Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi summerala,
heheh..glad you realised my wedding not over yet. yeah hope that the turn out rate will be better as THE DAY draws near.

Krex78,
yup using both cards, red ones should be ready by tomorrow. Invory one just started printing.

ram..

Yupe.. booked with RASA ald.. I and FH didnt even partake in any venue shopping.. Just choose which one is under our budget and be realistic especially when FH wanted it on a weekend. Intitally was a tie between Meritus and RASA but in the end RASA was chosen because of the Sunday available.

I am just scare of how to handle the travel arrangement to Sentosa.. hopefully more input can be shared in this thread!

Summerala,

Actually doubt so if got anymore suggestion. Cathy did say if table in the 40s only have 1 march in.. that is that small one! *sigh*

I am now in the same dilemma as u previously..deciding between Meritus and RASA.The perks at Meritus are really good but RASA is very nice as I am planning to have my solemization before the dinner..but the march-in at Rasa is not favourable for a sword march-in coz it's too short(having abt 35-40 tables).. but solemization by the sea wld be so wonderful!dilemma...

by the way, wondering if there are separate charges for solemization before the dinner and what is the setup normally arranged for the solemization?

hi preciousthots,

I doubt RASA would charge you for it since you are already using the area for your pre dinner cocktail? I am sure you can neg with the co-ordinaters.

I was recently at RASA where they have a sword match in... 35 tables can still do the longer one... towards the stage then they position the swordbearers...

good luck!

for the wedding that u attended which has a sword march-in, where was the stage?If it's the one which is very far-end i.e.not in the centre, u mean it can accomodate 35 tables based on the wedding dinner u attended? was told it can have max 32 tables for that layout but maybe can squeeze a bit in order to have the long march-in..has anyone attended a sword march-in using the shorter march-in?I was told that it can still accomodate 4 pairs for sword march-in but was thinking it wld be quite short..am willing to make do but wld like to get some assurance from those who attended before..

checked with Rasa and they do charge for the solemization area..think it's abt $400++ for 50 guests..sob..

Hi preciousthots..

I didnt attend ... I was over there to see the place and see them having rehersal loh. Confirm that day is 35 tables. Actually it was pretty spacious although the layout of the ballroom dont looks like it can accomodate so many tables.

somehow this couple arranged to each enter by 1 side of the door seperately.. so when they reach near the stage their swords bearers are there. Although I must say the march in is really too short for my liking.

WAH still need to charge?!?!?! Tell your co-ordinater lah. since ald using that place for the pre cocktail thingy!!! I am sure if you insist that you are not looking for much frills.. just a table 6 chairs for you to sign that's it... they give it to you? PErsonally i dont think that is a big request..

Hey srumpee.. you also with RASA???

Sharlene, go to shangri la website for more details.. they have all the information there..

i see.. actually the maximum capacity of the siloso ballroom is 50..

how many pairs of sword bearers did u see? won't the march-in length be even shorter if the sword bearers are only near the stage?quite interesting for them to enter separately then meet in the centre..

yeah..I agree that Rasa is really overcharging for the solemization setup...

preciousthots...

Ya I knew the capacity is 50 tables but I thought it looks as thought it can only fit like 30 tables or something. I like Pavilion better.. but I need abt at least 42.. so that is out.

I cannot particular remember I think is 6 because only 2 was welding but I saw swords on the chairs so my guess it could been 6. The couple entered seperately.. so I think the focus was on the couple individually before they would walk together up the stage.

Have you decide to hold it at RASA yet?

I personally prefer Siloso as it's more grand..tho Pavilion looks very cosy too

not finalized yet but most prob wld be taking Rasa if I can have the solemization by the sea..if can't, then most prob choose Meritus Mandarin..

how abt u?

Hi preciousthots,

Ald signed with RASA.. Hopefully making a right choice.. I saw girls making some remarks about the food in other threads.. Scary...

Hi Ling, guess what... 7thMay Siloso ballroom was initally resevered by another couple right? That's me. We didnt want to commit yet so decide to let go the date. : ) 7thMay is a very auspicious date. Good choice.

Any recent brides who had just held their weddings in Rasa...
May i know if the food is still lousy and how's the service...can someone share with me. I thought of booking with them...

My wedding will be in a few months time so don't know about the food. However, I felt that the standard of their service could be improved. We just attended a wedding there and the decorations were carelessly done, eg: reception table cloth was "anyhow" arranged. Sigh. Now, I am a little worried for my own wedding. Felt they were also less responsive to our feedback after we signed the contract. So, personal opinion is: ask for everything you want before you sign up.

Hi lala,

thanks for the suggestion.who is ur coordinator? for me, I am experiencing the slow response even b4 I signed up as I am waiting for them to revert with the package contents..so have not signed contract.. there are things that we negotiated which was mentioned that approval is required..am abit worried after I hear ur feedback..

Hi Stacy!

So coincidental! Anyhow I didnt know 7th is very auspicious or otherwise lah.. However is the most convenient for us at the moment. Otherwise I would really like the date later in 2006..So when did you change the date till?

The report of the food is a bit of contradiction. Previous brides say the shark fins and stuff is not bad *although I wont be having the shark fin* Anyway hotel food I wont pin too much hope. However I am so going to so get it to have it at sentosa which the folks are ald giving us a hard time and serving off par food. However Cathy is really good to reassure that the food wont be an issue.

I guess sign ald the best we can do is to feedback during food tasting. They have a reputation to keep up to hopefully.

Preciousthots... that bad huh! Anyway I think their approval should be okay so dont worry unduly. However the choice is still open so you cna consider your options..

We had our buffet dinner at Rasa sometime back & the food was GOOD. Did not hear any negative feedback from our guests. In fact most of them mentioned that the food was great esp the desserts.

However, cannot comment on the sit down dinner food.

We also did not have any bad experience when liasing with them both before & after we sign up. Our coordinator was flexible enough to accomodate our numerous requests.

Hi Avis & Rani,

care to share who ur good coordinator was?

All, wondering btw Perry and Elaine, who is a better coordinator till completion of wedding?anyone who worked with them who can share some comments?

hi, had my wedding there in jan, not much to complain about lah... food was quite good, my guests did not complain about it at all... coordinator was elaine... she's ok, but sometimes too busy to return calls so have to chase her, or use emails lor, better response...

My experience with Perry was good. Cathy will try her best.Elaine was excellent but seemed to be getting more and more busy to have the time "go out of her way" to help her couples. Hence, I agree with Dazed but really hope she will give couples more of her attention. She has potential to be an excellent wedding planner.
The general maintenance was getting poorer at Rasa. Even a close friend of mine getting married soon is getting really worried.

Couples out there who had dinner reception at RASA, any problems encountered with Transport Arrangements?

lala..

any comments on the decor? I rather think the place is rather bare.. anyone thinking of sprucing up the place further?

lala, mine was in jan, and all my friends said transport for the dinner was very good! mine was at the ballroom and i know that pavilion was used by Bride on the same evening, i think we ended at about the same time but still transport was orderly... no one complained about boarding the wrong bus or getting lost!

Hi Dazed, good to know that the Transport was rather smooth. Ling, agree that the Reception area has to be spruced up. Just 1 general comment... maintanence of the place needs to improve!

Hello

I'm also a soon to be Rasa bride. Had my food tasting 2 weeks ago. I must say it was good. Mine is a buffet so tried a few main dishes from the menu I selected. But my friends said food during food tasting is always good. So I hope they maintain their standard on my AD.

My co-ordinator was initially Elaine, but changed to Perry as she was too busy. I must say Perry is more accomodating, manage to get extra carpark passes from him. But Elaine is very nice too just that she can be quite firm when negotiating.

hi scrumpee, glad to hear tt your food tasting was great. i was there for my photo shoot last mon and overheard a guest giving negative feedback to a hotel staff abt the buffet spread... so i'm kind of worried abt the food standard - be it buffet or banquet. also, perry's response time is getting longer. he used to reply within 24 hours. i sent him an e-mail last fri and still have yet to receive a reply today. i'm quite pissed.

Girls.. let me know if anyone of you is thinking of sprucing up the place.. i want to know what is the cost...

Dazed.. any pictures to share of your AD?

hi ling, judging from shern's pictures (she held her wedding at rasa last year in pavilion), i don't think any extra floral pieces are req'd.

hello there,

I will be holding my wedding dinner at the pavilion on the 23 Dec 2005. I have not met up with the co-ordinator yet, will they call me up or i have do the calling? Is the co-ordinators pre-arranaged? or I have a choice?

HI Preciousthouts & Fruitiesnuts (fruitiesnuts),

I'm sorry. Due to some bad experinece, i have removed the link of my pics. So sorry. But i will upload for u ladies again and sent directly to ur email add k? sorry..

ellie

Ya...Perry's email response not as prompt as Elaine's. I sent him an email yesterday, called
him today, also no reply from him yet.

The buffet spread at their Silver Shell Cafe is not impressive, that I must admit. The dessert is quite pathetic but hopefully the banquet one is better.

Hey Scrumpee,

I chased perry for a reply to my e-mail and he said he's on leave last week. Nevertheless, he should have set an out-of-office message so that we'll know if he isn't ard and I told him so. But till now, except for the slower response, he's still doing his best to accomodate my requests.

When's you AD? All arranagements ready? Tpt, invites?

I'll be going for my food tasting soon, keeping my fingers crossed but like

hi merchelle!! u're still so active in this thread! any news of bb yet? what's with the bad experience on the photos?

hello adeline,

no worries, so far no big complaints on the 3 co-ords: perry, cathy & elaine, so anyone is fine. they'll do their best.
your co-ord should contact u when it's about 3 months to your wedding for food-tasting. u've not met up with your co-ord yet? but who did u sign up your package with?

hi ellie..

Mine is at the Ballroom ... Not sure if you seen it because the place is kinda bare. Anyone know someone who took at Siloso Ballroom? Pictures will be much appreciated!!

Personally I like the Pavilion but too many tables liao.. so no choice!

I still have the pics on siloso ballrm. However, took it last nov before i signed up with rasa.
just drop me a line if u require them...

ling...

i c. sorry missed out the point tt u're gonna hold it at siloso. but u still have time, so i'm sure u can find some good ideas to have a beautiful ambience.

hi phine... saw the place before ald.. =) However just want to see a real wedding picture that had taken place to get a better picture..

ellie.. I am sure can come up with something since AD still far away but any ideas that you guys have seen or otherwise is much appreciated.

Ellie

My AD in 2nd week of july. Will be sending out invites next week....big headache about the guest list especially parent's friends and relatives.

I haven't collect my photos yet, will only get to choose next week. Other things like gowns, helpers list are more all less ready. Not too sure what else to prepare leh.

All of you girls' wedding are at the Siloso ballroom or Pavilion ? anyone taking the lawn wedding? Mine is at the lawn. Saw a wedding at the lawn last week...the deco is quite lovely..I mean there's alot u can DIY it yourself to make it more personal. My imagination starts running wild now...must go get all the deco stuff for the banquet this weekend.

ling, u can go www.webshots.com and search rasa sentosa. perhaps can find photos of couples who held their wedding at siloso. but usually the main focus of these shots are of the couple so u won't be able to c much of the ballroom decor. good luck.

one creative suggestion from my gf - use a horse carriage to take the couple to the solemnisation area... very princess fairy tale feel. but don't suit me though. hehe.

Scrumpee...

congrats!! wow, your AD drawing very near. hope everything goes well for ya. no matter how early the preparations start, there's bound to be some stuff left to do in the end. keep your creative juices flowing, i'd rather imaginations run wild than dono what to do. hahaha. my wedding will be in pavilion in sep.

Hi Ellie,

Yalor.. still around here at times.. hehe..
My pics ah.. haizz... iyah, some stupid issues from one of the brides from other threads lah. but anyway, its over lah.. hehehe..

Halo ladies,

Me finally finished re-uploading some of my wedding pics. MOst of it are the actual deco in Rasa. Do leave ur email add and i will send u the link ok?

ellie thanks for the reply. yup i had not met up with anyone of them yet, should i? if i were to chose not to have shark fin soup on my wedding dinner whats the best choice to replace the dish? thanks!