Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi blueberry,

Some give angbao but most give presents...we're prepared to spend this money coz I wanted a solemnisation like tat as I wasn't allowed a outdoor banquet dinner.

If you wan to hold it at beaufort, I think your total cost might be also about $4K (if yours is about 40-50 people). btw, your carpass will be cheaper coz the other time when I held at rasa, car admission into sentosa is $12 per car, now is only $2.

Hi blurblur,

For hard liquor, no corkage for Duty-Paid (cannot bring in Duty-Free) as for wine there is a corkage but I can't remember liao. I think, you can also order wine by per glass.

The nite stay is only complimentary if you book the banquet or if your solemnisation dinner exceed an amt of people/tables. I only had 4 tables @ tat time(40 people), so to rasa, it's a small affair (thus they can't thrown-in the nite stay).

HI elaine

haha i really blur liao....so you are actually refering to your solemnisation. i thought you are refering to your wedding dinner.

hi elaine,

oh dear, there's corkage fro wine? we intend to serve wine only for our Lawn dinner!!

yup now tt the entrance fee per car has been reduced to $2, we shld b able to ask for more rite.

Hi Elaine,
If you don't mind, who is your make-uo artist?
And your photographer from whitelink?

Hi Vio
Yah got corkage if u bring ur own wine. but if u buy from them, u get the wines at 1/2 price and no corkage.

Hi Fang, Think u have already flown off alreadi. But just wanted to say thanks for all the info and have a wonderful honeymoon!!! Hope to see u real soon!

for those of you who have print their wedding cards, may i know which is the shop? and also how much does the printing cost?

please advise.

Hi Vio
I think it depends on the type of wines u r getting. For house wines, I heard it's abt $50 a bttl so that means u only pay $25.

Hi Bonnie
I'm holding mine at siloso too!...the ballroom does have a screen but it's at one end of the room...ur guests at the other end may have a harder time getting a look...

Hi Elaine,

Impressive web site. How I wish I could have something like that too! *drool*

Can I take a look at your wedding card too? Find those provided by Rasa kinda common, thinking of doing my own too. Anyone can recommend??

This is really a great forum, learnt lots of stuff here. Btw I am a Oct'03 bride, stressed, so many things to do.....

HELP!!

Hi Elaine,

I have received the wedding card from your hubby. so see you soon on this coming sat. dun be nervous..just be happy and pretty will do.

and yes, your wedding card is very nice esp with the car at the back...stating JUST MARRIED..hee..

the surprises i got from Rasa was when we ordered ala carte for my band members...Rasa waived off the charges for me. So nice of them. and on top of that they had a lucky draw for our guests to place under the chair for a free night stay at Rasa. But we took it away and gave it to my well deserved coorinator. We felt that it is better to gave to someone we felt more deserved. so you guys can think about it before your wedding.

Those are the surprises we got and of course an extension room next my bridal suite for my parents. we opened the joining door and my suite looks bigger than ever.

In all, i must say the service was very very good and we are both happy that we chose Rasa for the dinner.

Hi fang

u r back! hows your honey moon? ya....btw....can share with us, other than the standard package wat did you get and also wat are the things that we need to take note?

wat time did your dinner start and end? wat songs did you used for your dinner? you hold your weddin at pavillon or siloso ballroom?

next wat do you mean by lucky draw for our guests to place under the chair? you know it before hand?

lastly, can i take a look at your wedding pics taken at rasa?

hi bonnie

my wedding on 04/10.

congrats fang! can share ur pics? i still got no idea where to go for my PS. is ur co-odinator elaine teo?

Hi Bonnie,

My honeymoon was great and relaxed. But now I am back to work. so xian.
hee..

Ok for my dinner. My oh my..my guest are almost 90% when it is 7.45p.m.
But my makeup artist was late so in the end, can you imagine all my guests waiting for me to come down.haha...i came down only at 8.30p.m ;)
anyhow, when i completed the photo takings...it was only ard 10.30p.m. so expect ur dinner to end earlier if your dinner starts puntucally at 8p.m.

I forgot the details of the songs already...but here is some that i remembered:
1st march in - i forgot the title. It is track 13 ..taken from the wedding album my sis bought. (white colour)

2nd march in is track 8 from a ferna...titled SIENTO. I borrowed from my colleague and the songs are very nice.

and fan fare, the song was AMORE. it is a good and nice song for dinner. My wedding was at the pavilion.

As for the lucky draw, no i did not know it beforehand. My coordinator told me just before the dinner starts. it was meant to be a surprise.

Hi totoro,

My food are all taken from menu A and it was good.

Hi Amerline,

My PS was taken at Sentosa. You can try there since ur dinner is held there.
I got my table top pic with the rasa sentosa at the backgrd. kinda memorable.
My coordinator is Ethel Lam and her service was good.

As for my pics, i do not have a scanner and the digital shots are not with me. I will send to you all once ready.

Hi fang

but you mention that instead of having the lucky draw, you took it to give your coordinator rite? so when ethel mention to you, u immediately say pass it to u then you give to the coordinator? or they pass to the person ?

must the stay be on that day or later?

Hi Bonnie,

yes i said pass to me and i pass to my coordinator. oh btw, my coordinator is not Rasa coordinator. It is my own cousin. She is the one who liase with Ethel.

the stay is till end of august 2003 and cannot be on a sat.

hi fang....welcome back! rejuvenated huh heee....
can share ur maldives trip??

so nice of rasa...i wld give it to helpers too. they deserved it better the guests ;p thks for letting us noe in advance! btw...the band u mentioned, u sourced or thru rasa? wat instrument they played?

Hi Vio,

I went to mauritius not maldives.
Mauritius is hot but not as humid as Singapore.
The resort I stayed was great facing the sea and there is a moutain view as well. Veyr relaxed and I did went for the spa on the second day to reward ourselves though not cheap! haha...

However, outside the resort..the markets and city can be rather under developed..somehow like India.
With that, it helps to save the cash I set aside for shopping. hee....

As for my band, it is a 3 piece instruments.
I paid 1.5K for them and although they are Malay race, they can sing thai, chinese, hokkien, cantonese hits. so my guest were well entertained. Even rasa praised my band.

I got them from my dad as they sang at a swimming club on a regularly basis and my parents frequent there.

The instrument include guitar, keyboard and singer herself if I got it right. Cannot remember if got drum a not. But the good thing is that they set up themselves everythg so rasa was pleased as well as mike and sound they have it all.

And the best of all is Pavilion room cannot hear the band playing at the coffee lounge so it was good that the music doesn't clash!

thks fang ;)

ah... forgot u went mauritius :p
im contemplating btw mauritius & maldives ;p

was still worried abt the band at the lounge - can be heard wen guests opens the door for the washroom!

Hi Vio,

My advice is that if you don;t want to do any shopping or exploring..mainly relaxing at the island. YOu can opt for Maldives since there is no capital and each resort lies in eac island so there isn't much thing to shop around. Basically just rest and relax within the compound of your resort.

On the other hand, if you want to visit some places of interest then you can decide to go Mauritius instead.

Moreover Mauritius had their own currency known as rupees but in Maldives..US dollars is used.

So up to you and your budget as well.
Hope it helps.

Frankly speaking abt the band..dun worry too much coz the band doesn't played very loud. No guests complaint on that. So you have your own band as well? Btw, the band plays only on Sun starting from 8p.m.

hi fang,

thks for ur advise. yah we've to use USD in Maldives which was my concern ;)

im thinking of having quartet but my frenz can't possibly meet for rehearsals due to their diff time schedule - so wld probably juz hv volin w piano accompaniment ..... but that's only for my outdoor dinner which not sure will there problem in getting a piano outdoor!!

Hi All Rasa Sentosa brides

do you find it expensive to pay $600-700+ for an open-air wedding? Reading through the postings...find it's so romantic to have outdoors (but subject to the elements). What will happen if it rains heavily that day?

Hi Vio,

outdoor dinner? you mean ur dinner is not in the ballroom? i think the combination of violin and piano is lovely. So your frds are all musical inclined ya. that's good...

you can check with your coordinator with the piano having outdoor as i believe you will need power as well.

Hi Kitty,

Normally Rasa will prepare for contingency plan just in case it rains. so talk to your coordinator. I always believe they are the best person to get info from.

Btw, there is a bridal show held at Rasa end of this mth. Any of u going? May get better deals from the show.

Hi Fang

me going
yup, will be talking to the staff abt all this. We both like an unique type of wedding ceremony..so looking around first...

hi fang,

im having chinese dinner @ pavilion on 12/10 & outdoor dinner on 18/10 for colleagues n frenz ;)
m more concern abt outdoor dinner actually - thinking of garden theme. yup will hv to chk w rasa on piano part! thks ;)

hi kitty,

wen is ur big day. yah shld go for their bridal show tis sat. i'll b gog but only to look at the pavilion & lawn setup! anyone will be there? totoro, bonnie, icy, bobomagic?? how's ur prep totoro?

Hi BlurBLur

yup...me got the parking pass oni. However, syaflie follow up with a call me to check if I was coming etc.

U going also?? hehehe...when yr wedding day? me blur blur...just go for fun...cos dun have a fixed wedding date even..but I wld love to see how a wedding by the sea is like.

Hi blurblur

I first emailed rasa sentosa for the details then i faxed over my application. quite fast...tue fax..weekend got it liao. If u want to check on status..suggest u call syafie (events manager) at 6371 2937. Or email rasa at [email protected]...hope u get the stuff soon!!

Hi Vio,

Oh ya I rememebered someone has a 2 nights dinner. hehe so it was you. Hmm...i like the idea you set for your frds..outdoor theme and with the LIVE piano and violin..it will be great! so different and always better to divide frds and relatives coz u know frds can be really crazy at times where old ppl may not be able to take it. hahaa..

Hi kitty,

good that you sign up for the show. You will always get better deal during the show. I got mine from the show held last yr. hehee..

blurblur... i fax to em last fri n got the confirmation + tix on mon...but they call me y'day saying tis event meant for those who hv yet to book dinner w em & rejected my registration due to seats limitation in the ballrm. anyway im keen on the setup only - so ok for me

hi fang,

yah...old ppl won't like western buffet - sure will talk, so haa... w/o it'll b fun ;p im keeping fingers x tt things will turn out well for e LIVE performance!

hi blurblur

managed to find out more yet abt yr application? perhaps u have alreadi indicated a wedding date?

hello all rasa brides,
I'm new to this forum. read thru all ur messages and they are really useful!! but it seems that some of you who will be having ur wedding at the end of this year, already knows who ur co-ordinator will be. i'm having my dinner in june and i still know nothing!!! called rasa a few weeks back, and they told me that they will contact me 3-4 weeks b4 my wedding. isn't that a bit late? please advice.

Hi juzww

Who did you sign your wedding package with? That person will be the wedding co-ordinator. I think mainly the person in charge is Syafie, Elaine and Ethel.

Hmmmm...maybe you should call them and confirm a person, normally 3 to 4 weeks before is to confirm no. of tables, theme, rehearsal, food tasting etc. Hope it helps....

hi Amerline,
I signed up with Elaine, so i guess i should juz go back to her lah. thank you so much, at least now i'm not that worried.

need some help.

I am currently trying to do my wedding card. Didn't know how to pen the solemnization part. cos we are not christian so we dun use the words unite in Holy Matrimony right???

anyone has any idea?

Hey totoro,

You could just use word it as 'Wedding / ROM Solemnisation Ceremony'? Holy Matrimony is for the Christian ceremony so I guess it's not applicable for your case. Hope this helps! Actually you don't have to worry.. the printing shop should have lots of samples!

Hi hi!

I'm considering the Pavilion at Rasa for wedding next year... one of my friends who's attended a lunch and dinner there before gave quite negative comments...like the walk-in path is not nice, the roof of the Pavilion does not look nice, the food is not that great,...

I really like Pavilion for the view and the surroundings though if it's at night, i guess there's not much view either cos it's dark.

Has anyone held your wedding there and has feedback from guests that you can share? Just trying to find out if most guests might feel similarly negatively as my friend's comments.

hi rasa04,

i went for a wedding dinner at rasa b4 and thats why I decided to hold my own wedding there. Its simply a beautiful experience.

maybe you shd go down one of the weekends and take a look at the place. the most impt factor is that you like the place personally and can relate to it.