Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Spacebar, congrat!! my is exactly 1 month before you.. hee. who is your event mgr? I just signed so haven get any checklist yet.

Hi CN & Lunabride, I also plan to source my own. Mayb we can join force to get better deal outside... I just spoke to my EM and she says that the new favour will not be release in this year... mayb not early next year too... sign... i already hv 1 of the same favours from a frenz wedding 2 years ago... dun wan my frenz to receive the same items again... I checking around if there are good source around. Mayb we can share info ;)

Hi Everyone!

just popping in to say hi!

did anyone here make their own wedding favour or does anyone know who i can approach for customized wedding favour? I'm gonna get 'Ba Bao Cha' for 50% of the guests and something else (haven't decided) for rest. Dun know if i should ask my 'sisters' to help me pack or get professional help =/

mine is on a weekend...

but actually not many pple enjoy sea cucumber... was at a wedding dinner a few weeks ago and noticed that there are many who dun eat sea cucumber.. so not sure if its a right choice.

Hi Libra,
I'm actually getting another favor which is the flip flop fridge magnet from Cheery Paradise, cost $2 for more than 100 and neg for more than 300. I will need about 300. U interested? I attached the photo for u to see. My wedding is coming soon in mid June, U?

487620.jpg

hi Lunarbride,

tt's a very nice wedding flavour! got pink & blue, very nice!!

hey can check, any idea when will the new type of wedding cards be out? if not, normally which type of cards u ladies choose? the White one- wedding by the sea kind? or the traditional red one??

Hi Luna, your favours is very cute & nice. really unique and hv not seen it so far... Can you give me more info on where to get this favour? I plan to get 2 types of favours... this could be 1 of the type... u wanna email me at [email protected]

thanks for sharing!!

Hi Pastillies,

Will u be interested to get this favor? It's from Cheery Paradise, should be more discount if more than 600 (not 300 as wat I wrote the last time), but I will need 300 of them. Anyone out there is interested in this favor? Pls pm me [email protected] asap.

I'm also not getting the Rasa card also, getting someone to disign and print it out by Focal Ad. I have 2 types of invitation, the card which has to send by postage, and the other one is Message in Bottle which is hand deliver.

Haven't checked in for a long time, my AD's slightly more than a month away, and I'm a little anxious now, as it seems quite a few things not done yet.

hey lunabride, your AD's really soon, r your prep more or less done? do you know when we need to confirm with the hotel our number of guests, is one week ok? wow, your message is bottle invite card is so interesting ! can load us a picture when you're free?

I went for the cream coloured seashell card provided by Rasa in the end.

Hi Purplebride, your still have a month to go, mine is about two wks from now. Today is my GDL day, the Teochew biscuit just arrived but my HB is not here yet. He is waiting for his aunty (mei po) to come to his place first. Dont' forget to take photos of your GDL day okie.

I think Perry told me to confirm the guest list and the no of room one wk b4 the wedding. I also upload a pict of the invitation that I have for my guests in Rasa.
488145.jpg

This is the MIB (Message In Bottle). Idea get from Perry and also source out from Internet. I think it's a very good idea cos I nvm receive anything like this kind of wedding invitation before. Very unique. We spent quite alot of effort sourcing out each and every bits to make it look perfect as a wedding invitation, and also suits our wedding theme. The process was long, like deciding wat is the height of the bottle, height of the sand, no of seashells and also the height of the invites, types of ribbon, color of ribbon and wording on the card outside. Decorative items inside the bottles etc. But I think it's worth the effort cos all my friends praise the invite and most of them didn't want to open the bottle cos it's so special (they also scare that they can't roll the message back, hee hee). Some asked me for empty invites so that they don't have to open inside. I really love this MIB.

On the card is written the name of the person, inside is written a verse: ( A message in a bottle is a gift from the sea, As cherished and valued as our love is meant to be...)Then we tie it around with the custom made ribbon with our name printed on it.
488153.jpg

Wow, havent check in this forum for a while le.hee..Wow, Lunarbride, that is really nice! Im considering to handmake either my wedding cards or wedding flavours, but it seems like a lot of hard work and research!
Duno whether me and my FH can do it or not, have to search for little elfs le.haha
Aniwae, can u gals share the theme for yr wedding? We are interested in having a victorian theme but do not know how to go abt having it. Any ideas?

Wow Luna... l like ur MIB... so unique and impressive... did u have to pack it yourself? Where did you get that ribbon... with both name in it? Is it costly to do this?

I am sure your wedding will turn out superb... u had put in so much effort in it.. can you share more of your ideas...

Btw, if you do not take their cards, how many more bottles of wine do they provide?

Hey Lunabride, it's really beautiful, it'll surely have a lasting impression for your guests, ha ha, wish I was one of them so that I can get one too ;) *thumbs up*. Many thanks for sharing.

Enjoy your GDL today. I won't be having it, as my hubby's still overseas, and will return only a week plus before our wedding. The first time he sees me on our AD will be in church.

actuallly.. dun mind sharing the same design or type of favors .. if we all can get in bulk.. for my side..

i already need abt 320pcs of favor..

cos not really keen on the favors.. as other hotels already upgraded to some hand phone clips.. or key chain..

i am also keen on the magnets.. so that we can engrave our names or whatever on it..

everyhouse has a fridge.. and sure it will be a good use..

but $2 for a pair is too $$$..

i am looking for 50cents a pair / each.. if we all really order in bulk..

cos.. the remaining $1.50 can really put in good use for other items...

other interested gals?

my AD is in Jan 08.. i have some contacts from the secretary from my office to contact vendors who are into corporate gifts.. if we all order more.. surely can bring down the price..

Hi Noreen,
Yes, i got the wedding checklist but i was just thinking if 3mths or so it's too rush.. since that's the norm here.. i guess i'll just follow suit..

Hi Libra_Ger..congrats too! My coordinator is James.. how abt u?

Hi Onie, hey realised you are also Sohpia Bride too ;)
Do you mean you are interested in the slipper fridge mangnet? If can get at 50cents, please count me in....

Let me noe guys

Hi Noreen, my coordinator is Shirlene... so where will you be holding your event?

Hi Libra_Ger, Spacebar, my co-ordinator is James!!
He said he will be calling me in Sep cos I requested to have abt 4 mths advance since my AD is in Jan 08.. =D
I just finish my PS & selection of my pics.. Now lost in space... kekekke.. dun know wat to do next since only in Sep then can start preparing for Rasa..

hi noreen,

SO you are a Jan bride too.. haha.. me too... when is ur AD?

hmm.. think it is a good idea to advance 4 months in advance...

Hi Libra_Ger..

haha.. now i realise u are a sophia bride also..
yah.. if u are interested with the wedding favors.. i can try to give a call to the vendors..

but when is ur AD?

Hi CN, my AD is 27th Jan 08.. When's yours?
Me the more kan cheong type.. wants everythin in order not last minute kind.. otherwise will be very frustrated easily.. kekeke.... =P so must prepare early lor... no choice..

Hi Noreen..

Your AD is also a good day for wedding.. and in fact it was one of my shortlisted date=)

but found out 10th jan was more suitable for me and my FH due to some ba zi counting....

so about 2 weeks away from mine!

Hi CN, my AD is 22 Feb 08
I will be using the Pavilion and Lawn. Wat abt you?

Wow Noreen, you hv already taken ur PS... that is very fast.... now u can sit back and relax abit b4 getting busy again keke

btw, wanna share on your program highlights for the nite? anybody considering animation?

hi lunarbride,
it's really nice, however @ $2 per pcs is really too ex...i dun mind considering if like wat CN says @ $0.50 per pcs...however does any one koes what things can we have in exchange if we dun take up the wedding flavours provided by Rasa sentosa?

hi libra_ger,

i am taking the pavilion.. same as u=) what kind of animation are u considering??

hi pastillies,

if u forgo the wedding favor, u can opt for 6 bottles of wine..

cos i went to calculate the cost of the wines are about $24+++ / bottles

approximately 28.32 x 6 bottles =$169.92
(by then GST will be 7%)

hence, if i have 30 tables plus 1 reserved, i must get at least 320 pcs of wedding favors at cost of $0.53 to break even with the wine..

cos i dun really intend to spend so much on the favors...

I am considering animation love story rather than montage photo of childhood till marriage... wat's your plan for your nite program?

As for the favours, mayb we should check out Rasa new favours if we cannot get the flip flop magnet at good price. Really doubt the discount can go down to 75% disc...

hi libra_ger...

me still not thinking about the nite program yet.. cos quite tied up with the house.. think i still have 7 more months to plan... =)

i found a website for the photo magnets..
and i am still trying to call the vendors.. and see if we can get the stuff at cheaper price..

http://www.savethedatemagnet.com/

Hi libra and pastillies,

juz gave the vendor a call.. and she mention it is possible to get about one piece at 50cents..

and i think i will meet up with her this friday for more details.. and see if there is any size restriction and color.. for the artwork..

gals, just had my wedding at Rasa on 2nd June...

Overall, I had a great experience, Shirlene was wonderful, she is really professional and on top of all the issues. Had some problem with the coaches but just as i called her, she told me that she is checking already.. impressed!! The banquet captain and was good too! Food portion was generous and many guest commented that they had alot to eat and it taste really good! We managed to start at abt 8.15pm, could have been earlier but by the time i was ready, it was already 7.45pm... Mingle with the guests for awhile and started the dinner... Think i was the bottleneck, not the guests...

I'm really glad that I had them and my "brothers" and "sisters" to take care of the program at night.. =)

No regrets abt chosing Rasa and I'm sure u gals will have a great wedding there as well.. =) have fun!

hi Clueless..

congrats!!! glad to know that all stuff went smooth on your big day.. hmmmm... good service from the hotel is really really important...

no regrets about choosing them..

are there any problems with those drive in cars due to limited parking lots??? that was one of my concerns too...

remember to share with us your pictures too!!

oh, abt the parking. think many parked at the brach carpark, Rasa parking is really limited... my advice, try to arrange for Coaches for ur guests think its better cos they will be able to reach on time as well... Just that there are many who still wants to drive then no choice lor.. no worries, ur co-ordinator will help u out...

hi CN, i noe there is valet parking service at rasa. they will help to park your guest car at the beach carpark and bring it back when they leave... just some tipping expected but it will save them trouble to do it themselves.

Hi Clueless, congrat on your blissful wedding! My coordinator is Shirlene too..! Do show us your pic when ready ;) can add me to your mutiply if you have? my ID is librian01

Hey Clueless.. glad to know u have a great wedding!! kekeke...
Add me in your multiply too yah... my ID: princessnono27
Can't wait to c your pics.. =D

Hi CN, I can consider the photo magnet too.. think it is very meaning and interesting.. are they seriously only going to charge at 50cents for 300 pieces?

Gratz on your wedding Clueless!

has anyone used Emily for co-ordinator? It seems most pple have James/Perry and Shirlene. =/

Congrats Clueless! My Coord is Shirlene and i do agree she is very pro in her staff, she got a lot of exp under her belt!

Btw, any of u having yr AD on a friday?Im scared that guests will not be able to turn up on time and further more, im having my solemnisation b4 the dinner

hi don

yah, i realised too! few pple got emily.. ours is emily...

hi CN
do let me know about the magnets too! seems interesting!!

Hi Don, Tssr,

Mine's Emily too. Hmm, dunno about any Rasa checklist.

Haven't been doing any planning...floral decor...wedding favours...etc. And Noreen, my wedding is before you! My gown's not even done! *Stress*

Libra Ger and Don, please let me know if you find any good florist okie?

hi sther,

not to worry.. my AD is even more inconvenient than yours..

mine falls on a thursday (bo bian.. ba zi calculation) not to worry.. if ur guest is happy about ur joyous date.. they will come no matter where, when and how...

not too sure about ur solemnisation b4 dinner? is it during the period before dinner served or before guest arrives?

i am having mine at abt 6 or 6.30pm before the guest arrives.. cos most of the time.. pple will be late and i dun want to drag the dinner commencement and some more mine is on thursday..

hi libra_ger and tssr..

yes.. that's what i told the vendor what i want.. i told her abt the price first.. she reply shld be ok as i told her about 300pcs.. tmr i am going to meet up with her and see how it goes.. and update u gals..

if u gals are really interested.. i can sound ur interest to her and hopefully.. 3 of us can get good offer...

not too sure if the cost includes GST.. cos all stuff going to rise in about 2 weeks time.. =(

if u have any particular idea in mind.. maybe u gals can PM me... so that i can revert ur ideas to her tmr.. =)

Hi Sther!

Mine is Fri also 21st Dec... hee... me also worry but hack care lah.... we need to be mei mei bride so cant think too much. When us ur wedding?

Hi CN!

If we dun 1 the free gift only exchg for 6 bottles of wine? Wow... like not worth leh..

BTW whose ur co-ordinator? Mine is James and I haven heard from him for very long. He keep saying he is busy... I am reli worried leh!

Hi moon moon,

not to worry so much.. they will call us up ard 3 months before ur AD for food tasting.. and other etc stuff...

think will be too early now for them to call u...cos u still have 6 months to go.. dun worry too much... u are in safe hands of your co-ordinator....

let me know ur food tasting.. cos my AD is abt 3 weeks behind u.. as we are all on the weekday menu.. not much choice though..

my co-ordinator is Shirlene.. i have no problem with her and i entrust my big day preparation to her liao... =)

Hi Sther, mine AD & ROM service is on Fri too... Fri is good becos usually ppl comes after work tends to be early and mood is usually more relax on Fri... since they don't have to rush back so start slightly later should be still alright ;p

my concern is more for wine consumption.. cos ppl tends to drink more on TGIF... sweat!

hi cn,

ur AD on thurs? based on my experience attending my fren solemnisation on weekday @ meritus mandarin, even if u wait till 6.30pm, ur guest turn up rate is <= 50% coz most pple will finish work at 5.30-6pm &amp; to reach rasa by 6.30pm is not so possible on weekday. so i guess those who attend will be your helpers &amp; family bah.

hi superbee..

yes.. u are right... cos for my solemization.. only my immediate family member and helpers will be ard..

after the ceremony, i will take a rest.. take a few photos and go to the reception to receive guest..

cos i dun intend to invite all the guest to attend the ceremony due to AD on thursday.. so i will only invite them for dinner..

hi ms volcano
when's ur AD? i did ask emily for a checklist after i learnt abt it fr this forum, n i also asked for the floor layout, etc. she did give us. mayb u can ask fr her. if u need more info or help, can PM me

hi CN
wah.. u v confident in ur wedding coordinator hor.. keke.. good good! that's the spirit for BTBs. dun get overly worried.. keke.. we r still in search of wedding favours. if it's reasonable, we lookg at 350pcs. thanks!