Shangri-la Hotel

hi biba,
congrats!! now ure officially a shang bride!

hi choc cowgirl,
wow.. a theme wedding?!? anythg in mind yet? so interesting.. must share with us k? i dont think i'll be having one, but always nice to hear abt it!

hi jaye,
i dont know what's azelea ballroom too.. new ballroom? i thought shang only has 2 ballrooms..

hi delightfly,
sorry but ur 26,888 doesnt ring a bell at all.. unless it's for a weekday banquet. wat's the amount quoted u per table? safe way to calculate is amount per table x min no of tables required x 1.16 (10% svc charge + taxes). gals, pls confirm..

Hey ashie,
ya...very excited abt it. hahaha..well, if got extra cash, then probably will get the ballroom themed but see where we planned for honeymoon. We thot of switzerland/italy so need to set aside at least 5.5k for package & 2k for expenses. So, if the theme needed a top up of 4k, then maybe better use it for honeymoon unless strike rich. But we never bet...lei..

delightfly,
If not mistaken, the price 26,888 is based on min30tables(tower ballroom), weekday rate. so take 26,888 divided by 30tables, u shd get 896 per table.

Have u been in contact with any co-ordinator yet?

Hi jaye, glad you chose shang! Cutting down guest list, perhaps the closer friends and family, and if anyone else ask - just use the 'excuse' limited tables, small intimate venue. That is kinda the excuse I will use too! A polite excuse for pple you are not inviting. heehee. Must have backup list of guests also...in case some of your original list of guests cannot make it!
Any idea if anyone has booked island ballroom on our day?

Hi biba, congrats!! Shang bride also. Negotiate well on the contract ok?

ashie, maybe tell you more as more stuff gets finalized. Maybe later I will post a link to an american website for wedding themes. It is more work to have a theme wedding, at least for me cos I'm not having a wedding planner. Any of you girls with planners? *just curious lah*

Hi delightfly, sorry, not sure about the new packages, most of us here signed up with Shang quite some time ago, at that time it was priced per table.

choco,
Thks ya. Hmm..i'll give my best to get the best deal!!haha..been waited so long, now the green-lite has finally blink!!

Must tell me more of ur link on the themed wedding oki!! wld like to share oso.

So jaye & choco, the same AD!!!& choco wans to know if island's booked so many wedding held on the same day!! wow,maybe i shd drop by to see all set up!!!hehe

hi biba,
yah.. guess if honeymoon's more impt to u, it's wise to save up that extra cash to spend on ur trip! wow.. switzerland has always been my dream destination for honeymoon.. never knew tt my wedding had to be in dec, which means winter.. which is a no-no for me.. sigh. now looking at beach resorts instead.
hey ur AD's also in dec right? if u go then, wont it be super cold? the last time i went to switzerland it was summer n it was alr snowing on one of the mountains i went.. cant imagine winter leh...

hi choc cowgirl,
yes pls share with us ur ideas for a themed wedding!! nope, didnt get a wedding planner. fh n i are more keen on doing it ourselves.. but of cos we got 2 of our friends as coordinators so they can take care of the plan after we've planned! hahaha...

my coordinator is Mel.It's pretty nice working with her. =)

Azelea Rm is just above Tower.
The Pavillion and Waterfall Terrace are too small whilst Island was way too big so we chose Azelea instead.

Hi all, I'm with my laptop now - here is the url on some theme ideas - http://www.beau-coup.com/ideas_and_inspirations.htm
http://www.take2weddings.com/themes/
I also DIY no wedding planner. My friends will also be helping me.
With sebastian, he can help with the theme, he is helpful, but also costly. Not sure if I will go with him as my florist.
Be creative girls!

Jaye, that means that no one booked island on our day yet? I found Island too big also...I ever attended a wedding at Mandarin hotel, ballroom not enuff tables....guests feel cold! I don't want that for mine.

hey choc cowgirl,

Have checked out those webs & there's so much info..wow, u must hv spent quite sometime in getting 'em ya? I think i'll get headaches looking for such. But I'm quite like the various theme the site suggested. Winter themes..

Yeah, winter theme can actually work esp if your wedding is at the end of the year. Even christmas theme. Shang will have a huge xmas tree in the main lobby anyway.

hi biba...
I gues should be the same coordinator we are speaking about.
are u neg with her to?

Azelea capacity is 18+ 2(reserve) but I need all 20 tables so no reserves.

thanks for your help.. i hav not contacted anyone yet but received the new wedg package from Jessica. Tried to called her but she is not around so Jennifer took down my number but no one call me back at all.
Jennifer sounded rather rude when I tried to ask abt the pricing, she said that she will get Jessica to call me back. Now, I am thinking if I should go with Shang since the service is in this way...

hi delightfly, that is strange, did you call jessica directly on her DID number? I don't think any one of us here has this problem with Shang's service, their service has been first class so far, prompt replies to emails, polite staff.
Maybe jennifer didn't want to discuss pricing with you cos she may think that since you have been liasing with jessica, she did not want to confuse you if jessica has already given you a better price and package?
Why don't you just drop jessica an email, that way you are sure she will get it, and ask her to fix an appt with her.

BTW, haha, we are not promoting Shang just because we are its BTBs, if they are bad we will let you know.haha.

hi choc cowgirl,
visited the site.. wow, there are SO many thgs! but actually most of it are wedding favours right? i was expecting to see ballroom set-ups.. hehe.. so u decided on your theme alr? i like the sound of a winter theme. sounds really cool. the christmas one still a bit far away cos urs in nov.. but guess still can. wow, having a theme is act so exciting?! hehe...

hi delightfly,
oh dear.. act i think it sounds like the experience i had also when i called them one day and my coord, wendy, was with a client. this 'bochup' gal picked up n was not very polite. guess she's not one of the coords. but other than that one time, my every experience with the staff at shang was pleasant. wld advise u to isolate tt incident. the most impt person u shd be concerned abt is ur coord cos she's the one who will help u settle everythg from now til ur wedding day.
but of cos, it's still up to you ultimately. just to share my view

hi ashie, yeah the american sites don't have many pics on ballroom decor....imagine lah! They have suggestions on the decor and favours, I think cos their wedding venues usually don't provide favours like here in sg.
Having a theme is exciting...but if DIY, will be a lot of work.

hmm.. yah. unless u get one or two of your closer friends to be ur coordinator(s), which is wat im doing. will take a lot off you n ur fiance

could i ask a somewhat silly question? did u all sustain huge losses for the wedding banquet in terms of red packets? am seriously considering shang but the cost for weekends is bound to be at least $100/person, so I'm wondering if people will at least give $80 per person.

anyone has experiences to share on net profit/loss, after factoring in the cost per table?

Hi count, I think after factoring in wine and beer, the cost of the weekend banquet will be around $120. My dinner is not over yet, but I would think that the min I would give for shang, ritz & fullerton is $120. But it all depends on what your friends and relatives will normally give I guess. My two cents.

Hi ashie, I'm lucky in the fact that my FH has been very proactive in the wedding planning, he has been doing half of the work, and came with me for all appts. I will get my close friends to help me maybe 1 month before. Its fun doing the planning so far!

thanks chocolate cowgirl for the advice. but the general consensus we've gotten so far is that people will give $100/person at most, and if u invite families, $70-80/person. that's why we are somewhat afraid that we will make major losses.

btw, could i ask - what perks did u all negotiate for? do u negotiate before or after signing the contract?

oh, and i asked shangrila already. the pricing is $896+++ per table for the silver menu, and the prices are the same for weekdays and weekends. for the gold menu, it's $1363+++ with the vera wang gown. if the gown is excluded, it will be $300 less...

hey all...
hmm...just my two cents...
Weddings are a matter of personal preferance.
I think that though prices @ Shang might be alil higher than other hotels but you need to compare the 'quality' you are getting. =)
Moreover, a wedding is afterall once in a lifetime( cliche but true!) Thus, a meaningful day as shall should not be seen solely in $$ and cents. =P Enjoy the day being a bride!

yup, agree with you jaye.
Holding my banquet at Shang, I really don't know if I will make a loss, but that should not be the thing that overshadows everything. The wedding is once in a lifetime, unless you intend to marry again, this is your only chance and I wanna make it memorable and myself and my FH should be happy with our choices.
Even if you make a loss, it should be less than $5000.
Even if I make a loss, I will still choose to topup on flowers to make the venue more beautiful, if the wine isn't too good, I buy better wine...as long as I'm happy with my choices, rather than holding it in a hotel that I don't like....miserable bride....not good.

As for negotiation, my coordinator Wendy suggested some perks here and there, we finally got down to negotiation when we confirmed the venue but before signing the contract....cos they also need to draft out the contract with whatever you negotiated. The coordinators are quite flexible.
Perks can be - extra night stay in suite, free corkage for a number of bottles of wine, free beer, projectors, free helpers room....that is all I can remember....quite a while already!

count,
Me agreed wif Jaye & choc_cowgirl's comment. Shang is service-oriented & u r likely to have no regrets abt it as far as I've heard. Well, like they said, marriage is once in a life-time, many hope to make it as memorable as possible & having a gd venue wif excellent service/food is crucial. But of course, diff ppl have preference over venue. So look ard for more feedback & get in touch wif the co-ordinators for more info & neg. the terms b4 signing tho I'm still in the process.

As for losses, I've put aside $4-5k for the worst senerio. Again, I can't comment on those who gives lesser ang-pow or bring whole family for dinner. But as long as everyone is happy, I'm sure the couple wldn't think otherwise. It's unlikely to break-even for weddings but I've no regrets in my venue selection. Afterall, I believe the event will turn out well & most imptly, my HB & myself will enjoy ourselves thru'out.

So count, check wif 'em on the new package & view other venue if possible for comparison. Neg. is a must b4 signing ur contract!

hi choco cowgirl,
wow.. ur fiance's really good to u.. half of all the preps so far?!? that's so sweet of him
good good.. wedding preps shd be enjoyable.. im enjoying it too, tho so far never do anythg much yet.. kekeke. hey, i rem u mentioned buying sm mags to research for ur EG... can give me some suggestions?? im due for my 1st apptmt soon n still *blur* abt wat i want! tks tks...

hi count,
for my fiance n i, we will assume 100% loss ie we'll be paying for the entire dinner. watever we get back in ang pows will be a bonus. this' wat my fiance told me, to get the mindset right tt dinner is rightfully paid by us n anythg else is a gift to us. but if breaking even is impt to u n u dont seem to be able to achieve tt easily at shang, then i'd suggest choosing ano venue.

pls dont get offended with watever i say bcos i personally think there's nothing wrong with wanting to break even (i hope i can too!), it's really a matter of priority cos if the dinner's not tt impt to u, no point spending a bomb on it!

hi ashie, I think what is impt is to choose a colour that will make you stand out in the ballroom as you are the bride, the centre of attention. So maybe pastels may not be so good idea, a more prominent colour better, but it should look good on your skin tone. I also chose a gown design that is very different from my WG, if one is already bustier, no point the other also bustier right? Not unless that is the only style that looks good on you!
Try looking thru maybe oscars website for pics, go to kinokuniya and flip thru their overseas bridal mags. Sometimes you can take the WG designs in the mag and use a more prominent colour and tada!...EG!
If you don't know what you want then, leave it to your designer with trust.

oh and whatever you really like, try to bring it to show the designer, a bit difficult to describe this and that, sometimes easier to just show the picture. I even chose different types of fabrics for EG and WG. Hope this helps dear.

hi choco cowgirl,

that definitely helps!! thanks so much.. *muacks!* ure so helpful
ure right abt getting different styles/materials as wg.. as for color.. yikes, i cant imagine myself in a strong color, tho ure prob right abt it standing out more than pastel colors. maybe if i choose a light color i can add beads/sequins to make it stand out a bit more.. hmm.. idea idea.. hehe. btw wat material u using for ur eg? satin's a common choice right.. but i rem reading in the recent herworld brides tt there're several types of satin. sheesh, there're even sub-types under a type of material *faint*

yes thanks for the advice. was just kind of worried as we just paid the downpayment for our house and got a new car, and are thus quite broke. i have yet to start work so we are surviving on sole income...
his parents may be paying but i feel kind of bad to put them through such expense, esp since i cannot contribute much, with no income and all...
but i think shang is marvellous and nice. just keep my fingers crossed that his parents will agree =)

hi count, well weddings are expensive...cos once in a lifetime, wedding vendors also charge more cos every customer will visit them only once in a lifetime. Think thru what you want for your wedding, what is within your means, whether you want his parents to 'subsidize' it, and don't forget to visit Shang!

ashie dear, my EG is in duchess satin and my WG the train is in organza...lots and lots of organza...not sure what the rest of the gown is made of...hahaha! I don't think that you really need to decide on the material, the designer will advise, most brides know nothing about material. I just pointed to a gown in a mag and told mine 'I want that colour'!

Choc_cowgirl,

Me looking into web for ideas too. Will be meeting my desiger early May, need to come up wif designs.
Managed to download this gown, a ballgown, but file too large for uploading.they use Duchesse Satin, Tulle for it. I've always dream of having a tulle gown..

hi biba, sounds beautiful. Can try describing to your designer, or maybe see if you can find a similar design in a magazine? Mags are more portable.

hi count,
hahaha.. u sound like me.. i havent started working too so depending on my fiance's sole income

ur PILs are so nice!! *envious* guess u n fiance shd think it through then ask them only if u two really really want it at shang. better than ask alr then regret or worry abt 'making back' from the angpow money later.. wedding shd be as worry-free as poss!!

hi choc cowgirl,
*faint* ure right i think i leave it to my designer. hey any mags to recommend to look tro for my EG? realised all the wedding mags i bought have 90% of WGs n only 10% of EGs.. AND the EGs are mostly yucky!! *faint*

hi biba,
errr... u search which website ah?? can share?? tks

thanks ashie. so how many tables are u having? just curious since u have budget constraints too... nice of ur fiance to pay for the full dinner.

for us, we still have to factor in the cost of the church ceremony which will come up to at least $3K cuz the rental of the church itself is almost $1K...

when's ur AD?

btw, does anyone know if the 8 course menu at shang alright? is there sufficient food such that the guests are full? which dishes are their specialty?

hi count,
oh hehe.. well, actually it's my parents who wanted us to have it at shang.. i was looking at cheaper hotels initially cos didnt want to spend so much on my wedding, but they told us they will be blessing us with a 'gift' so we cld have it at shang. so im really thankful
hey u too.. ur PIL going to pay for ur dinner right? that's really nice of them.

as for no of tables, im trying to keep to the min cos we agreed to keep it a small affair so it can be more personal. think this' not so much the money issue as our desire to celebrate with the pple closest to us.. but of cos if it's colleagues then cant help it la.. haha..

hey i'll be having a church ceremony too!! wow, u having urs at chijmes is it?? how come the rental's so expensive? mine's only a few hundred i think.. but that's cos we're holding it in my fiance's church, of which he is a member.

my AD's in dec this year.. when are u planning to have yours?

i think 8-course at shang's quite sufficient.. at least that's my experience for the wedding dinners ive had there.

hi ashie, most wedding mags feature more WG. If you really like the design of a particular WG, you can also suggest that design for EG.
Of course your real WG needs to be of a different design. I have mostly local mags, but I bot martha stewart recently too...the american WGs are more simple and classic.

hi ashie,
we are going to have the ceremony at our home church and not chijmes, but it is still not cheap as the rental is solely for usage of the venue w/o chairs etc.

my AD is sometime in oct/nov next yr, haven't confirmed precise date. but planning to book by this may. thanks for the advice...

we actually wanted to keep the wedding really small but my fiance's dad has many relatives so we can't...

how's ur preps going? =)

hi choco cowgirl,
wow.. u bought the martha stewart mag?? think i saw it before.. very exp!! haha.. anyway, have given up trying to look for a EG design i like.. think i'll just see wat my designer comes up with then choose from those. think the problem is tt ive not tried on any EGs so dont really know wat looks good (err.. better ;p) on me. so ure just waiting for ur gowns to be made right? when's 1st fitting? wow.. cant believe ure at this stage alr.. so excited for you!!

hi count,
oh really? home church so exp? i thought usually they will charge a nominal fee if ure a member of the church..

i dont have much preps going on now actually.. booked most of the stuff alr.. venue, BS, PG, VG. oh yes, just an advice, book ur AD photographer early cos the one i'd wanted was alr booked for my AD when i approached him A YEAR before! good photographers/videographers get booked fast, n since they can only commit to one couple for each wedding day, it is better to secure them as soon as ure sure. i personally think booking a BS can actually wait a bit more cf photographer. unless, of cos, photog is not impt to u.. or if it's tied up with the BS package (AD photog usu is not)

all the best n let me know if u need any help

Hi there ashie, ya the overseas mags are a bit more ex, but gives a bit of perspective also - at least you know that there are other ideas you can use for your wedding. For your EG, I'm sure your designer will help you with it, and you will look awesome.

count, I agree with ashie, I have always been a proponent of AD PG and VG first, after venue! For the simple fact that they can only take 1 job a day. My first choice VG was also booked 2 years in advance!!

choc cowgirl,
WHAT?!? 2 years?? *faint* actually i never asked how long before was the photographer i wanted was booked.. but i seriously never, ever thought pple cld do it TWO YEARS BEFORE! *faint again*

count,
think u shd be panicking a bit now right..? hahaha....

oh, choc cowgirl, tks for the affirmation.. yup, will leave it to my designer

oh my goodness. does that mean that i must book my venue fast as well? two years in advance is really long... btw, which BS did u all go to? how did u all decide which BS was better? go and try the gowns or what?

yeah ashie, I also shocked, and admitted defeat! hahaha

count, don't worry, I think if you plan to book by May, it is still very early, unless right now you are already very very sure and must have the particular ballroom on the particular date. I think those pple who book the VG or PG really really super early are those 'diedie must have that VG/PG' type of pple lah.

I visited feline bridal and sophia bridal at tanjong pagar - went with a girlfriend who was with one of the BS - didn't like the first one, found the second one very pushy. Then I visited ted wu, kai couture and silverlining bridal couture - they were refreshing and sooo different in service. I eventually chose silverlining.
If you book appt with the BS, they will have time dedicated to you and can sit down with you to explain stuff and let you try on maybe 3 or 4 gowns for you to figure out their workmanship and what looks good on you. I really liked ted wu and silverlining, but in the end the dreamy lowback gowns of silverlining and the super nice designer won me over.

I'm still very very pleased thus far - waiting for my first fitting.

Hope this helps dear count.

Maybe we shang brides should meet up some day...we talk so much here.

hi count,
errr... yah i think 2 years is really super advanced too.. i wld think abt 1 year is sufficient, but doesnt hurt to book earlier if u alr know the date u want to get married on

as for BS, wat i did was i flipped mags to see which studio has gowns tt i like.. more the style than the gowns actually. then shortlist them n pay them a visit. for me, i only went to TedWu's and Silhouette. i think it wont hurt to go to a few more, just tt im not really a shopper. service is as impt as the gowns, so talk to the designer n try on a few gowns when ure there. my designer was absolutely lovely, n her gowns completely won me over, so signed up with them in the same week. ted wu is great too, but only if u like embriodery. i dont fancy it on me (think choc cowgal too.. but germ loves it! ;p) so it's really up to u..

hope this helps!

choc cowgirl,
hmm.. yah.. so wat do u suggest.. meet at shang??

hi ashie, I liked the ted wu style and the embroidery, but I love flowy soft gowns more...so in the end I did not choose ted wu.
no lah, meet at shang difficult for pple who don't drive, like me!

Halo gals,
been long since i last wrote.

Ashie,
me juz went searching via engine, no specific website or rather I forgotten my last search haha..simply typed wedding gown & gotten lottsa site so slowly browsed one by one. Some got more info while others not much use.

Hur, did u say meet at shang? me like choc cowgirl, dun drive, alittle diff. unless i meet co-ordinator.

Choco cowgirl,
Me too fond of flowy soft gowns esp. chiffon, organza type. a duchess satin looks heavy on my petite frame.
Goin for 1st appt soon,will start gown designing.
How's ur mtg wif sebastian? any conclusion? did u meet dolly?
Lately, busy for hse warming prep. Any cater to recommend?

hi there biba, yup met up with both sebastian and dolly, sebastian is more creative but he is more expensive, while dolly is more flexible. Still scratching my head.
Hey so fun, to design gown!

I'm going for my first fitting in 4 weeks, now a bit stressed...must buy shoes!!!

hi choc,
So can dolly match your intended deco? cos i dun think she done much themed wedding. How's her cost for a sebastian-liked's work?

Oh how's ur WG & EG look like? Did u do for jit's signature back? Btw, is it a MUST to buy inched shoes for gown fitting? Dun the studio have a pair? I thot the concern is on the height of the heels, but if we buy now, perhaps we fall in love wif another pair..then how? ?????