Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Macadamia,

I know wat u mean.. Our parents have not meet so far.. but I am really dreading to the day… I am that kind of person who is really scared of uncomfortable silence… ahhaha just cross my fingers and hope that everything will go well!! =)

Ur AD in Nov and now food tasting liaoz.. that’s fast.. so u getting the cards together as well?? Ask u hor, by when do we have to decide on the no. of car passes??

hi broccoli,
I think the best is still to call the wedding banquet department to find out more info. The tel numbers can be found on their website. Cause we're not sure if you want to have food after your solemization or not? Eg, if you go for buffet, the price should be around $70+ per pax.

I'm not sure if you can just rent the lawn without any catering of food from them as the lawn is usually reserved for the couples who are going to have a wedding banquet or buffet that day.

I am most probably going to hold the wedding banquet there..wanted to hold the solemnization (no food just drinks) before the dinner at the lawn area..and was wondering how much I shd budget for it.

Hi Broccoli,
I am holding my solemnization before the dinner at the lawn. The cost is $1500, with free flow of drinks, audio system, chairs & tables.

hi broccoli,

maybe you can ask them if they have an open house coming up? usually open house will have extra stuff. like for us we had extra beer free and helper's room for the night (usually only for the day). plus the anniversary room upgrade to panoramic room or something..

hi clueless, yup doing food tasting already. we not getting the cards from them, coz it's just paper.. will be doing our own cards lor.

hey trixter, superbee, lunabride.. you ladies been busy too!

hi macadamia...
how's ur food tasting? which menu u chosen?? i m considering between menu a & b... dunno which one to choose leh... :p any recommendation??

hi geekysnoop,
u can call perry at 6371 2952 or perry.tan@ shangri-la.com.

im deciding on my menu now....any recommendations? did anyone upgrade the seabass to garoupa or cod fish?...my co-ord quote me $30 more lehz....is it worth it? or is seabass ok oredi?..:p

i had cod fish 4 my wedding & all my guests commented its v nice & unique, Definitely worth the top up...

yah..its top up of $30 per table....is it worth it for the garoupa?...or is seabass gd enuf?...dilemma now...

my co-ord oso suggested the cod-fish...but my parents were saying dat it mig b v small piece...ram, is it true?...is it v small piece?...

i need the softcopy of the insert too lehz....can send to me oso...thanx!

I am thinking of wedding at Rasa for end 2007. Any good wedding coordinator from Rasa sentosa to recommend?

Thanks so much!

My friend's wedding coordinator was Shirlene, who is very helpful.
Mine coordinator is Perry, but still yet to interact with him on my wedding.
Anyone can comment on Perry?

Hi Pris,

My Co-ordinator is also Shirlene, she has been very helpful... From the forum, there are many good comments on Perry too.. Think u dun have to be too worried..

Faith, as mention i think Shirlene is very nice and helpful.. =)

I had my wedding in May.. Top up for Cod fish actually. EVERYONE was raving adn it isnt a cross section of Cod Fish. Is a whole piece section with thick flesh. i.e. from the tail to the half of the fish body.

Extremely yummy and we thought the folks wouldnt 'buy' the idea but they did at food tasting. Let them try that at food tasting if they think they dont want they can always revert to the usual garoupa and seabass.

Oh and shirlene.. she's VERY nice to deal with and very good with the planning.

Hi ;),

May I know what are some of the perks :P that you have successfully obtain from Rasa. I understand the common perks given by hotels are the following:
Xtra Nite Stay in Shang
Xtra Parking Coupons
Request for a day room
Waiver of cockage fees
A btl of wine for every confirm table

I was told that the parking at Rasa is complimentary on first come first serve basis. Seems like there is no confirmed parking lots for the guests? Anyone has any idea?

Faith,

I think you are talking abt the car entry to sentosa? That they give ample. Anything more you need just have to ask. I recommend my guests to take bus and although a lot of ppl drove the parking was surprisingly ample. we had ard 40 tables worth of guest and I was worrying abt the car park during the rest of the planning. Until the actual day I was so busy till I forgot the parking issue which was bothering me.

I think you got to catch RASA at their wedding show for good perks. We signed up with them during one of the show.

thanx for sharing ur experience...seems like there is alot of gd comments bou cod fish....ok, hv to discuss wif my FH liaoz...

will be going for my food tasting soon so gotta choose my menu soon.Have topped up for the weekend menu with the codfish but am thinking if I shd keep the stewed chicken or change to the roast duck..any comments on these 2? Also, besides the dessert in the menu, any other choice that we can choose from?

hi shan shan...

yup, Ling is correct..No need to worry about the portion, its definitely enough!The only 'complaint' was that our dessert (Yam paste with ginko nuts) is too watery.

My co-ordinator was Perry & he's a great help 2 us..still have yet 2 send him a TQ card...:p

Faith,
They are quite strict on the extra nite, but because the extra room comes with the perks durin 2005's wedding show,i checked in 1 day earlier & switched rooms on AD. I got the waiver of cockage fees though. Hope it helps

hi preciousthots..

The stewed chicken was a big hit with my guests also.. I never tried it on that day but my friends were telling me a lot red dates etc in the stewed chicken. I wanted the duck intitally but changed my mind after food tasting. Dad wanted that instead .. he say duck machiam roast duck can ta bao and eat =S.. I didnt want the chicken intitally because I scare messy for guests but prove otherwise.

Dessert me take red bean paste with lotus seed and Tang yuan. if you top up I think can request but please dont say you get this in the forum.. or Shirlene is going to kill me later..

On the fish, have the cod for food tasting.. if the folks cannot accept than take the sea bass or garoupa. I mean the taste of steamed fish is the same so you can always revert to the conventional if old folks insist want a fish with head and tail intact. Although I personally think after food tasting everyone will be converted.

Generally the food was not too bad.. on par with most restaurant. My dad have a picky attitude with hotel and luckily for us he didnt throw a fuss and we get a really special day. After holding the wedding at RASA I feel most hotels now pale in comparison because of the cocktail venue and the service rendered. =)

Hope that helps..

Thanks Ling..

seems like the stewed chicken is very good..mine is actually considered a weekday but I paid for weekend menu so as to have cod fish..heard it's very good.

had wanted to choose Yam paste but if it's really watery, then better not...any other choices for dessert?

also, for the prawns, am thinking of the steamed live prawns coz that's more popular among Chinese..any comments on this compared to wok fried prawns?

Hi preciousthots,

We tried the butter prawns during food tasting, it was VERY bad.. the size was small and it had no consistent butter balls .. instead it was like prawn blanched in butter.

We didnt want steamed prawns either my brother suggested they use big succulent prawns deshelled and stir fry it with asparagus. Some of my friends say it was good because no need to dirty fingers and a change from conventional wine steamed prawn. Luckily RASA gave us fairly good size prawns and make it look impressive. No complains there.

I think you can highlight to the chef what to look out for because they are very detailed and every tables may not have the same consistency but at least most will reach the standard you asked for. i.e we asked for the broccoli not to be cooked too soft because during food tasting it was not crunchy enough.

thanx for sharing wif us ur experience on the food...great help..

btw, do u hv a soft copy of the inserts like 'different ways to go into Sentosa'...can send to me?...my wedding is in Oct...panicking now...thanx!

Hi shanshan,

My insert didnt come with a map. I just have some description on how to go there.

didnt Rasa give you a reference for how to proceed with your invite printing?

I send you mine anyhow.. check your mail.

Hi Ling(lux)... the stewed chicken you talking about is the full name called Steamed Chicken with Chinese Herbs in Lotus Leaf?? Or is it Oriental Herbal Chicken with kokee seeds...Thanks alot..

Did you use the paper the hotel provided? The colour and material does not suit our design hence we most prob won't take their paper.. does the stuff they provide come with "stickers" (to close the envelop!), or whatever...? thanks lots..

oh yah who did you ask to print for you?

Hi Macadamia,

I used the card that the hotel provide for the invite. I wasnt too picky because there wasnt so much theme in our wedding I think. However I might be wrong but RASA seems to need us to use their wedding card to get entry waiver. Stickers are included and they give us ample.

I printed my chinese wedding card at Focal Ad. Affordable and easy. I didnt have much issues with them. For the English cards, I bought nice translucent papers from popular and coloured printed them at my friend's.

Stickers are provided by RASA but they are no fancy jazz stuff.. just a sticker to seal the envelope with the rasa hotel branding.

noe it's a funi request...;p...if anyone is goin for their food tasting, can take a foto of the dishes and share here?...im not going for my food-tasting....thanx alot..

Thanks for the info. do you have a sample of how your design looks like? but if not conve to share is alright. =)

hi shan shan..went for my food tasting already...din take any pictures. waited soooo...long in between the dishes... coz they like you try out the actual day's timing with all the chatting and stuff... but felt so long that day..

Hi Macadamia,

oh, i guess on actual day, wif all the tings goin on at the same time, it shld b ok ba....so in the end, how long ur food-tasting took?

so hows the food? i heard dat the yam paste was watery n not nice...is it true or u chose other dessert? wat fish u chose?

Is that too early to have the food testing 6 mths before the AD? I just need to call the coordinator right? How long does it take to confirm the date & time?

hi ling, yup can email me? my email is [email protected] thanks lots.

hi shan shan, the food tasting took 2 hours lor. yesterday my fiance attended his colleague's wedding there...his colleague say service not so gd leh... food not fantastic also. aiya...

forgot which fish we chose...garoupa is a better grade than seabass...cod fish even better. but my wedding is on sunday, which is considered a weekday. hence only can choose seabass. if want cod fish (read somewhere in this forum that it was fantastic), must top up about $30 per table... if 20 tables already $600. think i'm not prepared to pay this amount of $! rather spend it on my honeymoon...

hi macadamia,

oh no...im v worried now lehz....mine wil b in one mths' time...v sian to hear pple say bad comments lehz...but there is nothing we can do rite....juz keep our ears close??....sigh

mine is oso the sun menu...but my future parents-in-law say seabass no gd lehz....wan the top up...abit regret lor...if wan the weekend menu, shld hv chosen a sat instead in the first place mah...sigh...

so i guess u had the seabass during ur food-tasting rite...any bad comments? wat dessert wil u b choosing?

hello shan shan, oh yah your wedding's in one month's time??! i also forgot..recently so... stretched at work and all..

i think... we shdn't worry too much. say this because during the food tasting, i really liked the roast chicken... thought it was v v juicy and nice! but my aunt didn't find it v good. we tried the steam fish found it v soft actually. but i guess some more-fish-conscious ppl will care what kind of fish it is... but for sure i won't top up $...so ex... $600 honeymoon can buy so much stuff! think we're getting the yam paste or red bean paste or something.

hi macadamia,

yah, true....watever we do, people sure got tings to say cuz diff pple diff taste...cant satisfy all ba...guess i wil juz act blur n ban mei mei n njoy my day...hehe...:p

reali ah...i oso dun feel like topping up lehz...for me, its about 33 tables, so meaning wil b $1k liao....abit xin tong...juz to reassure myself, ask u gals ah, seabass is the common fish at most wedding dinner rite? regret not paying attention to the menu las time when attending wedding dinner...;p....wil pple instantly feel dat its a cheaper fish?...paisay for keep on bugging u gals on this fishy tingy....has been on my mind for v long liao...till now stil cant confirm even thoug my wedding is coming soon...sigh...

hi shan shan... think positive... if u did not pay attention to the menu during other pp's wedding, then most likely other pp will also not really pay attention so much... as for me, i go wedding i also nv see menu one... i jus eat wat comes along... as long as not those jialat standard can liao... I will pay more attention to the bride's make up and gown though... i guess we shd put more time into ban mei mei... keke

hello shan shan,

yah i agree w breekz. it's the bride who counts! for me i din even know what is seabass, what is garoupa lor.. attended so many weddings before, never noticed what kind of fish it is!! my feel is dun spend the money lar..unless you and ur hubby really like the better fish, and you want your whole banquet to be top-notch tt kind..for me honeymoon really the most impt, coz that's the only time when it's only you and your husband spending quality time alone. of course banquet impt to me too! if not i wun hold at sentosa..but for me find that i dun need to have everything the best, the most expensive... today booked my honeymoon to US! already pocket empty already. hee hee

hey but shan shan, having that said, actually if you find that it really bothers you, then you shd just spend the money...what i said above is just my personal feelings.. coz if you think you will keep "haiya, i shd have changed the fish" in future...then you shd go ahead and change it...if not wlll regret forever...that kind of idea..like for us, we saw a pair of rings we really like, but it's v ex... but i know if we dun get them, i'kk keep comparing back to this pair which i really liked...(and we bought them last week!)