Shangri-la Hotel

Zera
I think Sebastian is more creative with his themes. If u saw the "Dream Collection" showcase last yr, he uses lots of flowers, props etc to really decorate the whole ballroom.

As for deco, there is no specific cost. It depends on what u have in mind, and u have to discuss with the florists and ask them how much it costs. But Shang has a std package which does not require a top up

Zera
Have u booked with Shang already? Perhaps u wanna provide details for Eileen to update the table if u're joining our family?

Eileen
Going down to see Mel tm regarding the invites. WEnt to Baguette on Wed but Wei wasn't there so didn't manage to ask him. Oh btw, the Raffles City outlet only sells some cakes. No trip choc, lychee martini, orange zest or their usual favourites! So sad, cos i was looking to get my dessert fix after a banh mi!

Did u manage to ask Wei abt the plating of the cake in the end?

Kyrie
Long time no hear fr u. Have u been checking on the bldg progress of our flats? Hehhee. Exams shd be over by now and more slack at work? When's ur PS btw? I'm supposed to go for my first fitting end May...

Whiteangelz ah
How was ur LA trip?

Hi Count

Thanks for the details. I have booked Shang already last year.
AD - 21st Oct 06
BS - Kai, Tan Yoong
PS - Chris Ling
AD PS - Ray Ong
AD VG - Treasure Prod

Hi ladies, been awhile since i've last posted anything. Hope all your wedding preparations is goin on well.. =)

Count, just read ur post on meeting Mel regarding the invites.. Oh gosh! My wedding's before yours and i haven't spoken to her since i signed on the dotted line. Oops, do i need to be more proactive here? Was thinking along the lines that she would call me as and when any decisions need to be made.. hiaz..

Anyways, think i've decided to go with a real wedding cake.. but a small one. Still deliberating between a Cheryl Shuen or a PG one.. Cheryl shuen's designs are stunning!! But PG's flavours are just too good to miss.. Any thoughts frm you guys?

oh yeah, does anyone know how far in advance do you have to meet up and decide on the deco with your florist with regards to the ballroom? didn't had the time to go to see anyone yet..
Help please....

Count,

We managed to find a caterer that would do the cutting of cakes and putting it on the buffet line for the reception. So one issue solved.

Have you decided on the wordings etc for the invites? Did you manage to solve the issue of printing 2 sets of invites?

Auds,

Don't worry. Melanie would call you when it's near. When you signed the contract, she would have asked you for your preferences like when you'll be sending cards, etc. She'll work the timeline from that point. If you're worried, you can always give her a call.

You don't have to confirm the flowers so soon, but I think it does help to look around for "inspiration", etc. Apparently one of Dolly's client confirmed only 3 days before the wedding. So....

I'll be getting PG cakes for practical reasons.

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-1">nick</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">ROM</font> </TD><TD><font size="-1"> AD</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-1">Venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-1">Florist</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">BS </font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">PS Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">AD Photog</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1">VG</font></TD><TD> <font size="-1"> Lovenest</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Choc Cowgirl</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">26 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">27 Nov 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Meng &amp; Assoc.</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Telok Kurau</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ashie</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">10 Dec 05</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Toa Payoh Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Chris Ling</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eugene (Chris Ling)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Katong</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jasmineang</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jan 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tuckys</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Forest Productions</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Gothique</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">6 May 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">-/-</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Eileen</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">30 Sep 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">1 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / St. Ignatius</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Blush Blush</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Fabian Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">River Valley</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Auds</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Kai</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Whiteangelz</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">14 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">15 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Shalom BPC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">French Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> John (Chris Ling</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Don (Forest productions</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Zera</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">21 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">21 Oct 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC / TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Kai / Tan Yoong</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> Chris Ling</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Treasure Pond</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Count</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">11 Nov 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / Paya Lebar Methodist</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">9 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / St. Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Golden Horse Awards (GHA Tampines)</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">GHA</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Eulee</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Meow_chloe</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">22 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">22 Dec 06</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Ray Ong</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ling</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">7 Jul 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Varsity Park</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Twinkle</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">17 Mar 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">17 Mar 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Tower / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Friend</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Suyin</font> </TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">April 07</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">Island / -</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">-</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2"> TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD> <font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></td></tr></table>

New - Zera

Please check your details again. Thanks!

I am back! Can't believe the wedding is over.

Okie Eileen first let me give you the updates for the table you have created...

1. Venue - Tower / Bedok Lutheran Church
2. Florist - JM (DOlly)
3. BS: The Bridal Wardrode
4. PS: Benny Ang
5. AD: Kenneth Tsang
6. VG: Eric Tan
7. Lovenest - TBA!!! Still searching.

Okie, the dinner at Shangri-La went off very very smoothly. Seriously I think we all don't have to worry about a single thing because the staff there are very professional and experienced.

There will be people who SMS you last minute and say they cannot come. I had about 90% attendence and I am thanking God! But it was good too because I actually had some 11 to a table so the 11th person could not come, that made up 10. haha.

Most people gave me $80. A significant number also gave $100... overall, including PS, Church, etc etc... I think we lost about $10k... which was what we expected. So it was OK after all.

I was quite happy with Dolly's flowers and service. I used her for church as well. But then I didn't have time to really check out the other florists so I can't really make a comparison.

I had about 43 tables plus 1 Muslim table. Everyone said the food was good. However, the free wine per table from Shangri-La sucks (I did not get to drink it but that was the general feedback.) And the wine I got from Parker's wes supposedly much better (I went for the wine tasting so I must say their wine is excellent). I got Shiraz from Chile and Merlot from Australia. I let the guests chose which wine they wanted. Shangri-La provided the Carbenet. I didn't serve white wine.

Most people drank the red wine, one barrel of beer was enough. In fact i only used 6 bottles of wine from Parkers while I orderd 4 cartons!!!!! I also bought quite a bit of hard liqour but only the XO was opened. The rest like Whisky etc people did not drink.

What else? Personally, I felt that only the church wedding was meaningful to me. I did not feel "married" after the traditional chinese tea ceremony etc. I was like "erm, Ok so does that make me married?!" after serving the tea and having the boys jump on my bed etc.

And i kind of just went through the motions without feeling anything. Only at church, I felt so touched and felt the love between me and FH really being "cemented" in marriage.

Similarly for the dinner, mostly I just went through the motions, the photo taking etc. I did enjoy myself but to me it simply wasn't meaningful, not like the church wedding.

Frankly if I had a choice again, I might have just did the church ceremony followed by a lunch banquet? I just couldn't believe the expense and effort I went to for the dinner which in the end I felt nothing as compared to church which was so very memorable, like nothing I had ever experienced bdfore.

Anyone care to comment on this?

Hi Zera
I'm using Ray for AD too!

Hi Auds
Long time no see! Yes, perhaps u shd give Mel a call. Cos we went down yesterday to decide on invites wordings and she mentioned tt our food tasting will be in July before the 7th month. So u may wanna give Mel a call and settle the details

I love both Cheryl and PG's cakes. Cheryl's cakes are more versatile cos of marzipan but it's not as delicious cos pple may not like the taste of marzipan. PG's cream cakes are delicious but somehow i think the cream gives u a lesser leeway to do up complicated designs? NOt sure abt how true this is but this seems to be my general impression so far. In any case, i think both are equally good. Just a matter of personal pref heh

Eileen babe
Yes we finally sorted out the invites issue. Printing 2 sets of invites. Which caterer are u getting for church? They're doing the cake cutting for u FOC?

Btw when's ur food tasting? Mine will be in July

Gothique
Congrats! Ur wedding sounds fantastic! Yes, to me personally i would think the church wedding would be more meaningful too. Which is why i'd invite close frens to church. Dinner is more for teh parents. In any case, ur dinner sounds like a wonderful experience! Must share photos when they're ready k?

Btw, what type of flowers did u do for church and dinner? What colours did u use and how much did Dolly charge for church deco?

Glad to hear tt the losses from the banquet were ok for u. Cos i know u were quite worried initially. My side is still problematic. FH's parents insist on getting a more ex menu and we're the ones paying! Big headache...

When are u going off on honeymoon ah? And where?

Gothique,
Sounds like u have tons to be grateful to God for, esp for his generous provision and APs received. Happy it worked out in the end for u and tt u had a beautiful wedding... Hee

Hi Count!

Yup sure will share the photos when ready.

I did not really choose the flowers. I just told Dolly to give me cream coloured flowers and green leaves. I rented the flower stands from Dolly cuz I really liked them. And also the flower bouquets for my bridesmaid, parents, and fresh flowers for the altar.

The rest, I got from a local florist in Joo Chiat. I'm also very blessed because there was a strong wedding deco ministry in my church. I had yards and yards of satin, organza, saved from previous weddings, as well as artificial flowers etc. I also bought cheap ribbons, paper flowers etc from Bangkok during my last trip. And lastly, I had a very very experienced team of gals from church who helped me do the deco FOC!!

Count - regarding the finances, must trust God for His providence... initially I was quite worried about finances and attendence but in the end I was reminded that God is in control of the whole thing. Must surrender to God. We have some savings for our home, and at first we thought that we will suffer heavily like $20k loss. So we told ourselves that in that case we'll dig into our savings for our home... but thank God that we didn't have to dig in so much! So pray about it and see how it goes... *hugs*

Would like to share my wedding photographs (Studio and Outdoor) with you. Could you gals PM me your email? Then I'll invite you to view! Photos by Benny Ang.

Hi pple,

I am new to this forum. Just went down Shang to view the 2 ballrooms last week. Now having a big headache to decide which to choose. We are quite selective in our guests and now the no. of guests is about 550. Just nice to fit the min for island ballroom. My FIL mention that he can still have a few more tables if we want to play safe as we all know the attendance may fluctuate alot, especially mine will be the in the middle of the december holidays where everyone may be overseas.

I have also received comments from friends just married that usually the no. of guests turn up will be 80-85% of the actual. Should I go for tower ballroom then, to play safe. I realli like the island ballroom but maybe it is not worth to throw money away in the case when we need to pay for empty tables right.

Any advice?

Thanks and really will appreciate all advices.

Glad to meet all of u here in this forum.
I almost chose swissotel the stamford for its convenient location and also nice ballroom but in the end I thought the inaccessible location of Shang should not be my main concern cos frens will definitely try to make it if they are sincere in their blessing for the both of us right?

Gothique,
Tks for sharing ur PS pics. U look so sweet and girlish with ur huge doe eyes! Do u play the violin? Cos i used to do so as well. Esp like the "mood" shots with the slightly dimmer lighting and close ups of ur face. And ur WG is very pretty! Guess i'm biased cos i'm using tulle for my WG skirt too! Except tt mine is a ballgown and urs is more A-line

When are u gg off on honeymoon and where to?

Auds,
When is ur first fitting?

Ruoyan,
Welcome here *waves*. When is ur AD? Think Ling had a similar problem as u but eventually decided to go for Island. One thing u may wanna consider is tt Tower would be really cramped if u put 55 tables. 40 tables seems more comfy there. And Island will be renovated by ur AD if it's after Sept this yr. But on the other hand, u may wanna consider the fact tt ur guest list may be reduced significantly esp since ur AD is Dec... Btw, ur AD is Dec 06 or 07?

Adeline,

When is ur AD? Because right now, you are down to 550 guests right? But when the day draws nearer, the number of people you wanna invite will increase. This I promise!

2ndly, yes the final attendance for your dinner will probably be 80%. But you might not be able to mix and match your guests. E.g. a table got 9 people, another table got 7 people... then how to mix the tables? You know what I mean?

My dinner was 43 tables and Tower Ballroom was just nice. I think Island Ballroom might be a better choice for you.

Unless of course a lot of people can confirm with you that they are unable to attend your wedding due to being away in Dec.

Count, I used to play violin. Now I just leave it at home though I still like it a lot. Mostly just organ and piano for church service. There are SSO violinsts playing for church service. If I tried to play along I think he will flinch at my notes! I have a cellist too... she has 2 daughters aged 8 and 6... they can play almost better than me already. (The two gals played for my church wedding. Very very cute and sweet... and they are half Japanese some more!)

Thanks for the compliments. I chose Benny Ang exactly for that reason. Those moods shots are very "Benny Ang".

I loved my gown a lot too! Same as you cuz I prefer the dreamy tulle look rather than a "clean" duchess satin outline without any overlay. You know what I mean?

Hey Count have you taken your PS? Care to share?

gothique, can i take a look at your photos?

Adeline, I had a similar problem. Decided to go with Island. If u don't have enough tables, u can top up the difference to make up the 55 tables, and choose to upgrade a dish... so u won't have be paying for nothing.

Thanks pple! All your advices are sure valuable in helping me make a decision fast because the events manager just called me today to inform me that I need to make up my mind fast.

Thanks Gothique, Count and Ling. BTW my AD is on 15th Dec 2007. Soelemnisation and banquet on the same day. I din know can choose to upgrade a dish...maybe I can check with the events manager again so that at least I know I wont be shortchange in that sense.

Oh Gothique can I take a look at yr photos too. Anyone with photos to share can email me at [email protected] Thanks

Hey girls,
How did u all do up the seating plan then? U mean u didn't mix and match ur guests? I tot of doing so, as long as there are at least 2 or 3 pple who know each other on the same table shd be ok?

Gothique,
Wah, u're so musical. I stopped learning the violin after grade 4. Cannot play piano cos my hand-leg coordination is terrible! Yesyes, i love the dreamy tulle look too! So sad, no PS pics to share yet. PS is on 11 july, show u then ok?

Ling,
U haven't been here in a while! Are u in US now? When will u be coming back to spore?

Adeline,
Will ur solemnisation be at church or the hotel? U mean ur date is a hot date, that's why u must decide fast? Hope u decide soon then!

A bit of advice on the seating... basically I categorised the people into groups, e.g. Cell Group, Choir, JC Classmates, Diving friends, etc. And I shortlisted 10 people for each group. Then, when someone in the group cannot attend, I will shortlist another person from the same category. That's how I get the 10 full persons...

Of course if you have some miscellenous friends, no choice, have to mix and match them lor. I had a few like that, and kept worrying that they will feel left out. But I guess sometimes really cannot help it.

to all ladies - I am trying to reduce the file size of my images. So the photos will be up tomorrow and I'll invite u gals to view tomorrow okie? Sorry for the delay.

Hi, i've booked the Island ballroom too.. Afraid that i might not be able to fully utilize the 55 tables. Melanie did tell me that we can use 2/3 of the ballroom in case we can't fill up the tables. Of course you need to use a more expensive menu.. but at least the room won't look so empty.

Count, my first fitting is this weekend.. really excited to see the first cut of my gown... fingers crossed that it's exactly what i wanted!!

Question: How many of your ladies are intending to do that slide show thingy during the dinner? u know, the ones of you when u were young then in school, on holiday together etc etc etc.. Husband to be is really keen on it but i'm kinda hesitant...ummm... still deliberating..

Any comments on Shang's food? Many of my friends and relatives feedback to me the food was very average and some even commented that it was below average. I am quick worried that guests may not like the food.

Hi Auds,
Depending on your preference, held my wedding last Dec'05. Initially same thought as you, wasn't keen on idea on photo montage. After visiting my videographer and saw the montage he did for other couples, me and HB fell in love with his works! We reckoned having one would add more entertainment for our guests, as well as creating gd memories for me and HB, and prob for our future children as well.. wahahah! We displayed the photo montage before our 1st march in, and wedding day highlights before our 2nd march in. Our guests enjoyed both video clips very much as we could hear their laughters as we were standing by the doors (to prepare ourselved for the march-in) at Tower Ballroom. Our photo montage was done with the usual slideshow of childhood photos etc etc, and also with inclusion of a pre-wedding video on our photoshoot (our VG is kind enough to video our photoshoot), so as to add 'motions' to the montage to create something like a 'pre-wedding mtv'.

Hi Auds,
It was the same for me too. We also showed the slideshow before the 1st march-in and had an express highlights before the 2nd march-in. Our guests really loved it and I think they still remember it till now. There was lot of laughter. I think it's a way to entertain the guests between dishes. By the way, my slideshow was done by my brother, and everyone thought it was really well-done. Think a powerpoint presentation with some music in the background is generally good enough.

Hi dears

Photos are up, check ur emails.

I had no express highlights (same day too rush). We did the PPT ourselves and it was great! I think it should be kept to 5 minutes. 10 minutes is too long and people will get bored!

BTW my short HM photos are up too, I went to Ko Phi Phi (Leonardo DiCaprio The Beach). If anyone wants to view, drop me a PM!

Looking forward to the Long HM in June...
Italy, Switzerland and Finland. Think I'm gonna be really broke at the end of it.

Hi dears

Photos are up, check ur emails.

I had no express highlights (same day too rush). We did the PPT ourselves and it was great! I think it should be kept to 5 minutes. 10 minutes is too long and people will get bored!

BTW my short HM photos are up too, I went to Ko Phi Phi (Leonardo DiCaprio The Beach). If anyone wants to view, drop me a PM!

Looking forward to the Long HM in June...
Italy, Switzerland and Finland. Think I'm gonna be really broke at the end of it.

Hey girls,
Wow! Seems like getting a VG is a gd deal. Cos we saw the videos and slide show of a fren a fortnight ago and felt tt they did a great job. But sigh, no budget, so prob have to forego that. May do up our own slide show though

Found the video MTV clip can be very touching and nice if done well

Any of girls went to Robinsons sale? Intending to buy bedsheets from there today! Kekekeke

Gothique,
Will check my email later when i'm free. Wah u have 2 honeymoons?! So lucky! How come u didn't go on a long honeymoon soon after AD and have to postpone to June? Are u a teacher?

And yes, pls share ur short HM pics! Cos we're gg to Bali, which is also a beach resort place, so it would be nice to see how ur HM was like

Auds,
Must update on how ur first fitting goes. Mine is next Thu, so will let u all know too

count, it's easy and cheap to do a powerpoint slide show. just need your photos and a scanner! if need any pointers, ask me, heh heh.

I went to the Robinsons Sale yesterday. Bumped into a lot of friends! Bought shoes and underwear. Tonight, going to Isetan Sale! heh heh heh SHOPPING again.

Nope I'm not a teacher. But my hubby is the credit controller at NEC so he can only take leave in mid month due to month-end closing and reporting issues... so no choice gotta split our HMs up. I will send u the link to HM...

Hi Gothique, thanks for sending us the link. Had a quick look at your photos (in the office so can't really spend too much time looking!!). And they are really nice.. i'm sure you're really happy with your pictures!

Will let u ladies know how my WG fitting goes... Had my fitting for the cheongsam couple of days back and it was pretty good. The beading and detailing weren't done yet but the skeleton of the gown was nice. Am very happy with the general look of it.

Now, to source for my shoes.... hiaz... headache.. You ladies have your shoes already? Anyone had theirs done at Leapin Lizards? Have an idea of what i want, but i'm not really impressed by what i see in the shop. HOW?

Wow, this place is suddenly becoming very hot again.

Gothique,

Hope to be able to view your pictures soon.
Waiting for your reply. And which part of Italy would you be going? We're thinking of Sardinia and Milan with a stopover in London. Now trying to sort out leave and other issues.

Also, how did you manage to "trim" the guest lists? Where do you stop at for colleagues? And kids. Were there instances of people bringing their kids along? Were the church and wedding held on the same day? How do you decide whom to invite for church?

Auds,

Amor Meus did your CS right? I was at Esplanade for lunch yesterday and managed to go for a quick fitting session. I thought it's already very nice without the embellishments. ;)

I got my shoes from Essex Walk as well as Leapin Lizards. The former for actual day/dinner and the latter for photo-shoot and general use. Waiting for LL's fitting next week. Will tell you how it is. Just be careful if you're getting those with crystals. The "claws" might tear the fragile materials.

Congratulations Gothique on surviving the wedding! Yes, I do agree with you that the church wedding is more meaningful. And within that, it's the exchange of vows that matter, not the slideshow, not the flowers... though I love pretty flowers!! I and my fiance are going to attempt memorising our vows. Cos I think it's impt to internalise it. maybe I'll make him revise it monthly too, after we get married haha!

Would love to see your pictures. Will pm you.

As for the wedding dinner, I guess although I always say it's more impt to our parents and relatives, I guess it could also be nice to have a huge banquet celebration type of atmosphere to commemorate your wedding. I guess it's how we go about to make it memorable... and we are all fortunate to have a grand venue like Shang. I was sort of 'defaulted' into Shang cos of the number of tables we needed, but I've reconciled myself to the fact that since we are going to spend A LOT even at cheaper venues, we might as well go for one of the best!

I'm actually still on my work trip. Was in a few cities in DC, now in Toronto... must share something funny. I was severely jet-lagged on the second day here, and good thing there was this forum to keep me entertained through the hours that I kept waking up!

Adeline,
I've heard from friends who held weddings at shang that the food is good. Previously there were some menus that were not prepared by shang palace, which could be why your friends didn't find it good. But as of this year all of them are prepared by shang palace, so I'm hoping that it'll be ok....

Hi Gothique,
Thanks for sharing your pics with me. Glad you and HB enjoyed so much on your PS, can really tell the joy on the smiles on your faces! I haven finished viewing all yet, taking my time to look at them
You look like a star-artiste but I dunno the name, anyone of ur frens told u before? hehe...

Hi Adeline,
So far comments on Shang's food are good. Dish are fresh, warm and generally big portion. Dun have to worry ya, you will get to comment on each individual dish during food tasting.

Hey girls,
Wah this thread is flooded with msgs!

Gothique,
Ur HM looked fantastic! Nice beaches and sand. The waters are amazingly blue! Can tell tt u all had a gd time. Agree with Georgiau look like an actress. Think it's Apple Hong, cos of the eyes and smile

Auds
Maybe u could try Paradox and Essex Walk, cos these seem to be the usual suspects for wedding shoes?

Eileen
Which church caterer did u get? I'm still shopping ard for a caterer...

Twinkle
So cute! Can't beleive u read our posts to overcome jetlag! US and Canada are fun places to go for biz trip despite the jet lag. Lots of shopping! Are u gg to buy wedding stuff there?

We have to memorise our vows too cos our church pastor said he will not marry couples who can't memorise them. Ensures tt the couple will actually bear their vows in mind and abide by them, he says

Georgia and Biba and anyone else with input
What dishes would u all recommend for food tasting? Trying to decide on the menu. My food tasting is in mid-July so quite soon. Exciting! Hehheeheh

Btw, does Shang charge per table or per head? If some tables have 11 pax, is there enuf food and do they charge for the extra pax (assuming 11 chinese portions)?

Twinkle &amp; Georgia,

Thanks for the input on Shang's food. Really hopes it turns out well because both FH and I liked Shang for its grandeur but my in-laws preferred marina mandarin for its food. We have to convince them that its not bad haa...

Gothique,

Thanks for sharing your photos. You have a great smile and your wedding gown is very nice, btw, which is your bridal studio? I am just praying that on the day of my photoshoot I will have no outbreaksï¼ï¼ï¼ Cos they always come at the wrong time heee....

Hope someone can help me with this
Are there any difference between the setup of tower ballroom and island ballroom? I understand that the setting of the ballroom can be discussed with the florist but I was just wondering if the stage setting would be different.

Another thing is that will island ballroom look very empty with only 55 tables?

Anyone can kindly mail me the package for shangri La? I only have 30 table. Wonder is there any ballroom for 30 table? Thanks alot

Count,
I guessed its very much to individual taste and preference when comes to menu selection. I remembered one dish, bcos of its unique combination, its prawn served with fried bun. the rest are the usual banquet's dishes bah. but all are gd tasting.

You can let Mel know if you wish to pay for the no. 11th person (which is charged per head). We had a few tables with 11pax, but we instructed them to serve for 10 pax. Shang has got a generous portion of food serving and thus no issues. But if it still worry you, then one way is thay you may want put kids in the table of 11 bcos they generally dun eat too much. They prob be running around..

Adeline,
You are right, you can discussed the setup u want with the florist. In fact no difference actually if you choose tower or island ballroom. What u see in Island ballroom, the ideas can be 'transferred' to Tower ballroom as well. Are you referring to the fairy lights u saw as the backdrop on Island's stage? No issues on that, it can be done in Tower as well.

If you have 55 tables, it would be better to go for Island. We had 35 tables in Tower, and space between tables are very gd, spacious. If you have 55 tables, I would think Tower would be too cramp.

Jenny,
The 2 main ballrooms, namely Tower and Island ballroom takes min. 35 and 55 tables respectively. You may like to check out the function room Shang's has got to cater for what you are intending to have. I've been to their function rooms before, very private and cosy.

Georgia,

Thanks for your input. By the way, what are the perks that they give? Can I ask for other things other than the ones already included in the package?

Hi, popped over to Essex Walk over the weekend and saw a pair of ivory slingbacks. They're unfortunately a tad more expensive than i was initially willing to pay for wedding shoes.

However, the lady said she can dye the shoes black after the wedding so i can get more mileage out of them. Anyone has any feedback on that? dun want a pair of beautiful ivory shoes turn to a funny shade of black... if they can do a good dye job, i won't mind paying 300 bucks for them then.

hello everyone!

I was on MC for 2 days and never check email... so sorry. Anyway I have emailed you gals the link to my photos.

Auds (dewberry7878) - Thanks for your compliments! My wedding shoes were from Hue. The standard silver stappy heels with lots of diamontes.

Eileen (teddyboyboy) - I have emailed you the link. I am going to Rome (Vatican), Florence, Milan, Venice, Parma etc basically travelling north from Rome with lots of stops on the way. Stopoever in Switzerland to enjoy the Alps for a day.

As for trimming the guest list - I actually had a bit of a problem with colleagues cuz I had changed departments and was pretty close to two groups of ppl instead of one. So in the end I gave them a choice whether they wanted to attend the dinner or church. Those who liked good food chose dinner lor...

But my advice is not to be like me, "Throw" the invitation open to everyone. Instead, just quietly short-list those you wanna invite and tell them to keep it quiet... and when one of the shortlisted ones can't make it then extend the invitation to other ones. People will understand... in fact I had colleagues who weren't invited who came up to congratulate me... and I apologized for not inviting them, and they were very understanding about it. To quote one of them, "Silly gal, you can't invite the whole office!" So no worries.

People did want to bring kids along but I told them no... I felt really bad about it but budget and space constraints... once again, I explained it to them and they were OK about it. Only for relatives then I put the kids in.

Yup, church and dinner were on the same day. Not tiring for me at all.

For church, I invited those closer ones and put a notice in the weekly bulletin saying that everyone is invited to attend.

twinkle (chendol) - think I have sent you the link, if not re-PM again.. thanks. Wow memorise the vows?! Kudos to you! I didn't have the time...

georgia (mypita) - Thanks for the compliments...

count (count) - Yup I enjoyed Ko Phi Phi very much. Cheap and good, ideal for a short getaway. Next time if u're going there ask me for travel tips! Still dreaming of the sand...

Adeline (ruoyan) - My studio is The Bridal Wardrode by Ronn. but I was one of her last customers cuz she's stopping her business due to health reasons. A pity cuz I love her gowns a lot. Hee hee the gowns are still at my place, she hasn't collected them back yet!

Georgia,
U mean the kids were running ard during the banquet? Hmmm... Wondering if it would be better to place them at tables at the corners instead then, to make it less disruptive for other guests

Auds,
Not sure abt how the black dye would turn out, have u tried checking the other threads by BTBs on comments? Or perhaps ask Essex Walk for samples of how the black shoes look like?

Gothique,
Are u better already? Must drink more water and rest more...

Yes, guest list is a real headache. Now trying to decide on how to limit the guest list to a manageable size. Ur colleagues are so sweet and understanding re invitations and how u need to constrain the invites!

Btw, how did u manage to do it in a tactful way and tell guests that children are not included? Did u ask them how many pple were coming when they RSVP-ed or when u issued the invite?

Twinkle,
Are u back fr ur trip yet? Gotten over jet lag yet?

Hi Adeline,
Things that can be negotiated are helpers' room (for day use), extra complimentary carpark coupons, extra nite stay etc. Things like beverages/beer/wine are quite standard bah, but I believe you can try asking for more perks. No harm asking.. hehe. Ask and you shall receive

Count,
Yes, me too, place children at tables at the corners. Yah, basically children are so lovely and active, they would be playing, running at 'empty' spaces, especially at the back the ballroom. But no worries, you wun get distracted with their presence. You will likely only take notice of them when you go round taking tables-photos.

Hi Georgia,

Thanks for the inputs again. I managed to get all the stuff you mentioned but I have not asked if the corkiage fees for wine can be lowered or waived (hee...even better). The fee now is $30 bucks per bottle of wine and thats alot, considering that I still have to buy. And seriously, for those who have had their banquet already, 1 bottle of wine per guaranteed table is it enuff? Usually how much more bottles of wine we need to get?

Hi Adeline,
I think 1 red wine per table is not enough. We had 35 tables, consumed 52 btls of red wine, less than a btl of hard liquor and a barrel of beer. You need to standby more bottles of red wine, esp. if you are hvg a weekend wedding.

Count -- yup I'm back! Slept for 15 hours to recover from jet lag. got a day off from work - understanding bosses.

Adeline -- I don't think you can get lowering or waiving of corkage fees. they are pretty strict on that. I think the number of bottles of wine depends on the composition of your guests. For instance, I expect our colleagues and friends to consume more wine than our relatives... so they might even each other out.

Wow, thats alot! Considering that the corkiage fee is so expensive, that means I will need to top up quite alot on the wine...

BTW, Georgia, did you get your own wine? How much did you pay for the corkiage fee per bottle of red wine? Or did you get from the hotel? Did you ask for more bottles of wine as perks, in addition to the 35 given for 35 guaranteed table?