Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

smilez_bride

Shern, I think shoe box is too small leh... think A4 box is better

racherlle

hi bride!

my co-ordinator is Cathy..
i went to see her in July.. and she told me that i have to pay for food tasting for less than 30 tables.. so I was surprised that one of the brides here signed w Rasa in August and still managed to get the free food tasting without negotiating for it.. somemore she's having like 25 tables too.. funnie rite?

racherlle

hi hallie..

ya the 400.. tink is not nett price.. still muz add +++!! i tink this price is for the white fence area only.. if the beach side i'm not too sure abt it.. might be even more..

pink_lady

hi hallie and dazed,
how is N shaped march in???
the coordinator suggest to have flower gals in front to throw flowers to "prolong" the march in...wat do u think?

pink_lady

hi racherlle,

my coordintaor is Cathy too!
i have tentative book the date in 2006..and we are waiting for her to get back to us...trying to nego more corkage waiver...how abt u all? manage to get any more perks??? i have abt 40 tables

racherlle

hi pink

u shld be able to get more perks than me coz u have more tables!

which day are u looking at in 2006??

she's on leave today.. tink she will reply to u tomolo

smilez_bride

Hi racherlle.. you try to neg with her together with your FH.. I'm not sure if Cathy is like Elaine.. Elaine can be very firm and hard to neg things with her, though on other areas, she'll try to help.. rasa is not standard in their packages.. some couples manage to get some items but some not.. really got to depend on your neg skills.. if your friends going with you, ask them to help you too..

pinklady.. if you have 40 tables should be able to neg for more wine corkage waiver.. the corkage charge is really alot per bottle of wine...

By the way gals, just to double confirm.. how much is 1 bottle of Rasa in-house wine? Got +++ right?

shan

Hi Hallie,

Nope, it is not stated in my agreement that I have to pay $400 for the solemnization setup.
The solemnization setup is tentatively fixed at the Waterfront Lawn area, togther with my outdoor cocktail. If it is affected by possible renovations, we may have it along the beach.

However, I do not know if it is becos we did not negotiate much from the standard package and I am also paying $20 more per table. I have booked 30 tables + 2 reserve. I will be having a long march in for the siloso ballroom.

The solemnization setup comes with 1 signing table, 5 banquet chairs, sound system, and 2 cordless microphones....i wanted it to be a standing affair for the guests cos most likely only close frens and relatives be around since its a friday..so no need chairs...anyway they be going into the ballroom shortly after the cocktail/solemnization.

sleepysleep

oh rach,
oh ur cooridinator not elaine ah, all along i thought is elaine.. so is cathy ah, from forum see see she like quite gd too =))
erm interested to go and have a look @ Beaufort but then i dont think i will hold my events there. paiseh to ask the ppl there to bring me ard leh.. maybe next time see who going then maybe i can tag along hehehe =D
oooh ooooh i havent email perry to est how many guest i am inviting. i just roughly cal. @ the moment like 20 tables also cant hit. die! so i think i will be havin it @ pavilion. girls, what if really cant hit min. 25 tables ah?

oh hallie,
think i will be taking pavalion.. cant even hit 20 tables like that hehehe ^_^"

hihi bride,
hehe yup yup i am consolidating my qns during the weekend and finally completed today. WOH! is like so many archives to scan through hehe!
think most rasa brides concerns are transport, cockage charges, and some perks! =)))
but there's so many diff type of perks.. till i very blur liaoz hehee!!!
erm should i bomb perry all my qns @ one go or.. some at a time?

racherlle

hi bride!

yup for the wine, Rasa charges +++ for them..
the house wine is at $24+++. i hav Rasa's wine list w me..
if u gals are interested juz let me noe.. juz drop ur email here

hi sleepysleep!
i tink Rasa will allow a min of 23 or 24 tables.. but they will maybe take out some perks from ur contract..

ya u can bomb perry w all the questions.. i've spoken to him before.. he seems quite nice

and i guess he's the only co-ordinator who allows one of the brides (i can't remember who) here to hav only 23 tables instead of the 25.. double standards again huh

cheertho

for my cockage charge for wine is only wavier for 24 bottles... then additional bottle is 1 for 1 at abt $29 i think.... wat abt beer ???

smilez_bride

Hi rachelle, can I have the wine list too? [email protected] Thanks..
I am unable to get waiver for the wine.. thought the rasa wine is $28+++.. think I try neg for nett price for the wine again.. asked once but she say cannot... argh... think some rasa brides manage to get nett price for the wine..

cheery, you are lucky to be able to get wavier for 24 bottles.. so good...

sleepysleep, pavilion need at least 25 tables to book leh.. you gotta double check with your coordinator.. if you can't hit 25 tables, they might not let you have the room... you see if you can get at least 23 tables then neg for 2 reserves to make it 25.. not all coordinator is kind enough like Perry to give 2 reserves to make it 25.. check it out
(by the way, who is your coordinator? hopes it's not elaine.. else might be difficult)

pink_lady

hi bride, rach,

we have min 40 tables..so i thnk that's why cathy is willing to give more perks...but we are still trying to get the corkage wavier off as many bottles as possible

hallie

Hi Racherlle,

Can i have the wine list too? My email is [email protected] . Thanks!!

Pink,
from wat i understand its walking in from the leftmost door to the middle. Not too sure how it goes too..;p Sorry can't help!as for the throwing of flowers, my coordinator did suggest to me too, but its oni to prolong the march-in lor. The bride & groom will still be walking only a few steps to the stage.

I oso hv abt 40-45 tables, but the corkage wavier i manage to neg is oni 1 carton for 1 carton brought in leh...did u manage to get other gd deals? im terrible at neg.

Lindy,
so good hor, not chrged for the solenmisation. envy tt u can hv long march-in.....

Sleepsleep,
i think u dun hv to bomb perry with so many qns, cos he will give u watever he could b4 u ask for it. but of cos, its better to prepare ur checklist on the perks u want. he's a nice person, but hard to neg for things from him too.

pink_lady

Hallie,
mmm....cathy said that with a min table of 40...its impossible to march in from the leftmost door...must be the centre door...
we were suggesting to cathy that charge lump sum instead of counting bottle by bottle..then she charge us 2K..which is A LOT...so we were still thinking abt it...and 1 carton to 1 carton...seems good deal...
we asked for extra nite stay also..she said OK......

sleepysleep

hi rach,
hope i can hit 25 tables. =)

hi bride,
my cooridinator is perry. emailed him regarding my qns of min. tables already but he havent get back to me. maybe he is touring with some couples now heehehe..

wah pinklady,
40 tables, thats alot to me =) erm they charge u 2k for how many bottles?

cheery,
woh 24 bottle wavie, how many tables u have?

oh hallie,
at the moment havent meet up with him so maybe he havent prepare a package for me. ok maybe wait till i meet up with him then see what he give me =))
what perks he gave u? hard to nego ah .. maybe rasa now strict with perks? sighz

pink_lady

hi sleepysleep,
2K is unlimited bottle of wine wavier...anyway we dun intend to bring in a lot of wine...hehe...abt 60 bottles..enough or not??? so we thot 2K is really too much...

racherlle

hi gals!

u've got mail!

ya corkage is definitely very expensive in Rasa..
tat's y i was tinking might well get their house wine.. not worth to pay the additional money for the corkage.. unless u can get waiver for it..

pink.. 2k is a lot for the wine waiver..
hmmmm 60 bottles for 40 tables?? hmmm hav to depend on whether most of ur guest are they wine drinkers.. my friend juz had her wedding last weekend.. she had 18 tables and they consumed 40 bottles of wine.. which is a lot! so really have to depend on ur guest..

sleepy.. guess rasa is really strict w the perks now.. even Cathy is quite strict.. not tat easy to negotiate..

sleepysleep

hi pinklady
woh!!!! 2k for 60 is like per bottle $30++ that is very ex!! maybe u try to nego cheaper prices?

rach,
i got the mail =) thanx!
woh. think i need to seek training for nego lol =P

pink_lady

Hallie,
"the corkage wavier i manage to neg is oni 1 carton for 1 carton brought in leh..." wat u mean by tat huh???
btw, how many litre of beer will be enough for 450 guests?? 30litre enough???

shan

hey I am alittle confused, can someone pls enlighten me on this:

It states in my agreement that cockage waiver for every 02 cartons of external wine for every 01 carton of house wine purchased from RASA.

S0 does it mean if i buy 4 cartons from outside, i would have to buy 2 cartons from RASA?

So is it better than 1:1?
We are looking at to have a total of 6 cartons.

shan

Hey Hallie,

I have to stick to 30 tables and i think max of 32 to have the long march in. SO that it will not be too cramp. How many tables you having? in siloso or paviliion.

As for the solemnization setup, maybe becos am having it at my cocktail area? i plan to have the solemnization at around 6 - 630pm cos thats when the sunset is and my co-or says my cocktail can commence immediately after my soleminzation ceremony.

sleepysleep

i receive an email from this freelance photography.. dont know how did he get my email..
reliable?
[i got the following message when trying to post..]
The following words are not allowed on this discussion board: 'his name'

erm he did one on rasa for 12th nov.. but photo not out yet.. is the bride here? hee =P

racherlle

hi gals!!!!

gd news!!!
juz received an email from my co-ordinator!
Rasa might have a wedding show on 20th March 2005.. still pending for confirmation!

yipeeeeeee!!!!!

pink_lady

hi rach,
thanks for the wine list..i got it!
march wedding show may be a bit too late for those who want to book on weekends...cathy dun encourage us to wait till then.

hi sleepy,
i also received an email from a freelance photographer..i think he got the email from here...

racherlle

hi pink!

no harm waiting..
unless really tat "lucky" that someone wans ur date! then no choice lor..

the perks for the wedding show are quite gd..

hallie

Hi Racherlle,
I've got it too! Tks for the wine list. 20 March for the wedding show will b v late leh....im scared tt the date i want might be taken up.somemore, how long will they hold the tentative bookings? oni 2 weeks right??

Hey Pink,
30 litres is oni equivalent to ard 100 glasses of beer, i feel tt it is definitely not enuff. oni ard 2 glasses per table for the whole nite leh! did u manage to get good perks for the beer?
1 carton for 1 carton == for every 1 carton of wine brought in ,i have to buy another carton from rasa in order to hv the wine corkage wavier.

sleepsleep,
wasnt given much perks too! oni free food tasting, no extra nite, 1 carton:1carton wine corkage wavier, an additional barrel of beer (20litres). actually wanted to neg for free flow beer cos i might not be brining in wine, but cannot leh...

Lindy,
i hv tentatively 40-45 tables at siloso, oni block the date tentatively.;p

hallie

Lindy,

u r right, u gotta buy 2 cartons from rasa if u bring in 4 cartons of wine from outside. its 2:1, def better than 1:1.

smilez_bride

Hi sleepysleep.. I did received a couples of emails from different photographers but I didn't consider them.. better to get recommendation of photographer from your friends.. at least you know their skills and if they are nice to work with.. just my personal view..

sleepysleep

hi rach,
thanx for updating us the date for the wedding shows.. felt excited now hehee but hope i can wait till the wedding show =)))

hi pink lady,
oooh u also receive it? hehe have photographer in mind liao actually. is my sis ad photographer [dad's friend]

hi hallie,
i think quite hard to get free flow. think from the archive only one bride manage to get free flow and that was a mistake actually.
think perry quite bz, he havent get back to me if he will be available this sat to bring me ard.. so i think i gotta wait to see what can i have before nego ehheee
think we can hold on to the date unless there's ppl also wanted the same date correct?

hi bride,
thanx for the advice =) should be getting the same photographer for my sis ad.

shan

Hey Hallie,

Thanks for the verification.
I maybe printing my own invites and getting my own wedding favours outside. Hence, my co-or did offer to trade the invites off for another room which I may need for my family members and an additional 20litre barrel of hard liquor for the wedding favours. Still contemplating...
When's your big day?

racherlle

hi hallie!

yup.. tink they wil hold on the date unless someone wans to book it.. and they will inform u first.. tink the 2 weeks that they are saying it's juz sort of sales talk.. kinda tempting u to sign up..

bebee

me a Rasa bride, wedding over, jus came back from HM...

Seeing this thread alive makes me happy

When I read your post, I start to miss my pre-AD planning and AD fun!

Wish you all happy planning & beautiful Wedding!

hallie

Congrats Bebe,
Can u share with us ur experience with Rasa?

Sleepsleep,
I hope so too, pray hard nobody wants my date! Guess he might be on leave, cos i've oso sent him a couple of email enquiries & he is yet to get bk to me. Usually he is v prompt in his replies, so i suspect he might b on leave lor.

Lindy,
My big day is still quite far, will be in 2006. So u getting ur own favours huh! wat u intend to give? wat bridal studio did u signed up with? how is it?

bebee

Overall the service of the coordinator, banquet manager and guest relations is very good.

I enjoyed having a great view, and huge bridal suite.

My guest feedback that food was good. Especially desserts - I topped up for buffet dessert

As for parking, it is always a huge issue, especially for my Hot date - 5 weddings on same day, there was 2 company events and external event on the beach - some charity RACE???!! hehe

So moral of the story, inform guest in advance - park at Gateway... I know its hard, but in the end they will have too anyway.... no point arguing... Just ensure that you have additional buses clearly stating your names on it so your guest can just hop on... Rasa will schedule more shuttle service if necessary - so tip - ask for more shuttle buses during the period your guests will arrive...

then your guest will get to your banquet on time

The new deco is much nicer...more flowers..

Best tip, on that day, sit back n relax, dont worry at all about details, leave it to your helpers.

my AD photographers have not been collected, once i do - hopefully this weekend.. can share with you