Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

when to go for food tasting n collection of cards be4 wedding ar? haha my wedding in dec but i still v relax leh.. come in here cu gals do tis do tat i gan cheong liao

Hi Moon moon,

I haf to plan early cos my hubby is a frequent traveller...always not in sg..so mus grab his time whenever he comes back..
So far i jus secure my AD photographer and videographer.

Hmmm...tink i gonna make an appt wif emily to view e wedding card design and favours..i din manage to see it when i sign the contract.

hi CN, ok i'll post my card here when i collect them in sep.

hi Moon_Moon, ya lor so sad james leaving cos me and FH like his service and we click well too. anyway my new coordinator is someone new to banquet event...hope everything can goes well...will be fixing a day to meet up.
my preparation so far...in fact early this year, we've already book banquet venue, BS, AD PG so now will be those small small stuff...recently juz "booked" Mr Phang as my solemniser (yeah!)...most of my preparation will start in sep like food tasting, invitation cards, home reno, photo-shooting on mid-autumn festival (hehe)...
how about yours???

Hi Charlie_Cat,
i think 3 to 4 mths before AD should be a good time to start preparing lo...dun be gan cheong cos u can always visit this forum and we will share with u our preparation progress (",)

just wanna ask and side track abit from the topic:

anyone of you have any good Justice of Peace to recommend for the solemnisation?

cos i have called up one particular JP and he is fully booked.. in Jan 08.. OMG.. that is scary..

thanks in advance..

Hi CN,

I jus had my rom in june...my JP is Mr Chan Kai Yau. At first i tot he look a bit stern at our first meet up, but he turn out to be humourous during the solemnisation. can let me noe if u need his number.

Hi KiKi!

Me also most of the "BIG" stuffs done liao.... let with small small tingy... Oh.... 1 more big 1 is the guo da li... dunno wat to expect and start from where.... u leh? Plan leh?

Me going to have my studio in Sept so will go in JB source for some wedding tingy.... will share with u gals again....

Hi CN!

Me also using Mr Chan for my ROM last yr.... nice old man... .reli very old liao.... hee... My mum say is good to find a old man cos mean long marriage.... hahaha..... dun stress over JP lah!

HI Chris!

Me just met up with Perry and bid goodbye to James.... so sad gotten part with him.... he is nice... gonna miss him.... Feel Perry is very friendly and helpful... at least 1st meeting is good... just wish he will be as good as James.... I believe he will lah cos he more senior there so more experience...

I think my food tasting will be late sept to early Oct.... haven fix a date.... ur food tasting is weekday or weekend?

Hi CN,

a few weeks ago i was oso panicking abt finding a JP but i finally found one - Mr Phang Tai Heng.

my FH first called up Mr Chan Kai Yau but he is so popular that he is already fully booked on 28 Dec.

thru my fren's and forum's recommendations, we decided to call Mr Phang and fortunately he is still available on our AD.

tdy there is a good comment on Mr Phang...maybe u wanna take a look : http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/539/358466.html?1185208677

hi Moon_Moon,

oh i almost fogot about GDL (guo da li).

for us most probably both sides parents may discuss on the items needed during the food tasting session in sep.

i guess this GDL can plan abit later ba. how abt u? planned already?

now me looking forward to my 2nd wedding gown selection in aug...went 1st round in june and KIV a few gowns...but me still wanna see see look look weder got any i missed out last time...hehe

HI MOON MOON

IF I AM NOT WRONG,FOOD TASTING CAN ONLY BE DONE FROM MON TO THUR
I FIXED MINE ON 01/08/07,INTIALLY WAS A NO AS THERE IS WEDDING DINNER ON THAT NIGHT TOO,BUT PERRY MANAGE TO SLOT IN FOR ME,COS BOTH SIDE FAMILY MEMBER NOT FREE ON OTHER DAY.

PLEASE DO NOT GET THE WRONG IDEA THAT I AM HELPING PERRY TO SELL,HE IS REALLY A GOOD GUY.

hi ryane and moon moon,

yah.. he is the JP that i called up... and he is FULLY BOOKED!! OMG... so fast... no choice .. and surprise too as mine is during weekday!

HI kiki,

can u give me mr Phang's contact?

and moon moon is right.. my family member ask me to get a "old" man also.. haha. jia lat.. now all JAn brides to be all snatching for "old man" to solemimise the wedding;... haha

is mr phang an "old man",,

hi chris&veron,

think heard from the ex brides of rasa that Perry is the "chief" of all co-ordinators.. not too sure thou..

Hi kiki

I do agree that the beach soleminsation decor done by secret garden is nice! =) I like the push cart idea where the dog is the ring bearer. So cute! Hee...

=) I love the oriental Theme!

hi CN,

yup Mr Phang is an "old man".
i hv emailed Mr Phang's photo and contact no. to u.

hehe...i managed to get his photo from another thread in this forum

Hi Pinky81,

cute right...i hv oso thought of using my FH's small dog to be our ring bearer too. but our solemnisation will be held in the pavilion just before dinner starts, it is not a good idea to bring animal in :-(

Hi Kiki, thanks for inviting me to join this active forum.

Hi all Rasa Brides, my AD will be 21st Mar 2008 (Siloso), so you may want to add me to yr compiled list.

By the way, saw some comments abt the buses and guests rushing for the bus before the end of the dinner.
Cannot recall who posted it, can elaborate further.
I am getting worried regarding transportation at Rasa. Will be damn sad to see my guests rushing for bus.

Oh one more,

Kiki, saw you mentioning that you got yr card from Bliss collection.
I thought Rasa will be providing them ?
any idea which company (ie. T Dragon...) did they use?

Lastly ladies, i am super new to this forum thingy.
Can someone tell me how to get back to this link the next time i log in.
Dont want to start searching (for the last 10 min) for my lasted posted message.

Hi Jenny,

me using other cards cos i like that designs very much hence decided to forgo rasa's creamy color seashell cards.

as for printing co., rasa does not hv designated ones to provide printing. you may search for any one.

to come to this forum...very simple:
when u r in the list of forum topics, click on Wedding Banquets, follow by Shangri-la's Rasa Sentosa, and u will reach the latest forum page.
the latest posting will be at the bottom.
enjoy exploring...

Let's welcome a new member --- Jenny...

02/06/07 - Clueless - Siloso
07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
08/07/07 - Pris - Pavilion
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso (Lunch)
11/11/07 - 1Chris - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
21/03/08 - Jenny Lau - Siloso
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

hi gals.. any idea what type of wine does rasa provide (i think giving free 6 bottles if you signed up at the bridal show)? Australian wine? are they gd? i am not a wine drinker .. but not too sure if my guests will mind the type of wine

Welcome Jenny! =)

Hi Kiki! Me yet to made plan to the GDL... my hubby 1st auntie will bring me to "choose" a date... issit true GDL must also see date? So much things to do leh. Hee...

Oh... which bridal shop u using?

Hi CN!

ur wedding 25th Jan.... Mr Chan already booked? He really popular since David Loh no longer allow to be JP.... hee.... but dun worry all of them are pro.... some are funny too. Depend wat u like... dun stress over this lah!

Hi stacy_yx!

Have u sign up the package? Dun worry abt the wine also cos not u drinking. hahaha... my frez share with me at to cut cost dun find those nice and easy to drink wine cos this will make ur guests to drink more and faster.... hahaha... make sense...

Any way my co-ordinator told me their wine is nice 1... dun need to worry!

Hi moon moon,

my AD is 10th jan... and yes.. he is fully booked.. and it's alright.. i got the contact from kiki..
going to invite another JP instead..

think the wine is name "hardy millers" or what.. not too sure.. per bottle is 24+++..

who else is going for food tasting soon??

hi Moon_Moon,

my GDL tentatively will be on 16 Dec (abt 2 weeks b4 AD)...ya we oso choose an auspicious date for GDL. most prob end nov can start preparing lo.

my bridal shop is weddings news bridal couture. what about yours?

Hi Stacy,

based on earlier postings, think the wine rasa using is australian hardy...many good comments from my frens who had attended weddings there...so dun worry!

my coordinator has changed to Perry as James is leaving...*sob sob*...anyway juz met up with both of them last fri for an introduction of our new coordinator...he is a nice and friendly guy too.

Hi CN, your correct AD update liao...dunno y it was typed as 25th, initially was 10th leh...

02/06/07 - Clueless - Siloso
07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
08/07/07 - Pris - Pavilion
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso (Lunch)
11/11/07 - 1Chris - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
10/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
21/03/08 - Jenny Lau - Siloso
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

haha..

it's ok .. cos i also never check...

my preparation is in a mess now... especially the planning part..

haha.. can slowly feel the stress part coming

Hay KIKI!

Urs not a lady mah?? So nw we still having same co-ordinator.... Perry. Hee...

My bridal shop is JB... save $$$. If Wedding News good?

Me haven choose a date for GDL.... got to do it soon. Mostly 1 week before urs.... hahaha. nw headache is to slim down. Hai... any method?

dun stress dun stress...must keep ourselves in tip-top condition esp our AD comes closer...5 more months for most of us :-D

oh my coordinator huh...initially James informed me changed to a lady then last fri sms me said changed again to Perry. haha ya lor...we hv same coordinator again...so Perry will be v busy...cos Moon_Moon's wedding is just one week b4 mine.

my BS wedding news is good cos they r quite flexible...so far so good.

aiyo Moon_Moon, my headache is in fact opposite from yours...hence unable to offer u slimming-down method.

just got back from our honeymoon. initially was thinking of posting some photos from our AD for you all, but guess what, my hubby's laptop can't read DVDs. We had our photographer send our photos all the way here to find that we can't open the files. so might have to wait till year when we get back to Singapore, by which most of you might have already gotten married !

our AD at rasa sentosa was magical, except for some seating arrangement problems, all were fine. If given a choice, we would do it there all over again.

Hi ladies, i am back.

Hi Kiki, thanks for the info and updating the list.

Hi Moon moon, GDL must choose an auspicious date (accordingly to my mom). So better get to that soon. Normally very near to wedding date.
Yours in Dec, so still have some time bah.

Anyone has a pic of Rasa wedding card (can show ?), if the seashell design is indeed "boring", i might consider checking the cards from other printing companies.

ps : the wines from Rasa are SUPER expensive.
My quote was $25 +++.
You can get ard $18 nett from outside source.

Hi jenny
You are right that outside wine is 18 nett but you have to consider the corkage charge.when you add up to the wine you bring in,maybe you are paying more,as this is my concern too.Just my thought

I had went for the food tasting on 01/08/07,everything was nice except for the sharkfin,all dish came out to be in big portion which both family are very happy with.
esp the rasa fried rice cos everytime we went for wedding dinner is noodle,so i decided to have a change.

Hi chris&veron,

care to share critics and what type of dishes did u tried?

wanna have some comments and review about the food.. did u get a chance to taste the in house wine?

Hi cn
Below are the dishes we have:-
1)cold plate consist of seafood roll,jellyfish,egg with sharkfin,prawn with mayo
*change egg to japanese octopus
2)sharkfin with crab meat
*sharkfin too fine now maybe change grade which need to add money
3)chicken with prawn cracker
*size of chicken is a bit small
4)sea bass in sezchuan sauce
5)prawn in chinese wine
6)yam ring with veg
7)rasa fried rice
8)red bean dessert

Portion of the food is quite big,and was given a bottle of house wine for tasting too.like the red wine.
both family were satify with the food except the food mention above.
Hope this info could help all couple

Anybody had the weekday menu food tasting? Wonder if we should upgrade to weekend menu cos' most compliment is for weekends menu..

hi chris and veron,

thanks... ur critics really helps alot.. i was thinking of removing sharkfin from the menu...,

how was the red bean desserts? i am thinking of getting that one too.. cos too many "yam" stuff if i choose both the yam ring and the sweet yam for dessert.

hmm.. glad to know house wine is fine..

Hi libra_ger,

i am on weekday menu too.. but think it's up to ur preference if u want to upgrade .. the only difference is the 3rd, 5th and 7th item in the menu...

think addition $50 is required just for the fish upgrade only... cos i read it somewhere from the past thread..

Hi Ladies!

Sorry last few days too busy. Any way just a few updates... my food tasting will be 1st Oct... but then I can share with u gals and my GDL will tentatively be 9th Dec. Abt 2weeks before my wedding loh!

Hi Qubic!

When is ur big day at Rasa? So I can add u in.... hee....

My bridal shop is at City Square... u can go there and look look see see.... alot of shop there..... let me know if u need help....

Hay Kiki!

U mean u need to put on more weight? Putting on weight is easier... hahaha... eat more like sweet stuffs.... at least tat works for me...

So when u taking ur PS?

hi Moon_Moon,

thanks for yr advice...however i am not one who can put one weight easily. recently i am taking protein milk, hope it will help. at least by sep during my PS, i can look abit plumper.

anyone can advise me which dishes are interchangeable between the weekday and weekend menus?? i asked James before but forgotten liao.

Hi Chris, urs is the weekend menu rite? I wonder if weekday menu will be good?

Hi CN, tot we can upgrade to weekend menu by paying weekend price?

Anybody planning to source for own wedding cards?