talked abt some friends, then he will tell me if he remember. Aiyah, Guys ah are different from us lah...we got super memory. hahaha...

hi flyn,

ahhaha... guess that is him. saw him at woodlands, he say his sister stay there. so it is pretty nearby where i stay.

have u settle ur hse?

mandy

I had my wedding at Rasa last Nov. and would like to share my experience with couples who have signed up a package with Rasa.

MY WEDDING CARDS
Was recommended to T-Dragon by Rasa...was quite an enjoyable encounter as the boss, also called Jason, was fun to work with (his wife is serious but good with details). Went back twice to get exactly what we want but was very satisfied at the end of the process -1) cards given by rasa can be quite plain so it's better to have bigger/more pictures 2) to have your pick-up points clearly reflected on the card (for maps, better to be printed on a separate piece of paper)

Overall rating : 7/10

MY WEDDING RECEPTION (at waterfront lawn)

Was quite worried about the raining season but luckily things turn out fine. Friends commented that they were most impressed by the horse carriage as it seems like a fairy tale wedding. During the march in at the lawn, the song "She" was played.

Overall rating:
Horse carriage: 8/10 minus 2 as march-in must be before 7.30p.m (their old pony cannot see well at night).

MY WEDDING DINNER

The set-up was beautiful and romantic and the food was much better improved after the comments given at the food tasting (guess the hotel takes your comments seriously).

Overall rating:
Set-up 7.5/10
Food tasting : 5.5/10 (main complain is food
too cold)
Food during actual day: 7-7.5/10 (much
improved version)
Presentation of food: 8/10

WEDDING COORDINATOR

My initial coordinator was Janet but was later re-assigned to Elaine (the former got transferred). I do not have any complaint against Elaine but only praises for this friendly, patient and committed lady. There were times where I tried to bargain this and that (like everyone did ;) and showed my concern for areas like: What if that day rain? What if the food is not up to standard? What if...I would expect her to just take note and wayang wayang but was really touch and glad when she tried her best to meet our request...she even offered her own CD collection to us when we could not find a suitable song for us. So you can imagine how troublesome we are.

Overall rating : 9/10 Plus 1 for always staying
back late to meet up with us.

Overall rating on Rasa: 7.5/10 plus 1 for something special and something different

Hi Jason,

Thks for sharing with us your wonderful experience. Looks like i can reconsider renting the horse carriage for march in ceremony. How much did u paid for it??