Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi Totoro,

Thanks, I am working at it. Right now I just need to check one more thing with you. Are you getting the weekday or weekend package and also, how much are you paying for per table. Thanks.

Hi Totoro
Sent u the link liao. Hope u r able to view them.

Hi Bummer
Caught ur email. Replied to u as well. Pavilion uses a different flower deco from the flower arches n pillars used in the ballroom. Just realised i didn't get to show that in my photos cos lighting in the pavilion was not switched on yet so pics didn't turn out well. Hope u have better luck!

Hi Leng
If your friends siao wines then maybe u can take some time to check out the selections of wine they have at Rasa, if something u like then maybe can get from there since Rasa will waive the corkage. Then maybe can cham siong with ur co-ordinator to let u bring in ur own wines n ask her to waive the corkage for those...heehee just a thot..hope it helps
There were previous posting on exchange for wines as well, can see which of the complimentary stuff u comfortable to throw for a wine exchange or even corkage charges...

hi beanie

Yes, I agreed that Ethel is hard to contact, most of the time enaged with clients or not around. I usually left a message or if urgent, I will just ask anyone avail. As long as she get back to me, it is ok. I guessed she is quite young n comparatively new, so she probably follow the rules closely.

Well, so far her attitude is ok, I will know better after the discussion on the final detail. Sigh.... I have the worst experience with the bridal shop liao, so hopefully Shangri-la will not disappoint me that much. My PS was not too bad, but the bridal shop is disgusting.

Wine corkage, she is giving me 1 to 1, meaning I bring in one, then I have to buy 1 from the hotel. I have a wine list from Ethel, range from 24-45 exclusive of the +++. But this is hard for me to estimate how many bottle to bring. I m thinking of bringing in 1 dozen fix, the rest get from hotel. I m sure with solemnisation m cocktail, alot of siao wine friends can drink alot. What do u think?

hi totoro

yap, I m rushing things now, so horrible. The wedding songs my hubby in charge, will monitor him, not sure if he is serious or not.

Hi Leng
Which bridal did u hook up with? Wat happened to make u so upset? Can share?

my table very exp. lor...for 20 tables is over 700 + ...how come urs so cheap only 638 huh???

so angry..shldnt they standardize their offer??

Hi Totoro
When did u sign up for the package? Ur is the Fri package rite? Fri is considered weekend so more expensive rite? n the menu different...think urs is a 9 course n weekend one is a 8 course...Can't remember the pricing for 20 tables thou...but i know they will automatically give bring down the per table pricing if u hit the next lvl, like wat Beanie said.

Hi Leng,

What did your bridal shop do that disgust you so much? Care to share? My ears (and eyes)are open for you. Can show me your PS picture? BTW did you have your PS in sentosa? I am planning to have mine there. What do you think?

Wine is also my worry cause my colleagues are also wine siao. I din know can 1 for 1. Have not gone into such detail with Ethel yet. But I know corkage for duty free hard liquor is fine with her. Will check with her. My advise is, better have more wine and if not enough, maybe can get from rasa. I am not a wine person and do not know the standard of rasa's wine but will show the list to my colleagues and get their opinions. How about you?

Hi Totoro,

What bobomagic said is correct. Mine is considered a weekday package. So you signed up for the old package. Do you know that rasa is also offering Friday as a weekday under their new package though price increase a bit (I think is 658nett) How come yours is 700+? I tot rasa's pricing is nett? You better check with your coordinator and it would be great if you can swop to the new package (Friday is weekday, cheaper rate). Happy finding gor you

Opps! I think I typo. Fri is considered weekend n Sun a weekday...yah, know that's weird(something like Bintan resorts). That's why fri one got 9 course dinner n Sunday one only 8.

But like wat Beanie said , now they could have be a different package. I got my package abt Sept02. N I heard they going to come out with new pricing soon, which is going to be higher. So sorry for the confusion

hi bobomagic/beanie

My bridal shop aiya..... the thought of it make me sian. You can go to the forum on the bridal shops under Julia Wedding News. I can only said that I agreed to most of the horrible things mentioned. But I m too busy with my work & hse, so cant waste my time urguing with them though I did mention clearly that I m very unhappy with them and why.

My PS, sigh yet to receive my chosen photos lah, my ps was in sep, I can only have the album one week before my big day, how stupid!!! No chance to QA lah, that is the tactic used by tyical taiwanese shop!So cant show u....sorry. Yes, I have PS in sentosa, so so lah.

Wine, 1 to 1, u can discuss with her, I m sure she will give it to u. Hard liquor.... not so concern lah, est 1 to 2 bottles, I think I hv at hm . Beer, only 20L, but not sure many people drink or not, most of my friends siao wine. Beanie, for 20-25 tables, my estimation is 2-3 calton of wines. I guessed solemnisation + cocktails will definitely add on alot more wine consumption. I m not wine expert, but I guess I can get an average bottle of wine at $15-20, cheaper if I buy 1 or 2 carlton.

My friend adviced me to get a friend to check on the actual no of bottles of wines open on the day. What do u think?

Hi Leng
Dun be upset, wedding suppose to be a happy day.I'm sure ur PS will turn out fine. As long as u get ur gowns n is generally happy with them can liao. Most important go for ur fittings fast. I heard their dressmakers based in Taiwan one, too heavy alterations dun think they can make. Ur wedding gown ok liao? Dun worry abt money spent, all can earn back one, think too much only get more grey hair.

I think u just need to instruct Rasa to open the cartons of wine u already ordered then if finished they will inform u n you can decide if u want to open more, then I think u can give them instructions to open like 1 or 2 more carton n tell u when those r finished. If u want ur frd to help out then maybe just let them know the max u can go, go it's up to their discretion to tell Rasa when to stop filling wines. Like that u dun have to worry lor, just let Rasa know who is the coordinator they should work with...

Hi Leng...

congrats for your big day. Hope that all will go well eventually!

Least hope this piece of info will help a little. For friends/relative driving in. It cost only $2 per car. As long as there is a wedding car, the cost per head will be wavied! Sounds good? Actually, the hotel should be able to absorb this cost. But I dunno whether they are going to or not at this stage!

Hey Totoro... My package is the same price as yours. At first I intend to sign up for 20 tables, hence $708. Then I increased it to 25 tables, so now is $688. Hope this helps to lessen your anger!! hehehe! It is the weekend package deal. The menu is better actually. Lest my parents think so. They judge the menu by the type of fish that they use.

Hi bummer

thanks..but i just feel that the menu is only soso then they charge so much..
sigh..
i ahven t sigh up any boutique.
hi leng,
thanks for the info..i was about to go to Julia ..thanks goodness.

hi totoro

I cant tell u which boutique is the best but I can tell u which one u shd not go.... this is my personal opinion hehee even my FH so chin chai person also very pissed off with JULIA, I m sure I not picking on them.

Have fun n b careful of the cons shop hor.

hi bobomagic
I already gotten over the unpleasant experience with Julia n move on liao, no choice lah $$ paid there is nothing I can do. I do not want this thing to affect me too much as my big day is very near lah. Starting to feel excited .....

Anyone any suggestion for menu. I would love to have mango +ice cream for the desert dish what do think har?

Eh, got mango n ice cream meh? I dun remember that in the menu. Is it special request or new dessert? At least better than almond longan jelly...heehee. Is it real mango/puree...have u tried it for ur food tasting? Is the ice cream good? Yummy, I dun mind if the ice cream is of good quality(not those creamy ones) n they use real mangoes heehee.

I'm new in this thread. Juz placed my deposit 2 weeks ago. My co-ordinator is Agnes...anyone heard of her???

Was reading the past thread....was quite confused to some of the details mentioned....like 1 for 1 for the wine (coz it was NEVER mentioned to me during my dicussion wif Agnes...Yeeeee...y din she told me dat!!)

I took up the weekend package and me opt for the ballroom =)On the whole...was quite pleased wif the place n environment.....but i wasn't happy about the bargaining for the beer....oni got 20l....a bit lost form....coz most of my friends siao beer one.

Guess Rasa is not bery flexible when coming to bargaining......most of the things i asked for are not given...like throw in xtra 10L of beer since i'm having abt 30 tables,gif more carpasses and free food tasting. (they said free food tasting is oni applicable for 35 tables & above...izit true???)

Still haven't hear from Rasa yet.....

Hi Oct Pooh
When is ur wedding? Izit in Oct next year? Do u mean that u r getting another 20L on top of the complimentary 20L they r giving u in the package?If they only giving u 20L then u better bargain for more. at least a 20L+10L or 20L+20L or more...somemore, ur frds siao beer one. Did u commit 30 tables? cos if u did then they should give u free food tasting. Haven't heard of Agnes, maybe she's new? But i think the 1 for 1 wine is "cham xiong' with coordinator one. Cos only like that then they will give. If ur wedding still some time then dun have to worry cos i think ur coordinator will fax u the contract to sign only about 2-3 weeks later. At least that's wat happened in my case, but no need to get worried cos from now till then u can still bargain mah. Plus i think we take more time to get back to them(with our signed copies) so as long as u book the date liao, u can relax.

hi rasa brides

I just heard from a colleague that she has just been to rasa for wedding dinner , it was sit down chinese wedding dinner. Her comment is insufficient food, cannot fill the stomach, alamak, this worry me alot because 8 course already not fantastic, portion little and guests still fill hungry is a bad bad sign. I am quite worried now....how?

I am surprised the hotel is stingy abt food, it will spoil their image isnt it? Alamak,shd I speak to Ethel abt this????

hi leng..

really ah? i thought the insufficient food was for the buffet..didn't know for sit down dinner as well...i think we better remind this to the coordiantor.

Just want to check with all of u, do u have any idea in the ballroom, wher is the projector screen? is it at the center or at both side?

Cos i am thinkin of having some video show and i will be taking a long march. so i wonder if i can project the show at two end?

Next , have any one done the video show for their wedding? Wher can we get the projector cos i heard from my coordinator, she say if i wan to use the projector, i need to rent for $500+ which i think very x. Any one got it for free?

Yah..i also thot the not enough food is only for the buffet.

Questions, i saw that the screen is at one end of the ballroom so ur other end guest most prob have to squint a bit to see. Dun think they have big enough screen to drop at both ends. Yah also heard projector not included...maybe can t-loan from ur company or something?

This is not the 1st time I heard that food was insufficient for chinese sitdown. This time is from someone who I know personally n has just attended the dinner. I m very worry n disappointed. When mentioned it to the coordinator, she will likely say they have not received any complaint so far b4 very firmly. No interest to further address the qestion.

The hotel shd have a proper feedback procedure after the events if it is serious abt improving its services. I guessed not many hotels dare to do so.

Do u gals realised the carpet on the way to the ballroom is in very terrible condition,patches all over n looks very ugly..........hotel shd have changed it, it looks very cheapo to hv such an old carpet lying right infront of the ballroom. Rasa business quite good wat, why so cat!

Projector, I thot it is easily borrowed from company n the use of projector in the hotel is free???

For those with Elaine as co-ordinator, she's back after a mth long MC. Seems that she's still in observation n waiting for her medical results. Didn't want to stress her out so only spoke with her briefly. She just got back to office last Sat. Really hope she gets better.

Hi totoro,

depends on when is our big day.
Like for me in mar, I will be meeting Ethel soon on the wedding cards, etc.

Oh yes, the NEW wedding cards is here.
Yahoo...I will be using it. I will let you guys know when I see the cards..

Hi Rasa brides,

It's been so long since i last entered the thread.

Totoro,

Guess we have the same great mind...coz after signing the contract i oso dunno wat to do next. Will our co-ordinator 'automatically' contact us when the need arise or we have to take the initiative to find them. My co-ordinator is bery hard to find one leh. Initially, i thot i was the only one who encountered problems to contact the co-ordinators..looks like i'm not alone after going thru' the thread.

Fang,

Rmb to share wif us the new wedding cards k. Hope it will be nicer than the old ones...the seashell design. How abt the giftaways? heard from my co-ordinator, Agnes that they r considering to change the china-dolls chopstick holders? so did they change or come up wif new things??

Hope everything will goes smoothly for u on your wedding in mar =)

ya..shall we keep this thread alive..hee..

hi fang, why dun u take a pic of the card and then post up in this thread. also if we want to design our card, must pay extra izzit? anyone knows how much does it cost.

fang, do keep us updated and send us ur pic ..my wedding in june...

questions

ur projector thingy ? is it solve..u mean we must pay ah for the projector?huh? serious.

anyone knows abt the transport right now?

haven solve yet...cos thinking that my big day haven arrive...so may be will contact my coordinator when it is drawing near.

Just want to check if my big day is in oct, when should i contact my coordinator to dicuss the final stuff...like cards, food tasting ...and ..... some how forget already...hehe

Please advise for those who knows.

Hi questions,

Abt 3 months before the wedding shld be ok... the finalisation of my wedding was actually one and half weeks before the actual day. As I did not like the seashell card design nor the chinese design ( I had an outdoor buffet wedding) thus, I designed & printed my own cards.. the only necessary details that I discussed with Rasa was for the wedding favours, decor and program details.

Hope the above helps

btw, can someone help to comply the menu??i mean i will do it after food tasting ..like what t swop from menu a and menu b..heehee

little lion,

how much do u have to pay for the cards and where did u get ur cards printed..i am also thinking of doing the same thing leh

Leng, u there??hows everything??

fang,u also june bride??

Sorry totoro

My wedding was last Sept, can't remember the exact amt.. if i am not wrong it was abt $1.20/card for 350 cards...

Had mine done at T-Dragon, the costs will also be determined by the quality of paper,number of folds for the card, with or without inserts, type of printing, hot-stamping or otherwise...

Totoro - U're most welcome...

Yap had my wedding there...

I think to each his/her wedding will be the most memorable wedding, plus as our is a very casual occasion, we did not have much stress.. think the more one expect "perfection", the more stress one wld get.

When & which ballroom are you having your wedding??

Advise?? - I guess when I book Rasa, I make sure I know what the package offers... & make sure that I am satisfied with the standard package they offer.. like the overall decor, table settings etc..

Having event mgt expirence helps for me... I ensured that I have done enough pre-wedding preparations.. i.e if you are having an MC + a friend to help co-ordinate with the banquet mger... ensure that all of them are there at the final discussion whereby all the details like program, what the decor is to be, when to serve the wine, blah blah blah..

Drop me your email addy..

Hi little lion...

like to hear more advise from you.So your wedding is at siloso ballroom or pavillion.
wanna know more about the favour, decor and program detail since you have event mgt experience.... :D

my email addy [email protected]

Totoro / Questions,

I have replied to your personal email addy.

Hi little lion...

we are classmates i think and i cannot open the link...hmm..

did u take ur outdoor at sentosa? what are the good spots

Hi totoro,

Yes we were classmates...

Images will take some time to upload.. try the link I sent to your email addy