Shangri-la Hotel

Hi Georgia,

I know exactly what you mean. I felt that it was rather rude of her and I am upset too. Also felt reluctant to keep in touch with her anymore. Plus I turned up for HER wedding!!! (She got married before I did.) How? Like do I pretend nothing happened the next time I see her???

Hi Kyrie, sent you the link!

Gothique and Georgia,
I see. Can understand what u all mean cos as a BTB i always make it a pt to RSVP early, and let pple know if u can make it. And turn up! Cos the frazzle of wedding preps and doing up the guest list is huge, and the poor couple is stressed enough over other last min things they have to worry abt! Actually, for me, i don't know how i would react. I think i would prob not take the initiative to ask the person out anymore, altho if i see him i would be cordial. Esp if the last min absence was not cos of a gd excuse. Ah well, just take it as an indicator of who ur true frens are and who would truly like to share in ur joy. Which is why i'm super reluctant to invite too many pple to my wedding, and would rather under-invite, altho our parents think otherwise...

Hey girls,
Thanks for ur input, much appreciated
. The lace on my WG was pinned during the 1st fitting. The bodice was originally plain and Minda suggested adding lace to make it more interesting. Yes, i shall ask abt adding patchwork lace or sequins to the skirt!

Kyrie,
I see we both like blue! Ur WG has blue and my EG is blue! Kekeke. If u want a more puffed up effect, u could ask for a larger can can. I was wearing can cans under both my WG and EG, but the EG one only had tulle fr my calf area downwards so as to give the EG a little more "pouf" at the ends...

When is ur 2nd fitting and PS?

Gothique,
Pls send me the link too! [email protected]

Btw, u may wanna zap copies of passports and essential docs to keep as spares and bring along for ur trip. Heard tt this would make the process of obtaining new docs easiest if they are lost *fingers crossed*

Auds,
I wanna see pics of ur first fitting if u have them too! Have u gone for ur fitting already? How was it? *eager eyes*

Hi Gothique, have gotten your email and seen your montage.
You've got a beautiful smile. Your EG is the purple one?

I agree with count that this would be somewhat be an indicator of who your true friends ah.. My FH and myself came up with the guests list last night and we exceeded what we had planned in the beginning. I meant to keep it at 38 tables max but from the list, it can go up to 45. Now trying very hard to cut the list.

Hey count, yup i find that blue is a pretty contemporary colour.
Hmm think i shall ask for a bigger can-can during 2nd fitting. Oh i didn't notice that you had a can-can under your EG too. Hee must take a look at your pics again.
My 2nd fitting is on 7th July. How about yours? I haven't decided on the date for PS though..most prob it'll be late August or early Sept.

Count, was looking through your pics again and i notice some of the lace 'spilling' out of the bodice of your WG. Is it meant to be? Or is it becos your designer hasn't pinned it up properly yet?

hi Count,

I sent you the link to the montage already. Do check it out!

Well, sometimes I wonder if it's because the person doesn't understand wedding dinner etiquette? not that he/she meant to be rude? i mean like there were people who said they were sick ON the day itself, and never follow up with ang pow. Not that I begrudge them the money but it's the "rudness"? That's one type. (I had 2 like that) Worse is the one which simply didn't turn up!!!!! How to face them?! (I had one couple like that). It will be an unspoken question hanging in the air.

Kyrie - yup the EG is the purple one. I love the french lace.

I attended a friend's wedding once when there were quite a few tables that were only half full. From the look of those who turned up on those tables, they were relative tables! I think that's even worse. I mean you can decide not to contact your friends who 'tua' you, but for relatives you will bump into them sooner or later and can't quite 'cut' the relationship.

Personally, most of my 50 tables will be relatives, so if they don't turn up, can't do anything? Can't even decide not to invite them in the first place, cos it's parents' call and sort of their right to get an invite. Hopefully those who really can't come RSVP early then can do some musical chairs.

So will be quite selective in which of my friends to invite, since most people I know (and myself actually), would rather not be put through a wedding dinner. It can get boring if you're not very close to the couple and the other people at the table. My plan is to invite most of my friends to the church wedding, which I think will be more interesting anyway!

Hi all, sorry to interrupt.
I am KC from Greymatter Photography. Just like to thank all who have lent me their support over the years and I must say I am also very happy to have been involved with your wedding by documenting the special and beautiful moments.

I have just uploaded more photos onto my website. In future, I will try to make it a bi-annual exercise so that couples can keep abreast of my latest professional direction and vision.

I would also like to announce a price revision by end of June 2006. Couples who enquire before 30 June will still be quoted the old price though.

Meanwhile, have fun in checking out www.greymatterphotography.com

Hi Count,

Saw your photos! Nice! I especially like the perankan feel to your EG. The mermaid cut looks good on you and is something different I guess!

Hi Kyrie,

Interesting to have a blue ribbon at the back of your gown! Although, are you going to have an attached longer train for the church wedding and will the ribbon be on top of that? Just wondering whether the ribbon may be hidden.

Hi Kyrie and Count,

Was so busy these few days to pop into the forum. Have seen both your gowns. The gowns simply suit both your image and style. Nice gowns and I am really feeling excited already haaa when I look at all the photos and keeps thinking how I wish my gown fitting session will come soon hee...

By the way, due to job commitment I can only have my photoshoot during December or June. As my AD is December 2007, what do you all suggest...having the PS this December or next year June? Is it too early to have PS 1 yr earlier?

Thanks for sharing the photos

Hi twinkle!
Attached longer train? Hee no.. the gown's skeleton is as it is. Not having any additional train. I'm pretty clumsy so if the train's too long for me, i might trip. heeheh There'll be more lace and all during the next fitting..no additional length added.

Hi Adeline!
Your AD's Dec 07? Hee my personal preference is to have my PS later..hahah so that my FH has time to lose some of his spares. Have you designed your gown yet?

Hi Kyrie,

Yup AD is 15th December 2007. I have not even set a date for first gown firring yet cos we haven decide when to have our photoshoot yet.

Twinkle,
Thanks for the compliments! Ur design session is coming up soon right? So fast it's 9 months to ur AD. Time flies cos i was engaged in mid-04 so it's finally going to be my AD after having seen so many of my frens get engaged later but married earlier than me! Have u decided on ur WG and EG designs?

Adeline,
I think June next yr is better cos 1 yr in advance is a bit too early. U may lose/gain weight or want a different gown. Also, there's the issue of keeping ur gowns. If u keep at the BS, u'll be worried tt pple may try them on and use them btw the PS and AD. Keeping at home may be subject to space constraints

Kyrie,
Ur FH doesn't need to lose his spares what!

Gothique,
Ur montage is beautiful! It tells a story and i love how u managed to incorporate bible verses on love. Very helpful to us cos we're shortlisting verses for the service heeheheh

hi gals!

I just transferred dept... now not so free to surf forum anymore...
and think I will be MIA till end June cuz I'm going Italy this Friday. Will share more when I'm back!

Anyway, Count, thanks for your comments. I was actually wondering if people could "catch" the theme.

Adeline, i agree that it's too long to have ps one year in advance! it's more fun nearer to AD somehow.

Kyrie and Count, good luck on your gowns!

hey!! i was just about to ask about the wedding invites too! Was just down at the hotel this weekend and Melanie gave me a couple to bring home to decide...
Kind torn on whether to pick 2 different cards, one with english and the other with the "XI" word.. Or to just keep it simple and pick one.
For the ladies who have already made their choice, which ones did u guys go for?

Hey girls,
Sorry been swamped at work so haven't been popping by. Work has been getting super busy so can't log in as often

Gothique,
Have a safe trip and update us on ur trip when u're back!

Kyrie, Auds,
We picked 2 sets of invites. The red with "xi" word for the parents (English and Chinese printing) and the cream, long card which says "a wedding invitation" i think for ourselves(English only). There's no additional charge as long as u order at least 100 pieces of each design. I guess the card design depends on the type of style u wanna go for

Hey all,
Any idea what is next once we have confirmed our invites with Shang? Besides food tasting, do we have to do anything else?

hi everyone...

gothique, been to italy many years ago... its a wonderful wonderful place. but do be very careful, esp of little children. Its really sad but the little ones have been recruited to be pickpockets. Dont let them near you, the operate in gangs and may overwhelm you. really liked florence and the surrounding little towns, worth a visit if you have the time

Count and kyrie,
congrats!! hee.. can a take a peek at your pics too? my add is [email protected]. my first fitting is also coming up... a litle apprehensive coz i'm not sure if i'll liek wat i decided on..

ladies, any recommendations on wedding accessories... i'm looking at those with pearls. my BS doesnt have that so i gotta source my own..any suggestions?

Hey count and Auds,
Yah i was also looking at the one that is long and says 'a wedding invitation'. Don't know if i should use 2 sets of cards though.. got to discuss with FH first. I find the cards pretty much the same except for the colour of the ribbons..hmm..

Oh yah, i went around town looking for shoes yesterday.. where are you girls getting your WG and EG shoes from?

Re the wedding cards, i think you have the option to choose which color ribbons you want for the cards. I think i might go for 2 sets of cards, one cream and one maroon. Prob. go with the one that has a row of Xi across. Like the effect the ribbon has on the embossed characters.

I still have not gotten my shoes yet!! die...

<font color="aa00aa">On shoes, I borrowed mine from a friend who got hers from leaping lizards. Thin diamante studded strap in front and strap around ankle for grip. Think I'll wear it for day and night since need it for the height boost -- otherwise I'm likely to sink into my gown and disappear - not a bad thing though if friends try to sabo me!</font>

Count, Kyrie and Meow, thanks for your well-wishes... will share pics and experiences when I am back!

All: I got my shoes from Hue at Raffles City Shopping Centre.

Meow: How come ur BS never provide you with accessories? They should!!! If not just get them from Chomel, etc. Actually not a bad idea to buy them if you can foresee a lot of wedding dinners to attend in future (like me). Then got chance to wear.

On the topic of attending other wedding dinners, there was one year when I was invited to 14. Mostly people slightly older than me lah.... I ended up going for 12, and decided that in future, for those not very close I will just politely decline as early as possible so they can slot others in.

My wedding in Oct this year. Have not spoke to Shang yet, can someone advise me normally how many months before the wedding should I start my preparation with them?

Hi girls!

Regarding cards, i was wondering if i should get 2 sets too cos i was thinking of including the church invitation on one set as well. Initially wanted to come up with a set of invites for church as well but thought might as well incorporate them into the wedding dinner invite.

As for shoes, i was asked to get a pair of covered 3.5 to 4" heels. Went around town the other day but couldn't find anything that caught my fancy. It seems easier to get a pair of open toes. Going to town again today to see if i can get anything from Hue in Scotts. Wish me luck! Hehe

Hi Zera, perhaps you can call your coordinator and ask her to advise you? They'll know better.

Hi whiteangelz and meow, link sent!

Meow,
I think the various dept stores have accessories, Taka Tangs etc. As for shoes, i got mine from x:odus and silverline. Cos my EG is turquoise and i had problems finding the exact shade of turquoise, i snapped up a matching pair once i saw it!

Twinkle,
Wah on average 1 wedding dinner a month is very tiring! U mean most of ur frens are married already? So u have lots of help planning the wedding?
Kyrie,
U may want to separate the church and dinner invites unless u're inviting all those to church to dinner as well. For us, we're getting postcard style church invites. So those who are invited for both events will receive 2 invites in an envelope. Others will only receive 1 invite. Cos some guests (mostly our frens) will only be invited to church

Whiteangelz,
Sent! How was ur US trip? Update on ur trip and ur gown designs! Have u finalised ur designs yet?

Count,
I got my pink pair for my EG from x:odus too!
Hee mine's pink with some glitter. Am searching for my WG shoes now. Saw a pair of covered 3.5" one at Hue this afternoon. Finally saw one that caught my attention.
Will bring FH there to check it out before buying.
Yah, the invites are a huge headache. Will prob discuss with Mel before deciding on anything.

Hi Kyrie, think i know which pair you are referring to! Saw it at Hue few weeks back. It's nice but unfortunately, it was too white for my WG. My WG is more ivory.. So please remember to compare the colour with ur gown first ok?

ladies, where has x:odus???

Hi Auds,
Yah! It's pure white and it's made of fabric i think..with some beadings on it. My gown's pure white except for the blue that you all saw in the pics.

I know of 2 branches of x:odus. One at Plaza Sing (basement 1) and the other at Bugis Junction. The one at PS is slightly bigger. Shoes are pretty nice.

Hi Kyrie, since it's the exact colour of your gown then you should go for it! It's one of the best options out there.. and it's quite reasonable too.. better go get it soon or else they might be sold out!

Thanks, i'll try to check them out during this weekend. Wish me luck! Need matte silver slingback.. =)

Hi Auds, hee yup i keep thinking about that pair of shoes too. Have reserved it for 3 days..so i have till Sat. Going down with my FH tomm.

Matt silver slingback? I know the pink pair i bought has beige or slightly ivory. But it's not matt..it's pretty bling kind.

hi...

gothique, my bridal studio does provide accessories, just that theirs are the crystals type and i want pearls.. hence looking on my own.

count.. thanks, wil check out those dept stores you mentioned, and congrats on finding shoes in the exact shade as your gown.

Kyrie, Auds
Cool! U got ur shoes fr the same place as me! Btw Auds i bought my shoes at the Bugis branch. U shd go and check out their shoes. Quite pretty. Actually wanted a higher pair of turquoise shoes for my EG from x:odus but no size, so had to go for a lower pair. Heh

Yes, Hue has amazing shoes. Very pretty! I like! But so broke now. Bought 4 pairs of Nine West shoes fr US in March but only used 1 so far, so must not buy any more!

Kyrie
Did u manage to get ur WG shoes over the wkend?

Auds
Slingbacks are cool! Love slingbacks! But very uncomfy if they're high. I love shoes but have low tolerance for pain. Did u manage to find ur matte silver slingbacks

Meow
Hope u find ur pearls soon!

Hey gals
Have u all bought ur si4 dian3 jin1 yet? Is it ok to wear the jewellery during PS or do brides only wear it on AD? FMIL just bought for me yesterday. Like the set very much. Hee. Very sweet of her to let me pick

Was very busy at work! Can anyone share with me how long does Shang take to get their contract ready? I spoke to Agnes 2 weeks ago but till now the contract is not ready. Getting abit worried.

Hi, popped down to Xodus this afternoon but unfortunately, didn't see anything which would match my gown. Might just have to go down to leaping lizards to get one made.

Count, you move fast! si dian jin bought already! describe your set to us.. i haven't even started to think about that yet. But i'm guessing my FMIL will just let me pick too.

So ladies, what have the rest of you been busy with? Decided to write down an actual list of the things to do and WOW!! i have plenty which are not done yet.. oops..

Hi pinkygal,

Your coordinator is Agnes? Hee...same name as the coordinator at fullerton.

The contract takes about 2 weeks I guess...so dun worry too much. So when is your AD I cant remember if you mention b4

Hi Count,

Where did your FMIL get the set from? I'm scouting around for that too, cos my mum wants me to choose some as "dowry", and I was wondering whether best to buy now since there's GSS! :P

I've looked around Soo Kee, Lee Hwa, Goldheart... thinking of checking out Aspial and maybe Larry's.
I realised that Goldheart is now linked to Lee Hwa (like under same company)!

Hey Pinky,
Don't worry. As long as u've told Agnes tt u're taking the date Shang won't release the booking since the ball is in their court

Auds and Twinkle,
We went to Goldheart. There was midnight madness on Sat at Suntec so some of the pieces were on 50% discount. I only got 3 pieces cos i exceeded FMIL's budget which made me so paiseh. Got a necklace kind of hard to describe; it has some longish extensions abt 5 with diamonds on it. It is part of the si dian jin set there. But i got the half tennis bracelet and classic dangling earrings from their Celestial range. Very happy cos FMIL saw the necklace and suggested tt she buy it for me, and i actually liked tt necklace when i checked out the store on my own

Larry's is pricier i think. All in all, my set cost quite a lot, so i felt really paiseh when FMIL insisted tt i shd get a 4th piece. So i refused and told her the earrings can count as 2 pieces heh

Btw, i've settled my PS date - 13 july. Going to meet my PG to conceputalise the shoot soon, and also confirm church caterer. Finally picked up the wedding invites fr Shang last weekend and starting to feel excited abt AD already! Heheh

Auds,
What else do u have to do? U shd go down to Leaping Lizards fast so they can customise ur shoes in time

Hey girls,
When is ur PS date? Any ideas for PS venue? Cos we're thinking of a "in the mood for love" kind of look but can't think of suitable venues...

count! I know which necklace you are referring to! The one with draping extensions -- very pretty! heh heh, quite pricey also. :P I actually tried that on at the Bugis Goldheart, but figured I won't wear it much after wedding so prob won't get it.

I'm thinking of getting a full tennis bracelet and just one other thing, since full tennis bracelet can come up to quite a lot - dowan to ketok my dear mummy lah. hee.

My PS date is end Oct now... I think I like the 'greenery' look and something that reflects more of singapore, e.g. peranakan shopfronts or cafes with interesting decor... I think you can try the Keong Saik back alley for that look Count!

Hi girls!

Was away on a Bintan trip with my friends over the past few days.

Count and Auds, yup i got my WG shoes from Hue on Sat.
I really love them! Hee a pity it's fabric so i can't wear it for my outdoor shoots. They get dirty very easily i think. Will prob have to get another silver one to wear out.

I have also not thought of 'si dian jin' yet. hehehe i haven't decided on my PS date too. Most prob it'll be mid Sept.

Hi Pishako,

A warm welcome on behalf of all the gals here!
kao_welcome.gif

which ballroom and how many tables?

Do post your details - AD, BS, PS date, PS PG, AD PG, AD VG, future home and a whole other acronyms I've learnt since joining the forum... think there's a table in the archives a month or two back, can follow that and be added in.

<font color="aa00aa">hi gals,

Just a straw poll - what colour will your EG (evening gown) be? Count I know yours -- how bout the rest?</font>

Hi Pishako,
Welcome too!

Hey twinkle, My EG will be very very light pink. Will be going for my 2nd fitting in July..will update then. Hee
What about yours?

Hey count, busy these days? Pretty quiet around here..

Girls, for PS where are you all planning to go? My BS has this overseas shoot to Bintan..dunno if i should go for it though. The boat ride i took to and fro Bintan a few days back were horrible. I almost puked both times!

Hi Twinke and Kyrie,

Thanks for the warm welcome!!

And oh yah.. I found the table.. here it goes for me >>
ROM/AD Date: 24th Feb 2007
Venue: Tower Ballroom
BS: Ted Wu
PS: Ray Ong
AD.P: TBC
AD.V: TBC
Lovenest: DeRoyale

I was looking at the table.. looks like Count &amp; Kyrie r gonna be neighbours! When's Pinnacle gg to be ready?

Hi Pishako,
Yup Count and myself will be neighbours in a few years.
The estimated date of completion of the Pinnacle is sometime in Apr '09. Still a long way to go.

Hi <font color="aa00aa">Kyrie</font>,

Hiyah, can't decide on what colour EG that's why doing poll...
maybe scarlet red, maybe light bright blue, maybe dusky blue, maybe dusky pink... i'm v fickle, heh.

I know what you mean abt the Bintan ferry ride... I've been to Bintan 4 times (can you believe it) and the previous 2 times I told myself, not worth it to suffer the 45 mins... face all green by the time i arrive.
. For my PS, thinking of just the usual spots in singapore... i think photos with greenery come out nice.

p.s. <font color="0000ff">Pishako</font>, welcome to the welcome! heehee...

Hi twinkle!

Hee kinda free at home now so my replies are pretty fast too. <font color="0077aa">Heh decided to play with the font colours as well.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Yah i have been to Batam twice and though the boat ride's almost the same duration, i felt fine. Wonder why the boat ride to Bintan seemed more rocky. Hehe</font>

<font color="ff6000">As for PS, there was an article in Straits Times sometime back that has all the wedding photoshoot hotspots. Haven't had time to go and check those places out yet but i guess i might when PS is drawing nearer.</font>

<font color="119911">Shall cut and paste them here if you like.</font>