Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Hi gals...

Yah..they are very strict with adding flowers to the stage hor...think have to add more flowers...too green for comfort...and i agree that the floral stands are also very poor thing leh...so short...doesn't give the 'grand' feeling

Shern...let us know after ur food tasting...me really quite worried about the food. but ac cording to Perry, the chefs does only banquets and corporate events...he doesn't cook at the cafes.

they might as well change it to forest/jungle theme since their concept of 'garden' are greeneries

will let you guys know once i've tried the food...seems like a long way to go tho

anyway, i was quite sad cos WG not ready for fitting, can't wait to see it....

Personally I feel that Perry is quite a nice guy. Spoken to him on Sunday... by the way, he mentioned that there will be fanfare for pavilion too although the agreement stated only applicable for ballroom. And do you gals know that actually rasa have 2 wedding favors to choose from? One is the scented candle and the other one is chocolate (nicely wrapped up in small paper gift bag). But of course, scented candles is of a better choice

Both Siloso and Pavilion deco are the same... same deco for stage, flower stands, floral arch, table setup, reception table setup, etc..

Sigh...so sad about the deco!! so disappointed...

Shern!! That's a good one...think if they really do it as jungle theme...they have done a good job!!

Yah...only on Sun when i went, then i knew about the different favours. I also thnk that the candles are more unique and more in line with Rasa's image...resort, greeneries....

Bride...u there on Sun as well? wot time u there? u were with a group of 4 ppl?

Agree, agree, was hoping for more decors...now gotta spend extra money....to 'deforest' the pavilion hehehe

I totally forgot there is another favour! Tho I like chocs...but so common... hehe

Come to think of it, the florist really boring...using the same decor....unless Rasa has bad taste?!

Hi Bugbear, I wonder if you are the one there talking with Elaine with your FH in Pavilion? Yes, I am with my family, 5 of us (including my young niece)...
I'm the tiny gal standing right in front of pavilion door while waiting for elaine...

I was not told that rasa has 2 favors to choose from actually. Only told about the candle. So I was actually surprised to see another favor on sunday. Find the choco wrapped up very nice, unlike other hotels with the choco packed in boxes... choco is indeed common...

There is a reason why rasa want to keep the florist.. but definitely it is not due to the nice deco that they offer... ;(

Hahah....Bride, don think that's me...cos i was with Perry...not with Elaine. Did u visit Siloso? Cos i saw a party pf about 4-5 with Elaine there...and yes, indeed was a small girl in the group...so was wondering if that's u :D

Hahah...yah lor...also dunno wot is so nice about the stage deco that made Rasa wants to keep the florist. I am sure with a garden theme, loads of other florists will do a good job. the more i look at the stage deco...the more it looks like a seminar event
so sad.

hi gals, guess the florist must be value for money, adn the nicer decor from other florists not within their budget....poor us

i tot of moving the stage to another side but according to cathy, it can't be done. wanted the glass panel to be the back view...

Hahah..Shern...u worried that all ur guests will forcus outside instead of u two on the stage? (just kidding)...i think if have the stage would have a nice view. very unique.

hi gals, i heard from elaine cos the florist has very good working r/s wif them so they kept them loh...

shern, i initially hv the same thot to move the stage oso... elaine told me can be done... but it kinda block the view right?

Morning Gals...

I was thinking, if you move the stage to the window side, does it mean that u wil walk in from the main door where the bar will be? (the wooden doors)? Also, if u put the stage at the window side, would the ceiling be a little too low for comfort? Cos if i remembered correctly, the ceiling nearer to the window would be lower than the stage side right?

Just my 2 cents worth
other than that, i think the view is nice and maybe can really save on additional deco for stage.

ya bugbear, you are right, the ceiling is lower at the window side... think march-in will be at the main door else march-in will be very short. But what about the projector if shift the stage and there might be reflection on the window when lights shine on it (unless the curtain are let down)...

anyone seen the night view from pavilion yet, cos the way you suggesting, view has to be nice lor. what if all black black only? then waste effort leh...

btw, someone mentioned favors rite? i checked with elain before, if dun want their favors (bring in own) can exchange for additional barrel beer or extra night stay...

Wah...if change wedding favours...i would take extra night stay. best is with full sea view. Anyone viewied their rooms already? I viewed one...but it's half hill, half sea...the sea view is nice leh

Hhmm...i heard from Perry that the coconut trees do have lightnings on them..but dunno if they wil on it everynight or not.

hi gals,heard that the view is quite dark and reflects back the restaurant. see how it goes....

any idea if dun wan the invites, can exchange for what?

the coconut trees are right in front of pavilion?

20 or 30l barrel if dun wan wedding favours? are you gals getting 1 or 2 nite stay?

wow 2 nites in bridal suites.... mine is 1 nite in bridal and 1 nite in deluxe (wedding fair offer) so troublesome to switch rooms....

but i not exchanging lor, cos finally decided that it's wasting $$ leh, cos own favor also people will think supply from hotel one lor... also many people dun even bring back or bring back and dump in one corner... so better put the $$ to better use... hehee...

Dazed, do u mean that the extra 1 night is not consecutive to the night of ur AD? Or u can actually book the night after ur AD?

I have been to the bridal suite.. really very nice... shern, why dun you try to negotiate to have ur 2nd night at bridal suite since yours is on fri?

For the seaview guestrooms, I have stayed there before during my company function... very nice, especially the full seaview for my room.

Dun find it really worth exchanging favor for another night stay... and the barrel of beer given should be enough unless your guests are really heavy drinkers... and moreover, the favor is kind of unique, nicely presented in a carrier...
113131.gif

shern, why dun you check with your coordinator... think can exchange for additional seaview night stay or best if can exchange for bridal suite.
113132.gif

i guess rasa's wedding favour is adequate, dun have to spend extra...save it to beautify the place
the barrel of beer is tempting tho...

2nd nite should be seaview, tried getting bridal suite, she said only if its available cos it doubles up as VIP suite as well, they have 6 in total. so hopefully can get for both nites

mine are heavy drinkers

where's your cute icon from??

If there is only 2 banquets on fri and sat respectively, you should be able to get the bridal suite
check with your coordinator how many couples having dinner for that 2 days when you go for food tasting...

In that case, exchanging the cards for beer would be more advisable for you... Got the icons from internet last time...

Morning Gals!!
I also feel that Rasa favours is quite interesting and something different. Unless u really want to personalize ur favours...else i think should just leave the favour as it is

Shern, have u tried negotiating for free flow of beer? Or maybe like buy another barrel and get free flow? ;)

bugbear, i've tried....could barely get the words 'free flow' out when i spoke to the coordinator...the feeling you get when you know the answer is 'NO'

i'll try the 'buy another barrel and get free flow' tactic, thanks!

Hahah...i get wot u mean...for me, my guests are mostly wine drinkers...not so much of beer...so i am hopping the complimentary barrel will be enuf.

U can try lor...i got this idea from 1 of the hotels...cos they told me that if i were to purchase another barrel, they can actually arrange for all corkage waived for wines

Reckon we do get to learn some negotiation tricks from different hotels...then apply to our final hotel choice =D

Wah...u really on about rasa...the first hotel u saw was rasa? Or u only had that in mind...and no other backup plans ar

shern, I'm also like you.. find it really hard to have the words come out from my mouth when I know that the answer is definitely a "NONO" from elaine... as said, she is pretty firm in neg..

rasa was my only choice too.. didn't check out the perks at other hotels and compare before signing up... already set on pavilion when we 1st saw it...

cos the original plan i like is over our budget and can't accomodate all our guests. at least rasa has some unique points rather than the usual hotels
like their pricing too hehehe anyway FH and me ruled out most of the banquet places last year liao so din bother to check much before signing :p

bride... and mine was with cathy...rasa trained their coordinators well hhehehe

So good for u gals.

I am still looking at this, that, and everywhere. Rasa is really kind of small for me...and the food is also a major concern of mine. But i do like Pavilion a lot also lor

Heheh...so far, I am fine with Elaine...reckon if i really decide on rasa, must negotitate as much before signing

Hi Lyenn, welcome welcome

Have u been to view the venue already?
Which aspect of bad were u referring to? Deco? Food? Coordinators?

Hi Lyenn... welcome

Dun worry too much.. so far we rasa brides-to-be have no regret signing up with rasa... all hotels has their good & bad.. even for city hotels, there tend to be some areas where you feel that there are rooms for improvement.. so dun worry too much... most important is you like the ballroom, the venue (Sentosa) and feel comfortable with the coordinator.. the rest of the things can be worked out ;)

Hi Gals!!
Txs 4 ur console. I'm actually quite worried abt the decor & e coordinators. I heard fr my colleague who went last month 2 pavilion for wedding dinner is tat the pple never cue the couple to enter and they oso nv dim the lights went they make their 1st appearance. I hv been there but didn't get to see the wedding decor.AND gd news to all. Elaine said tat they ar in e midst of reviewing their floral decor.

hi gals... I'm sure glad to hear that they are reviewing their floral decor... hopefully they will get rid of the 'forest' theme huh... kekeke... then we can save some $$ on extra deco to 'de-forest' it huh... ahahaha...

lyenn... welcome

as bride says so far I also hv no regrets signing wif rasa cos my fh n i luv the pavilion... its the pavilion that captures our heart... my co-ordinator - elaine, has been very nice n accomodating too. so I guess its really up to u...

Hope u can join us as one of the 'rasa brides to be'

Morning Gals...

It's really good news to hear that rasa is finally reviewing their florist.

Haha...sweatcorn...i also hope to be able to make up my decision soon...but by the looks of it, paviliion is really kind of small to meet my numbers...but even if i don take up rasa for my banquet, i most likely take up rasa for solemnization. Still, i hope to be able to join in the thread.

Morning everyone! Agree, agree tho dun I did complain about Rasa, I still dun have any regrets about it.

Bride, I just went for my 1st fitting last nite, still interested in Silver Cloak?

Hi bugbear, tried on my actual gown...bitter sweet experience...

MTM WG:tho bustier is nice and will be quite different for the final...find the skirt itself plain cos the details is on the back (very well-done)will call the designer tomorrow so see if the laces can be scattered around (she was saying the concentration is on the bustier and butt area) sigh...............

OTR EG: din look as good as the last time i tried it....tried another EG (very nice) but find the design too popular with brides....designer was very sweet, said i can choose another for AD when the new gowns are in...jus wear either one for PS 1st...

Shern...did i read wrong...ur 1st fitting or final fitting?

Ooh...sometimes i think it's good to just have a point of focus....so everyone will remember...else if too many details all round ur gown...ppl won rem much of ur gown.

So sweet of the designer to allow u to choose another EG...

hi bugbear, yesterday was 1st fitting, final in 2 weeks time. Know what you mean by focal point, but the gown is not exactly what i had in mind as yet...think I'm too fussy :P

Hi all, from what elaine told me when I went to meet up with her on sunday... rasa will not be changing the florist in the short run... she told me she has feedback to her management but still they decided to hold on to the current florist due to some reasons... so do not pin too much hope and do plan some idea in mind for the deco.. just for in case...

Lyenn, thanks for your highlights on what your colleague's feedback... we rasa brides have to take note and highlight to the coordinator that such things should be taken good care by them.. maybe a rehearsal should be done...

shern, I have signed up with white link... MTM my EG.. going for my 1st fitting next month... decided not to MTM my WG though it's included in the package... so thinking of what other things I can exchange it for except for photos (dun wan so many photos)... think your designer is really sweet to let you choose another EG... she still willing to let you try some more gowns... very customer oriented

ya bugbear is right, nicer to have some focus points, else if whole gown full of laces and beads might not be really stand out much

You are not being fussy... actually this is one of my concern for not MTM my WG.. worried that the end result is not what I have in mind... so feel safer to OTR.. since I can find a piece that is to my liking.. though the gown didn't really melt my heart.. maybe when all the details are there, it'll be what you dream of

dun worry, you are not the only fussy one around...hehee... i also wat...went down to change the selected gowns just 1 week later after 1st selection... me also asked BS to add lace to my gown cos very plain looking...