Shangri-la Hotel

hi ashie, already went for 3 appts with my BS so far, already designed my gowns, so I'm waiting for my first fitting.

When are you going for your appts?

hi ashie,

Ya,me still deciding but got dates oredi. Really carpark small ah? we got many frienz that drives. oh, thks for reminding me! dat's impt too. I dunno abt each florist,as i've not seen FS's deco. All e while, I oni seen shang & alittle tired of similar crystal..i'm into more royal garden feel. U?
Long time, did not email u. How's prep? I think most prob I'll go Divine.

hi choc cowgirl,
wow that's really fast! you must be so excited.. hehe. tell me how it goes. my 1st apptmt only in may. maybe cos my PS is late - mid oct. anyway i asked for as late as poss cos i 'work' better under pressure. hehe.. so uve alr designed both gowns? ur first fitting anytime soon?

hi biba,
yah.. so long never hear from you nor see u ard.. hey the carpark thg ah, pls dont take my word for it.. tho i really heard quite a few pple comment on it. better you go chk for yourself

err, wat's "royal garden" feel? i dont think i'll be having crystals too.. more a flowers person. really hope what they provide is sufficient cos i def want a room filled with flowers! is this considered "royal garden"?
ive signed up with silhouette. just last month. you checked them out yet? but if ure into nice, low-back gowns, then def must go divine. update me!

biba, check your email!

hi ashie, my first fitting will be may at earliest but I can go for it when my schedule permits. My photoshoot will be in sept and maybe also in aug. Yeah designed both gowns already, designer was rather patient with me cos I think it took like 1 hour to design each!
I don't think I will be having crystals either, I'm a flowers person also! But my fiance wants lots lots & lots of flowers...gonna burn a big hole liaos.

biba,

if you are into royal garden, can discuss with the florist leh.

chocolate cowgirl/biba,

i also ever consider four seasons and went to meet up their coordinator b4. After some consideration, decided on Shang cos both of us simply love Shang's ballroom and also if i rem correctly Shang's package more attractive? Not sure about four season's latest package, but at our time of enquiring, i remember they have various other charges like seat covers not included in the package and is at additional cost.

just like to check if anyone has any idea if the prices advertised mentions that it is valid until end of 2005, it will not be valid for wedding in 2006 even if we book before 2006?

Ooshie,

hmm, logically speaking i think if it says offer valids till 2005, then it should mean if you book by 2005 for a date in 2006, the price will be secured for u. Normally, is the date you sign on the contract and confirm the booking that will indicate whether you getting the older price or new price.

Hi ashie, Zann & chocolate cowgirl,

thanx alot for the advices.Will arrange a time to view the ballroom & see their packages.

Oh, four seasons actually require 40 tables? Is that for weekends? 40 tables are quite alot..but the ballroom really attracts me..hee.:p

Ashie..you mentioned that one of your friends had her AD at Ritz & the price is slightly cheaper over there compared to Shangr-la..wow,alittle surprised as i always thought that RiTz is a 6 stars hotel & their packages are very expensive.

Im interested in having my AD at Shang too.
But is worried about the food. Can anyone share wif me how is the food there? Thanks.

hi zann,
went down today but was unable to check anyting coz no one from the catering side was around. Anyway i took a copy of the wedding pacakge but it mentioned like 23888 +++ instead of per table leh .... do you think that the price of the table will increase from the one on the internet?

astro,

what abt the food you worry?

Ooshie,

actually you can just call them up to check abt the validity of price question. Call them this coming week day loh.
I dunno how much the internet showing but i believe the wedding brochure should have menu price per table. Not sure you don't have?

hi zann,
yeah i think i will call up tomorrow again but i dun really like the person whom i have been speaking to so far ... not very much help also ... got the new borchure for 2006 but not sure if the prices are valid if i book this yr for next yr hee... anyway how much deposit must i bring down and how did you settle all the payments (if you dun mind me asking)...
and one more request ... can i see your photos?? hehe everyone in the forum seems to like your AD photos so much..can share? thanks!!!!!

Hi ashie & choc_cowgirl,

Just received an email from Wendy telling me that Island reno will be postponed to next yr. Tis is becuz they are doing a major reno and 1 mth is not enug. Its a bit sad cuz tot will hve a new ballroom to use. Hope management will change their mind...haha.

hi choc cowgirl,
wow.. ur fiance wants LOTS of flowers?? that's a change from the usual guy.. hehe.. my fiance says when it comes to decor, i can have anythg i want

wow.. it takes so long to design a gown? hehe.. never knew that. act im not looking forward to it yet cos im totally clueless still!! any advice?

hi winterwhite,
oh dear, i think u misunderstood me!! the min req't for four seasons is nowhere near 40 tables!! it cant hold that many in the first place. i think it's 20+ max. quite a small ballroom. as for the ritz price, yah that one i can confirm cos i attended my good friend's sister's wedding end of last year when i was scouting for a venue and he told me it's slightly under 1000 after +++. guess if u think abt it that way, it's def more "value for money". but my parents didnt like the ballroom so we decided on shang. not sure if the price has gone up tho.

hi astro,
ive heard mixed reviews abt the food there.. but i personally find it above average. not fantastic but not yucky too. think it's quite individual. sorry i dont know how else to help you on this.. maybe you can try the food at shang palace to get a rough gauge

hi ooshie,
you can call up and ask for my coord, wendy. she's a very nice and professional lady whom im sure will be of great help to you

hi germ,
oh dear.. sorry to hear that. but well, the ballroom's alr very nice and grand.. so dont dwell on it too much!

Ooshie,

do you know the name of the person you spoke with? I second ashie that Wendy is nice and helpful.
when you call the catering sales, can ask them abt the deposit amt also. Do you mean the balance amt for the banquet? You can pay by cash or credit card

Yes, i can share with you my pic but i need yr email address.

hi zann,

yeah i do know but better not say right haha anyway i decided not to take up the dinner with shang already coz i think the new pricing for weekdays is ridiculous .. my opinion altho it is my dream venue.... thanks a whole lot tho!

hi winterwhite, I agree wth ashie that Four Seasons ballroom is not able to take 40plus tables, it is 20+ at the max.
ashie, maybe I took quite a while to design is cos I'm fussy??? Then again I knew what I wanted, so it was not like he was designing too many different things. My designer is very nice and his personalized service and cheerful demeanor makes me, my fiance and my mum really look fwd to meeting him each time.
ashie, maybe you should browse thru magazines both local and overseas mags to get some ideas. If you already have an idea of what you want - bustier, classic clean-cut or dreamy etc...then just concentrate on those type of gowns. Heck I even looked at the oscar red carpet pictures to get inspiration for the evening gowns. But of cos in the end you have to trust the designer and remember that the designer can only create what he knows and is adept at creating. Eg you don't go to kai couture and ask for the orchid collection from ted wu. Don't stress...just keep an open mind. As long as you look fabulous in the gown!

hi germ,

silver package - each table will be @1039 nett
the only diff between wkday and wkend is the min tables required
gold / platinum is much more ex coz of inclusion of vera wang gown and accessories etc.
do not have the pacakge with me right now so cant give you more details. the rest of the freebies etc is almost the same as the 2005 package

Hi Ooshie,

Now Shang package includes vera wang gown & accessories....l'm sure they will have 1 package that only have banquet rite?If yes, then it will not be that ex after all.

hi Ooshie,

don't they have the basic package instead of those that are bundled with gowns and such?
i have sent you my album link.

yeah they do have the basic pacakge which is priced at 1039 per table lor for both weekdays and weekends!... the vera wang package is even more ridiculous if i dun remember wrongly its about 42K (not nett) for the gold pacakge which works out to about 1400 per table! and i havent even added the taxes. Lucky those that are having their wedding this yr coz they are going to implement this for the Perfect Wedding thingy for all weddings from next yr...damn!!
yeah forgot to add...did a quick check with Ritz also, they are adopting the same concept i.e weekday & weekend same price each table is at $1041

Hi Ooshie,

What abt the menu? Could it be that they have included some special dishes into the menu. Actually 1039/table sounds resonable for a wkend banquet. Tink most gals here are paying ard there after adding all taxes.

wah, it seems like the prices have been increased quite a bit. But the strange thing is how many brides would be willing to splurge on vera wang gowns? I don't think it is that common in Singapore.

hi choc cowgirl,
you mean you looked at the oscars gowns for inspiration TOO?? hahahah... so im not the only silly dodo ard... ;p
anyway ur designer sounds like a very nice guy.. ure with silverlining right? so i shd expect some sexy low-back no for you... must show me pics aft ur PS ok?! btw as for the color/material of the EG, how'd u decide? did he show the exact material to u before u decided? or did u just trust him to pick the right one for you?
haha.. i let out a giggle when i read abt the "dont go to kai couture and ask for the orchid collection from ted wu" - that's funny

hi ooshie,
the 1039 sounds ok to me too.. germ's right, we're paying tt price for weekend dinner after all the pluses. so why dont you hold ur dinner on a weekend then, since there's no difference btw weekend n weekday price now? more convenient for ur guests too..

choc cowgirl,
price got increase meh? *scratch head* how much u pay? ur banquet also weekend right?

yeah ... actually i was so set on a weekend was willing to pay for the 1030 price set for this year anyway... but the thing was that my dear mum was so good at convincing me that a weekday will be just as good .. (she meant that the angpaos will be the same anyway) then we were like yah hor logical .... and then when we were all set to confirm booking and all ... they had to come up with the new pacakge for next yr ..we were like ...!!!!!!!!! you noe what i mean after all the planning and deciding and coaxing just when we decided to do on weekday then theyhave to do this .. hiaks anyway stll considering lah .. will keep you guy update .. i really wanna be a shang bride also

oi ashie, who are you calling a silly dodo?
my evening gown is a lowback while my evening gown is a bustier. For the colour of the EG, it took me quite a while to decide. The colour must look good on asian skin and match ballroom decor to some extent. I found the colour I liked in martha stewart wedding mag and I brot it to show him. He showed me a sample of the fabric and designed a few pieces for me to choose. Sil is known for beautiful gowns too...sure yours will look fab!

hi ooshie,
oh i see.. guess it depends on how much you like the ballroom then.. you checked out other hotels too? keep us updated n all the best! remember, this' supposed to be enjoyable!

hi choc cowgirl,
you lor.. ops.. hahaha...
errr.. so which is the lowback n which is the bustier..?? quote "my evening gown is a lowback while my evening gown is a bustier" hmmmm... doesnt this justify the statement above??

wow... u act bought the martha stewart wedding mag? quite expensive right? does it help?
thanks for the reassurance. silly me didnt ask to see or try any evening gowns during my visit to Sil so dont really know what they are like.. just trusting my designer!!

ashie, paiseh, typo. My wedding gown is a lowback while my evening gown is a bustier. Actually it is possible to have both a lowback and bustier on one gown..just a bit too revealing for my liking. I feel that the overseas mags have different angles than the singapore mags. american mags feature more clean cut classic gowns while the european ones tend to have more dreamy kinda gowns that I like.
I'm sure you can try on some evening gowns when you go down to design or choose your gown. OTR? MTM?

hi choc cowgirl,
seems like we're online at the same time.. heh. yes i know wat you mean.. my friend just got married in a divine gown which was a bustier + low-back. somethg i think looks nice on someone else but not wat i'd want to wear on my wedding too. hmm.. thanks for telling me abt those mags. maybe i shd check them out. mine's mtm. EGs usually are i think.. unless i manage to find one tt i fall in love with!! hahaha.. quite rare i think, cos an EG has so many more dimensions to it like cut, color, material...

btw which photographer you engaging? i saw my friend's PS photos at the wedding n they were very well-taken!! by DayLight pictures (or photos) and fh n i were so impressed by the album. the photos are fully printed on the pages itself n looked really classy. made me regret a lil tt i signed with CL alr.. CL's albums are photos pasted on black pages in the album. come to think of it.. almost like a scrap book..

Juz to check, is shang's payment terms for banquet something like this: besides deposit, got to pay 10% of expected total bill 3mths B4 AD,another 10% 2mths B4,20% 1 month b4? Is it standard for all hotels?

Pls advise?

biba,

sounds familiar..but i thought u also have the option of paying it after the banquet or before you check out the hotel?

ashie, you can check them out at kinokuniya, I browse thru them before I buy, cos I don't intend on buying every magazine! I agree with you that EG is so much more variable, that is why in the end I chose the colour first, and my designer created about 5 different EG for me to choose. CL = chris ling? I signed up with Ray Ong for my PS, CL would have been another one I would definitely consider except that I already fell in love with ray's work about a year ago at my friend's wedding. I'm sure you would love your photos by CL.

Hi zann,
sorry for the late reply
i heard many negative feedback on the food

dunno shall i have it at shang.

can share with me ur pic too? my email: [email protected] thanks!

Hi ashie,
thanks. thinkin of having a food testing first but people was saying that the food during food testing is diff frm AD.

hi astro,

what kind of negative feedback you heard?
the feedback i got were good..
whats yr intended AD date?
i have sent you the link to my pic.

Hi ashie & choc_cowgirl,

Me 2...look at oscar for some EG design. What do u gals tink of toga? Is it still in or the trend is coming back? What color did u choose for ur EG? There is so many colors to choose from and i'm totally lost.

Hi biba,

Ya, that the payment scheme l got in the contract.

Hi zann,

U mean we can nego to pay after the dinner?

hi biba & germ,
yes, you can ask to pay all of it after the banquet. better to confirm with your respective coords.

hi choc cowgirl,
oh we're allowed to flip tro them at kinokuniya? that's great! hehe.. thanks for the tip ;p
oh yes ive heard of ray ong.. heard he's good too

hi astro,
oh u heard so many negative feedback on the food? act personally i dont think it's that bad.. maybe some pple are just bit more fussy.. but honestly speaking, how good can banquet food be? it def cant compare to wat we get to eat in restaurants like shang palace cos banquet being banquet, the chef has to cook for hundreds of pple!
ive learnt tt there will always be pple not happy with watever decisions we make for our wedding.. so my advice is, as long as you & fiance and ur respective parents are ok with it, then go ahead. it's hard enough pleasing 4parents, let alone relatives + frens..

hi germ,
hahaha... so you're another one!!

i think toga's great!! i love toga.. sexy yet classy. i alr have 2 evening dresses in toga cut else i'd def consider it for my wedding.. dont think there's a trend where toga is concerned. i personally think it's a classic cut. and actually i rather it not be the trend.. else everyone else will be wearing it!

hi germ,

don't need to negotiate for this payment scheme.
As far as i know, is one of the options available?

Dear gals & btb,

Yes, thks for all info. I've checked that pre-payment is optional.

Astro,
I had my solemnization there at waterfall terrrace last 2years & alot singing praises for the food & svc. superb, no worries but again like ashie said,there are always ppl whom we can't pleased so as long as 80% of the guests r satisfied, we r contented haha....

Hi ashie,

I'm tinking of having toga's design for my WG...wonder will it be funny cuz not many brides wear WG in a toga design. I will see wat Ted design for me 1st then l will decide. U have alrdy decided on ur EG design liao..that's fast. Now, l'm lookin at what kind of flowers l like to hve.

Hi zann,

Wendy didn't tell me abt this...she only show me the payment scheme attached in the contract. Will check with her on this.

hi germ,

oh so your toga's referring to your WG.. yes, definitely rare. initially i thot u were talking abt EG. hmm.. cant really imagine it actually, but am sure ted will do a great job for u!!

no la.. i havent designed my EG yet.. just saying tt im sure i wldnt want a toga cos i alr have a few evening dresses in toga style

erm, flowers as in for decor or hand bouquet?

Hi girls!

germ, my EG is a purplish deep fuchsia colour. I think if you can't decide on the colour, either look at magazines and if you see any models/brides with skin tone about the same as your own, that colour will probably look good on you too. The other way is to just let your designer choose a colour for you. If you have an idea of the colour theme of the dinner...you can get a colour for EG that compliments it?
There was a toga WG in ted wu's orchid collection that I tried on and fell in love with, it was in duchess satin with a ballgown, rather plain but with an orchid applique on one shoulder. Loved it. I think a toga WG is really unique and you should consider it if you look good in it. Maybe you can try on that piece I'm talking about...the pple at ted can find it. On the latest style weddings mag, joanne peh is wearing a frederick lee toga WG, very beautiful! It is very elaborate!

see ashie! we are not the only dodos who look at oscar fashion! hee hee!

Zann,
feedback like diluted sharkfin...
my Ad in 2006
wow nice pic.. wic is ur BS? im goin to look for BS soon. BTW, u have two EG?

ashie & biba,
yup, agreed wif u gers. we cant make all happy.
but the problem is my fiance's dad is not very keen in shang.. hai... trying to convince him

Hi ashie,

I'm referring to both decor & bouquet flower. Ya, l will see wat Ted design 1st then l will decide whether to go for the classic or unique WG design.

Hi choc_cowgirl,

Tat's the prob...everyone hve been asking me what is the theme of my wedding....l hve not tot of that qn yet. Maybe that's why it is hard for me to decide on tings like EG color, flowers to use rite.

Gd choice of EG color....l'm sure u will stands out among all ur guests.

Oh l know which WG u are referring to. Ya, next time when l'm there l shd try it on and see whether l look gd in a toga's design.

germ, when is your AD? Sorry I think you told me before. There should be enuff time for you to decide on the colour and all that. Alternatively, just choose a EG colour that you look fabulous in and then choose the decor colours to compliment your EG colour to make sure you look stunning!

gals,
anyone gonna engage trio or jazz for dinner? Any contact to spare?

Me thinking of having something special & a little surprise for HB.hehehe...