Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Racherlle,

Too busy to "drop" in recently...
Thks for the info. Finally the date is known but it's sad to know there is a price increase. Maybe going to ask my co-ordinator if they can stick to the original price when i make my tentative booking.
The renovation is starting in Sep'05. Gosh... My AD is in late Sep'05. Wonder how badly will it be affected?

Racherlle,

juz wondered did u rem the date of the wedding show wrongly. i juz went into rasa website, the date of the show is on 25 March 2005 (Friday), Good Friday from 1-5pm $18 nett per couple.

btw, are the new prices u received as follows: Weekends--$778/758/738nett & Weekdays -- $728/708/688 nett?

Hi Rachelle,

Thanks for your info. it is indeed quite upsetting to see such changes with regards to renovation...... argh........ really spoils the mood for wedding!

hi Hallie!

funnie.. i remembered seeing it was on the 20th March 2005.. 1-5pm.. i went to check back my email again and saw the date 20th March 2005..
when was the website updated? my co-ordinator emailed me on the 20th Jan.. unless they changed the date again? hmmm.. tink i will drop her a mail to confirm again..

yup the new prices are wat u have indicated.. so everyting go up by $20 per table..

hi Charmaine..
dun worrie.. the renovation plans are not fixed yet.. so they might even push back the date..
frankly speaking, i dun tink they can finish the reno by Feb 06.. sigh..

Racherlle,

I'm not too sure when its updated leh. maybe she got a typo error?? guess the confirmed date would be stated on the latest bridal magazine. oic...its the 2005 prices. u really gave me a shock, cos i was given these prices when i went to rasa. hope the renov can be finz fast, pls dun drag after feb 06. *sigh*

ohh hi hallie!

the pricelist that i was given was $708/$688/$668 nett.. tat was the 2004/5 pricing if i'm not wrong.. i'm still trying to ask whether i can keep this pricing or not..

I suggest that those who were not formally informed of the new prices to carry on "pretending" and hopefully sign the contract basing on the old price.

Hi Girls

I'm also a Rasa bride. Yes, the reno will start on Sept 05 to Feb 06 at the lawn....so for me, I brought forward my wedding to July cos I'm having my wedding at the lawn. Can I ask if any of u girls know how much Rasa charge for a barrel of 20 ltr beer?

Tks

Racherlle,

Actually, i m not quite concerned if the reno is only taking place around the lawn area (which is at the left end of the building, i guess so cos only been there once). I had my ROM already. It's just whether the entrance will be affected and the open grassy area in front of the pool cos thinking of having my reception there.

Wasabi,
I m thinking of trying out yr idea. ;)
Hope that the prices quoted on the contract won't be the new ones!!!

I was thinking the increase in prices is due to the bridal show which enables couples to enjoy discounts (actually equivalent to the original prices we are offered earlier on). Perhaps it's better to sign before the show.

hi gals..
have not received any reply from my co-ordinator yet regarding abt the wedding show...
went to the website and had a look.. yup it's really on the 25th March.. hmm.. are u gals signing up already?

oh ya... hopefully all of us are able to hav a nice wedding in Rasa w/o all the renovation woes! hmmm..

Charmaine,
i was tinking.. the whole place would be quite dusty.. and also there would be boards plastered up here and there.. as like normal construction works done.. hopefully they are able to cover up the place affectedd.. hmm..

Scrumpee..
I can't remember hw much Rasa charges for 20Ltr of beer.. but if i didn't remember wrongly.. it's 600+++ for 30ltrs of beer.. maybe 20ltr shld be ard 450+++.. u have to double check w ur co-ordinator.. hopefully they did not adjust the wine pricelist too!

ahh abt the pricing.. yup i'm definitely goin to fight for the 2004/05 pricing!!! hmm
hehe... and also gals fight for free food tasting.. from what i last heard.. they are not going to give free food tasting for 30 tables and below...

Racherlle,

I think likely i will sign up during the wedding show unless my FH changes his mind. :/ But i guess there will be lots of ppl at the show, dunno will the coordinators be more flexible in the perks. how abt u?

Wasabi,
guess u all can try ur luck. i can't cos i was already quoted the new prices when i last met my coordinator.

Scrumpee,
20 litres = $450+++ & 60 litres = $650+++

Sleepsleep,
Long time nvr hear from u leh! how's ur wedding search? r u gog to the wedding show at rasa?

hihi hallie,
erm recently quite bz hehe! so normally read more than posting.. =P
actually i am trying to persuade my pil for having dinner @ rasa coz they find it too ex, inconvient.. =|
but the chances seems quite slim.. was asking for other hotel package in case i really cant persuade them.. =|

hope u girls can nego for more perks okie! good luck.. and hope the reno dont affect u girls.. and can retain 04/05 pricing!
although i think i cant persuade my pil.. i wonder if i should go to the wedding fair hehee! how to sign up and pay the $$? just inform my cooridinator that i am interested?

sleepsleep,
ic.....too bad...actually my mum oso dun quite like me holding my wedding there, cos of the inconvenience problem. which other hotels r u considering?

i oso dunno how leh..just just neg, sign contract n pay on the spot the $2K deposit.

hi Hallie!

yup.. if i'm going to sign up most probably would be on the wedding show itself.. the renovation problem is still on my mind.. hmmm wonder whether will they drag til much later... sigh..
i'm also looking at Beaufort.. but they dun have much perks.. somemore no free beers and wedding cards.. hmmm...

hi hallie,
erm actually dont know which hotel gd and cheap leh.. coz i think they wanna have somewhere that is near 400+ which is very hard.... those i find all at least 600+++ for weekday..

hi rach, hallie and those signing up @ wedding fair..
good luck in nego.. yeah! manage to wait till wedding fair afterall ehheeh!

Hi Shern,
What colours of flowers are available to choose from? Must I pay extra for blue roses? Any idea if I have to pay extra for a real wedding cake?

Most of u r waiting for the show to sign up? Is it really better? I was thinking they will follow the new price list during the show leh n if they give $20 discount per table, it's back to square one unless they give better discounts than that...

hi ladies!

my co-ordinator has really made a typo error on the wedding show's date! :P the wedding show is confirmed on 25th March 2005.. 1-5pm.. kindly email ur respective co-ordinators for more details..

charmaine,
my co-ordinator informed that there would be pretty gd perks for signing up on the wedding show.. hmm the details for the perks are not finalised yet.. will let u noe if i hear of any news

Hi Karen,

Colours available will be the usual ones like red, pink, white. For unusual colours you will have to top up. cant' recall how much, maybe $0.50-$1 per stalk.

Real wedding cake: Rasa allows yu to bring in your own if not you can get from them at $35+++ per 0.5kg...i find it steep but the fruit cake is absolutely delicious, think i'll order one when we celebrate our 1st yr annivesary there. anyway i hated the fake cake but wasn't keen on blowing our budget on a real one, kinda regret it

Charmaine, yeah, during the show they'll give a $20 discount and throw in extra feebies like more wine and beer plus extra night or spa, hopefully they've added more and not reduce the perks...

Hi Shern,

Will most prob go with white roses. How do I know how many stalks of blue roses to order if I want a touch of blue?

As for wedding cake, tot Rasa would provide a dummy cake with the first layer of real cake as part of the package? If not, can I order a real cake for the 1st layer? 2 kg big enough or not?

Btw, when did u get married at Rasa? At Pavilion or Ballroom?

Sorry ah.. MIA for so long.. doing the uploading of pics nearly fainted.. hehehe..

Anyway, list down ur email add if u wanna peek on it.. BUT PLS BE WARN!! its quite alot..wohahhaha!! so let me know if u ladies wanted the pics of the full day or just the night shots @ Rasa. If not, later u Zzzzzz while looking (which i nearly am). hehehehe...

Hi racherlle & shern,

Thanks for the info. Do keep me informed when u know more details. ;)
The show is about two months from now. Hopefully no one wants to sign up for the venue on my AD befoer the show...

Hi merchelle,
Me keen to take a look at your photos. Can I? My add is [email protected]

Morning everyone!

Hi karen, sorry, missed ur questions.

The rasa florist will let you know how many stalks required...she's very friendly and helpful

The top tier is a real cake, the rest are fake...so you dun have to order any unless you want the whole cake to be real...

hi gals!!

i juz heard from my co-ordinator..
the white fence area will no longer b ard after the reno.. coz they are expanding the Sharkey's restaurant and will take up the whole stretch..
hmmm they are planning for an alternative venue which is near their nursery.. which i got no idea where???? any one noes???? is it facing the sea???

Hi sleepysleep, shern, racherlle, chermaine, hallie, audrey, cheertho!!!

U've ladies have mail! Total of 2 mails with the link attachment.
Do let me know i still left any1 out or u all got prob in logging in.

ermmm... strange lei.. under maintenance ah? me just log in and see. ok lei.. as normal lei.

one thing hor, this thing u all must sign in then can see one lei. if u not existing, then u have to sign in as new member, then can view liao.. paisei paisei ah...

hi hi merchelle,
i'll like to have a look at your pics too.
pls email me at [email protected] many thanks! have anyone recently seen a wedding held at rasa? i've seen a wedding held at rasa during hari raya haji on 21/1. the decor at the lawn is simply lovely.

hi, everyone..I just went to check it out...They say the renovation should end by feb 06...So far only the solemnisation by the sea is affected as the place will be cordoned off from shark's cafe...Initially, we thought of holding a solemnisation this year but decided to do both next year in mar 06 after the reno. completed...hope it's useful info...

My co-ordinator also ask me to wait for the wedding show before i confirm my booking....By the way, anyone of u knew what are the auspicious dates for marriage next year? And can i actually purchase car passes if it's in sufficient? And do they allow "reserved" tables?

hi Jean..

can't help u on the auspicious date tingy.. coz both my bf and i juz chose the date that we wanted..
didn't really go and see a geomancer.. but i did check out my date from one of those websites provided by some of the gals here.. and it's a gd date!

as for car passes.. for Rasa.. parking is definitely a problem.. dun really have to purchase car passes.. juz ask ur guests to pay first and maybe later u give them an ang pow for the parking..

yup.. Rasa do allow u to reserve the tables.. juz let them noe the no. of tables u wan.. then inform them u wan maybe 1 or 2 reserve tables.. they will not charge u if they are not "open"..

Hi Racherlle,

Thank you so much for your advice....I did went to the website to check for auspicious dates but it seems like alot of the dates crashes with the zodiac of either my FH or my family..Have to fix on a Sat cos we will be doing our solemnisation at the seaside then dinner...My coordinator said the sea side will not be available on sundays.
Erm....I heard that we can exchange the coaches for car passes rite? Also, just wanna confirm, my coordinator said the invitation cards act as free passes to the island but i was wondering is 1 invitation card entitle to 1 person or it can be to a family? U got any idea on that?
Sorry leh...I very loh soh...heheheh

Hi Jean,

The hotel provides the carpasses depending on the number of tables you have, you can get it early and mail it out with your invites, which was what i did, some i gave it to them during the tea ceremony/ church. Invitation acts as 'free pass' for those taking the coaches. Those who drove in had to use carpass.You can swop the carpasses for coaches or vice versa.

rasa will provide 2 reserve tables and like wat racherlle said, they dun charge if not used.

racherlle, i swop the invites for wine. number of bottles will depend on how many tables you have.

parking is a hassle as guests will need to park at gateway carpark then take the hotel shuttle in.

hope these infor will be of help

Hi Jean!

really ah?? Solemnization by the sea can only be done on Saturdays???? huh???????
hmmmmm....... hmmm will ask my co-ordinator on tat.. wierd wierd.. hmmm

Hi shern!

ohh u swop for wine ah..
if i've 25 tables.. hw many bottles of wine can i swop for???

yaa agree parking is a hassle..
jean i tink it's better to ask ur relatives/friends to take the free transport provided by Rasa..

hi merchelle,

tks for sharing the photos. u hv a great smile n v big & attractive eyes! are all ur AD photos taken by Kai?

hey shern,

we r still waiting for ur photos leh....;p

merchelle, thanks for the pics, you've got a very sweet smile...
i did see your backview on your AD but too shy to say hi hehehe, i like the area where you see the guests off, mine was still within pavilion so can see the ugly bar behind in some photos hehehe

hallie, i know, jus got my pics last week, not developed yet and can't upload cos file too big so gotta spend time to do it...

hi merch,
u look very young and sweet wor.. erm are u the teacher here? hehe have those teacher look =D
hehe there's one very cool pics leh! all ur brothers are holding a digicam each! hehe!