Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Bride, in fact beaufort was my first choice, but they say they've stopped doing outdoor weddings, only pre-dinner cocktail on the terrace and then dinner indoors. So disappointed.

Dazed, hehe, maybe my colleague used her own card, not Rasa's... sorry...

Just recalled I've actually been to my colleague's wedding at the Pavilion. It was a shame that after sunset, you can't see the view outside through the windows at all. Food was ok then (more than a year ago), so-so lah. And also, the pillars were very annoying, half our table was blocked and I couldn't see the bride and the groom when they did the toast. But the decoration was indeed very nice and not under or overdone.

Hi merchelle, can send me the soft copy too? thanks. [email protected]

Hi Racherlle.. huh?? I gotta double confirm with my FH bcoz the agreement is with him.. I also blur liao.. thought is standard should have one..
By the way, mine is on sunday..

I find it quite difficult to neg.. but do try to neg for whatever things you want or need before you sign the agreement.. bcoz once signed, you'll have no more negotiation power.. just try your luck..

Hi ashlee, dun be disappointed.. hmm.. any other choices for outdoor wedding... or consider indoor wedding.. no no???

Bride
Now thinking of Raffles or Grand Hyatt. Grand Hyatt does dinner in their garden but heard food and service not very good. Sorry for being a moaner. Will wait for rasa coord to email me the pix of the poolside and make decisions then.

bride, at the corners of the stage, now there's 4 roman columns....short ones...

racherlle, mine's on a weekday too and foodtasting was included..

ashlee, the pillars are indeed a headache...

i've seen raffles one...very nice but there'll be people walking by when they take shortcut thru the hotel.............

bride, the pics i sent are of the new decor, it's additional from rasa...think they got quite a lot of feedback bout the previous one hehehe

ashlee, it's actually new decor (from this year sept) different from las year leh...

ashlee, true that pillars are very annoying but no choice, we have have the best of everything..

shern, the stage decor is indeed much better now.. heehee... in fact, I feel that overall, the decor is much better than last time.. there are candles at the arch, flower stands and centerpieces now. They give a more romantic touch to the wedding
Think we dun need much on decor enhancement liao.. heehee..

merchelle, thanks for the mail
Thought last time I saw was a "xi" for the red card? Amerline, last time your wedding, can you still remember if the red card is a "qing" or a "xi".. think maybe I mixed up with the guestbook one liao

dazed, I also feel that the red one dun look like wedding invitation.. look more like birthday invitation ;p but think I'll still go for red ones for relatives bcoz more traditional. Cream ones will be for friends and colleagues.

Hi Phine,

Thanks for your email. Very kind of u.

Hi Bride,
U r most welcome. Not too sure lei.. never seen the previous one b4. hehehe...
Yap, i agree with u that the cream ones were more suitable to the young guests.
I heard from my cord, Elaine that if u get 2 different invitation cards, during printing, might be abit different in cost.. not sure y.. hehehe.. i havent printed mine anyway... hehehe

Hi bride, i've just collected my cards. the red card has the word 'qing'...
Rasa is quite flexible, they allowed me to take some cream cards and some red cards.

Merchelle, from what i found out from the printing shops i visited, they will typically need to do sth like a mould, so their cards will cost sth like '1st 200 cards - $100, thereafter 20cents each'.... so there's economies of scale. if you take both red and cream, they need to do 2 moulds, so it will be an extra cost for you....

Racherlle, I signed up for mine at the Wedding show, but prior to tt, we tried to negotiate for more things. we managed to get one more night's stay and i think extra beer.... can try to negotiate one. but it will almost surely not be as good as during the wedding show.....

Hi hui, when is your wedding day?

Yup, Rasa allows us to choose both designs..
Are you taking Rasa recommended printer? My friend also spend around $80 printing the cards leh.. very cheap right. Recommended by her hotel and she got 48 tables.. Not sure how much rasa recommended printer will charge us..

You signed up during the wedding fair? Huh.. thought one of the brides here mentioned if signed during wedding fair, there will be one more free night stay? You manage to neg for one more night? So total you got 3 nights stay plus 1 night anniversary stay? So good

racherlle, it really depend on your negoitation skill
good luck!

Hi Bride, u want to try mine?? Mine is Sam Wong

The price is very reasonable & the work is very gd as well... If u want u let me know ok. I let u have the details....

hi hui!

tot that the wedding show only comes with 1 free nite stay and 20litres of free beer or wine??

u mean u hav additional extra perks?
can share w us?????

Hi Audrey, thanks for your recommendation

I also find him work nice and pricing very reasonable.. have email him liao. Hope he didn't take up any assignment on my wedding day

Oh dear... 09/01/05 was taken up by someone leh... U called him up & confirm again...mayb the person dun wan liao...keekee...Sigh... or cannt u find Yew kwang..he also quite similar w Sam one...But hmm i just dun really like his style...Up to individual loh...Take care!!..Nite!!

Oh bad news... think I really sign up too late liao.. bcoz 09 Jan is a hot date.
I email him liao.. see what he reply. Headache...
Thanks anyway

hi gals..
juz received an email from my co-ordinator stating that there won't be any wedding shows till March 2005..

oh ya another ting.. there won't be free food-tasting unless u have 30 tables.. gosh! if below 30 tables, u would have to pay 500nett for the food tasting! but some of u gals hav free food tasting even though u have only like 25 tables rite? hmmmmm double standards ah..

Hi Rachelle.. I have checked my contract.. have food tasting for 10... Will be having around 28 tables or more instead of 25 tables.. Paying for 05 rate..

Hmm.. Try to neg for it if you manage to have more than 25 tables. It really depends on your negoitation skill or you can exchange something for another thing..

From this thread, you may find some brides manage to get more perks than you.. bcoz I feel that many brides here are having more perks than me
E.g. No extra night stay, no discount on corkage charge, etc.. But most importantly is our wedding turn out to be a memorable one

Hi Audrey, no reply from Sam leh..
But I have manage to engage a photographer on my AD liao

Just called the photographer to confirm his availability.. He say he'll be able to make it for my AD. Price is higher than Sam but his work is also very good and he is a very nice person to work with.. Thanks for your help anyway..

Ladies, I'm following up on Shern's previous consolidation.. Please add in your AD and ballroom

Shern 17 Dec 2004 (pavilion)
Bride 9 Jan 2005 (pavilion)
Dazed 9 Jan 2005 (siloso)
Sweatcorn 28 May 2005 (pavilion)
rachelle (**)
merchelle (**)
phine (**)
teo (**)

hi gals..
i've not made any booking yet..
heee.. juz wanted to make sure i'm not shortchanged.. yup will definitely negotiate for extra perks..

hmmm dun tink i will get more than 25 tables.. as i would be having another banquet in M'sia for my bf's side..

hi sweatcorn..
noted that ur wedding date is in May 2005.. so r u paying for the 2004 or 2005 rate???

rachelle (**)
merchelle 18 Dec 2004(pavilion)
phine (**)
teo (**)

rachelle (**)
phine 6 Nov 2005(**)
teo (**)

racherlle 14 May 2006 (pavilion)
phine 6 Nov 2005(**)
teo (**)

Hi Gals, i added in mine as well...heehee
Audrey 09 Sept 2005 (Pavilion)
phine 6 Nov 2005(**)
teo (**)

Hi Bride, he nv reply u huh??? Then nvm loh since u found one liao...heehee

Hi all, for me my rate is charge on 2004 one leh...Then food tasting got free mah...how come some no free one huh???funny leh...

Bride
Hire Chris Ling Photographers! www.chrisling.com
Fell in love with the photos as soon as i saw their pictures, really very very good. For AD photography, Kelvin charges $2000 (gasp!) and John and Eugene charges $980 for 300 4R in album and all images on CDRom. Unless u take their PhotoShoot with Kelvin for $1500, you can get a discounted rate of $800 from John or Eugene for AD. Very confusing hor? But really, their photos are really nice... go take a look at their website.

By the way, my coord promised to send photos of the poolside by this Tuesday, and up till now, nothing. Very within my expectation anyway. I am utterly disgusted with her!!!TAG IMAGE (Shown Actual Size)

gals
was looking at the list..
wonder whether i qualify to b on the list.... hehe coz i've not made any booking w Rasa yet.. :P

i'm still deciding on either Shangri-La or Beaufort.. but the date is more or less settled!

phine 6 Nov 2005(siloso)
teo (**)

audrey, just got a reply mail from him.. he is booked on my AD liao.. anyway, manage to get my first choice photographer.. thought he is booked on my AD too.. lucky me

Hi ashlee, thanks for your recommendation.. have confirmed my photographer this morning
A big relieved for me.. Maybe you can drop Perry an email for updates.. his response is very prompt.. and recently my coor responses are very prompt too.. think maybe bcoz my AD is getting nearer
Dun be angry.. maybe you may want to change a coor since you haven't signed up with Rasa..

By the way ladies, are you all having videographer? I'm still considering whether to engage one... Is it really necessary?

Racherlle.. of coz you are qualified to be in the list too.. if you decided on Beaufort in the end, then we just remove yours in the list.. anyway, you are most welcome here no matter which one you choose

Since we have free food tasting.. think you can neg for one too.. shouldn't be a problem.. but I dun rem neg for it leh.. that's why thought it is standard to have food tasting..

Are you able wait till wedding fair in march 05 before you sign up with rasa since your wedding is in 06? Mostly wedding fair have more perks.. if can drag till then, it'll be good for you
But think you will have to pay for year 05 or 06 price if you signed next year for 06 package..

merchelle, prep is qiuite slow....getting cards next week, hopefully can mail it out by next week.....

btw, any idea how many coordinators are there at rasa?

bride, i've not decided on videographer too, quite keen but budget leh.... :P