Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi totoro,

I am Mar brides. Ok, i try to describe the wedding card to you guys when i see it.

My advise is to keep in close touch with ypur coordinator and drop emails to them. Like Ethel, I contacted her via emails and she responded quite promptly.

Most likely, we have arranged to meet next fri so will let you guys know. I contacted her coz maybe I am getting anxious

Oh about the giftaways, i recently heard they have choc, pot pourri, chopsticks and chopstick holder. So need not stick to the chinese looking chopstick holder :P

Ok, the thread is alive so we will talk again!

Hi fang

so we can get more advise for you already rite...:D....

wah now the gift awys got more choices...thats good.

so have you meet up with Ethel since you last tok to her?....how about your food tasting?

can u share with me the details on when you starting meeting her and also the program details?

pls email me at :[email protected]

hi little lion,

is ur dinner a sit down one or chinese sit down type...u got the menu???

when do we have our food tasting?

anyone has any idea what is the colour for the table cloth of the pavilion and the curtains as well..i do not want to end up looking like the curtains

Hi Totoro,

I had a sit-down buffet dinner (mixture of Western & Chinese menu).

As mine was a buffet dinner, no food tasting.. the comments from my friends was that the food spread was good.. suits everyone's taste bud.. including our relatives.

Having typical Chinese dinner will have a basis of comparsion.. base on portion, freshness of the fish / prawns.. for mine, I just make sure that the beef was not over-cooked or too tough..

If I am not wrong, you can decide on the color of the table cloth.. my was a all white theme thus all my tables were white.. think my VIP table too.

Hallo Totoro,

Haha...u so funny....i neber tink of such details like the colour of the table cloth and curtains ;p glad dat u brought these up

So u'll be having your wedding @ the Pavilion? Can start counting down liao....5 more months to go...

For me...i'm a Oct bride...but tink i a bit KS lor....coz i dun wana to stress myself up..coz my photo-shooting will clash wif the collection of my new flat or reno. sumore gota go to Malacca in Sep to hold my wedding there before Rasa...so lagi stress...

So did ur go for food tasting? some of my frens suggested me to gif it a miss coz they were saying the standard for food tasting and the actual day will be different....so they advised me to save my $$ (unless it's free lar) but for me...my co0ordinator said it'll only comes free if i booked 35 tables and above. So boh pian liaoz....

Hi Little Lion,

May i ask to see your pics taken on your wedding day as well? can u email to me? my email add is at [email protected]. Thanks thanks in advance!

like wat totoro said...let's keep tis thread alive so dat we can kip each other updated ;p

Hi Oct Pooh

By the way your wedding is in Oct, so when wil you be starting to meet your coordinator and also finalization of dates and ........ may be you can advise.....since our wedding date is the same month....:D

Hi Oct pooh...

heehee.. aiya, i went for a dinner recenly and i saw that the brides' evening gown like make from the curtain..heehee..so i better check

Hi..

i am considering having my wedding reception in sentosa. will be meeting a person call lim wei ming. anyone heard of this person...

anything to look out for?

Hi Beanie & Fang

This is Elaine here...yup, we let our orginal date go for another date which also in mar, due to some reasons. We also know tat Fang & hubby wanted our date but we booked it earlier, when we had to forgo the orginial date, we quickly inform Fang & hubby. Sorrie but I only saw your messages now

<FONT COLOR="orange">Fang</FONT> - Ya, your colleague is my hubby
Didn't know you're here too
I'm here for almost a year liao, but dun come to this thread. In the 2003 thread.

<FONT COLOR="brown">Beanie</FONT> - You're also the one we met up for the gathering
There's 1 more coming, most pro in feb...interested?

Is indeed a small world

Rasa Gals,

Can I ask, is the food tasting of 10pax (1 table)included in the package? Tat means dun need to pay extra money.

wow, this thread is sure effective, i am also thinking of changing my date to 21 june 2003(sat), currently mine is on 20 june..
but i request for white fence and pavilion. from what i understand, pavilion is not available on 21st..hmmm...so anyone will like to change the date, inform me.thanks

hi anyone chosen their wedding date on Sep 14 2003 - siloso ballroom and willing to give up?

Becos i am thinking of this date.

Hi Totoro,

I used white roses for all the flowers decor..

You can ask your co-ordinator for the flower choices... I was hestiate to choice b/w a red &amp; white theme or all white affair.. in the end choose all white.. even my hubby wore a white shirt instead of the normal suit attire..

ok..i was thinking of champagne gold roses and white gerbaras??

anyway, when u had ur PS there, did they provide u a room or something??

Hi Elaine,
Yah me is the one you met with last year. When is the meeting. Sorrie I never go into the 2003 thread liao. How is everyone there? Keep me posted on the date and venue. Thanks.

Hi questions,

No problem.....but my wedding is on June and my PS in March...will update u pple..

Elaine

You June bride thread too? are u talking abt the 21st Feb outing??

Hi Elaine,

Nice seeing you here.
I am currently busy planning my honeymoon so you won't see me as frequent as before. Oh yes, the food tasting is FOC.

Anyway, guys I am meeting Ethel this Sat. Will update you all again.

Hi Totoro,

Elaine is talking about the outing from 2003 Brides thread and not the June03 thread. There is two outings and please do not be confused. Hope I help to clarify your doubts.

Hi questions,

Yes I am meeting ethel this sat to get the date for food tasting as well as getting the NEW wedding cards design. Can't wait to see if they are really nicer than the old SEA SHELL design ..hehe

Hi Fang,

We got the sample of the new cards liao...it still a sea shell design. I ask Elaine to mail me the new cards. As for the food tasting, we just email her &amp; book the date. Didn't go down to see her.

What did u gals use for wedding favours?chopstick? holders??Elaine and fang... do keep us inform of the cards as well..heehee

Hi Boonie,

My wedding date is 11th Oct (sat)...so when's urs? I opt for the Siloso Ballroom coz i'll be having sword bearers for my wedding dat day. Wanted to opt for pavilion one, but was told dat there wun be a march-in...

Meeting co-ordinator ah? i dunno when to start meeting them leh...coz our wedding is in Oct...izit too KS?? any advice, rasa brides?

Hi Oct Pooh, not to worry lah..i am a June bride but hmm..still not meeting my cooridnator yet..
think will contact her after Chinese New year..
will keep u posted of new happenings.

Is there a projector there? i mean do we have to pay for it?

Hi Oct Pooh

My wedding date is the day after yours. I also opt for the Siloso Ballroom ..hehe......

hmm....may be we can discuss more like when to go and meet our coordinator or etc......

can email me at [email protected]

hmmm....anyone have sword bearer for their wedding around this period Jan - Aug? cos want to take a look on hows the program details and whether having a long march or short march.

I am getting a bitconfused..lets compiled a list.

Little lion- happily Married..

Elaine (popples)-March 03
Beanie- June 03
Totoro- June 03
Oct Pooh - Oct 03
bonnie-Oct 03

questions- ??
Fang-??
leng-??
bobomagic-??

anyone else wanna ad to the list..
maybe we could all have an outing one day?! ;o)

leng here. Hey, my big day over liao. Here to share my experience with rasa.

Overall I m satisfied with Rasa and my coordinator Ethel.

The weather wasnt good that evening n we were supposed to have our solemnization at the waterfront white fence. We were very disappointed if we cant have it outdoor, how boring to change it to the ballroom.

We were supposed to decide by 4.30pm if we want to move everything from outside into the ballroom. The sky was dark, look terrible so my hubby said move. At abt 5pm, the sky was clearer so he asked to move out again. At 5.30pm, the sky is back to cloudy with dark cloud, a few drops of rain, very unwilling inform them to cancel. I was very sad. When we walked down on the way to the ballroom, we stopped n looked at the sky again, looks better. Aiya, wat the hack, take the risk lah. Again, we changed our mind n stopped them from moving in the stuffs. Very fortunately, from there on, the sky was cleared.

Their patience are really appreciated, making them moving the stuffs in and out. We both were very very happy to have our solemnization outdoor, many friends said it was special n romantic.

So far, Ethel had been quite attentive to my needs especially the last week b4 the day, she called a few times to check if I have any change in program n anything I need. I appreciate that as I wasnt abit last min with the preparation due to work, alot things not well planned plus being an inexperience bride &amp; groom.

I was surprised that she called automatically n do try to help. I requested a red sofa to be placed in the ballroom for phototaking ( I got quite a few big groups of friends so table photo not so nice n cannot fit in), remove stage and free rose petals, all these requests were raised 2 days b4 but I was given.

Of course, they are rooms for improvement, think the tables with added chairs were abit mass up. Guests' comment on the food is so so loh, hotel standard. The ballroom carpet shd be changed long ago, so old n ulgy. The lighting of ballroom beri limited so no variation possible if u want to have something different, no spotlight available.

Two other pleasant surprises from the hotel, hehee will not mention here, u will know on the day itself.

Have fun gals.

hi All,

i'm new to tis thread
i've booked chinese sit-down dinner &amp; buffet on 12 Oct &amp; 18 Oct resp.

Like Oct Pooh &amp; Bonnie,I've not contacted rasa either.

Hi Bonnie,

Think we shared e same date : 12Oct but mine @ e pavilion

Hi Totoro,

I'd love to b on e list n meeting u gals ;)

hi leng,

thks for sharing ur rasa experience w us

can understand tt kind of feelg - having to shift into ballrm due to weather. u're lucky noe.
when i was there last June to meet up w Elaine, there's tis disappointed bride who was forced to move into ballrm cos of heavy rain. praying hard it won't happen to me tis oct!!!

btw, how's e bridal suite? nice?? big??

very curious noe wat suprise leh ;p

Hi Leng,

Thanks for sharing your part.
Which ballroom are you in? Pavilion?

I met with Ethel yesterday and she was very good and pro. I looked forward to the 2 surprises you mentioned. hehee..

I have one concern...i notice there is a band playing at the coffee lounge outside the Pavilion room. I am also getting my own band. I am worrying that the music will clash. Are you from the Pavilion and can u hear the music from outside?

I have asked Ethel and she said won't be hear. But I am still a little worried.

Also to all, I have seen the new cards. There is the red and the white one. Elaine is right, the new one has also the sea shell design but in 3 fold. Quite unique and nice. It also state wedding by the sea at the front page. The red one is just a CHING in chinese char at the front. I find it quite nice rather than the norm which always have a XI. The only thing is that the red one is a bi-fold card...and since both white and red is of different pages. the printing cost will cost more as well.

Personally i preferred the white one..coz the red one is too chinese. But my parents find the red one better ..coz ang ang mah! hahaa

ok, leng i hear from you. And guys any qns, let me know...i have all the details...

and yes Elaine, I asked abt the food tasting and confirmed it is FOC!

and I asked abt the projector....it is FOC and is upon request.

and everyone my wedding is in Mar but earlier than Elaine coz I exhange with her mah!

Mine is in the ballroom, I think Pavilion is better bcos it looks new n bright, The ballroom looks old fashion, I heard Rasa postpone a few times the renovation due to bad economy, it is too dim. Well, it was my mistake to choose the ballroom.

Hey, it was raining the whole day yesterday, really feel very lucky that my big day was not. Now I know it is not a good idea to hv ur wedding at end dec/early jan esp intend to hv outdoor solemnisation, beri risky.

The bridal suite, I hv not seen it b4, I heard it is very nice. Hehee................

hi leng,

yah choose outdoor wedding during yr end indeed v.risky!! yes - u beri lucky lor ;p

u din put up at e bridal suite?? how come? thought it'z part of e pkg?

hi fang,

is urs at e pavilion? when'z ur big day? can share ur experience? wen i was there last june - dunno cos of the bad weather, e place din look nice to me noe. but since my husband preferred it than ballrm - no choice!!!

Hi fang

wan check with you, regarding the projector, can it be connected to computer/notebook? or it is connected to video? Next if it is connected to notebook, will rasa provide or we need to bring ours?

ya....can let me have a look at your wedding card when it is ready?

hmm...since your wedding is in Mar, you went to meet your coordinator in Jan
(1)when will the food tasting be?
(2)When you need to go down to do the finalization?
(3) hows your decoration? wat did you choose? (e.g. the flower?)
(4)When do we start to print the wedding cards?
(5)Hows the program details on the actual day?

I think thats all that i can think of for now....may be you can add on? Thanks

Hi vio

wow so coincidence, we share the same date... :D so who is your coordinator?

hi bonnie,

yah yah...same day heee... ;)
mine's Elaine. wat abt u?
we can make plans n share info with!!

shld our outing firm we muz meet k.
btw, the oct bride thread is organizing meeting late feb - wanna join?? there's another 12oct bride there ;)

Hi All!!

Hi Totoro, seems like u r compiling a Rasa Banquet list yah. Well mine's on 21 Dec. Having outdoor reception but seeing the past mth weather...not so optimistic now.

Leng, yah lor...u very lucky cos weather has been acting up like crazy lately. Congrats also!! Can't wait to know what the 2 pleasant surprises r?

Fang, great to hear we dun have to rent a projector for this ..heehee.So we will just need to book from them rite? u think they have 2 projectors...one for Pavilion and another for Siloso ballroom?

Hi Bonnie,

I am not sure abt the projector details. Will check with her when the date draw nearer. But i believe they will provide us with everything.

hmm...since your wedding is in Mar, you went to meet your coordinator in Jan
(1)when will the food tasting be? Feb 9th tentatively

(2)When you need to go down to do the finalization? I think all done already..remaining can go through the phone and on the day itself

(3) hows your decoration? wat did you choose? (e.g. the flower?) I chose rose. Cream and yellow.
VIP table gold in colour.

(4)When do we start to print the wedding cards? I havent and is still checking out. soon real soon.

(5)Hows the program details on the actual day?
6.30 - 7p.m : pre-dinner cocktail
7.45p.m: gues to be seated
8pm: first wedding march in
8.05: cake cutting on stage
8.10: first dish out
8:55: 2nd march in
9p.m: Champagne pouring
9.05: pictures taking
10.30: proceed to exit and thanks guest

leng-happily married

Beanie- June 03
Totoro- June 03
Oct Pooh - Oct 03
bonnie-Oct 03
Vio- 12 oct 03
bobomagic-21 dec 03

questions- ??
Fang-??

Had my wedding in Sept (Monsoon season) &amp; this was what I told Rasa to help me with to ward off the wet spell... Plant fresh red chilli &amp; garlic on the ground the day before or in the morning ...

Strange it may seem but this is the practice we have while doing outdoor events &amp; it worked for me.. Of course I prayed like mad too cos' my whole wedding was an outdoor event. (ball room as a back-up)

hahaha....sounds interesting, is the chilli and garlic still growing??? ;o)

leng-happily married

Fang-March 03
Beanie- June 03
Totoro- June 03
Oct Pooh - Oct 03
bonnie-Oct 03
Vio- 12 oct 03
bobomagic-21 dec 03

questions- ??

Hi fang

btw your wedding is at siloso ballroom or pavillon?

hmm...how abt the wedding gift? is there other variety beside chopstick stand? wat did you choose?

little lion.....v.interesting leh heee....
but better to belief than be sorry right - it'z our once in a life-time event leh ;)

hi bonnie,

heard there'z few choices of wedding favour.
my colleague attended one last Nov received a pair of chopstick (those which are fr thailand one lor). I felt it looked like gifts fr colleague came bk fr holiday noe!!

of course there's e common one like choco in box.

i actually like e china doll chopstick holder in e box - intend to place guest's name on tag to personalise it!! but of course not e chinese dinner which i've 20 tables, it's the buffet at the lawn w abt 10 table for friends n colleague ;)