Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Phine,

Yes, as mentioned, was a big headache to worry abt the transport. But it will only be more painful if u worry too much. hehehe...

Hi everyone, thanks for your well-wishes, so sorry, it was a big rush. AD was on fri then we stayed on in rasa for 2 nites and flew off on the third nite...

din discuss well with main coordinator so hb and me were still quite involved thru'out....we are those that fang bu xia :P

our event coordinator, perry, the banquet coordinator and the technician in charge of the music was excellent! cathy was our coordinator initially but got changed to perry later, both are very good! so no worries bout it.

transport: 3 shuttle services at city hall starting from 6.30pm. bus returns to bedok, jurong east and city hall.

carpark, some got lost at gateway, couldn't find the shuttle service, had to take a cab in, quite a few had problem finding lots cos they came in after 7pm. cos it's a fri so there were jams delaying the guests.

we had 2 reserve and 2 tables of no show, expected lah so was not bothered by it.

decor was an improvement, only got some extra decor ourselves and due to lack of time, couldn't arrange for them to be hung at nicer and more obvious areas

started serving wine when the guests were seated, by 2nd course 16bottles were gone. initially was quite worried but turned out ok, finished 28 bottles of wine and had bout 10l of beer left. we have 32 bottles initially cos of some trade-in. so we brought back the 5 bottles.

hb and me went down bout 7.30pm only...anyway thanks to late arrivals, dinner couldn't start till 8.30pm, so sad, i wanted it to start on time. anyway had time to mingle with guests before changing to WG...

food was good, generous portions. our waiter actually brought us 2 bowls of fins when we were changing to our 2nd outfit cos i said i wanted another serving
the wedding fruit cake is delicious!

my walk-in bit fast i think and speech was too short cos too emotional to speak clearly :P

will share the pics once i get them this or next week.

overall, we're glad we had our wedding at rasa and btw cos it's at rasa, we got saboed less :P

merchelle, hb and me went to kpo, not sure if it was you at the pavilion, anyway we checked out on sun and saw a girl with a bouquet. was that you??

we managed to breakeven and covered most of the wedding package. but honeymoon spent quite a bit so now ta-ta liao :P

hi Shern!

u r back!!!

yup please send me ur pics!

hw many litres of beer did u get from Rasa???? the initial 20litres?? so i guess wine is popular these days...

ohh okie.. so u managed to breakeven tat's gd! hmmm where did u go for ur honeymoon? spent quite a lot huh? nm lar.. once a lifetime tingy!

hello Shern,

may i see ur pixs too? my email is [email protected] . Thanks!!!

were u using the siloso ballroom? how many tables did u have? which door did u march-in" from? Mmm....so wat time did ur dinner ended?

mine was in the pavilion...had 30tables + 2 reserves

most complained bout parking, nothing bout the shuttle services maybe cos most either drove, hitch rides or took cabs. 2 of my uncles came late cos of parking problem...

we had 50l of beer in total, finish bout 35l++ or so. wine more popular, did tell them to pour half glass only...

went prague, vienna, london and paris...fantastic

will let you know once pics are out...

Yo Shern!

Hehhehehe.. u very cute lei! that day, i'm the only one wearing the gown, not me then who ah? hahahaha

Anyway, Welcome back!!! No lah, i guessed the one u've was my jie meis. i was bz in the VIP rm counting $ with the Rasa staff. hahahahaha...

My photos were ready too liao. see if i can post up here too.

merchelle, was urs at the pavilion? of cos in gown must be you lah, who else will be wearing pretty gowns except the bride :P the gal we saw on sunday was carring a bouquet of red roses....

share share pics leh [email protected], i just got back las fri so got nothing to show

hi all, me back liao.

rasa was fantastic, thanks to all the helpful and wonderful staff.

my solemnisation and dinner went well except for a little miscom during for the cocktail for the solemnisation reception, nothing big...

i also want to see pics leh, [email protected] add .sg behind. will exchange my photos once they are ready, but likely to be about 3 weeks later....

Merchelle/Dazed/Shern,

Pls share ur pixs with me too! thanks a zillion! :p my email is [email protected] .

Dazed,
did u have ur solemnisation outside the ballroom or inside? wat time did u hv ur solemnisation?

Racherelle,
hv ur coordinator confirm the wedding show date already??

hi hallie,

sorry..din see your previous msg.

went to a couple BS but think will decide on thomson design at tanjong pagar(hear it b4?)..the pple are rather helpful and nice.
i might be gg down this coming sat to see again...

how abt your actual day photographer? got any recommendation?

shern,merchelle, can i know which photographer did you use on ur AD? thanks!

dazed, congrats congrats, glad it's over or wanna re-live it again :P

hi all, my pics not ready yet, will let u guys know again....

oh yah, think someone did ask...guests started leaving at 10pm that was when dessert was being served, all done by 11.30pm...my photo-taking and farewell was very fast....

phine, heard of thomson b4, knew a gal who used them, think they're quite good.

my photographer is a freelance, will show you my pics when i get them then see if you like his style...

hi hallie, i had mine at the white fence at 6.30. dinner started at 7.30 sharp and ended at 10.15. like shern says farewell was very fast.

shern, glad it's over cos of all the prep, but at the same time, won't mind re-living the AD again. cos i was very relax on my AD. all worrying dun by hubby liao...

will send photos when ready. but not so soon...

hi phine,

its ok, yes i've heard abt them b4. as for the AD photographers, i've got no clue yet. so far oni met up with one photographer, but dun quite like his style (though his pixs on the web is quite nice).

dazed,
so which means urs makeup and everything is already done up at 6.30pm? how long does it takes? 1/2 hr? i was still thinking of having solemnisation outside (not in wedding gown) and changed to wedding gown just b4 the dinner. seems like v rush hor??

hi hallie, depends on what time you are looking at lor... make up took 2 hrs, mua was there at 4, finished at about 6.15. unless your solemnisation is earlier lor... or else you dun mingle with guest after solemnisation.

any1 know how much roughly is the cost of the photographer?they charge by per day or hour wan?

hallie, u said that u meet up with one photographer but dun like his style. but tot AD pics are the same wan? chiam...i like duno a lot of things.....

Merchelle/Dazed/Shern,
beside the flowers provided by rasa, did u haf any additional deco?

hi phine,
the AD photographer can range from $500+ to as high as $1800+++.....from wat i gathered lah...it all depends not only on their style, a lot of factors...eg. the photographer ( see if u can get along n feel comfortable with him), the package details.....,traditional/photojournalistic /candid shots etc etc. Im still trying to learn....really a big headache. perhaps u shd go n read up (if u hv time) on the threads posted in photography/videography sections. its really alot, but v informative.

Usually they would charge on per day basis, depends on full or half day, additional hrs at extra cost ...think its at least $50+++ per hr..

Hi Hallie,

I'm uploading the pics to Ofoto.. but too many pics, need to take some days in doing it. Once done, will let u know. hehehe..

Hi Phine,
I've used Kalyedoscope to do the AD photography. I was quoted $599 for all digital pics. I must say that he's real gd! his style of taking pics are slightly different from the other photograpghers that i've seen. He's more on natural side,which both my hubby liked! As we dont like taking pics in stern and stiff pose. hehehehe... iyah, don really know how to explain lei. once i'm done with the uploading, i will let u know. Btw, do u all wans the Day pics as well? or just want the pics taken @ Rasa?

i just went down to meet Perry yesterday. He was saying the renovation for the lawn area will be postponed to Sep 05 to Late Apr 06. Hope that it will be good news for some brides =)

hi akoyo!

u mean the renovation will only start in late Apr 06????? gee!!
tat's going to impact those of us who are getting married in 2006!!

oh dear..

Ops, think i typed that wrongly. The renovations will be from Sep 05 - late Apr 06. But he was saying that he cannot assure that the timeframe will not be changed again. The management can either bring forward or push back.

hi akoyo..
my AD is in May 06.. hmmm hopefully they won't push it back again.. or else dun tink i will sign up w Rasa..
coz it will be quite an ugly sight when renovation is going on... geez..
i've drop my co-ordinator an email to check already.. hmmm...

hi akoyo,

if the renovation gg to start from sep05 to apr06. then those having their wedding during that period will be affected? alamak..then the place will be so messy..chiam...

hallie, just to keep you update on my trip to the BS. i managed to get the person-in-charge to find a photographer on my AD, so save the hassle of finding one. :P

hi all, my wedding will be on Nov 05 this year. looks like my weddig will be affected... initially i thought the renovation was slated to start on mar and end in oct 05 right?

humm, think it will only affect the lawn area if i am not wrong. If you are holding your wedding in Pavilion or Siloso, it shouldn't affect right? Unless you are doing solemnization as well... Well, we will have to see how los... I am planning to do ROM + AD together also.. I love the sea setting

Hi Akoyo, my solemnization is supposed to be done at the Lawn on my WD as well.... doing solemnization, AD and dinner same day.

yes wasabi u r rite. it was suppose to end on oct 05. oh god....think im gonna think twice abt booking already mine is in mar06, initially intend to do an outdoor solemnisation n dinner on the same day. Its really a v bad news!!!!

Phine,
oh...tts good! save ur hassle. btw, hv u told me which BS u booked? sorry which is it har??

oops...im really forgetful, phine. oh yah, u r with thomson design. sorry!!! too distracted with the idea of the renovation at rasa being postponed!

Be more patience hor.. me having a hard time and long time to upload the pics on web.. will let u all know once its ready. hehehehe..

hi hallie..

are u going ahead with ur booking?
gosh.. seems like it's not too possible to hold the solemnization by the sea.. rite?
sigh..

Think you girls can probably double check with the cordinators again. =) I hope i did not misinterpret on the timeframe for the renovations.

hallie, it's ok.. i oso quite upset if there is gg to haf a renovation during that period..then where will the cocktail reception gg to be then? sad...

hi wasabi,

can i know when is your AD? mi oso holding it on nov 6 this yr.

hi, i'm also a rasa bride. wedding will be in june 2005 this year. not sure abt the renovations. my wedding coordinator cathy said i would be affected but that was late last year. maybe management changed their minds again.
anyway, for those who've already married at rasa, can let me know when i shld start preparing. cathy has not touched based with me yet - must i go chase her?

Hi Phine,

My AD will be on Nov 3 this year. Basically no mood to plan any furthur....

ARGHHHHH.....

Hi Karen, one month before your initial planned dinner date, they will call to confirm details... no hurry now.

Hi Karen, like wat wasabi said, they will contact you a month beforehand, but basically here are the few things you may want to prepare or discuss with your hb, so that you can confirm with the hotel easily when the time comes

Dinner decor: type of flowers (rose, orchid or gerberas) & colours (choose 2), colour of the cocktail/VIP tablecloth (maroon/ gold or white)

Coach service: pick-up & drop-off time/location

Invitations: using hotel's/ printing own

Wedding cake: artificial/ real

Table plan: get the plan for the estimated number of tables you'll be having if possible.

VIP lots and their car numbers.

No. of car passes required.

Additional rooms for guests.

Special dietary e.g. vegetarian, muslim etc.

Just a note: The coordinators will always be busy with weddings/ functions in the current month so may not reply promptly. Afterall, when the big day comes, it''ll be quite sad if the coordinator is busy responding to a bride whose AD is 6 months down the road
but this doesn't mean you can't prep in advance....

that's all i can think of, will let you know if i recall any additional stuff

hiya ladies~ read somewhere in the forum that Rasa is going to have some renovation? when is it actually huh? and renovation on which areas??
Rasa is now in my list too and i'm quite worried that i will be affected

hi gals!

my co-ordinator has got back to me on the date of the wedding show already.. it's confirmed on 20th March 2005.. from 1-5pm.. she will inform me again once it's nearer to the date..

oh ya.. regarding abt the renovation..
it's to start frm Sep 05 and supposedly to complete by Feb 06.. but this kind of thing it's hard to say.. there might be some delay..

another.. i've juz received the latest price list.. gee.. they have increase add'l $20 per table..

Racherlle,

u mean they have increased prices again? i thought we've got the latest price list for 2005 already wat? wat's the prices now???