Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

dazed

bebe, how much you top up for desserts and what was available? quite interesting leh...

you mean shuttle service from carpark to hotel is it?

pink_lady

me going to meet Elaine to discuss the package again..to nego for more things...if possible..will try to ask for beer corkage waiver (we buy wines from hotel)...beer corkage is so expensive...my FH got lobang getting beer in v cheap rate...so if she is ok...we might sign up...........the only thing that i mind..IS THE SHORT MARCH IN....still thinking how to PROLONG IT....sigh....
bebe, where is ur wedding held..siloso or pavilion???

sleepysleep

hello bebe,
congratz =) hm must be very enjoyable correct? where did u go?

erm what did u have for ur desserts?

hi pink lady,
hope u get what u want =))

erm hallie,
perry replied me already =) u should be receieving ur replies soon =)

erm erm... this is my qns to perry..
'i havent confirm how many attendees for my wedding but i think i will be taking the 25 table package, cause i might not even hit 25 tables. What will happen if i cant hit min. 25 tables? can i have few tables as reserve to meet the min. 25 tables target?'
and his reply is that i need a min of 25 table + 1 reserve to actually enjoy those perks stated in the package..

erm, u do gals think i can still try to nego like maybe 24+1? anyone manage to get 24 tables and 1 reserve? abit like really cant hit 25 tables, should i forgo my perks and get lesser tables? =|

pink_lady

sleepy,
think u try to ask them if u can reserve the remaining table for other occasions (such as ur mum birthday or watever) if u can't hit 25 tables on that nite...may be u can try that...got hotels do that

merchelle

Hi Pink,
I've asked abt that too, but my co-ordinator mentioned that unfortuntly they don practice that as they do not have any chinese restaurant in RASA, therefore they cant let u come back next time.

fiona

Me is a going-to-be Rasa bride!!

Everything is going on smoothly and my co-ord is Cathy and she has provided us with great service so far.

pink_lady

hi siao cha boh(funny name huh...hehe),
mmm...if in this case...u try to get to know as many friends as possible before your wedding...hehe...just kidding lah....you discuss with your coordinator and keep pestering till they can't take it..may be they will propose something...heee...

pink_lady

hi fiona,
did u manage to get any corkage waiver when nego with cathy??? i have to admit that cathy is a very friendly lady..but recently she has been slow in response...dunno why...may be really very busy there...

shan

hi Hallie,

Yeah huh...2006 still a long way to go.
I am trying to DIY alot of stuffs myself...like the invites, favours, signages, table display etc...anyway FH and me both like the favours from this shop wedding wishes...very nice...so still undecided...wait till we meet up with my co-ordinator in Jan and see how.

Bridal shop wise, we signed up with Bridal COncept and so far they have been great. Having my photoshoot in jan. Have you signed up with any BS?

Lindy

shan

advice to all RASA wannabe brides out there,

Dont miss the bridal show if you seriously want to sign up with them, cos after that they will increase the price agn.

I missed their bridal show on 20th March 2004 even though FH and I were already decided we want RASA (didnt even consider other place)...however we were bz and it just slipped our minds till the day itself. And when we went down two weeks after, they cant give us the old price anymore...
so we actually paid $20 more per table...what you guys are offered now. so dont be like me yah?

Rgds

sleepysleep

hi fiona,
welcome to this thread =)

hi lindy,
u diy most of the stuff urselves?
erm i am trying to dyi myself but abit clueless @ the moment ahhaa =P
i think i gonna pay $708 per table for weekdays

erm what's the normal procedure for having rom + ad together? i was wishing to have solemnisation @ lawn then have reception maybe @ lawn or outside ballroom area then procedure to march-in, dinner and etc..
do u girls need to pay for the usage of lawn? i email perry to ask but somehow was a little confused..
he mentioned that if i chose to have my solemnisation at lawn area, the rates will be like $450 for 50 pplz but if i have it straight after my 1st march-in he might be able to waive the charges.
what do he mean by solemnisation after march-in? i dont really understand..

shern

many newcomers yah

my AD is on a Fri, approx 2weeks time.

i'll be having 2 reserves...anticipating no-shows as well.

getting wine from rasa is more worth it cos their corkage is high and cheapest wine is already $24, unless you wanna consider swopping invitations/wedding favours etc for more perks cos it may be value for money...

bebe, thanks so much for sharing...was ur dinner at the ballroom...
was at rasa to kaypoh and saw the groom singing to the bride on the stage...so romantic

shan, it's great that you plan so early
mine dragged on for quite a while cos too busy with work...

bebee

wow so many post!! cool!!

Try to reply everyone, but if i miss out sorry - just remind me

My wedding was at Pavillion. Had a church wedding b4 that so no solemnisation.

Shern, my groom not so 'lomantik' keke, no singing for us :p
2 weeks time!! must be excited!! have fun!! relax from now onwards!

my coordinator is Elaine...

sleepysleep,
I went on a Europe tour for HM - Switzerland, paris n london
wish I had more leave n more money kekeke

siao char bo,
yup - for watever unused table, no return meal.. same for me.. lucky i managed to use up my guarantee amt.

i had q few no shows, so those tables actually not full... but dun care lar, on that day just smile n enjoy the attention...

dazed,
hihi, yes, the shuttle from gateway to hotel... cuz anyway thats where they will be told to park.. then, after dinner oso make sure have many buses to send them back

shern

bebe, i did go to pavilion to kaypo too but din get to see bride and groom :p how much did you top up for the buffet dessert? how many tables you had? cos i saw some were quite near the entrance of the 'walk-in'. was the march-in super short or did you walk slowly? sorry ah....kan cheong :p

hallie

Lindy,
I have yet to sign up any BS too. ;p

Sleepsleep,
i guess wat perry meant the "solemnisation after 1st march-in", would be to hv the solumnisation in the ballroom u r using for ur dinner, that is on the stage lor. but does the $450 he quote for 50 ppl include anything??

bebee

shern,
i think it was $25-30 per table..

desserts include 7 types of your choice:
like tiramisu, chocolate cake, ice cream n mango, red bean n lotus, cheesecake, strawberry tartlets etc etc...

1st march in slower song so was ok...
2nd march in used faster song, so walk too fast haha

shan

Shern,

hehe...after the booking the hotel and BS, i basically just sit on it... :p just that i drew up a schedule to remind myself whats to be done every mth.

shan

Hallie,

So did your research on your BS? You may want to drop by my BS (Bridal Concept) and have a look, their packages are really comprehensive and the ppl there are nice.

shan

hi sleepy,

I will be doing up my own signages for them to put along the way from my solemnization/cocktail area to the siloso ballroom. Cos my solemnization will be ard 6-630pm followed by my cocktail then the dinner in the ballroom.

Will also have to do display boards for the coaches and designing my own invites but will send it to the printer.

As for favours...still undecided...depends on whether have extra budget.

Let me know if you need help!

sleepysleep

hi hallie,
erm he only state $450/50 guests.. didnt state if it included anything else. i think is the rental for the usage for the lawn area?
maybe perry meant all outdoor events? else cant really have solemnization after march-in right for 2 diff area?

hi bebe!
ur dessert buffet is yuummmY!!!!!! from ur list i loved tiramisu, chocolate cake, ice-cream, cheesecake, strawberry tartlets!!! *droolz*
but after the few course dinner ur guest still manage to eat alot from the dessert buffet? or they only have 1 serving?
woh! HM @ europe sound very romantic!! plus the places u went are those romantic area in europe correct? how long did u spend there and how much u spent? think need a few k correct? coz of their currency rates..

hi lindy
where are u having ur solemnization? @ the lawn?
do they charged u ard $450 for 50 guest? erm initially wanted something like urs, solemnization ard sunset time @ lawn area, reception @ lawn or ballroom, dinner @ ballroom.
was thinking of doing my own invites and guest book too! =) but with own only invites, those driving-in guest will still get their entry fee waive?
erm maybe with own invites and guest book we can change for something else too heehe =P

sorry girls!
like so many qns to ask.. =P

racherlle

hi bebe!!

ur dessert buffet sounds great!
hmmmm can consider!

$25-30 per table... is it nett or still muz include +++???

lindy.. for the SGD450 is it for the white fence area??? hmmm i remember my co-ordinator quoted me SGD400..

gals anyone of u having ur solemnization by the beach??? or has anyone done it before already? any pics to share?? hmmm.. i'm planning to either hold there or at the white fence area.. before proceeding for the dinner at the Pavilion..

racherlle

oh ya btw gals..
those who are having their wedding in 2006..
have u booked ur JP already??
hmmm i'm tinking of getting David Loh.. but was wondering whether it's too early to call him?
dun wan to sound too KS hehe

shan

Hey Racherlle,

The Lawn/white fence area for my solemnization...i dont have to pay for it leh...not stated in my contract and neither did my coordinator bring it up previously...maybe too many ppl are requesting for it nowadays, so they start charging?
Maybe its becos' i be having my cocktail reception there too so I am not being charged?

my JP is David Loh...i arranged with him in July 2004 for my AD in Apr 2005. He's a nice guy...so maybe you just SMS him and see how he says?

Rgds

shan

Hi Sleepy,

I am not charged any amt for the usage of the Lawn/white fence area for my solemnization...i guess prbly becos' too many ppl are requesting it, hence they start charging? It is not stated in my contract that i have to pay for the setup, neither did my co-or mention previously.

Maybe becos thats where i be having my cocktail reception as well, hence no charge? I seriously dunno why most of you here seems to have been quoted $450 for it leh..

And yah...if you dont want there invites can try to exchange for something else and they will state that in your contract. For me, i need another room for my family, hence i just change for another room. And i dont think the guests will have to pay for entry if you DIY your own invites...cos' co-or told me so long as guest show the invite, they will not be charged.

shan

Hi Bebe,

Congrats on your smooth wedding!!
How was the food? You had your AD on a weekend?

I am having mine on a Friday 15th April 2005, not a hot date, just that its the day we started our relationship. :p We didnt even check the TongShu. So far to date, nobody has book the date other than me...so hopefully only my wedding and no other functions...so that i wont have a major parking prb.

;p

sleepysleep

hihi girls,
should be going to rasa this sunday to meet up with perry.. anyone having wedding dinner that day? heheh! =P

hihi rach,
i having book jp yet.. hoping to get mr david loh too.. erm how are u going to contact him? get the consent form from tampines cc? but if i dont have fax machine how to 'fax' the form to him?

racherlle

hi lindy!

guess u r the more fortunate one..
hmmm for those holding their wedding for 2006.. have to pay for more i guess..
use of lawn, food tasting, etc etc.
gee!! haii lots of doublestandards.. tsk tsk

sleepy..
i've not go and find out wat to do yet for the JP..
hehe..

shern

can start booking JP, david loh is popular so book him early, he's very humerous, especially good if both parents understands madarin...

sleepysleep, you can call him, the ROM website have a list of all the JPs number. ours met up with us for chitchat and to sign the form...

gals, sharpen your negotiation skills yah

shan

hey girls,

I guess its partly becos the Lawn you all willbe using in 2006 will be a really nice and fantastically renovated one? that's y they start charging? Mine is b4 reno mah.

Foodtasting becos i have 30 tables, it complimentary for 10pax.

hallie

hi Lindy,

where's bridal concept? ive went to a few BS, hvnt decided which to choose but is v interested in wedding news. ;p

btw, pardon me for my ignorance, wats "JP"? P=photograher? J=??? who's david loh? v popular? hows his charges like???

sleepsleep,
i oso dun understand wat perry meant? maybe u can clarify with him in person since u r gog down this sun right? let me know wats the outcome ok??

shan

Hi Hallie,

JP = Justice of Peace. Nothing to do with photographer. He is the solemnizer we try to get for our solemnization(not at ROM). David Loh is the most sought after JP in SG.
And its absolutely ok to ask... ;)

Bridal Concept has two shops, one in marina square and one along Liang Seah street(bugis)...i think the one at Liang Seah has got more gowns for you to see. If you want to go down, you can ask for my co-ordinator Sally(big)..she's very nice.

And you can visit their website http://www.bridalconcept.com.sg

sleepysleep

afternoon girls,
haiz, i finally, truly understand that marriage is not 2 person issue only =|

hi rach,
think we can give a call to mr david loh =P

hi shern,
woh! mr david loh met up with u all? must be a really friendly nice person =))
hhee suddenly had this thought, if mr david loh have a friendster acct, think 1 will not be enough ehehee =P

hi lindy,
oh forgotten that there will be reno going on in rasa, maybe thats why we need to gave rental..
excited to see the newly renovated rasa lawn/white fence liaoz.. but still think $450 abit steep for me hee.

hi hallie,
yup going down this coming sun! nervous! will update you on the lawn thingy but guess like what lindy said, the lawn/white fence area will be renovated when we used it thus need to pay rental..

shern

sleepysleep, no lah met david loh at my fren's ROM...mine wasn't him...

yup yup, hb and me have very frequent arguements bout the wedding, he's in-charge of HM and i'm doing the AD, anything inbetween we'll talk/argue it out :p

staying together helps a lot, at least you know there's no avoiding...hehehe

sleepysleep

hi shern,
oooh ooh hehee ok so u met mr david loh @ ur friend's rom? hhee ok =)

erm i think both of us are ok with our current planning decision just that his mum got some comment to what we had planned and etc etc lor..
so abit sian haiz..... .. but i think alot ppl also faced alot prob when planning their big day =|
so u and ur hubby staying together after rom? sweeeet! =))

bebee

Hiyee

lindy
my AD was on a Sat - that's why so crowded.

sleepysleep
Europe 14 D tour about 3688 per pax.. yes things are very ex in London, paris n switzerland, but I dun shop to much, just enjoy the scenery etc.

heard from my guests they take more then 1 helping.. esp cakes, 2nd-3rd helping :p they ate a lot...

shern

sleepysleep, it's like that lah, tot both sides very simple no fuss, then after that MIL said cannot meet 3 days b4 AD, bedsheet must be red or pink...heng tea ceremony can be at own home only need to go to my mum's place...no need cakes for invites according to my mum, getting invites out for relatives also more difficult....

bebe, told my hb bout the dessert and he said sounds more like i want it for myself :p....are the portions lesser than the food tasting? or same cos we were so full, couldn't eat the rice....my hm sound add up to bout slightly over 3k too, doubt i'll be shopping much as well
just need to take more pics will do....

sleepysleep

hi bebe,
woh! so the dessert must be very nice thus ur guests have more than 1 serving hehehe =P~~~ [drooling liaoz]

hi shern,
yup initally also thought both side so be okok, but now abit comment liao.. so will see how to go abt with our plan..

pink_lady

we meet cathy today...and with nothing goes wrong.........we will be signing up with RASA soon!!!!!!! can't wait for 2006 to COME!!!! haha

sleepysleep

hi pink,
woh! so sorta settle on lotsa stuff already? erm.. so manage to bargain for more perks? hehee congratz! 2006 not there far =P 1.5 yrs only and time flies!

sleepysleep

haiz, hope everything goes well else i might not be able to have solemnisation + ad together.. but will stay meet up with perry this sunday..

pink_lady

hi sleepysleep,
hehee...yah....they are quite flexible...i think cos we have at least 40 tables....so manage to get some stuff...hehe.......save a bit of money here and there...waiting for cathy to draft out the contract now

hallie

Lindy,

Oic...its "tai ping shen shi" huh! btw, how much does david loh charges for being a JP??
tks for the info on bridal concept, i will chk it out when i hv time. btw, hows ur package like??

Sleepsleep,
from wat i understand, the white fence area will no longer be there aft the renov, not sure abt the rest.

hi shern,
i think its v common to hv alot of arguments. *sigh* me too....i had a lot of arguments with my FH since we started all the plannings...i think more to come!

hey pink,
did u manage to get alot of perks?? can share with us? when's ur AD??

racherlle

hi pink!

ohh urs is also Cathy ah?
hmmm wat perks did u get?
share w us ok?
yup which date are u looking at??

hmmm i'm so excited too! hehehe
but i'm waiting for the wedding show!

pink_lady

hi hallie, rach,sleepy,
hehe....
my AD is actually 17march (fri) but dinner will be on 18march(sat)...cos easier for the guests to come..next day dun need to work.
we will get wine from rasa..cos worth it this way..corkage is ex...but she offer 24nett pre bottle..if we buy min 3 cartons (which is achieveable on our side).
she is giving extra nite stay to us.
we use the spa voucher to exchange another nite stay (but delux seaview room).
beer part, can't nego much on the pricing..but she gave corkage waier if we bring in our own beer...bascially we told cathy that corkage/wine/beer is the main concern, then she'll give according to the no of the tables u can commit...wedding show is kind of long wait for me...i just want to settle it this year..so that i can concentrate on other stuff...hope u all get wat u want also...so far we have gotten 2 free dinners from rasa (when we go down to discuss, she offered dinner to us)...hehe.....she really very PR....i like her!haha

hallie

hi pink,
how did u get the "spa voucher"??? so r they oni giving u a 20litre barrel of beer? u r bringing in beer ? how much beer do u estimate for 40 tables??

racherlle

hi pink!

yaaaa was curious abt ur spa voucher?
hw come there is? hmmm...
u even got dinner ah? hehe tat time i was there only had free fruit punch! hehe

tweet

Hi Lindy,

I'm also a rasa bride-to-be and looking for a JP for my solemnisation. How can David Loh be contacted ?

fiona

Thanks sleepy....

Yah.. I agree that you shouldn't miss the Rasa Wedding show.... me and my fiance went for the wedding show.. and we got the $20 cheaper....

Hehe.......