Shangri-la Hotel

hi choc cowgirl,
oh yah hor.. i didnt think of that.. hehe. hey ur first fitting in 4 weeks?!? that's like.. so soon!! wow.. must be so excited! yah better quick go get ur shoes.. not easy to find the perfect pair.. unless u custom make

hi biba,
wah i tried to search a bit on some wedding websites also.. but takes super long!!
hey when's ur 1st apptmt? mine's soon too.. mid may. looking forward to it!

ashie, you are with silhouette right? biba, which BS are you with? I think you told me before and I forgot. :P
biba, yes I'm getting a plunging back from jit, I even have to go get very low undies to go with the WG. We have to bring our heels, cos the designer will do the length of the gown according to the height of the shoe. I think I found my shoe already...probably going tmw.

morning choc,
mine is Divine. I am getting my pair from leapin lizard & paradox. But not so soon,maybe in july.
Btw, do u hv any recommendation for wedding planner? I'm thinkin of gettin one as my workload is increasing,dun wan to stress myself. Thot of either wedding act,wedding entourage,bridalinc. Any comment?

Hi choc,

When u ask for an appt with the florists did they ask you why u coming down so early for discussion? Wow...ur WG sounds very sexy...

Where did u see ur heels? I'm looking for 1 too and have not found the perfect 1 yet.

hi biba,
wah! so soon ah?? mine's after yours in mid-may.. very excited too! hey dunno if i ask before.. paisei.. when's ur AD?

hi choc cowgirl,
woah... ur WG does sound really sexy!! but that's silverlining's forte, so guess u really did sign up with the right BS!

yah, me curious too.. where u find ur heels? a lot of brides seem to go for paradox but im not really looking at diamante heels..

hi germ,
so we in the same boat. hey act we can wait for GSS in june right..

germ, the florists did not object to early meeting, in fact they said it was good so that you can determine what you want and for a theme wedding, can also estimate the costs and what they can do. My fiance left to work overseas for 5 mths, that was the reason why I had to settle things early.

Was a bit worried that my WG was too sexy, the front is decent, apparently lowback has a slimming effect! haha.

For my shoes, I need something with lots of diamante as I have a slit on one leg for my EG. I should be getting my shoes from Paradox. Paradox also has covered up shoes, but most of their strappy ones have diamante.

Hi ashie,
yup, very excited abt 1st appt,get to try various gowns..wow..so urs mid may, hmm..u too excited abt it ya.
Oh my AD is on 21.12. Almost xmas time. I thot of xmas but some of ur frienz will be away, we wldn't wan to miss anyone, so we opt for another day. Besides, festive traffic is terrible, me worry guests will turn up late....

Choc,
Paradox is nice,I've been there to try on their strappy diamante,it;s very princessy & gorgeous! Tho its a little pricey but it'll look nice wif ur low-back sexy gown. Me too will be having Divine's low-back, but most prob the cross back type, I'll see wat kim says.
So, have u cfm sebastian?
I may be getting a live jazz band,think etmusic & striiiings not bad.

Hi ashie,

Every1 is making progress except the 2 of us...hehe.

Hi choc,

Tink you have a valid reason that's why they didn't say anything. My FH called 1 and was told too early. How much is a pair?

hi biba, divine has beautiful gowns! I'm having an asymmetrical back with conservative spag strap cos I wanted something different and modern. Haven't confirmed with any florist yet. We are still considering them both.
Germ, I think paradox shoes range from $200 to $400+. Be warned, after you go there, you can be tempted...shoes from other places may not look so appealing anymore.

hi choc cowgirl,
oh, no wonder uve to settle so many thgs soon!! wow.. 5mths is a long time.. u gonna miss him yah.. whenever my bf goes for long detachments i always end up quite sad.. no one to yakk with at the end of the days..

oh so u getting ur shoes from paradox? yah their diamante ones are nice.. esp if u pair it with a gown with high slit...

hi biba,
oh, so your AD is just a week plus after mine!! wow.. near to christmas is good.. then everyone's in a festive mood! hmmm... actually our (germ, choc cowgirl, me, biba) ADs are quite close.. hehe...

btw gals, any idea where i can get nice, plain strappy heels? it's prob just me, but looking for a plain pair without diamantes/crystals.. tks!

hi germ,
hahahah... yah lor, i also say. hey but my 1st apptmt mid-may leh.. dont tell me yours later than mine?!?

choc cowgal,
serious??? then i better not go!!

choc,
Divine & Silverlining has similar signature. Oh, so u must hv a bad time choosing b/w the 2 florists. Is dolly gd at theme oso? can share wif me how much she quoted u based on wat u wan from sebastian. It'll give me a guideline if i wanna have a theme too.

ashie,
ya! mine is 11days after urs! festive mood..hmm..U r looking for strappy plain..satin? try leapin lizard's,not bad, less x than paradox & custom-made somemore. But there r oso others that worth considering. Juz dat mine r mostly from them....its comfy & i always go for diff color satin to match my dinner dresses.

Hi biba,

Certainly hope so. The only work that l'm afraid is songs compilation. I have planned to start from Mar till now...nothing is done.

Hi choc,

Seen a few of their shoes on mag..it is really very nice.I'm sure it will make one's leg looks more sexy. Do we need to make an appt or we can juz pop by to see?

Hi ashie,

I juz went for my 1st appt...now waiting to see the design. Kind of excited....hehe.

hi biba,

hmm.. i havent thot of wat material yet.. satin sounds nice too. thought of the metallic kind.. silver or gold, thin strappy stilettos.. hehe. so leapin lizards is good?? i read some negative comments abt their shoes from some other thread.. but since uve tried n tested it, maybe i shd go chk them out. errr, where is it huh? tks tks..

yup.. yours is 11 days after mine!!

germ,
ya song compilation needs alot of hardwork. Me have not start listening to any suitable ones. Only been to some bridal show,heard some latin pieces, not bad. But if I were to engaged a live band, may not need to compile,save my trouble...hopefully.

ashie,
so far, i've had 3pairs from leapin, so far, wore a few times seemed ok to me. Wat r the -ve comments?
U can check 'em out at International Plaza(near tanjong pagar mrt),ground level, near BurgerKing! The lady is nice...
If u wan, can go to 3rd level(choc,correct me if i'm wrong), for Paradox London. No appt is needed, juz pop by to try on.
Yup, 11 days apart! so share wif me ur wedding event if u do log on to SBO after 10th! perhaps u r away for honeymoon then!!!

germ,
the thg me most scared of is table arrangements actually... can cause unhappiness one.. that's wat i witnessed in a few weddings before.. so praying hard for wisdom in handling that!!
as for song compilation, i think it's meaningful if u play tunes tt mean sth to u and ur fh.. else choose a theme for ur songs-latin/jazz/romantic classics...

hi biba,
sure! i def will if i login.. hopefully from ano country far far away.. heheheh...
i cant reali rem but i read sth abt the quality not being very good.. but guess i'll still pop by to take a look. goodness, i didnt even knew a shop like this existed at Int'l Plaza! tks for telling me.. will pop by!

hi there girls!
germ, for paradox shoes at essex walk at palais renaissance, you can just walk in. I ordered my shoes last night! The lady will ask you questions about your timing of photoshoot and stuff as she will need about one month to get the shoe ready.
As far as I have heard in the forums, the international plaza branch is no more, only the one at palais renaissance opposite hilton hotel.

As for leapin' lizards, the good thing is that you can bring any design to them, and they can make a pair of shoes to that design, they also need about 1 month to complete the shoe. However, it is made locally and honestly, the quality is quite obvious not so good - some shoes can see the yellowish glue marks, use paper kinda material for the insole area of the shoe, it is also not cheap - about $230 for heels with diamante. Comparing it with paradox - made in london, leather insole area and leather sole, good workmanship, that is why in the end I decided to pay a bit more at paradox. No offence biba, maybe it is just my impression form looking at the display shoes.

ashie, if you are looking at shoes without diamante, maybe the usual shoe places like charles and keith, tangs, isetan etc can have reasonable heels.

biba, I think I still have your email, will email you about the florists...don't wanna openly comment on my vendors...just in case they read it.

morning choc,
Hmm..i do agreed with u on leapin lizard's display shoes, they can be alittle dirty & not so gd quality. But the new pairs looks fine. Yes, its made locally,their workshop is at tampines if not wrong. Whereas paradox is made in london,sometimes it can take longer time than leapin's.
Btw, paradox @ IP no more? Thks for updating, quite sometime didn't go IP paradox.
Dun worry, me not offended.

Yup, I've received your email. have replied u too..

Hi biba,

Me tot of hiring band 2 but most of my guests are relatives so dun tink they will appreciate the music. Guess, l can't escape the torture of listening to songs and finding website to download. Wonder is there any wedding planner that will provide such services...hmmmm....

Hi ashie,

Ya, heard abt the prob of table arrangement. Some relatives or friends will outright tell u that they do not want to sit beside so and so. This is another headache. I'm looking at jazz songs...u have any recommendations?

Hi choc,

No need appt, that's gd. Tink l will pop by this wkend. I'm still thinking whether shall l get the shoe for photoshoot or AD? May l ask how much did u pay for your shoe? Can u email me on the comments of the florists 2? Thanks.

germ,
U r rite if relatives made up most of the dinner. For us, 1/3 guests comp from HB,mine,parents.Hence young adults will be 2/3%,not too bad to engage jazz band. I particularly like soul ethnicity jazz..gosh..
Hey, if u like there's one wedding planner that I came across that helps to compile CD..u intend to get planner too? gimme ur email, i'll send u the contact.
another thing, i guess if the seatin plan is arranged properly upon seeking parents view, they'll at least abide & wouldn't grumble much lar. Afterall, its a wedding event,unless they come here for social dinner?!!??

hi girls, biba - actually my paradox shoes will be ready sooner than leapin' lizards. My shoes will be ready in 3 weeks (the saleslady told me that there should be no problem with that, if so, she will lend me a pair from her store with the same height for my fitting), whereas at leapin' lizards they strictly say they take a month, any sooner, must pay extra surcharge.
My shoes cost $380.

hi biba and germ, actually I will only do the seating plan for my guests, for my parents or his parents' guests or relatives - that one will leave to the parents to do lah...less headache and they also know who likes who or don't like who. Maybe you can see if your parents can help you.
Germ, email you already.

Hi biba,

If there is someone who can do the job for me, why not. Can u pm me the contact...thank you so much.

Hi Choc,

$380 is abit ex....your design is those that have alot of diamante issit? Thanks for your email...replied you alrdy.

hi choc cowgirl,
erm, it's a little early for me, but can send me ur comments on the florists too? just to keep for reference... tks gal!

wow, ur shoes are so expensive! thought it's usually 200+ a pair.. is yours highly-detailed? must be beautiful... =) yah, guess i'll check out tangs/isetan..

u know, i always see such nice, plain strappy shoes in those overseas magazines but never seem to be able to find it locally.. the ones here are either too 'decorated' or lack that touch of class.. dunno if u gals know wat i mean. it's like when u see the pics of the stars on the red carpet, their shoes are always nice, plain, strappy, CLASSY ones.. wonder wat is it tt differentiates?? even the jimmy choos avail here are not very nice (IMO). hmm... just thot of sth... maybe it's the wearer...

hi germ,
hey i love jazz!! will be playing jazz songs during my wedding too.. think if u stick to the classics shdnt go wrong.. diana krall, frank sinatra.. can add a touch of pop to the jazz too by using jamie cullen's. the jazz album by westlife is also really well-done. think if u vary the artists it's safe cos ev1 of them haf very different style.. will appeal to diff pple. just rem not to play too many slow, d-r-a-g-g-y songs in one go.. rem a fren doing tt at his weddding n we all suddenly felt sad..!!

hi there, yes the shoes are a bit ex, but I need heels that have more crystals as my EG has a slit up one leg so the shoe will be very obvious. My shoe has straps of diamante but there are a few even more elaborate ones. I took photos of the one I ordered - but as I was using my work camera, I have to wait till next week when I send the film for developing and scan in...my digital camera was taken by my FH.
The most elaborate one I saw was about $440, mine also more ex cos I lowered the height of the heel...originally 4"!!!!

Ok ash....will email you

can anyone provide me with a rough guide as to how much alcohol, including beer and red wine, will be consumed for a saturday night dinner?

all the talk abt WGs is so exciting. muz start deciding on the venue first, then can move on to WGs... hee

hi everybody,

i may become a shang bride-to-be. visited e hotel over e weekend and simply lurve it. e only flaw is that i've most prob can only get 35-37 tables n e ballroom looks a lil empty wif so little tables... does anybody share my experience? any solutions perhaps?

btw e person i spoke to is wendy... can i know if she is gd? 'cuz after reading other threads on coordinaters who disappears during e preps i'm hoping i wont be in a similar situation

hi choc cowgirl,
got ur mail.. thanks!!

wow.. the way u describe it, i cant wait to see ur shoes AND you in ur gown!!
hey if u dont mind, can send me the pics of ur shoes when u get hold of it? me kp.. hehe..

hi count,
erm, i think it really depends on the crowd. very hard to generalise leh.. but i rem being told tt the general rule is 1.5 bottles per table. as for beer, i think it reali depends on ur crowd. best to chk with ur parents/FIL abt wat relatives norm drink n then fh/ur colleagues & frens wat they norm drink then gauge from there. for me, my relatives n fh's colleagues/frens are all wine-drinkers so we've decided to do away with beer altogether. really up to u.

hope u decide on ur venue soon!

hi puiggy,
are u talking abt the tower ballroom? i think 30+ tables are ok.. zann had abt 30 tables n it looked ok in her photos.. very nice n spacious in fact. not cramped at all.

zann, if u reading this maybe can share ur photos with puiggy??

wendy's my coordinator. rest assured, she is very professional n helpful

ashie,

i am here. I don't follow the thread regularly but if have time to read, usually will do a search on recent posting to me.

puiggy,

i agree with ashie that wendy is very pro and helpful. if you interested to view my pics, do leave me yr email addy?

hi ashie,

yes i'll be taking e tower ballroom... everything's perfect except maybe e carpet design cld be improved. u mention that you forgo e beer... so u took more wine instead? how many extra bottles did u get?

hi zann,

would lurve to share ur pics... my email: [email protected]

hi puiggy,

err.. i mean we will not be purchasing any beer for the dinner but wine only. havent decided how many bottles though cos no of tables not confirmed yet.

hehe.. yah i think some of us here also mentioned the carpet thg.. but the ballroom is SO grand n beautiful tt i think it over-rides the carpet

hi zann,

thanks! indeed u look very pretty in e pics n i like ur chongsam... can i know where u did it n how much does it cost?

A few qns and stuff to share:

I think I'm getting 17 bottles of wine in exchange for 1 barrel of beer- is that what you guys are getting too? Calc: price of beer barrel/price of wine ($41).

My salesperson is Melanie- anyone had experience with her? So far she seems nice- but haven't started the real bargaining (pushing our luck).

Also, can the initial deposit be split into instalments?

Just a lil about myself:
AD 21 May 2006 (Sunday)
Tower Ballroom
40-45 tables
Silver package
No beer, just wine
2 night's stay in usual room

Anybody has recent tips to share like bargain corkage down, upgrade room etc?

Oh and because my churh ceremony is on the day before that, am asking them to give a discount to a table of 16 at The Line to celeb with pals. anybody with such experience?

Cheyenne,

Wasn't sure if wat u exchanged is usual anot. I did not exchange for that.So is it a 30L barrel of beer? based on cal. yes,but dunno if they factor in other cost anot,u need to check wif Mel.

So far, dun think the deposit can be spilt into instalments. But the balance bill can be settled when u check-out of the hotel,dun have to pay in progressive terms.

My cockage is standard,very hard to push it down & we leave it as it is.Think upgrade the room can, if u got 2 nite stay at premier rm can upgrade to 1nite stay at garden suite but then changing of gown will be inconvenient since tower wing's rm is nearer to tower ballroom.

For disc at The Line,u can discuss wif Mel.Maybe u wld wan to exchange some items in the package for this. I did not have that. But if you intend to spend alot on shang's banquet, guess u can neg. for more stuff.

hi cheyenne,
how far in advance did u book your banquet?

anyone has any idea how to persuade the parents not to wait for the tong shu? having problems cuz FH's mum wants to wait for tong shu and is quite insistent on it. afraid that i won't be able to get the date... sigh...

count,

which mth r u looking at?

For us, both our parents r not particular & we juz gave them the dates we preferred. They checked wif geomancer to make sure the date is not bad at least & we proceed. My HB & I dun believe in geomancer,we believe that wedding is a jovious & happy event, will ward off any unauspicious thingie as long as we dun wed in lunar 7th mth.
But this applied to my case.

Urs, if they insist on tong shu(which most parents will almost hope to check wif), then see when it'll be out. But if u r looking at next year's wedding, shd be oki. If urs is a HOT date,then 1yr to 8mths ahead to book the venue. But if urs is weekday, it shd be alrite.

Of course if u can cfm the venue earlier, u can concentrate on other preps.

hi biba,
thanks for the advice. our church can only hold the ceremony on saturday and we would like to hold the dinner on the day itself or on a sunday during the lunar 8th month (september/october 2006). quite certain that this is a popular period since there will be 2 7th months next yr... fingers crossed that we can get a weekend date.

btw, any idea which geomancer they went? heard that the geomancer may recommend weekdays and there may not be any suitable weekend dates?

count,

Sorry, i dunno as they dun reside here. No lar, not true lor. They will give u a few dates to choose from, my sis frienz who had seen geomancer is given 2 wkdays & 1 wkend to choose from. It depends on various characters combi.

Oh i din know next yr there r two lunar 7th mth. then it'll be HOT. as usual, lunar 8th mth is very popular esp, for wkends venue hv been booked early to avoid disappointment. Well, if dat's the case, choose a few options that both of u like & ask ur MIL to check wif geomancer. I guess she wld like to hold it on wkends rite?

hi jesmine,
Their food is nice,so far have not heard of anything -ve abt food. Service excellent with a pool of attentive banquet staff.

From my understanding:
weekday-min30tables(Tower),45(Island)
weekend-min35(Tower),55(Island)
Max can be up to 1200pax in the Island.

Hope it helps. You can always call them up for assistance, as all are nice chap.

Hi Zann,

Could i have a link to your photos as well?
We're considering the tower ballroom.

Has anyone been able to negotiate for more wine on top of the free one per guaranteed table?
Cos the wine at Shangri very ex leh.

Hi Biba, thanks. I went down to Shang today and i met Jennifer Ang. Any couple here whose coordinator happens to be her? And also can you all share with me what u bargain for ur package? i am thinking of taking the island ballroom since we expect abt 55 tables at least and also i understand that we can't bring in the hard liquor. What is the corkage like? I think of taking the silver package