Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi all..
I came across this thread as i shortlisted rasa as one of my banquet choices.. Is there a wedding show on 25th march? oh..cool.. where will it be?

hi fervon...
i am a rasa BTB.
yup yup rasa has a wedding show on 25 mar & it'll be held at rasa sentosa itself.
gotta register with rasa if u r going...can find the reg form in the latest copy of stylewedding.
anyway my wedding is Dec...how abt u?? (",)

Hi kiki..
I'm planning mine in 2008.. keke.. ^^ But i still yet to confirm my venue. I will be choosing between rasa and another of my choice.

Hi all, new to this thread. Have shortlisted rasa as one of the venue too. Planning mine in 2008 and also attending the show on 25th mar. Anybody gt pics to share? need to convince my FH of that place cos of transport issues. email is [email protected]
Thx!

Hi ... I've always considered holding just my AD at the lawn. Issit possible? Or people just usually have it in Pavilion and the lawn is just for cocktails?

I am looking for just about 10 tables. Has anyone done that before?

Like many of you out there, I am worried abt not being able to see the seaview after the sun sets.

Will the Pavilion room looks much simpler than the Siloso Room and less extra-ordinary and disappointing without the sea view.

Please enlighten me!

Can anyone of you post some pictures here?

cacky,

it's poss. go check with your coordinator.

mig,

pavilion is nicer cos has a great view. better still if u can start wedding early say ard 7 plus. can be made to look grand if u decorate enough.

hi cacky...yup it's possible. rasa do hv outdoor dinner...but not sure abt the min no. of tables...can chk with yr coordinator.

hi mignonne...me oso wanted to hold an outdoor wedding with sunset as background but think most old folks do not like the idea and my wedding in dec, afraid of wet weather too. hence chose the pavilion. thinking abt it, it is a combination of what i wanted too --- natural design like a pavilion in a garden (instead of the usual ballroom wedding which i dun like) and is indoor with air-con, ideal for guests who do not want to get sweaty.

just my 2cents worth...

Thanks kiki and krex.

Krex - Do you have any photo that shows the Pavilion room being well decorated - something that I can show to my coordinator and request that she take it as a guideline?

I tried to ask my coordinator to waive the corkage fee for wine but she said she could not give me any additional perks. Rasa has more pricing wine and higher corkage fee as compared to other hotels.

Does anyone of you here managed to negotiate for anything extra, on top of the perks offered for the upcoming wedding show on 25 March?
Appreciate if you can share your experience with me.

mig,

i have some pics online but i can only send to u via email from ofoto.com. let me know if u're interested.

your coordinator should be able to do a decent decoration, unless u request for something more elaborate, in which case u need to top up $$$.

i have also signed up for the fair on the 25th, and not sure what to expect during the fair. and planning to hold my Ad late 07 or early 08.

can the ex Rasa brides or Rasa BTB provide us some tips and pictures?

and i think my co-ordinator will be shirley, cos she picked up my call.

thanks =)

my email:

mig,

i have pics but can only be sent to u via email as i loaded them up to ofoto. let me know if u're interested...

hi mig,
hmmm we managed to ask for waiver of corkage charges provided we buy wine from rasa...they only charge corkage for wine brought in.

my coord. very accommodating. me and my FH are very happy with what he offered but will try to ask for extended stays or anniversary stay. tmr going to rasa to sign the agreement liao.

hi onie,

during the fair, u will expect discount off per table, free wine, one free nite @ deluxe room (if paying by uob card)...& many more...will not reveal too much, u will find out more on 25 mar.
these are wat i heard fr my coord.
me most happy is the discount per table, cos really helps us to save cost...hehe

Hi kiki,

thanks.. =) think i will sign up during the fair!

hi Krex,
if you don't mind, can you share with me your photos too?

thank you

Hi Kiki,

Who is your coordinator?

How many tables do you have? Are you also having your solemnization there?

Can you let me know how many bottles do you need to order from them before they can waive the corkage fee for you?

hi mig,

my coord is james.
tentatively we booked 25 tables plus 1 reserved.
yup my solemisation on same day holding at rasa too.

as for wine, mine no minimum order. as long as we use rasa's wine, then corkage charge is waived.

i guessed most probably my wedding is on weekday hence more flexible. is yours weekday or weekend??

Hello All,
Congrats to All whom just had their wedding at Rasa. Was "MIA" from the forum for sometimes and I'm back here!

Hello Lunabride (lunabride), when is your AD?
For me, i did my own transport map too. Buy paper and DIY.

Hello Rest, anyone needs any info?

Hi KiKi,

I might be holding my AD during the weekday too.. due to "auspicious date" that suits me and my FH.

i am pretty worried about the transportation (cos during after work peak hrs)

and have u decided on ur menu?

i am interested in the weekend menu.. but read from the archives that i might have to top up $$$$ to cater for weekday dinner... =(

when are u holding your AD ( fri or other weekdays)? i am also holding the solemisation on the same day.

actually, the fair seems so long to reach, on the 25th march.. cos scare that some idea dates will be full... and dun think they can hold 4 or 5 weddings at a go right?

Hi Onie,

my AD is a fri. is an auspicious date for both me & my FH. which month is yr AD? heard tat rasa only holds 2 wedding dinner a day.
menu wise, we'll stick to the weekday menu. will decide the menu again in sep during our food tasting :-D

transport wise, no need to worry cos rasa provides exclusive 45-seater coaches to fetch and send our guests from & to any designated locations.
initially me n FH oso worried abt transportation but then after knowing rasa provides coaches at least solve this problem.
haha for me, i will "put" coaches at north, west, east, central of singapore and outside my company so that my guests can feel more convenient.

ya lor 25 Mar seems so long to reach...looking fwd to tat day :-)

r u booking the Siloso Ballroom or The Pavilion? I booked The Pavilion (",)

hv u registered for the wedding show? who is yr coordinator?

Hello KiKi,

My AD 80% confirm in Jan'08 (thursday).. think will ask again the shifu any other dates in Dec and Nov'07

but thinking carefully, chances will be slim as those yr end dates were already taken..

let me know when is ur food tasting, then we can exchange comments,when i go for my food tasting later.

and you are a very good host to cater the 3 regions guests in singapore to the south! hahaha and some more outside ur company... no a bad idea

mine will be est 30 tables and based on ex-rasa brides, might give a try at the pavilion.... hopefully that night got lightings from those big vessels or ships..

are u going to the fair on the 25th march?

i have registered mine already.. and Shirlene picked up my call.. guess my coordinator shld be her bah..

who's urs?

Hi people...

I've just had my wedding at Pavillion on 4th Mar (Sun) and I'm very much satisfied by their service and quality of food.

Special Thanks to Perry, Ricky and Rizal for making my wedding so beautiful and stressfree.

Guests commented that the food portions were more than adequate and were nice. The quality of the sound system was also good (my hubby's comment) and throughout my time at Rasa, I've been met with so far the best service I've had compared to the other hotels I've been during my sourcing stage. Even the waitress during my foodtasting was so sweet - she noticed tat my mum commented tat she felt cold, so the waitress brought a glass of warm water for my mum even though we didnt asked for it.

We've made some comments regarding the food during food-tasting and the food turned out to our preference on the actual day.

So don't worry...you guys are in good hands :p

I'll post some of my pics up here once I get them from my photographer

hi onie,

my coord is james, nice guy too.
actually i hv already signed the contract last week cos kiasu, worried my date will be booked by other couples during the wedding show...hehehe

but anyway, i am still going to the wedding show to kay poh abit. wanna see how the actual wedding set-up is like, and hope to see the bridal suite too, if they allowed.
maybe may meet u there too...hehe

my food tasting will be in sep...another half a yr to go.

hi samgirl,

glad to hear good comments from rasa brides.
now we know we will be well taken care of.

yup i agreed with u tat rasa's service std is excellent. been there a few times & had buffet dinner there last week, found the service staff all very friendly and attentive, and everyone of them displays consistent service standard.
i was whispering to my FH how come no pepper bottle, then a waitress brought one for me even without me requesting...so nice.

Hi KiKi

thanks for reassurance, now the big "kan cheong" and climax during the wedding fair is the DATE!!

haha..
now everybody fighing for those good dates... scully end up like primary one enrollment, got to ballot for Over whelming dates... haha

sure.. love to meet u there.. now praying hard that those "dates" are available...

Hi samgirl,
same thoughts as KiKi too... hopefully we will be well taken care of, after feedback and comments from those ex-rasa couple.
and yes, pleae share with us your pictures and some areas that we need to take note of while talking to the coordinator..

we loved the chocolate truffles cake which the hotel provided after our dinner. We couldnt finish it and so we brought it back home and it's in my fridge now.

I think I should be receiving my anniversary stay and dinner from the mail soon. Something to look forward to. I'm not sure how the packages are like right now, but I'm very happy with the package I signed up during last year's wedding show.

I should be able to get my pics from my photographer later this week. Will post pics soon.

hi onie,

haha then u & yr FH must rch rasa early on tat day in order to book yr wedding date. i tink thurs is still ok lah...dun worry too much. good luck to u (",)

hi samgirl,

ya u r right. last yr & tis yr packages may be different. my package did not include anniv stay & dinner, and i oso forgot to ask my coord for it. hmmm maybe will ask him again during the upcoming wedding show. overall i m still v happy with my package.

may i ask u one qn? how's yr attendance rate?
me & my FH abit worried on tis cos my AD is fri cum month-end cum year-end, dunno whether can get at least 85% anot.

Hi kiki..

my attendance is not very good cos it happened to clash with the 15th (Yuan Xiao Jie) so many of our friends realised this too late and give us last minute notice tat they couldn't come.

But overall, after calculating the angpows, we just managed to break even for the banquet charges. :p

Since there's already 16 bottles of red wine already within our package, so we only need to pay additional of about 12 bottles (total consumption of 28 bottles) of red wine...which means about roughly 1 bottle per table.

So far, many of my friends have commented about the good service quality of the staff and so I'm quite happy tat no complaints have come in from anyone on my side...

Oh..and for those who's thinking of counting angpows on the nite itself..pls think twice...cos it took us 2 whole hours to do so!! Don't waste your nite counting the angpows and stress yourselves out.

It seems tat the hotel's wedding favours (the blue candles with seashells in small glass) went very well with my guests...even my grandparents loved them.

Since the wedding show is coming up...I advise those who already made up their mind to sign up with Rasa to go prepared with a wedding date (and maybe backup dates) in mind...and not waste time at the event deciding on the date and watching the popular dates being snapped up.

Hi krex,

thanks for the link.. i got it.. hmmm.. at least got some samples of Pavillion. think really can't see anything outside during the night.. from the photos..

anyway.. i think i will still go for Pavillion...

hi samgirl,

got ur advice on the dates... now everyone whom has seen your msg,, will feel "stress" on the dates.. haha..

cos i don't think is a "first come first serve" right?

usually, how do you confirm or know the availability of the dates when having the first meet up with the co-ordinator?

hi Faith,
saw ur earlier post on having Pre-wedding shoot at Sentosa Bridal suit...i'm also a BTB rasa sentosa bride. can i check issit ur PS (photo shoot) that u mean?
Cos I'm going to have my PS next mth, thinking of where to go for my PS..(wan something different
), hence would actually like to consider the suite.

p/s if possible can share some of the photos which u taken in the suite? thanks!

hi samgirl,

good to hear tat yr ang pows breakeven.

and thanks for the info on wine. my package got free 12 bottles and my guests are not heavy drinkers. tink wine consumption will not give us too much problem.

actually rasa's wedding favours quite limited. but your description of the candle sounds nice and match my wedding theme too. hmm...maybe will consider that if rasa still provide this yr end.

hi onie,

actually shld hv ask yr coord whether yr date still available. but now their wedding show coming up so rasa is not taking any tentative booking at the moment. most hotels' market practice is to confirm a booking only after agreement signed & deposit paid.

Hi Pastillies,
i m oso going to hv my PS at rasa too (",)

Hi people
My coordinator booked my date AFTER I've signed the agreement and paid deposit.

I also had my photoshoot at Rasa Sentosa Bridal suite. But I understand that it's subjected to the room availability on your photoshoot day. I got a hillside suite as the seaview suites are all taken up.

I'm quite sure that the candle wedding favour will still be available end of this year...cos heard that it's quite popular and well-received from wedding guests.

I don't really liked the guestbooks...so I got my own..no issue about that.

461820.jpg
461821.jpg
461822.jpg
461823.jpg
461824.jpg

I'll only get back the pics from my photographer on Friday nite...so in the meantime, here's some pics taken by my friends and relatives.

461840.jpg
461841.jpg
461842.jpg

More pics...
- Reception table
- The march in
- The chocolate truffles cake which the hotel gave us after the dinner tat nite.

Hi Samgirl..

the evening view at Pavillion is really nice leh... thanks for sharing.. what time does your dinner starts?

cos last month the sunset sets slightly later than yr end (nov + dec)

for those who had ur PS at the Bridal suite of rasa sentosa, can share ur photos? Sorry, cos i abit cant imagine, wat else is there to shoot other than the room itself? so would like to take a look at the photos to have an idea what to expect, the effect

as for those who had / are going to hv ur PS there, can i check, what time do u arrange with ur coordinator for the room? cos we still have to go other places to take PS shoots as well rite?

thanks for the advice!

Hi sam girl..

thanks for sharing.. so you had your bridal suite facing the sea view? if you gotten ur bridal suite photos.. can you share out also?

sorry for asking too much.....

Hi Pastillies and CN, we had our PS at the White fence area. Besides bridal suite, the sceneries at white fence is nice too
462509.jpg

462513.jpg
462514.jpg

During AD, a monkey visited our Bridal suite on the Balcony... Think it is a rare sight... Haha..
Anyway, our guests were well-entertained by the Monkeys & Peacocks during our solemnization at the Lawn.. :p

HI everyone, I have MIA from this thread for very very long time liao.... I am going to the wedding show too, have booked the date I want with Rasa coordinator. Mine is 3rd quarter of 2008, so a bit kiasu to book now.. hehe... but its a popular date lah...

For the wedding show, I heard that the minimum you have to take is 28 tables in order to get all the perks at the show? Am I right on that?

Hi Samgirl and breekz, nice photo. Thx for sharing. I will be taking pavillion for my AD and will definitely do up with some deco.. Dont want to waste such a nice ballroom!! hehe... Also really wish that my guests will reach early to have a good view of the pavillion before night fall.

Btw, I am having my ROM this year 070707. To all BTB in the near future, congrats... Hope to meet some of you at the coming wedding show too...

Hi CN...

The seaview pic which I uploaded was taken on my AD just before we went down to greet the guests...the room which I had for photoshoot is hillfacing...and as I wasnt happy with the makeup I had for my photoshoot, so I didn't chose any pics from those taken at Rasa at all..so I have no pic to post regarding my photoshoot.

Wow, those photos are nice! Saw the package that they are gona charge $1500 xtra for solemnisation at the lawn. Any chances of getting it cheaper? I plan to have it on the same day as the banquet dinner. Btw, u gals know whether we can book with a tentative date?

Cos his mum says must wait for the tong shu to be out to decide on the date but we plan our AD to b somewhere in march! Any suggestions?

Hi Samgirl,

Think they will not give you seaview suite for PS right?or depend on availability? Btw are they charging any extras on the room for PS?

Hello breekz,

WOW, those view you posted looked very nice... when did you hold your actual date?

the only flaw wtih rasa.. is we have to predict the weather... other than that.. i think it is a perfect place...=)