Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

merchelle... glad to still c u ard here!

hey adeline, i'm confused... your wedding is at pavilion on 23 dec so u must have signed the contract right? the person who liaised with u on the contract is your co-ord lor. after we signed the contract, i also didn't meet up with them until recently for my photo shoot. our food tasting comin up soon as wedding in sep. as for replacement of shark fin, u shld check with ling as she's doing the same.

ling, help to advise adeline on the replacement for shark fin?

i also replaced my sharks fin to Three Treasure Soup, nice, almost like sharks fin soup but with scallops, fish maw and crabmeat...

ling, replied liao

hi charmaine, actually they didn't contact me. i e-mailed perry tt i wanna go rasa for PS. then in the midst of arranging the PS thingie, he mentioned to my hubby tt it's about time to arrange for food tasting and they need at least one week advance notification. so now i'm deciding on the menu. my AD is 18 sep. u?

ellie & ling thanks for the replies. well cant remember whom i signed the contact with... its so long ago (signed 2004 feb). i guess i will call them up sometime soon. ling, you suggested three treasure soup... you tasted it? nice? oh, yes another question about the wine... does the management allow us to chose the wines?

adeline... u really had an early headstart in your wedding prep! but from now to dec still got abt 6 mths so it's still early. your wedding at pavilion or siloso? btw, it's dazed who replied u.

oops... sorry adeline, forgot to talk abt wines. package doesn't incl wine. u can buy rasa's house wines at 24+++/btl, works out to abt 28. can negotiate with your co-ord on waiver if u buy your own wines from outside. i didn't do so well, i've got to buy one crate from them for every 2 crates i bring in. one crate usually contain abt 12 btls.

adeline, you can request the wine list from rasa. i did that and bought similar wines from outside, it's much much cheaper... mine was 1 for 1. suggest you buy more red... my white was hardly touched... and yes the soup was nice! so was the herbal chicken and drucken prawns... hehe... the crispy noodles was unique, my collegues still remember my noodles...

dazed... got crispy noodles meh? the menu now only got ee-fu noodles and rice.

adeline... ya, it's true tt red is more popular. we spoke to a wine stockist and he suggested to us just get red wine. he said since white is not popular, why give guests a choice. so we'll probably just have red to cut costs.

thanks ellie & ling for replying. my wedding is at the pavilion, the one with the sea view. rasa is giving me complimentary 16 bottles of house wine (can i chose on the complimentary). which reds would you suggest? any suggest on where to get good deals on the reds. one last question, if they allow choices of menu A & B to chose from... can i switch dishes? or extra charges required?

adeline... did u exchange your anniversary stay/F&B voucher for the 16 btls wine? me also thinking to do tt. u don't have a choice for house wine, only got one red & one white. can switch dishes between weekend & weekday menus, except for certain dishes like shark fin, fish... no extra charge if no special requests.

dazed... where did u get your wines from?

no did not exchange for the f&b voucher. its a complimentary for the 16 bootles of house wine and additional 20L barrel of beer. the f&b voucher i am still considering to convert to a room stay for friends or parents...
the package i got was a promtional period, that explains why i signed the contact early.

i juz signed up banquet package with rasa too. I signed up during the bridal show sometime in May this year, and they gave me additional 16 bottles of house wine n additional 20L barrel of beer too (same as adeline
)...n since the package already includes 30L barrel of beer n my guests dun drink so much of beer...i hv requested for the additional 20L barrel of beer to be converted to another 16 bottles of house wine...quite a gd deal rite...;p

n btw, check wif u all, is anybody doing solemnisation before the banquet? n is anybody doing a lunch banquet instead of a dinner one?

i wil b solemnizing before my lunch banquet...n m now worrying over the solemnization venue...if i wana do a by-the-sea solemnization in the afternoon...will it b v hot?..has anybody done it before or hv any other suggestion for alternative
venue which is nice?

hi shan shan, that's really a good deal! we only got an extra 20l barrel when we signed the contract last jun. when's your AD? i saw from earlier threads that the white fence area under reno later this year... if u do your solemnisation before lunch banquet, that means it's around 10am? if so, it shouldn't be that hot gua.

yah,indeed..
..n they r also giving me one more nite hotel stay at the deluxe seaview room lehz...i guess i was heng to sign up during dat time...:p

my AD should be next year either in Sept or Oct...

yah, the white fence wil b under renovation until Feb next year (if i din rmb wrongly)...yah, should be bou 10 plus to 11am....reali ah...
....has anybody went to see the terrace area before?..cathy suggested dat place..i hv yet to go down n take a look....

wa!! so good! i requested for a 2nd night stay in the suite and they told me to render my anni stay and top up $200! they didn't even offer me the deluxe seaview room. and no complimentary wine too! hmmmm...

no idea where the terrace area is. but u still have lotsa time, can take a look next yr then. no point go down c now since changes may evolve later. i'm already done with my solemnisation 3 yrs ago, so only dinner on AD. hehee.

Hi girls..

I am opting for the 3 treasure soup.. Dazed.. good to know it taste good! My mum was 'what!! no shark fin!!' but she got used to is because she know i and fh been staying off the stuff for the last few years.

Ya loh.. what crispy noodle huh!! they only offer e-fu noodles =S

I managed to change the $100 F and B voucher for another 8 bottles of wine so total got 24 bottles of wine. As for wine corkage.. I also manage to get the buy 1 carton bring in 2 kinda stuff. I got the tip from ex-brides here... so try for it. Also can neg the price of the wine.. ask the co-ordinater to do without the +++. I think can fight for it.

I would want to say so far the experience I have with Cathy was good. I really wasnt too keen on sentosa but her customer service really won me over... Oh right.. also got the total 50l of beer.. but i doubt is enough.. sigh..

My wedding still long way.. may next year but a bit concern about the look of Siloso at times esp when you read stuff posted by ppl.. but in anyways is really great feedback!

Merchelle can see your photos please? my email is at [email protected]

Hi adeline.. ya saw the favour.. although I would like chocolates *personal favourite* =P but I think FH say he want the candle ald because unique, theme based, something like that.

hi ling, are u the one who exchanged the anni stay for 16 btl of wine? i remember reading somewhere in this thread... and did u manage to ask them to waive the +++?

ya, i think i'll also choose the candles, more special ma, compared to the usual chocolates, rose bud tea in tubes, cakes...

U girls thought of getting your own gifts? as mine will be at the lawn, I got my own gifts (fans so that guests can make use of it if they feel warm in the outdoor) and exchanged for wine.

I didn't sign during promo...so no free wine. have to use wedding gifts, anniversary stay to exchange for wine.

Adeline.. i think is chocolate or candle or fruit cake? not too sure.. me not too particular abt such things..

ellie, not me.. I only exchange the $100 F and B voucher for 8 bottles of wine... Ya manage to get them to waive the +++ but it wasnt easy..

ling... so difficult ha? i'll try. cos it's abt $4 less per btl. so if they wanna make $, they shld waive rather than i go outside buy wines and they lose the 2 crates biz..

ellie, I found it a bit tedious lah... maybe you have a better time?

Srumpee... is your own gift cheaper? I am a bit... hmmm lazy... but if it cheaper I will seriously consider =P just to save some money..

srumpee any good offers out there on the wedding favours? didnt like the candles rasa offered... if no choice then have to accept it....

the favours, unless you can get it really cheap, otherwise not worth it... cos that time they oni offer me additional 20l barrel of beer in exchange...

oh, you better ask them to slow down on the beer thingy cos, just after we started dinner nia, the 30l barrel already out and had another 20l barel opened... luckily that's all we opened...

the crispy noodles, can try asking them to change for you if you want lor... cos that time was on the menu leh...

yah dazed...i agree with Ling dat was reali fast...can i ask u how many tables u hv??....was wondering wil mine be enuff den...i was planning to take oni 30L barrel of beer....btw, 30L is approximately equivalent to 100 glasses rite?

hi ellie,

yah, quite true oso...mayb wil go down later this year instead..

reali ah, dat bad...mayb u wana tell them dat u heard dat pple who signed up during the bridal show got so many additional perks....c whether they wil compensate u for something in return

shan shan... i think quite difficult to negotiate after signing the agreement with them cos i believe all these perks would be stated right? haiii... but i'll definitely try my luck when i next c my co-ord. so unfair. missed last yr's bridal show. ;(

ellie, actuali i hvnt got anything written down in paper yet lehz...i oni paid a deposit of $200, hvnt reali confirm the exact date so she asked me to put as open date n oni after i confirm, den i gotta pay the balance of $1800...

yah, mayb u can try, tell them its reali unfair to u....its not last year bridal show, its this year....somewhere in March....

btw, check wif u gals, the cost per table for mine has gone up by $30 per table for next year lehz...r urs increased oso?...mayb dat explains y i got some of the additional perks...:p

shan shan... ok, i'll definitely ask for those additional stuff when i next c the co-ord. i mean i missed last yr's bridal show ma, cos i signed in jun 2004 and the show was in mar/may (i can't recall). if i attended last yr's show, i may have extra perks compared to 'walk-in'. my table is 688nett for 30 tables. what's yours?

ellie,

I think sign up during wedding show is really better.. they do give quite a lot of perks!

Oh they raise the price to 688+30 or what? I have reserve 40 tables tentatively and per table is 658 because of the discount.

Merchelle, I didnt received any mail.. can I trouble you to resent? my email is at [email protected]

for 30 tables, mine is $678 for a weekday package n $718 for a weekend package...i duno, dats wat cathy told me, she said dat the price has gone up as compared to holding the wedding this year...

anyone know wheather the building of the integrated resort will affect us having banquet there? sign up becos like the resort feel, but if there is contruction nearby....oh no!

Ling and Adeline

My fan is $1 per unit. That;s my budget lah. U can check out duet fonte, one of the advertisers from Singapore Brides. I also got the contact through here.

ling & shan shan... mine is without any disc and it's 688 nett each for 30 tables. i guess that's the down side for not signing up during bridal show. so far, i've missed out on the 16 btl complimentary wine, 2nd night stay in deluxe seaview rm and then now i realise that for it's only 678 nett after the $30 disc per table for 2006, which is $10 cheaper. so overall, wedding in 2005 is more ex than 2006.

tingz... when's your wedding? i don't think the IR will be building so fast la. now govt still looking into proposals aren't they?...

ellie, dun b sad k....i guess we r juz heng...btw, were u the one who asked for a 2nd nite hotel...juz a suggestion (coz i did ask cathy before), if u are ok wif not staying in the bridal suite, she is willing to give 2 nites stay in the panaramic honeymoon room at no extra cost