Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

hi trixter..

actually u can still go to other bridal shop if u want.. coz thats wat i did after i signed swc(2nd shop i went).. so to make myself feel assured & better, i went to BS in marina sq & newpaper wedding fair in marina sq & saw a lot of BS but i concluded that every shop has its pros & cons... some got nice gown, some got nice photos & different prices too... anyway its more or less the same at the end of the day... ;)
well stay positive & see how u can make the best out of your deal! good luck! :D

superbee - thanks thanks and thanks. you're right on that. my expectation was too high. i wanted so much. I wanted MTM WG & EG, want nice pic, want good quality fabrics, want vera wang style, want friendly and not too pushy coordinator, want car and want alot alot of pics, want good MUA....and i dun want to spend more than $5k on all these "I wants".... where to find?

so i tell myself, since i can't afford to fork out more to fulfill all the I-wants, the deal i got from sophia is really a good one already...

i will stay positive and take my time to 'embrace' my experience with Sophia. I really hope they wont let me down. No matter what happens, I tell myself, whatever it is, most impt if the bride nice nice pretty pretty can liao...the rest not impt. haha....

i hope you'll be a happy and pretty bride too. cheers.

hey all Rasa brides to be

do you gals have problems getting your guests to come over to Rasa for your wedding dinner?

my FH says when he tell his friends we are holding it at Rasa they were like "huh, RASA SENTOSA, SO FAR ARH".... I thought that is ridiculous since we will place our coach at diff places to fetch them...

For my side, my friends and fmaily are ok with it lei... so I would like to hear from you gals - do you have difficulties getting your guests to come to your wedding at Rasa??

hey trix,
no need to worry so much lah i think...think they'll feel better after telling them dat we got buses to bring them over mah...somemore must sell the good points like can get there on time..can go home on time...confirm wont get midnite charge if take our buses after dinner...hehehe...

hi trix,
erm i think transport Will definately pose a problem. but like wat we all said, since we have coaches provided to pick them up it should be better...I'm more worried abt parking lots as ther's only <120 lots in Rasa sentosa for ppl who drive to park...aiyoo later no parking lots then they have to park at the Gateway car park instead &amp; take bus haiz....

anyway, no la, so far frens who koe we are going to hold it at Rasa sentosa have no complains. think nowdays we younger generation also go by the prinicple " It's our wedding" so can't be expecting to pleased every one. so as long as both u &amp; ur FH are happy with ur choice of venue can le. as for relatives &amp; family members, so far still okie, no complains...haha maybe also bcos we havent informed alot of ppl yet since it's still long way to go (mine's next year) so tt's y no complains yet...hehe keeping my fingers cross la!

thanks gals. mine also next year and also have not spread the news yet... hope my guest will all enjoy a different venue.

happy wedding to all of us..

hi vincass,

my comp at home is down and i can't access internet. sorry for late reply. think i wrote wrongly. mine is an evening solemnisation on the beach area, followed by dinner in the 5th floor pavillion. yours is a high tea right? so i'll be using the pavillion after you! what time will you be there on that day? think we'll bump into each other! do you have an email..? maybe we can keep in touch via email?

oh yah saw some of the posts on the extra room.. i signed up during the wedding show too. did you girls attend? if you want to convert the UOB room into bridal suite you'll have to top up $500 i think. if using the anniversary's executive panorama room and convert into bridal suite will have to top up $300.

Hi Macademia,
your event will be after mine. I will be there from 10.30am onwards, cos my tea ceremony will also be held at the hotel, before the 2pm solemnization at Pavilion. What time is your solemnization in the evening? Hope it's around 6ish cos the sun was still blazing when I was there at 6pm last weekend.
Are you going to have any theme for the wedding? Email at [email protected]

It has been such a joy reading this thread..
I am also a RASA BTB and will be having my AD on 21st Jan 07. Tink is one day after Bizz right?

I am so excited about it..signed up right away after the 1st time i met James. Tink he's very sincere and keen.

hi trixter...

i just came back from my first fitting! spent abt 3 hrs &amp; geraldine is really patient &amp; let me me try abt 8 WGs &amp; 8 EGs... best of all is she can draw out my dream MTM WG after showing her my download WG pics(abt 30), Rasa ballroom pics &amp; tried 8 OTR WGs for fun to conclude what i like.. :p i m really happy with her!!
however, EG doesnt have much of what i want(coz i like blue) so just pick whatever that FH likes which is pink... as for reserved gown thingy hor, i attempted to ask to try but they dun let me try leh...

Yeah u r rite that if u r pretty, whatever u wear will b beautiful... :D so be a cheerful and pretty bride!! have fun researching on the type of gowns &amp; details u like coz it helps your designer to know what is your preference...

hi merlotte,
welcome to the thread...u r rite...ur AD is juz 1 day after mine..heehe...so have u settle wif ur BS??

hey merlotte!! welcome welcome welcome!!

hey superbee!! thanks for sharing!! yes, i've heard good comments abt geraldine too!! i guess i must specially request for her!

so happy for you u got what u like (almost, except the EG).. and i hope i'll be lucky like you too!

so who did u pick for MUA and PG??

hi trixter...
based on the forum feedback, i requested for candy to do MUA &amp; bryan to do PG coz i got AD PG from sophia &amp; only bryan do both PS &amp; AD PG... i prefer to have the same PG so that he will know what is my prefer style &amp; i dun have to stress on AD to tell a different PG what i like... :-p however, i havent met bryan but only saw hazel online album by him &amp; quite like the PS style so hope it will turn up well for me... ;-)
actually wedding preparation can be so fun but yet stressed hor...

hey superbee, me also have PG and AD from SWC... from the SWC forum, it sounds like bryan is no longer with SWC..am not sure, u gotta check out SWC on that okok...if he is still with SWC, I guess i'll take him too!!

trixter....seems like we have a lot in common.. hehee :-D i saw from forum that sean is not there liao...but i think i saw bryan yesterday... heard eagles is perm there... not very sure abt that.. u can ask ur coordinator &amp; see what she says... :-p

hello...yeh, we have the same venue and same BS... so nice... oh ya, u said the preparation is fun and at the same time stress...ya you're right.

i think the stress part is the customs, cos if i can do it our way, there'll be so many steps we can skip lor... another stress part is we spend so much on the bridal pkg and is afraid the result is no good lor..haha... but i guess worrying too much is not going to do us any good, jus jus relax and have fun lor...

i'm praying) hopefully it wont rain on our beautiful day...hehe...

so far, i think i-am-kindda-enjoying la.. jus beginning mah.. once it gets nearer like year end, i know i will start to panic lor..keke..

i have not even contacted the guys at SWC lor... guess i'll do it soon!!

happy planning to you (and all the other brides)!

hi vincass,

yah think mine will start bout 630pm onwards...i think there's another couple in the evening? yah.. think they're using the ballroom downstairs without any outdoor solemnisation.. oh ok. so you wun have tea ceremony at home.. actually also good coz u wun need to travel all over the place..

Hi bizz

How many days will u be staying at Rasa after ur wedding?
I am doing a lunch banquet cos the dinner has been booked by someone else...maybe we'll bump into each other.

I will be signing up with Silverlining..

hi merlotte,
think i might stay in Rasa for 1 day lor after the wedding..probly we'll really bump into each other...heheeh..@ least i can go kpo n take a look @ ur wedding...hehehe...

Hi Macademia,
I'm asking Rasa to use Cymbidium Orchids for my reception. What about you?
Are you planning to get Rasa to provide flower arches too? I'm not sure at this point whether I need it or not.....

Vincass..

they say okay to your request for cymbidum!?!? I asked them and they say no.. and even colour of the orchids cannot be too exotic...Let me know if you are sucessful... =)

hi vincass and ling,

hmmm how come you girls chose your flowers so fast already? i haven't thought of how i want to decorate the place too.. think the beach is quite nice already prob will have it simple. but i dun like the wedding cake in the pavilion.. the one on display. dunno how the actual day's cake will look like. was hoping maybe can have a cake made out of seashells stuff or something! to complement the beach theme bah..

hmmm vincass what theme are you thinking of? 'we haven't decided yet.. but since it's at the beach prob can't have some arabian nights or something bah. ha just joking.. i'm thinking the ah cheks can wear simple white linen shirts..

have you settled your bridal and all already? we just signed our bridal yesterday.. flat keys prob ready around june to aug. so will be quite busy!

oh my comp ok already will discuss here ok

Hi Macademia,
haven't really chose the flowers yet cos still figuring out a colour scheme. Was checking on the type/colour of flowers that Rasa would be providing, for inspirations on colour scheme.
From what I have seen so far, the flowers arrangements done by Rasa are only so-so. In a dilemma now, as to whether I should out-source the florist and end up spending more $$.

I''m defintely not taking the dummy wedding cake.... everyone knows that it's a fake and we will look silly cutting a dummy cake. Hmmm, your idea of real cake is a good one.... go for it!

i see.. yup shd think of the theme and colours and all that. did your wedding coord say how much to top up for extra decor? i rem mine mentioned to me but i forgot about it already. these few mths will be busy with bridal.. think closer to date then i'll start thinking.

Hi, I'm new here and i also looking Rasa as one of my choices. Anyone can email me the package you have? my email is [email protected]

Trying very hard to neg more perks from them but it seems that they are quite strict. Anyone to recommend?? Please advise.

long time havent come into here.can check with those who have signed up, have u gotten ur contract from ur coordinator already? Bizz? Trixter?

Anyone booked the Ballroom for 4th Mar 07? Because I booked the Pavillion for 4th March 07 so looking to see whether will there be 2 weddings or 1 wedding (just mine) on that day.

hey pastillies,
welcome back...so long nvr hear from u liao...i've oredi received and signed the contract liao lor...hehhe...so how's ur holiday??

hi trixter,
this is one of my main concern as well...btw do we haf to pay for the buses or is it complimentary?

for brides who had their AD at rasa sentosa, do u haf guests coming late cos its too far?
im planning to hold it on a friday...quite worried dat my guests wun b able to make it time?

do u all haf any coordinators to recommend??

i would like to contact them to view the ballroom...missed the previous wedding show!

hi tingting,
i think the buses are free...u dun have to pay for it..i think normally abt 3 buses..but u can request for more by using your complimentary parkings for cars to exchange if i didnt remember wrongly...dat's wat my bro did the last time when he had his wedding there...

my bro had his AD on a Sunday but all the guests turn up on time cos most of them took the buses...but u r doing on a friday, i think u got to choose more centralised places as pick up points..1 good place to consider is city hall i think...that's wat my coordinator told me..

u can look for emily..she's my coordinator...i find her friendly...hope all these help..

hi tingting, as far as i know...they have plenty of buses, so try hard to get as many as u can la!!

or else, like what bizznow say, you can use your car passes to exchange. 45passes=1 coach.

they only have 4 coordinators there... why dont u try getting the manager....i think his name is perry... i always think guy is easier to "negotiate' la....haha....

happy planning to you, and the rest!!

bizznow - its been a long time since we last chatted here!! gosh, look like we got no more topics to discuss???

pastillies and superbee - where are you gals!!!!

hi trixter,
yah lor...we very long nvr chat in here liao...really running out of topics...

hey pastillies n superbee,
yah...where r u all man?? so long nvr hear fr u all liao leh...

hi bizznow n trixter,

thanx so much for ur advice...i called up rasa sentosa today..most prob will b viewing their ballroom next sunday as there will b an ongoing wedding

hi dearies!!!!
sorry long time havent come in here.
haha my trip was good, too good, dun want to come back already.miss the chatting here though!

anyway how everyone's preparations? ya the contract right, when I paid the deposit $2K, I did get a signed copy of it on the spot. but tt's a photocopy one so I tot will be receiving the orginal one mah....but seems like the copy which I have is good enuff as I've checked with shirlene

haha ya tirxter, bizz, so any new topics? u went down for gown fitting? or havent?

hi tingting, who's going to meet u for next sun? If u havent fixed ur coordinator i also do recommend mine, shirlene. haha actually I think all our coordinators all quite not bad , rite bizz?!
by the way when's ur AD?

hi pastillies,

i tink its remedial training (RT)...hehee..he failed his IPPT..so every week haf to go run until he pass his IPPT

but its also good la...can lose some weight for our ROM! heeehee

hi gals...

i was very busy with work lately so no time to participate in forum... sigh... i took MC today to rest at home.. hehehe...can tell how 'sick' i m with my current work hor... :p

have u gals decided where u plan to go for honeymoon?? my wedding in dec &amp; most nice places like europe r winter time &amp; i dun like winter coz u gotta dress up like a big buffalo.... :p

hi pastilies! nope, i've not step into the BS since the day i place the deposit untill now...haha... Will probably go down in mid may la..

hey tingting, when u visit rasa this weekend, remember to bring a digi cam to take pictures of what u see so u can keep them for reference... do take note of the deco, see whether how and where they put the flowers, etc...see whether the flower deco is "sufficient" or not k... if possible, share with us the pics ya!!

superbee!! sick sick arh!! aiya, me also abit sick arh... hey, so how did your MTM gown turn out?? is it 'acceptable'?? hehe...

oh, forgotten abt the honeymoon part...

for my case, we've not decided the place yet. At the moment, we have europe (england, france, spain) and australia (sydney, melbourne, tasmania, gold coast) in mind.

already requested for brochures from webs like visitbritain and enjoyengland. They are real thick and I am trying to comprehend them.

europe > we've not stepped into this continent yet so would like to go there for honeymoon. but I realise it is not easy to plan a DIY holiday there. For all our previous holidays we alwways DIY everything ourselves, so I think for HM, we'll probably DIY too. Am trying to "study" the brochures now..... THIS IS REALLY DIFFICULT LOR..

australia > super easy to DIY our trip. our last trip to perth was fantastic. hotels and shops were easy to find, maps and road directions are easy to read..people on the road are friendly so it is rather safe to drive around.

which countries are you considering??

oh my gown huh... havent get phone call from them yet... anyway still early coz mtm gown usually will take at least 1 mth to make... dun want to rush them coz i rather wait &amp; get a nice gown for me... :p

i wanted to go canada, italy or japan but winter period so have to explore other alternatives....

trixter, when is ur AD?

superbee > tentatively may 2007... abit KS hor..haha.. when is yours?

ya, winter is really too cold la..maybe winter will be easier to handle...

canada sounds good. hey, forgot to tell u i am also checking out hawaii...hehe.. but hor, looks like nothing much to do other than sun tanning..LOL

japan will be real romantic i guess...heehe...

i'm waiting to hear comments abt their MTM gowns lor..hopefully the result will be "acceptable" la..hehe..

wah so fast talking abt honeymoon ah!! hehe but tt's my fav topic too! holidays!

we are intending to look at europe for honeymoon also!...hey trixter if u really going to DIY for ur europe honeymoon share share ur planning k! cos i intend to do tt too...but also have half a mind to take tour package then extend a few days free n easy on ourselves....haiz, but as our AD is in oct so our honeymoon sure in dec....winter....cold...haiz...

I do agree Australia is great to go free &amp; easy esp if u drive. we DIY our whole sydney trip ourselves. great! can share the Itinerary if who's interested

I just came back from Japan. I do recommend if possible go Japan during the April season cos the cherry blossom there is really very very veyr nice!!. Japan also can free &amp; easy. as long as u koe how to read chinese can liao!

does anyone has experience holding dinner at rasa on a friday nite....im juz afraid the dinner will start v late?? cos guests haf to travel to rasa on a weekday after work?

hey pastillies,
welcome back...i've been quite bz lately...so nvr had time to read msgs lah...hehehe...wah...so gd..juz came back from japan..envy leh...hehee..i went to choose my gowns for PS liao..n managed to confirm my AD PG..now still pending on VG..how's ur preparation so far??

homneymoon ah...me hvnt really tot of dat...but my FH wants to go Europe..the thing is $$$ is an issue lah...exp to go Europe leh...still deciding...either we go somewhere cheaper or if not got to postpone the trip lor...

pastillies > sure i can sure my planning with you! let me go do my "research" first then let u know ya.. i plan to visit some time in oct or jan.. will avoid the holiday season lor.. u lei??

hey, BTW, are you allowed to bring in non-duty free hard liquor??

bizznow > busy huh!!! take care hor....