Shangri-la Hotel

hi peeps... erm... i got free corkage... but maybe that's cuz of the no of tables? or they maybe increase prices for 2006... but maybe can try to bargain for that.

Twinkle - i had 43 tables. you know what, i think you can do without Shang's wine. it sucks anyway... try finding ur own 3rd party supplier. then again.. are you particular about your wine? if you aren't then it's more convenient to just get directly from SHang.

If get from 3rd party, must worry about the delivery and storage etc...

Hi Gothique,

You mean they waive the corkage fees for wine for you? I have 55 confirmed tables but they only offered to give a so called special rate of $30 for the corkage fees for red wine.

Hmm...maybe the price for 2007 is different but I think I will try to ask for corkage to be waived, because the difference in the package is really too big...cos the price has already increased by about $30 per table.

Thanks for sharing, if not I still blur blur...hope they can give in for that

A quick check with you. Have you gals tried the vera wang's gown in the link at shang? last thursday there was a show which star kim ng and michelle chia and they tried vera wang's evening gowns. They mentioned the price of the evening gown is $700. How is that possible??

Have you gals tried the evening gowns in the boutique? How is the service like? Is there a wide range?

Hi Cin,

I have been to look at the link at shang. Seriously, the gowns do not look impressive at all, and the gowns are rather tooo simple in design, maybe some brides prefer simplicity but that is really up to individual preference. I did not watch the show, but I guessed that is possible bcos some of the gowns really look very very simple and for their gown collection, they have various range, maybe the $700 one is the most basic and the lower range. I guess their platinum range will be much more exp.....but other than the name vera wang, which sounds nice, classy and upmarket, I do not find their collection impressive...except 1 that was featured in stylewedding latest issue, the 1 wore by Lin Xiangping which is very nice. What do the rest think? Any comments?

thanks, i used to be a shang bride last year. recently came in and take a look. wow!! there are so many of you now compare my times.

i am looking around for nice evening gown for dinner. thanks for sharing. : )

Hi Cin,

Care to share your experience with Shang, since you have already gone through the whole thing
Which ballroom did you take, how's the decor done, any comments on the service and food?

Hey girls,
My corkage is $30+++/bottle too, and mine is the 2006 package. So perhaps it's not whether the package is 2006 or 2007, but whether u bargained for lower corkage?

Cin,
I remember chatting here with u previously! Heh. Actually i don't think the Vera Wang gowns only cost $700 even if they're simple. Cos i heard they use 100% silk satin or sth so they're very ex, esp since VW is considered high-end designer

Think VW gowns are more suitable for those who like clean cut looks. I know my parents would flip if they found out i paid 5 figures for a VW cos my mum keeps saying tt the bride must wear more bling bling on her wedding day! Heh. That said, some of the VW gowns are very pretty and classic, esp those in ivory (though my mum insists tt i must wear off-white!) As u can tell, my mum and grandma have tons of ideas of how a bride shd look like and i generally have to get input from them! Kekeke

Perhaps for EG u could try places such as Pois at Paragon? But kind of pricey i think. What is ur budget?

Twinkle,
Ur bosses are so sweet to give u a day off after coming back fr biz trip! Last wk at work was sheer madness, so many meetings and stuff to do. This wk too, though i'll be on MC for a wk. Just removed two wisdom teeth yesterday cos of infection. So sad. Have to be on soft diet for a few days

Hey girls,
Am now looking for a church reception caterer. Any of u have recommendations? Also, what is the general budget for a tea reception?

Dear Count

I tried Lavish Dining and heard Angeli catering is good.. The Mee siam at Angeli apparently very nice.

Do u know if Shang is able to place a piano on stage?

Hi pinkygal,

I happened to request them to place a piano on the stage that time when I went to do on-site inspection with my FH. They told me that the grand piano they have are not really in good condition hence no promise ....

Hi Adeline

Are you confirmed with Shang oredy? I will be taking it up with them most likely. What kind of perks did u get? And who is your coordinator?

Hi pinkygal,

Yup, I have already confirmed with Shang, just waiting to sign on the dotted line. I have gotten the usual perks such as additional night stay, increase in carpark coupons, invitation cards etc. The only think they wont give in is the barrel of beer...cause I have alot of tables so 30 litres don think is enuff.

What about you, when is your AD? Have you gone down to discuss with them, what perks did they offer you, which ballroom you are taking?

Which other hotel did you look at? Before Shang, I went down to look at Grand Copthorne waterfront. Seriously dun like the bridal suite...look very old and not impressive at all both me and FH jus knew it that we are dropping that place for sure somemore for the rating of the hotel, I find that they are overpriced! Then the other one is Swissotel the Stamford. They have very very nice bridal suite but they jus dun wan to throw in an additional night stay and they are toooo firm on their perks. Another thing is that the reception area (I am looking at Stamford ballroom) though can have it all for yrself at a nice corner, it was very dim and many brides feedback that the photos taken very dark. And yest we went to look at a wedding there, the stage decor was soooo empty. Maybe thats why I decided to drop it as well.

Hi Adeline

Me too, I have not sign yet but met up with Agnes on the agreement, waiting to sign also. Mine is the tower ballroom as I do not have too many tables. Same like you i got all the above. Plus a day room for the jie mei.. increase in car park she did not wan to commit though, she mention she will see the situation on that day first...hmmm... The thing is coz i have less than 35 tables, I even have to pay for my own flowers ie the 6 stands and the stage flower decor... she only provides the table flowers...
Did u get to try the food? Maybe yours would have coz u have q a number of tables rite... I managed to get her to buy dinner for 6 at the Shang Palace... Anything else u ask for?

Have you done your gown? Which bridal shop?

I look at Swissotel too... they were willing to give me one more nite ... think if u bargain hard, they will give it to you.. I have a friend who also manage to get 2 nites... they had a style wedding show 2006 package. Ask them for that coz the perks in there are really good.. i think got some wine free or something like that oso... The other one was Four Seasons and Raffles Hotel...

Maybe you can try Oriental, Marina Mandarin and Conrad? I think they are nice also. My dates were taken up so can't.

Hi Count,

I used Harvest Catering. I was quite pleased with their service, felt that it was value for money and they tried to accomodate my requests. If you want, I can pass you the contact. PM me!

Personally I don't like Vera Wang gowns at all! If you have the money, why not splurge on a Tan Yoong or Kai gown, etc. I think they offer much better possibilities!

thanks for the reply. i thought the tv show must make a mistake. there is no way vera wang's evening gowns gonna cost $700. yeah, looking for a evening gown to wear for some functions, might go pois and take a look.

well, i was a 2005, jan bride. service was good and grand. overall no complaints. hmm... for those who has not signed the dotted line, maybe you would like to request for a free stay on your anniversary?? i regret not asking and when i call them up this year, they just gave me a small discount same as what my hb's corporate account is offering.

hi gothique, i was a kai bride too. in the end i did not use his evening gown, i bought another one off the rack.

kao_welcome.gif
Welcome Adeline and Pinkygal into the Shang brides family!

Gothique, you know my church friend Dorothea!

Count,
I've heard that Angeli has nice presentation (check out the glass serving plates on their website) and my experience from helping a friend with catering was that Elsie's kitchen's food is v good. Just that you must remind them on logistics a day before, eg what time they are to arrive for early setup, etc.

Budget-wise, for tea reception, think $10-$12 is the norm. For lunch reception, think $12-14 is the norm. Most caterers are flexible. you can order lunch type food during teatime for more oomph to your reception.

Adeline,
so guess it was no-go for $30 corkage waiver? I'm still wondering whether it's better to take their wine, or to fully use my own wine... some of our colleagues can really drink!

cin - comments about Kai evening gown? Why did u choose off the rack in the end? cuz my friend is thinking of using Kai... thanks.

Chendol - yup i know Dotz and she is SUCH a sweet gal!

Hey girls,
We did try to ask for an anniversary stay but didn't manage to get it.

Pinkygal,
How did u manage to ask Shang to pay for a dinner for 6? As in they would sign ur bill and charge it to corp account or what?

Gothique,
Can email me Harvest's contact and the menu u picked? I have heard gd comments abt Harvest too tks! My email is [email protected]

Twinkle and Pinkygal,
Thanks for the input. Yes, we've gone down to Angeli already. Their food is pretty gd but their desserts are not as nice as their food, and was thinking of more dessert-based reception so somewhat hesitant abt cfming with them

Am going to meet up with Fos*re this wk but they are slightly pricier. Got quotes fr them for $15-18 for tea recep, which looks nice but our parents feel tt it's too pricey and too Western-based for the older folks to enjoy it... For desserts, they are offering mango crepe, french pastries, mini cakes (brownie, cheesecake, tiramisu) and bread and butter pudding as well in addition to finger food...

Pinky and Adeline,
Care to share details of ur AD etc to update the table?

Eileen,
Am now on soft diet and crushing Kee Wah egg rolls in my porridge to eat! All cos of my wisdom tooth op! At least the egg rolls are nice ;)

hi gothique,

the dress is nice but then its not suitable for me.its very low cut. i do not mind wearing if i have got ample of assets. but the dress makes me look very flat. so during photoshoot, i keep pulling the front up and it makes me uncomfortable. in the end i bought something off the rack.
so my advice is, no matter how the designer gonna to sketch a gown for you. if you find that you dun like it or not going to be comfortable in it, say so immediately.
wow, i saw the price of the lunch and dinner in shang. the price went up so much in a year.

Hi Count

I have tried Fos*re Catering also... not bad also and they highly recommended me the mango crepe and on the internet I read that it was also suppose to be good but then that day, not alot of pple eat it leh... I did not try it but it somehow does not look that appealing....

As for the dinner for 6, coz my package does not include any food tasting so she said she can let us try a few dishes from Shang Palace and only for us ( bride and Groom) and our parents...i think shd be a sufficient meal... hope it is not go all the way there only 2 dishes or something...

Corkage fee was $30 per bottle... then beer i think i will go by per glass... one barrel is approx 90 glasses rite as I think my crowd probably only drink beer during cocktail only. Maybe more worthwhile to have it by per glass.

Gals, I am looking for a Make-up and Hair Artist, any recommendations?
Mine AD is 4 December.

Cin - now I know what you mean. Yes it's impt to communicate with designer. Thanks for the input! Agree that the prices seem to be going up. Whew! Glad that I got married already.

Pinky - I can pass u some contacts if you want, PM me. I was very pleased with my MUA. She gave me a very creative and dramatic look for my dinner. Which I will post as soon as the AD pics are out.

And gals, I'm posting my montage photos online. The previous one is just the raw studio shots.. if you wanna view, do PM me ur email addy! I would like to have some comments on the montage, on how you find the style and theme.. thanks.

Count

Some updates for you

AD & Solemnisation: 15th Dec 2007
Venue: Island Ballroom
BS: Sophia Wedding Collection
As for the rest, TBC.

Pinky

Your wedding is this yr or next yr? I think TG Goh is good. But I already have my makeup artist and hair stylist from my BS so will not be using him.

Gothique,

Can I ask if the church you had your solemnisation allows christian couples not belonging to the church to solemnise there? Any criteria to satisfy. Can share the contacts of the church? Thanks. BTW can share your photo montage, thanks

Have anyone tried purple sage or kriston or lavish? I am thinking of getting one of them for my lunch reception. Thanks.

Hi Adeline, I will call my church and let you know.

Purple Sage - my company ALWAYS uses Purple Sage for CNY, X'mas, etc functions. After eating their catering food for 2 years, my conclusion is that the quality of the food is unpredictable. Sometimes it is really great. But at other ocassions, it sucked. I mean it's the general feedback from me and my colleagues. But I must say that their decoration is superb.

Gals, I had some trouble with my pets last night! Chinchilla escaped from the cage. Female hammy bit my male hammy... sigh. So i will post my montage tonight... also, Count will pass you Harvest catering's contact tonight. sorry for the delay!

On reception caterer, I actually went with my friend (I'm her bridesmaid) for food tasting at Four Seasons Catering (no relation to the hotel) somewhere in Paya Lebar.

The food was not bad... and reasonable price and range. They also throw in a certain number of invites as a perk, which I think can be exchanged for something else if you have already got a source of invites.

Ooh, gothique you have chinchillas (and hamsters?)! What are their names?

hi Twinkle... my chin is called Yuki cuz he is white... the hammies, i have had too many so i only have one with a name, he's called Ah Fat (self explanatory!)

Cin dearie,
U had the same problem as me! Just went for my 1st fitting and was stunned to find the EG so low cut! And i am super conscious abt my assets (or lack thereof) so i asked my designer to add some lace to the area! Haha

Yes, Shang's price has gone up by a lot over the past 2 yrs... The cost of having a banquet is shockingly high nowadays!

Adeline,
I've tried Purple Sage and Kriston, the former many times during corp functions. And i agree with Gothique tt their quality is a bit unpredictable. So far their pad thai, sausage rolls and choc brownies are not tt great. But their laksa, choc fondue and cheesecake are quite nice for e.g. Have heard rave reviews abt Lavish but dropped them cos they were unwilling to do the luncheon at both parents' place on AD. They only wanted to cater for our church recep, so we decided to drop them cos getting 2 caterers would be a hassle!

Pinky,
Agreed the mango crepe doesn't look as appetising but my frens love it! So if i engage Fost*e i have to get it or they will "kill" me! Heh. How come there's no food tasting in ur package, and do u get beer? Tot it may be more worthwhile to get a barrel of beer and if it runs out towards the later half of the banquet, to serve it by the glass?

Gothique,
Wah ur female hammy is very violent! No probs, will wait for ur email

Hey all,
I just went for my first fitting last wk and need feedback on my gowns. Thinking of whether to add lace to the neckline, and what details to add to my WG. Would like some comments on them so if u gals wanna have a look, PM me or leave ur email addies here

Hi girls!

Wah so happening in here now.
Hee it's been a really really long time since i came in here. Was caught up with work and had probs with my comp.

Count, i have also gone for my 1st fitting already.
Hee wasn't exactly what i had in mind, esp the blue on my dress. Anyway overall, FH and myself still love it.

Will share my wedding webby with those who would like to see the dress too..PM me.

Anyway count, hee i would like to take a peek at your pics too. my email add: [email protected]

Hi Gothique,

Thanks for your info. I will need to check if I can get pastor from my church to solemnise for us first. Hmm....the reason is that we just joined church and alot of things still very blur. I understand that we need to go thru some preparatory course b4 we can be solemnise by the church pastor.

Thanks for helping to find out

Hi Count and Kyrie,

Would like to see both your wedding gowns

Hi Adeline, yes need to go through Marriage Perp course, that is a must. But it should not take too long, maybe 2 months only. Doesn't your church have its own building? How come must rent another church?

Very sorry that I still have not managed to upload the montage photos! Because last night the videographer passed me the actual day video. so I spent the whole night watching the DVD!!! and did nothing else! haha!

Lastly... has ANYONE here been to Italy? I'm going in 2 weeks' time and I am desperate for travel tips!!! Anyone been to Rome, Florence, Venice and / or Milan?

Wow, this forum is so active now. I must join in again!

Gothique, I went to Italy for my honeymoon. What tips do you need? Are you going for the summer sales? Envious!

Hi Count and Kyrie,

Would love to see your gowns and contribute comments!
Can send to [email protected] and I'll try to access over the weekend cos cannot view at work.

Gothique, I've been to venice -- it's horribly horribly expensive! A macdonald's meal cost more than 10 sing when I went about 5 years ago. But it's cool to boat about on a gondola. I stayed outside venice (across a bridge at the less-touristy area) so that helped with the accom savings. Also, be careful about which airport your plane brings you into. The one that Ryanair flies into is quite far from the "actual" venice. You have to take a bus for at least 30 mins to get into the canal area. Hope that helps!

I loved Venice. I took the most photos there. But then again, I went in winter so the crowds were down and so were the prices.

We took the train up to Venice from Rome. Are you doing the same?

Hi girls!

Have sent out the link to those who requested..

As for my gown, beadings and laces not up yet. What you will see is only the skeleton of the gown so it's pretty plain. Hee will be going for my 2nd fitting in July and will update then.

Hey Count, saw your photos.
Love the tulle skirt! Btw, is that your EG? It looks sweeter with the lace infront.
I will only be trying on my EG during the 2nd fitting. Hee.. anyway, my fringe's really short isn't it? Have been struggling between the decision to keep my fringe long or like what it is now..short. Long fringe seems easier for the MUA to style but it makes me look older cos of my high forehead.. hai..any ideas?

Oh btw girls, the guestbook in the website doesn't work anymore so maybe you can leave your comments here or drop me an email.
Would definitely appreciate comments on my gown so i can get my designer to work on it.

Hi Kyrie & Count,
Can I have a look at your gowns too? My add is [email protected].

Am still in US. Pretty busy with school and all. I got a year's supply of 2 different wedding magazines and they are piling up on my book shelf. the mag's here are cheap... the amount i paid for the year's supply can only buy me 2 wedding mags in Singapore. but the mags are arriving faster than i have time to flip thru them. still pretty fickle about my wedding gown and evening gown design. how did u gals decide?

i saw Shang's new prices. my dinner in 2007 is costing so much more! and i haven't bargained for any of those extras yet. am only going to meet melanie when i get back.

Twinkle - I am arriving in Rome at Leonardo Da Vinci Airport... going to Venice after Florence.

Has anyone been to Rome? Is the crime rate there really that bad? Everyone has been warning me about it to the extent that I'm thinking, will I even dare to ask a stanger to take photo for me... dare I open my wallet to get money to buy things... dare I bring a bag (sure to get slashed??) And really cannot walk along small lanes freely (sure get robbed?)

2. Is Florence small enough to walk around in one day? How about Venice?

3. Do people there speak ENglish at all?

And I wanted to go Uffizi, but I will be in Florence on Monday only and it's closed on Monday. Tuesday I will be there but got appt already...

Hi to those who already got married...

I just wanna ask, if you have friends who didn't show up at your wedding and never say anything about it, how do you react the next time u see them? I personally find it a bit rude leh... but very weird like the next time u see them, just pretend nothing happen?

Hi Gothique,
Your itinerary sounds a bit similar to mine. We also went to Rome, then Venice, then Florence.

Just be very careful in Rome and you should be fine. I don't think it's a lot of violent crimes, more like petty pickpockets. In fact, my hubby almost got pickpocketed on the train. Luckily the guy wasn't too expert so my hubby felt it and turned around to face him. The would-be pickpocket had to endure our stares till the train stopped 'cos he had nowhere to run to. Ha ha! But we were quite cautious also and didn't get anyone to take photos for us for fear of them running off with our camera. So we don't have many couple shots.

Florence seems quite small - or maybe it's 'cos we mainly wanted to go to Uffizi. I think it can actually be done in a day. Venice also, but it's nice to spend longer there to soak up the whole feel of the place.

Oh yes, it would be useful to have one of those money belts you wear under your clothes to keep your most important document (your passport) and some money.

Hi Kyrie, can you please send me the link too!! thanks..

Hey count, took a quick peek at your photos (in the office now).. and your gowns look really nice.. Esp. your WG, the tulle gives it such a fairy tale look.. i'm sure you're really pleased.
As for your EG, i think the cut is just nice.. not too low but yet low enough to give you that sexy look. And you look great in it... it might just be a case of getting used to it?

Kyrie,
I saw ur gowns! And surfed ur website - so cute! The blue trimmings of ur WG makes it v eyecatching so it shd turn out v well in photos!
Wrt hair, i was also advised by my MUA to keep my fringe long for versatility, so keeping it long for now. Altho it's v irritating and keeps falling in my eyes! Think u shd keep ur fringe long, then see if u like the look. If u don't, u can trim it. And i don't think ur forehead is esp high or anythign like tt, and u look quite girlish, so a long fringe shdn't age u

The back of ur WG is very drama already so u may wanna get ur designer to add details, if any, to the front? Perhaps some beading or lace?

Ling,
Wah! The luxuries of living in US! When we went there on holiday in March, the sheer amt of wedding mags, shopping and food made me a very happy girl indeed! I decided on gown designs by surfing the web a lot. U may wanna speak to Minda too, and ask for her opinions when designing ur gown

Gothique,
Are u leaving soon for ur European honeymoon? Have a safe trip!

Btw, u mean frens who RSVP-ed they were going but were absent last min, or who didn't even RSVP?

Hey girls,
Wrt my gowns, need feedback on whether -
1) My WG shd have embellishments on the train. Thinking of getting sequins sewn on to give it a bit more "bling" cos the tulle itself is plain
2) For EG, shd the straps be cut thinner? Wanted them thinner but was told tt this would make the flesh btw the body and upper arm more obvious, giving it a "chicken wing" effect. But the straps seem a little thick... And do u think i shd add lace to the neckline? Somehow, no lace is kind of low right u think? Not v comfy with it cos i think i look v un-endowed (which i am but feel embarrassed to let my guests know that!)

Hi Count

I meant people who RSVP-ed and didn't turn up in the end. How?! I felt it was quite rude of them...

Count - for your gown, you can do patchwork lace at the train. One of my good friends is doing her gown at Sil too. So ask the staff at Sil to show you the patchwork lace gown, they will know what I am talking about. The designer was Caroline. Is she your designer too?

I wish I can get married again! Then can try out gowns again, so fun...

My montages are up. I've emailed the link to those who asked... the rest, feel free to PM me for the link and I would like to have some feedback on this! Thanks!

Gothique,
I am disappointed with those ppl who RSVP-ed and did not turn up for my wedding. There is one friend who did this to me and in fact, I didn't bother to call her up to find out what happen. And I have decided not to stay in touch with her, unless she takes initiative to contact me. I may seem to be petty in ur eyes, but I'm rather upset. Since it is a friend, I think it is only polite for her to tell me the reason for not turning up.

Kyrie & Count,
Thanks for sharing your pics.

Kyrie,
Overall, your gown looks good on you! The concept of using the blue ribbon is creative, something different. Perhaps you can add some can-can to make 'puff' up ur gown? Do u like that effect?

Count,
Nice gown you have.. u are lucky ya, there are already some laces on your WG on ur 1st fit. Most WG are without embellishments during 1st fit. Tulle gown looks nice & dreamy. Ur EG has a kind of oriental-beauty cutting, fits you very well!

Hi girls!

Thanks for the comments on the gown.

Count, i used to have long fringe and it showed my high forehead especially when it was all brushed to the side. On the other hand, like what your designer said, long fringe is more versatile. Hmm.. as for your gown, think your WG is very pretty as it is. Perhaps like you said, some sequins can be added to the tulle since it's plain now.
As for your EG, i think it looks better with the lace. Gives a little peranakan feel to it as well. Nice!

Hi Georgia, i was actually already wearing a can-can. Hee those with the ring around it? It wasn't very big so perhaps i should request to try on something bigger. I also noticed that the skirt didn't seem puffed up in the pics. Wonder why i didn't see it when i tried it on..hee maybe i was too excited. Anyway, i met with Fr John Lau of SFA two weeks back.. but it was a very short meeting, confirming our dates etc only. My AD's 9th Dec and I'm only meeting him on the 26th Nov to pass him all the documents. Any idea when we're supposed to sign the pre-nup?

Hi Gothique, can i see your montage too?
[email protected] thanks!