Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

sleepysleep

hi rach,
i think i heard free food tasting, but need to confirm with him again through email. will update u on the confirmation. i nearly forgot to ask him abt it! till we stood up and ready to go! hahaa..
i think he is trying to hit some sales target for this yr actually.. so if i didnt sign up with him by this dec, i am not sure if i can still get the free food tasting. let's see what he say if i didnt have the confirmation with him by 20th dec.
seems like i cant get lesser tables =| u manage to get 24 + 1 reserve correct?
erm no more white fences liaoz, so will be using the lawn area which is just beside the white fence. and the other area that is nearer to the beach.
lets pray hard that we can bargain more k =))))

hi wasabi,
my cooridinator is perry. think u better bargain those perks before signing up. after u sign up i dont think they will entertain u much.
pavilion can hold up to 38 tables? i though will be like 28 only coz when i went down 26 tables is quite ok, add another 12 tables i think will be super cramp.
additional dish i think u gotta check with ur coordinator.

hi hallie,
i tried to draw out the floorplan from my memory then post it here.
for flowers, he mentioned any 2 natural colours, eg: for rose, natural = red, white.. etc, artifical will be like blue? i think blue is not a natural rose colour.
erm i didnt ask him abt the spa voucher. will ask him in the emails if i wanna take the spa hehhe!
actually not much bees there ahaha, coz it's mainly a fruit farm. u can dissolve the honey in cold water actually but might take a little longer time =) i always dissolve in cold water coz i like it cold ahahaaa!
they didnt have a restaurant there so no meat for us to eat there hehe...

hi brides,
i also think i will wait till wedding fair lor, if really dont have then i think i might not have a dinner affair liaoz, maybe just morning AD stuff + solemnisation lor =| will see how ahha!

girls,
actually after meeting up with him i was thinking.. i shouldnt meet up with him so early ahha! coz if meet later then they will help 'reserve' the date longer.
i think most likely i might not get it if there's ppl interested and confirm it before wedding fair.

hi pink,
erm actually the spa voucher is to replace the anni dinner correct? haha ok.. now quite tempted to get the spa voucher, imagine a anni stay and rot a few hrs in the spa haha! =P

sleepysleep

hi cha bo,
yup yup intending to have ad+rom+dinner together in the same day.
hope can get 06/06/2006.. happened that.. that it's our 6th yr anni lor.. but is a hot date i think.. haiz.. =( gotta pray that i can get the date lor.. but i'm a free thinker ahah dont know pray to who =P
worse come to worse rom @ our new hse if we have any..
when's ur date?

wasabi

Thank you for sharing. I thought increasing total number of pax per table is quite a unique idea. kekeke. In this case, I think it makes sense to increase to an extra dish. Me meeting up with Perry tomorrow evening. Hope he doesn't leave home OTD!!! hahaha! Guess it would be better to go there with my backup plans.

Anyway, what's with the SPA voucher thingy? how come they seems to be able to give anything? *scratch*

sleepysleep

hi wasabi,
oh u meeting him tmr? will bargain tmr? or just some info gathering? what date is ur dinner?
erm what is OTD? on the dot?

racherlle

hi sleepysleep!

Mine is in May 2006!

doing my ROM & AD together too!
hehe we can plan together!!

hmmm since the white fence area is off..
the most likely place is to hold it at the beach area!!
hw abt u??
hmmm nope i didn't manage to get 24 + 1 reserve table.. i'm planning to! hehehe

wasabi

Hi Sleepysleepy, me meeting up with him tomorrow. to bargain lor. i am looking at Nov 3 (thursday) publich holiday next year....yes OTD means he leaves home ON THE DOT!!!! die.. tomorrow i made him stay after official hours... i wonder if he'll listen to me....

sleepysleep

hi rach,
hehehe yup yup our dates are quite near can plan together hehe.. so when is ur 'confirmation date' that ur cooridinator set for u?
hehe we pray hard that we can wait till wedding show k!
oh u didnt manage to get 24+1 ah.. erm abit forgot which bride manage to get it hhaa! oops!
yup i think left with the lawn and the beach area.. no one having solemnisation on sunday thus i didnt manage to get to look @ the outdoor decro...

hi wasabi,
good luck!! hope u get ur bargains!! update us k! =P
if u are interested in the spa voucher u might need to ask perry abt it coz, me n hallie was shown the package with anni dinner and not anni spa.. =)
but u have confirm with him on ur meet up time already right? should be no prob if u confirm the time with him already. =)
oh hehe maybe if perry bring u ard, maybe u can take a photo of the '2 rms' in the siloso ballroom for hallie to see ehhe =P

racherlle

hi sleepysleep!

i was wondering hw come u have a confirmation date..
my co-ordinator didn't mention i hav to confirm by when... she will hold it for me till someone wans to book that date then she will call me.. she's already expecting that i will sign up on the wedding show.. hehehe tat's y she informed me of the upcoming wedding show

hmmm sleepsleep.. didn't perry show u any pics of the outdoor solemnization? i saw a few pics at the beach area.. very nice!! romantic too!

sleepysleep

hi rach,
oh!!! i just recalled i had a look @ those outdoor decro pics! after loooking @ the 1st pic which i think is the white fence area, asked if the white fence will be shift to another place after the renov.. blah blah..
argh.. i had forgotten the view of the beach area decro with those questions and answers in my tinnie brain..

oh ur cooridinator didnt give u a confirmation date? so good! any advice to request for extension?

tinting

Hi Cha Bo,

I pray for you... I know how to pray...

Actually intent to do it on 5th of May 2005 and it's our 5th year together... hehehehe... But too rush liao and donno can get any place on that day... think we're gonna push it to 2006 lor.. 08/01/06 (our 6th anniversary)

Hey, anyone out there consider Good Wood Park Hotel before?

wasabi

Hi Sleepysleepy,

I had my round of tour the last round but likely to go for another round to show my fiance. Pavailion is definitely nicer to host a dinner than the siloso ballrooms but there are pillars in the Pavilion.

The siloso ballrooms do not form a rectangular shape room. The rooms form the shape of an open up fan.

I'll keep you guys updated on the progress of my bargaining.... thanks very much for the encouragement so far!

racherlle

hi wasabi!

ya there are abt 3 pillars in Pavilion..
tat's y in order to avoid the pillars.. preferably not to have too many tables..

gd luck in ur bargain!!

keep us updated!

hi Chabo!

i happen to view Goodwood Park on a boring Saturday afternoon in July! haha my bf and i were like haii nothing to do.. and we were at Orchard road.. so we decide to juz walk in and see whether the wedding co-ordinator is ard! haha lucky us we managed to view the ballroom and hmm.. the place is ok.. a bit old though..
so if u like those English theme kind of wedding, u would like Goodwood Park..
I went to view the Bridal Suite too.. nothing special.. pretty standard..

racherlle

hi sleepy
hmmm tink Perry is juz using his sales technique to get u to sign up lar hehe
dun worrie.. dun tink there is a confirmation date kind of thingy..
hmmm i'm sure he will call u if someone is interested in ur date.. and moreover urs is on a weekday.. so i tink u stand a gd chance of waiting for the wedding show in March!

hallie

Hi sleepsleep,

tks for the info.i hope to wait for the wedding show too, but till now there's still on updates to us on the wedding show in mar 05 hor. did u ask perry if they r having a wedding show in mar?

Pink,
wow the couple spa sounds good hor! hmm.......i would rather get the spa than hv the dinner! more relaxing.....;p

To all BTB,
Ti Gong Bo Bi....no one wants our date....hope all of us can wait till the wedding show!! hahahaha............

racherlle

hi hallie!

haha yaaa!!
let's all pray man!
hehehe hmmmm none of ur co-ordinators informed u gals of any wedding show? tat's wierd..
hmmm haha maybe my co-ordinator noes that i won't sign up til the wedding show tat's y she let me noe first keke :p

sleepysleep

hi bridez,
erm actually he mention that he will remind me on my 'confirmation date' that the tentative booking will be over lor heeheee

hi cha bo,
thanx! =)))
oh i think may 05 might be a little rush, but if u all both had enough saving might be able to make it =) but more time to prepare and save $$ also gd =) especially on ur 6th anni date =)) hehee mine also '06, 6th anni hehee

hi wasabi,
oh siloso is something like a open fan? erm i didnt really noticed.. thoughts sorta like a rectangle layout heee =P

hi rach,
erm yah i think weekday abit adv to me hehe but also a little -ve point for me coz i might not hit 25 tables ahha!

hi pink,
ooh ur fh not interested in spa? erm then u using that for extra room also gd =)

hi hallie,
we did mention abt the wedding show but.. he also sorta say the date is hot.. might be not be available by mar etc etc..
HEHEHE!!! hallie u so cute! Yeah let's all pray together!! =))) *pray pray all can wait till wedding show*

tweet

Hi Lindy,

Yup..having my solemnisation n AD at Rasa on the same day. Mine's in May next year..starting to look for a JOP. Managed to download the whole list of JOP from the ROM website..Thanks

hallie

hi Racherlle,
i oso find it v strange on y he didnt mention abt the wedding show. mayb he didnt want us to drag so long n as he need to meet his sales target! :/

hey Sleepsleep,
he oso told me tt! reminding me tt 2006 is picking up n i might not get the date i want if i wait till the wedding show. hmm....but does the wedding show gives really good perks anot? 'cos i rem he mentioned tt watever he can give me is as gd as those in the wedding show....eg. an xtra barrel of beer...but no xtra one nite stay if i want the additional barrel. Aiyoh...dilemma la........

racherlle

hi Hallie!

if i'm not wrong.. i remembered that the perks of the wedding show as told by the brides here are as below..

1. 1 extra nite of stay
2. Either 20L of beer or 12 bottles of wine

tink tat's abt it??? hmmmm
if u can managed to get them to give u this..
then of coz u can confirm now

sleepysleep

hi hallie,
i was actually thinking if i wanna confirm now with i get those bargains that i want..
but i am also worry abt the attendance so i think still need some time to ask my relatives and friends to check out if they wish to go over to sentosa for my dinner and etc.. but izzit alittle early to ask now?

like rach, mentioned.. the perks @ wedding fair should be quite std which i think have extra night, extra beer/wine or both
he mention either beer or extra night? i think wedding fair have both..

and my sis commented, every fair different one, u will not know what they have next yr.. maybe will have discount per table etc etc?
erm coz my sis with other hotel have discount per table during the wedding fair.
so i think i will wait for wedding fair, alittle too rush for me to confirm now. if really no date then no choice le..

wasabi

I finally met up with Perry last night. Felt really bad that he had to stay back for more than 1 hour with us.... It was quite a fulfilling trip. We finally got our doubts clarified. I do appreciate that he responded to all my questions in a professional manner and adviced me on wedding preparations too!

About the perks, I actually had not asked for much extra stuffs as we were dying to get that place more than securing any other perks. However, I did manage to clear the following:
(1)my coordinators have a place to put up temporarily before the dinner.
(2)ample car passes for our guests.
(3)rental of equipments for the day
(4)corkage charges and wine purchase etc...

Btw, does anyone have pictures of Rasa Sentosa's wedding flavours? I did not get to see the gel candle, chocolates and fruit cake... If you have a photo of the candle or chocolate, could you pls email to me at [email protected]?

Me waiting for the final contract to be drawn up... Wish me luck... Finally, any Amanda Lee brides here? Maybe we could catch up in that thread...

Wasabi

sleepysleep

hi wasabi,
oooh gratz!
erm may i know how much is the corkage charges? u buying wine from outside? or from rasa? how much they charge to for their hse wine?
erm so where will u be having ur event?

tinting

Hi Sleepysleep

You are right... it's v. rush... Me now v. headache... Ur fiance is actively participating in the preparation?? Mine not really.. :-( He's like bo chap and hope i don't tok about it to him.. so sad... He said, i'll decide everything by myself..

<sigh>

rachalle,

So when is ur big day?? Where u plan to do it??
I still prefer either at pool-side or beach... :p

sleepysleep

hi cha no,
dont be too sad k *patpat* mayb he is those, u happy i happy type?
but if u are really stressed up [which is very normal for btb] maybe u gotta discuss with him that doing all these alone is very stressful and need a little from him??

erm my bf also abit bochap type those "as-long-as-i-am-happy-he-is-ok-with-it' hee! *evil grinz* but then hor although he ok his parent might not be ok lor heee..

i joke with him, i gather dinner info, u gather housing info lol coz i find housing info a little too tough for me to tackle hehe!

wasabi

Hi Sleepysleepy,

Me having my dinner at Pavailion. As for corkage and wine charges, I can't remember the costs as the list is with my Fiance... Sorry! If I don't recall wrongly, at the end of the date, the corkage charge is double the price of their house wine...

wasabi

Has anyone attended a Pavilion wedding dinner with a (grand/ upright) piano? If so, can we arrange one through our coordinator? Also what is the charges like for "renting" the piano - i don't think it comes free... right?

racherlle

hi cha bo!

my AD is in May 2006!

i'm planning to do my solemnization at the beach since the white fence area is off..
i would b having an indoor wedding dinner at the Pavilion...

hi wasabi!
hmmm the candle gel is very nice!
it's actually gel candle in a shot glass.. the gel is blue in colour which represents the sea in Sentosa.. very unique.. and they place the shot glass in a small carrier bag.. very cutee!

tinting

Hey Racherlle,

roughly how much do u need to spend??? i have the same ideas as yours.. doing my solemnization either at pool side or beach... and indoor wedding dinner...

Hi Sleepysleep,
I think all guys are the same...
So jiak lak... <sigh...>

sleepysleep

hi washabi,
woh! i think if hsa wine is 50% of the corkage.. then is like cheap? coz i think the corkage charge is like $25 dollar right! wah!!!!!! *envy* hheheee

hi cha bo,
yup i think most guys are more bochap for those wedding planning haha!

racherlle

hi cha bo..
i made a rough estimation..
hmmm for the banquet alone including wine, beer..
tink shld come up to ard 20k..

hopefully can cover back some from the ang pows from the guest.. hmmm hopefully juz lose maybe like 3k i'm happy already

racherlle

ya..
coz u see..
the banquet tables alone is ard $708 x 25 = $17.7k.. so add the liquor, beer, solemnization venue rental, add'l flowers.. so shld adds up to $20k.. hmmm

hallie

sleepsleep,
wah u still got to ask ur relatives? dun think i will ask mine.....i guess they wldnt be tt bad rite, even if hold at sentosa i'm sure they will still come no matter wat mah.

as for the perks, im not sure wat they would give at the wedding show. but if got those $$ disc off per table, will b v good!!! ;p

hallie

Racherlle,
i think i will still try to drag as long as i could, hopefully can wait till the wedding show. *sigh* hope tt rasa is willing to hold my tentative booking..

tinting

Oh, you mean there's a wedding show soon?? When and where???

I donno where i read from.. A lady posted saying that she paid around $35 per person for buffet during the solemnization at Sentosa..

If I just go through solemnization at sentosa without wedding dinner, would it be cheaper??

<arghhhh> Any advice??

racherlle

hi Cha Bo!
yup there's a wedding show coming up! as informed by my co-ordinator.. tentatively it's set on the 20th March 2005..

yup having a solemnization only definitely saves a lot.. i tink Rasa has this solemnization by the sea package.. u might wan to check it out on their website.. www.shangri-la.com
however, the prices are not updated there.. it's for the 2004 pricing..

shan

Hi Tweet,

Thats great! Yes, I am having my AD and Solemnization in RASA on the same day. My AD is in April 2005...counting down liao. {rbly meeting up with my co-or in Jan to tie down the details.
So which Bridal Shop you with?

tinting

Hi Racherlle,

I've seen it.. but, i don't find the food interesting..
Wonder whether they can allow us to use our own caterer...

Lindy,
Need you opinion... What do u find their coordination??

sleepysleep

hi hallie,
actually not really ask? like test water? hahah! like asking some comments if @ sentosa what will be their reaction lor.. but then..
bf's dad commented something like quite ex @ sentosa, think they prefer those chinese restuarants.. -_-

tweet

Hi Lindy...

I'm looking at Silverlining..love the gowns..
now scouting around for the photoshoot photographer... u leh ?

U having your solemnisation by the lawn or jade site ?

pink_lady

hi tweet,
me with silverlining!!! haven't placed deposit yet..will do so when i come back from my trip!
love their gowns and jit is handsome too!

wasabi

Hi Rachelle, thanks for your advice on the gel candle.. looks like it won't go wrong to get that... which place would u prefer to hold your wedding?

Hi Sleepysleepy, I hv no idea typically how much outside charges for corkage and house wine... lazy to research lah... hehehe... but i was glad the "negotiation" went well.. strangely, Perry said someone was eyeing on the date that I wanted and he was keen to close the deal. Since Wednesday, I hv not heard anything about my contract.. Should I follow up?

racherlle

hi Wasabi!

I would love an outdoor wedding.. but the heat is tremendous too! ehhe.. dun wan my guests to be sweating out there! tat's y opt for an indoor dinner at Pavilion..

hmmmm.. wasabi.. i've a feeling wat Perry said was more of a sales tactic.. hehe.. i believe if he was to give up ur tentative booking, he will give u a call..

yaaaa tweet.. where is the jade site?
hmmmmm

shan

Hi Tweet,

As stated in the contract, my solemnization would be held at the Lawn...but as Reno would be going on at the white fence there, i may consider having it along the beach instead if i find their decor not good enough. My co-or told me that the mgmt has promised that eventhough it be undergoing reno, the white fence are will be nicely done up still.

Silverlining was in my list of considerations as well, but i ended up with Bridal Concept. Like the warm approach BC gives and they have very comprehensive package. PS photographer is in house with BC.
I will most prbly be having Fabian Lim as my AD videographer and Sam Wong as my AD photographer.
;p

shan

hi Cha bo,

My co-or is fine so far. Prompt anf always replies my email asap. She even bothered to call me to check if i had recieved her last mail recently since i didnt reply her yet. ;p
Also, despite the fact that i have already signed and paid the deposit, some little requests that i have, she will still try to acede.

I understand you may have read abt some bad reviews and experience with them, but i guess we as the bride to be need to be proactive enuff too and voice out all our concerns to them so that they will know we are not to be offended too. hehe. I guess its very much to do with every individual co-or and not solely the hotel.

Hope it helps. ;p