Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi gers.. can I check if all of you if you contact the florist directly when discussing for the layout & theme of your arrangement/layout for your banquet? How was the experience like? Is there a wide range of selections available?
Thank you..

We have new members! =)

02/06/07 - Clueless - Siloso
07/07/07 - Purplebride - Pavilion
08/07/07 - Pris - Pavilion
27/10/07 - Pastillies - Siloso
11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
08/12/07 - Faith - Pavilion
15/12/07 - Jingzjingz - Siloso
16/12/07 - Charlie cat - Pavilion
21/12/07 - Moon Moon - Pavilion
28/12/07 - Kiki - Pavilion
29/12/07 - Mignonne - Pavilion
05/01/08 - Ms Volcano - Pavilion
19/01/08 - IceCherry - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
27/01/08 - Noreen - Pavilion
22/02/08 - Libra_Ger - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- ???
21/06/08 - Ry@ne (stanryane)- ???
07/09/08 - Lovely Pooh - Siloso
07/12/08 - Jasline Tay - Pavilion
xx/12/08 - Karen - Pavilion

Welcome Ry@ne!

Hi Don, can u share ur ideas with me too? my email is [email protected] Shirlene told me the Orange Orchid combination look best and unique... anybody pick that flowers for your weddings? If yes, please share ur pic with me

Hi Pinky, no worry abt transport as Rasa provides both valet parking service if carpark run full and transport pick up and drop off service for our guest at our preferred timing n locations... all u need is a transport coordinator to help u to work on the logistic on ur nite ;)

hey Libra_Ger, so nice... at least Shirlene adviseu on wat kinda of flowers looks best.. my co-ordinator didn't even recommend me.. just told us to liaise directly with the florist.. super sad.. felt kinda of super lost in preparation....

hi ry@ane,

welcome!!

hi Noreen,
dun be dismay... u can feedback your views to your co-ordinator... ask for for preparation ideas and support =) i am sure they will change as i believe all of them (co-ordinators) are constantly checking out this thread.

has anyone went for food tasting already? or already shortlisted any dishes from the menu? think this is also a headache stuff... got to choose carefully to suit all the guest's taste..

hi ry@ane, welcome! =)

hi libra_ger, i'm trying to get the flower arrangement like the one in the Her World Bride. erhm still haven't got a scanner so hard to show it here. If you got the Her World Bride issue (the one with the goodwood park + vera wang show) it is in there.. the one with lots of flowers n crystals one.

hi Noreen, my co-ordinator Emily also recommanded orchids. but i dun wan to use them for personal reasons. the roses r quite nice too.. depending on your preference u can have 1 color, 2 color or 3 color. personally i like 2 color as it looks not so complicated =P

hihi RASA BTBs...

i am back! being MIA for a long time...hows everyone?

anyway Moon_Moon, thanks for helping me to maintain our list...it has definitely expand alotzzz!

Hi Don, any idea if we can request for non-natural flower colors from rasa? i heard that other hotels, couples need to top-up $$$ for special/dyed colors.

Ha ha, I bought all this year bridal mag i can find from the shelf.. shall check it out ;)

Hi Noreen, dun worry lah... i think the florist should hv lots more for ur selection...
i also prefer roses rather than orchid... hee cos i wanna hv roses petals scatter on the ground =)

hi kiki.. i remember my co-ordinator did say it is possible to have something different but it will be up to the florist to qoute. called emily a few days back and she did say can arrange to meet her florist, get the quote then go outside to compare. i'll probably do that soon.

hi libra_ger... haha i'm like you, buy all the bridal mags. i even went to borders to get overseas mag >_< (v expensive so only bought 2 T_T ).

Hi Don, i have the same coordinator as you, Emily. so far i only met up twice wif her. tink my wedding date still quite far from now, dunno what can i start planning yet.

hi Don, thanks for the info...i am oso thinking to meet up with rasa inhouse florist...may call my coordinator this week...i am thinking of using purple roses and purple decorations...then scatter petals along the aisle =)

haha...guess most of us have lotz of bridal mag at home liao...my bedroom hv quite a lotz piling up too!

hi pris,

My wedding was a lunch at pavilion. Sorry for replying so late, as I didn't have access to the computer on the last days leading up to my wedding.

Hi Kiki,

welcome back.. yah.. i was wondering how come u have been MIA for so long!

Hi purple bride...

congrats.. and urs was a hot date... triple 7.. how was everything.. remember to share the photos and comments with us!

hi chris.. welcome! 4 months to your wedding.. excited?

hi ry@ane.. haha u got emily too? she is a v nice lady. always talk n talk and got lots of ideas. when is your wedding? for me i started planning more than 2yrs before but everyone say i too gan jong haha!

hi kiki.. do let us know if they really charge extra n how much? i'm still dragging my feet to meet the florist cos i just saw another outdoor setup n dun know which to choose >_<

haha i also bought so many wedding mags that my FH is scolding me already. now i just cut out what i like and throw the mag away. if he dun see the mag, he wun know i bought O.O

btw anyone doing their solomization at rasa? i'm doing mine on the beach (a bit regretting.. should have taken the lawn)

Welcome back KIKI! We all missed u wow!

Oh 1Chris.... urs is at Siloso??? Thought ur date was taken by TSSR? See my list???? Mmmm....

Below the updated list... Oh.. DON... when is ur BIG day... .so I can add u in...

11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
11/11/07 - 1Chris - ???
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- ???

Hi Don, I am having my solemnization at the lawn... before the dinner... infact, i have not started planning anything on the banquet yet... those ideas generated earlier were park aside now... till Oct :o

Btw, think can change to the lawn if it is not taken... afterall u are paying same price rite?

11/11/07 is really a hot date. My frenz getting married on that day too... :D

Btw, food tasting is how many months before AD?

HI DON,NOW STARTING TO DO UP NAMELIST,WILL BE SELECTING PHOTO ON 14/07/07.&amp; GETTING BROTHERS N SISTERS TO HELP OUT.

HI MOON MOON,I THINK TSSR IS LUNCH WHILE MINE IS DINNER AS I BOOK MINE 2 YEAR AGO.THINK I WILL BE GETTING THE LAWN FOR RECEPTION AREA TOO.

HI LIBRA_GEL,FOOD TASTING IS NORMALLY 4 MONTH BEFORE AD COS I WILL BE HAVING IT END OF JUL.AD IS 11/11/2007

How do you all plan to locate the pick-up point for guest through the hotel coach?

cos remember they mention about exchanging the car pass for extra coaches...

Hi Lunabride,

did you engage an external florist ?
i saw that the floral decor is just so-so. not professional and stylish enough for a wedding.

hi CN,

think i will decide on the pick-up points after confirmation of attendance (say, 3 weeks before AD). will see which are the areas with most guests then decide lor.

but dunno how long in adv we need to inform our coordinator about this?

then the car passes, if i din rem wrongly, will be collected together with invitation cards/ during food tasting cos we need to send invitation cards with car pass enclosed to our guests. so gotta decide how many passes to exchange for coaches abit earlier.

hi Don,

okie will let u know if i find out more.
but think i will ask my coordinator for more details on florist as well as the car passes closer to mid aug when arranging for food tasting.

wow alotz of details to ask...and as my AD coming closer...there r more and more stuff to prepare =)

hi kiki,

Think must call up and ask the co-ordinator soon... cos my guest list still not finalised yet..

so are u taking the provided wedding cards from the hotels?

then are there any other options than T-dragon to print the inserts?

woww... seems like there are lots of things to prep &amp; ask our co-ordinator nowz... hmm.... my co-ordinator seem to tell me that there is nothing much to prep abt just collect cards &amp; food tasting onli leh.. then the rest is up to me &amp; my FH to deal with the florist leow.. =(

I went to Secret Garden to ask about their hotel decor package as I feel that the foral decor provided by Rasa's in house florist might be a bit too leafy with little flowers.

The staff of Secret garden told us that the in house florist has been changed. Hence the style might be a little different from the previous stylist. Hmmm Can anyone confirm this?

Hi all, have not been visiting this forum for so long le..Wow, it seems that there are really so much to prepare..Mi and my FH quite slack now.8 more mths to go..any idea when we must start preparing all these?

btw, my dinner will be held at the pavilion.=)

yah...

suddenly as those months and weeks passes.. it seems like we realli got a lot of stuff to do..

and usually it is those tiny weeny stuff.. guess the real work and stress will come once we start the food tasting bah..

from there .. got to follow up on transport.. decor.. sound check.. and also other stuffs ..

seems like only rasa brides are having "headache" on parking and transportation.. haha... =) but worth it.. to exchange for "out of city" concept..

hihi Sther...you too MIA for quite long (just like me)...ok updated the list with your banquet venue (",)

11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
11/11/07 - 1Chris - ???
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
28/03/08 - Sther (sther)- Pavilion

Hi CN...i am using cards from The Bliss Collection...as for printing we hv not decide yet...but my FH thinking to design and print the inserts and maps ourselves.

Hi all Rasa BTBs...ya everyone of us getting more "gan cheong" as our BIG days are coming nearer...me got 5 more months to prepare...still searching for JP...hehe

Hi Pinky81, you oso shortlisted Secret Garden...i hv checked their website which shows sample decor photos and package prices...me quite keen on their Romatic Fairytale Wedding By The Beach..." theme

url: http://www.secretgarden.com.sg/Main%20Fameset/Main%20Fameset.htm (click Venue Decor - Decor#4)

after the hse reno, now have to shift back our focus onto wedding dinner..only 3 more mths to our wedding dinner..indeed getting mroe kan cheong..i'm going for food tasting this mth end le..

hey kiki u not using the cards by rasa, getting urself fm Bliss collections, roughly how much? wat u manage to exchange for? anyone koes which florsit does Rasa uses? instead of outsourcing to other florsit, would it be more worth while to top up working together with Rasa's in-house florist??

hi Pastillies, i ordered the cards from Bliss Collections at the BOWS roadshow in Mar...hence managed to secure at v low rate of 60cents per card (normal px is a few bucks per card). will be exchanging for wine.

outside florists' packages v exp...i hv oso thought of discussing with inhouse florist to do something similar to the one shown on secret garden website (but definitely gotta top up $$$ liao)

Hi kiki..

seems like everyone outsource the favors and cards..

and kiki.. think u got a good bargain for 60cents a pc.. and think u can break even with the wines..

cos my FH says if anything more than the amout of the items u exchanged for.. it is not that good.. as usually big hotels will buy in big bulks and end up lower cost..

and is the in house florist very bad? cos i have not pay any attention to it leh..

jia lat.. me now slightly panic liao..

haha..

any one knows of the current in house florist?

Hi Don,

Yupz..emily is a nice lady...very accomodating..cos i requested the hotel's bridal suite as one of my photoshoot location in oct and she is willing to help me..my wedding will be on 21 june 08...haha i started planning for my wedding since last year...all my frenz say i m kan cheong too..

Hi kiki..
mine will be held in Siloso ballroom...can change my name to ryane... thanx for updating..

hi CN...yup u and yr FH are right. when i was budgeting, anything more than 70cents per card/favour isn't worth exchanging for wine. so when i saw that the cards were on such good offer (only at the roadshow) and cards r cute too , my FH and I quickly placed our deposit.

dun panic...must plan a schedule on what u wan to accomplish and by when...then stick to the schedule.

these few mths too busy with work...must start to switch my attentionn back to my wedding preparation lo...

Hi kiki..

ya ya.. that's why i target my favours to be no more than 50cents each... just to ask u..

does ur cards include inserts and envelope?

Hi Ryane!

Update liao.... wow.... u reli plan long long ago.... hee... me havent plan for anything leh!

11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
11/11/07 - 1Chris - ???
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- ???

Oh Ryane.... forgotten to add Siloso Ballroom... hee...

11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso
11/11/07 - 1Chris - ???
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso

Oh Chris.... cos my co-ordinator James is leaving Rasa by Aug so changing new co-ordinator loh.... hopefully we can get along with Perry.... kekeke.....

hi CN, ermmm...my card is abit different. it is an insert pre-printed with the standard chinese characters and slot into a "pocket envelope".
as the "envelope" has cartoon pop-out bride &amp; bridegroom on it so can't write addresses and it has no flap so gotta use another envelope if i m mailing out.
the inserts, we r either writing or printing ourselves.

hi Moon_Moon, i too received a call from james informing me he is leaving. my new coordinator is a lady, can't remember her name.

shall be going rasa again to meet up with james and my new coordinator soon.

Hi kiki,

that is interesting... maybe u can post the picture of it when u have the sample... very curious what is looks like!

just wanna post some questions about guest list and see what is all your views..

cos i am not planning a large scale wedding.. even though my FH and me have very "huge family" members.. (u know lah.. all must invite lah.. the who and who lah.. ) haiz...

and one thing is i don't noe how to open my mouth and sound my concerns on their MAIDS!!!

cos, i have helped my cousins done their reception during their wedding.. and some really too much.. and think all maid headcount can really add up to 1 and half tables of maids..

and i am controlling the no of tables..not more than 30 tables.. due to weekday dinner, and i dun want to cramp up the space in pavilion... just want the guest to dine comfortably

how to handle this to at least make it more polite.. and some pple JUZ don't GET IT..

really distress now..=(

11/11/07 - Tssr - Siloso (Lunch)
11/11/07 - 1Chris - Siloso
25/01/08 - CN - Pavilion
21/06/08 - Ryane (stanryane)- Siloso

Wow Chris.... 4 wedding leh! Cannot imagine.... =D So hw's ur preparation? U had ur food tasting liao? Is Perry very helpful?

Kiki.... so u sad James leaving? Hai... I still like him... hope the new co-ordinator is good... so hw's ur preparation so far? When is ur studio?

Hi moon moon
My food tasting will be on 01/08/07,even tough there is a wedding dinner,perry still help me to secure a food tasting session.so far,i still do not have any bad feeling about perry,

Name list will be next on the list,then will be selection of cards &amp; flavours

hi gers..
James is also passing us to perry..
really hope we can click well like james...
but really happy for james on his advancement in his career.. =D hope all turns well for him though kinda of sad tat he can't help us leow...
me trying to fix appt with them to go rasa next wk.. =P