Shangri-la Hotel

Hi choc_cowgirl,

My AD in oct. Ya, hoping to finalise on my gowns by may. Do u know when is the time we need to go visit the florist on the decor?

hi choc cowgirl,
hahaha.. that makes it three of us

agree with germ, am sure you'll stand out that nite!! wow.. that's a very unique colour.. took me some time to finally picture it in my mind

hi germ,
wow, still got theme one.. i cant think of any except colour themes!! initially wanted an all-white wedding, but idea got slammed by both my fiance n mum cos they din like the idea of all-white.. so will def have some colors.. just not sure wat yet.. pls let me know when u think of a theme.. i need some inspiration!

hi biba,
we init wanted to get one.. but experience i had with a jazz band at my friend's wedding was tt it kindof contributed to the 'noise' in the ballroom.. but then again it's a smaller ballroom (intercontinental's). effect may be different in shang but we decided to do away with it after tt experience..

hey germ, I think I remember wendy saying something like 2-3 months before the wedding to visit the florists, but of cos you can always visit them earlier if you want to have ideas on decors, cos they will have more photos than shang on the decor so that you can plan your colours and flowers. Must call for appt I think.
so its germ in oct, me in nov and ashie in dec...3 in a row.

hi choc cowgirl,

oh we have to visit the florists so early? i thought just a few weeks before the wedding.. hehe, thankfully you mentioned.

yah, 3 in a row.. i think i'll be over-excited for mine after you two!! pls remember to pop by to tell me how it went after your wedding..

Hi ashie,

Actually l'm tinking of a oriental theme like red roses but my hubby prefer white lilies. Till now cannot come to a conclusion yet. Dun worry, l will come in and tell u all the feedback l received.

Hi choc_cowgirl,

Ya, maybe we shd go down earlier to see the decor that the florists offer and can know whether we need to top up on any particular flowers.

germ, I think the oriental theme is also very pretty, love the lush red roses, only I don't want too chinois a look tho.
compromise? Red & white? Patriotic colours?
Will definitely pop by after the wedding.

noticed you are talking abt time needed to select decor.
actually my experience is don't need to visit the florists so early..
even if you go there, they just show u the standard pics of stands, centrepiece,
then you just need to pick the type of flowers and the stands and yr colour theme etc
then u go to the cold storage place to choose the type of flowers.
Doesnt really need as much timing as few months. You will probably be more well prepared
if you know roughly what type of decor/colour theme or flowers you want maybe by looking at pics
from the magazines etc. Unless the type of decor u want is more of special request which
is different from the standard accessories like lanterns (those that quite likely need top up)
etc then maybe you need more time. For my case, the decor was selected like 2 wks to 1 mth
before the wedding date.

hi astro,

no leh, my guests got good comments on the food
my BS is Julia Wedding News...
You mean on AD? One is EG One is CS...not two EGs

hi germ,
errr.. red roses doesnt necessarily mean oriental theme rite..? anyway lilies will make your ballroom smell really nice.. i lurrrrve the smell of lilies.. *dreamy* but i think they're not cheap. yes pls! must come in to tell me how your wedding goes.. i'd be excited to hear

anyway u mentioned sth abt the color of ur EG having to match the carpet/ballroom... is it really noticeable? wendy mentioned it to me before, but i thot it's negligible.. wat abt the others?

choc cowgirl,
hehehe.. red n white's really very patriotic.. cannot lah, some more mine military wedding.. confirm overload ;p

zann,
yah i rem u chose the decor quite close to your wedding. i'd prob do that too. just curious, did u eventually leave the table centre pieces on throughout the dinner? or did u remove them before the dinner started? cant rem if it was you or pleasance who mentioned something abt this..

hey I was just kidding, ashie!
As for colour theme, actually if most things are in the same colour theme, eg red, I think that it will look more beautiful, rather than like red flowers, blue EG, green guestbook, yellow table cloth. It is not a must, but it will be nice if it were all in sync. Although I'm surely not going to match the carpet!!!

hahah.. that was funny

yes i get wat you mean.. the flowers, table-cloth, stage etc shd all match to a certain extent yah.. but still cant get the part abt EG having to match these..?!? guess when i finally do my dinner would have started alr.. hahaha...

Don't worry!
if you are like me, colour scheme keep changing, cannot decide, then choose a colour that you look fabulous in for your EG. Then the ballroom decor can be a colour that compliments your EG. That's what wendy suggested.

haha.. thanks

actually i think your EG colour is really lovely n unique.. how'd you decide on it? did ur designer help you? or did u know wat u wanted beforehand alr? im utterly clueless still.. my mum suggested that i choose a magnificent color (i think yours is) as the ballroom is very grand.. yet i prefer pastel colors.. so many considerations.. *groan*

I chose that colour out of a magazine, and the model had a skin tone that was close to mine, then I talked to the designer. Actually I wanted red or burgundy as that is quite eye-catching too. pastel colours may not be too outstanding.
I think you need to pay your BS a visit!

oh.. you know ur skin tone? i cant really tell actually. oh well.. maybe you're right.. shd just go down to try a few colours n see wat looks good on me.. silly me didnt even think of that.. hehe. thanks for the advice!!

Hi ashie & choc_cowgirl,

You know lah guys are not very gd with color...red is like cheenah or oriental 2 them. No, l'm trying to hve a EG color that is not similar to the ballroom, if not l will blend into the ballroom. choc_cowgirl EG color is what a bride shd hve cuz it make her stands out. Tat's also why l wan to know what is the carpet color...afraid to be a walking carpet.

hi ashie & germ,
ashie, I just looked at the models. I don't have the white white fair type of skin, so naturally even if the models look good in the gowns in the mag, but they have fair skin, I know that I may not look as good as them in the same coloured EG. germ, burgundy - like red wine colour, should be outstanding and classic as well. Hey I got this pic from zann ages ago...you can see the tower ballroom carpet here. Hope it helps! Its a myriad of colours, I don't think you can be a walking carpet!

http://community.webshots.com/photo/215975302/215975695pUZTPR

Hi choc_cowgirl,

Ya, l'm looking for colors like that...realised that there are not many EG designs on brial mag.

Thanks for the pic.

germ,

hahaha.. that's a funny way to describe yourself ;p guess we can feel safe abt watever color we're gonna choose cos the carpet's a myraid of colors.. thanks for the pic choc cowgirl!

on another note, i actually dont think the carpet's very nice.. hehe.. sorry for bringing this up again.. couldnt help it when i saw the pic.. but everythg else more than makes up for it!

I am looking at the Tower Ballroom at the Shang. Anyone has any comment to share about it?

Am also looking at the Four Seasons...any comparison?

Hi Bcube, the tower ballroom at shang was recently renovated less than a year ago to a more contemporary style. I will be having my wedding there. It can accomodate 35 to 55 tables. Food at shang apparently has pretty good reviews. Coordinators are also friendly and flexible. The best way would probably be for you to book appts and visit both shang and FS and decide which one you like better.

hi bcube,

welcome to this thread! agree with choc cowgirl.. go take a look at the ballrooms then decide which one wows you over. a practical consideration is the size of your banquet. four seasons can only hold up to 20+ tables whereas to book shang's tower ballroom, you need a min of 35. quite a vast difference

ashie,

i did not have special instructions to remove the centrepiece when dinner start.
It was removed when dinner start. Probably that is the normal practice there?
For VIP table, the centrepiece remains.

hi chocolate cowgirl,

i can't rem if i took those pics of the ballroom decor before or after their renov :P
but some of my AD pics has got the ballroom carpet in it too just that we had them lay red carpet.

Hi zann, I think you took those photos after the reno lah. At least you sent them out at the time when the reno was over!
So the red carpet - is it something you have to request? Or can choose other colours ah?

hi chocolate cowgirl,

yeah, the carpet looks same in that pic and the one in my AD pic.
Hmm, don't think got other colour...if other colour then maybe dun lay red carpet?...cos the default one a lot of colours already mah :P

hi zann,
hmm i see.. then a bit wasted if our centre-pieces are nice.. hehe..

hi choc cowgirl,
think they only have red carpet. wendy was suggesting not laying it cos of the color scheme of the tower ballroom. but guess it's up to you.
you know, all this talk abt carpet, decor, flowers etc has got me soooo excited abt my wedding.. cos everytime you gals talk abt these i try to visualise the ballroom!! hehee..

we are all excited what. Don't worry, it's not only you dear ashie. I'm intending on not removing the centrepieces for dinner. Already requested plated service, just that it will take longer.

ashie,

in a way then again the centrepiece will take up space needed to put yr food if let it remain even when dinner start hehe..

choc cowgirl,
oh you can do that? as in they serve the food on individual plates directly from the kitchen? but like that then the small-eaters will always be having extra food n the big-eaters will have less to fill their stomachs.. hehe... trade-off i guess

zann,
yah.. unless the food is placed on the side of the lazy susan while we keep our flowers in the centre.. cant help wanting to keep the room filled with flowers!! hehe...

hey if I'm going to pay extra for the flowers in front of my guests - they are going to have to be able to look at the flowers for the entire duration of dinner and not only for like 20mins till the dinner starts and the first course is served! I'm definitely going for plated service - don't care if they plate it out in the kitchen or in the ballroom. Unless specific tables specifically request not to have plated service!

Chocolate Cowgirl: I'm thinking of having side plating too! Don't want my flowers to be removed. Have you selected your florist yet?

I'm also thinking of not having the red carpet, as I don't think it really goes with the Tower Ballroom. Am wondering if it's possible to line the aisle with two rows of candles to demarcate the aisle instead! What do you gals think?

hi audia and jaye, I haven't selected my florist yet, though at this time I think my fiance prefers sebastian. Will probably do so about 2 months before the wedding. The idea about the candles sound beautiful, though if they are along the aisle on the floor - guests or waiters may kick them over - fire hazard?

Yes we're thinking of going with Seb too. I'm worried about it being a fire hazard yes, will have to see if Seb/Wendy can think of another way to create the same effect while making it safer.

hi ashie, he is one of the florists.
The one who apparently likes to work with more flowers and he did the oriental theme decor for the shang ballrooms.

hi choc cowgirl,

oh i see.. sorry but wat's the "oriental theme decor" you mentioned? i rem seeing a pic of the tower ballroom with the stage done up into a very chinese setting with chinese lanterns in the shang rewards booklet.. is that wat ure referring to? sorry.. me blur.. heh.

anyone has any pic of the Shang Ballroom to share? which ballroom is grander Shang, Fullerton, Raffles or Four seasons? Any comments? I am aware of the difference in capacity. Havent decided the number of guests yet. [which can be cut where necessary.. hehe] pls advice.

ashie dear, yes that is the oriental decor theme, very grand but due to high number of roses - must top up substantially. It's done by sebastian. haha, it's ok, I remember cos my FH and I are very particular about details.

Titania, haven't had my wedding yet so can't send you any pics. I think that you should make an appt to visit the ballrooms you mentioned, they can all be grand - Shang's island & tower ballrooms are very grand and rectangular shaped with no pillars; fullerton I haven't gone there yet, but I heard that the stairs leading into the ballroom makes a grand entrance for the couple; raffles is also not bad, longish rectangular but it is quite small; four seasons has a more western feel with the tudor design. A ballroom can be done up for an even grander feel with more and more and more flowers!!!

Just visit them and see which you like the best - go down on weekends when they probably have weddings so that you can peek at the setup.

hi Titania,

I can share with you my pics if u want but will need yr email address. Mine's at tower ballroom. Alternatively, you can go to this link to check out some decor sample of Shang's tower/island ballrooms:-
http://community.webshots.com/album/215975302vqaHpj

A bride here and friend had her wedding in Fullerton. If you interested to see Fullerton wedding pix, i can pass on yr email to her and see if she could share her pix~

But as mentioned by chocolate cowgirl, is better to visit those ballrooms to be more precise :P

Hi Chocolate cowgirl, tks for the advice. Yes, I think I shall be going over to peek at the ballrooms.
Each ballroom has its strong point. Hard choice!

Hi Zann, my email is [email protected] pls do send the pics. And also the Fullerton bride's email if they don't mind. Tks alot for the help!

How long did u ladies take to choose yr ballrooms? Wow, it is a tough job eh?

hi Titania,

sent!
i have also forwarded yr email addy to gf...
err can't rem how long liao?? cos we did some research for a while...then stopped the activity then later start again to make apptmts to view
the ballrooms...and thereafter come to a decision...

titania, haha, I saw so many. Shang was the first one I viewed, and wendy actually took time to explain basic things to us cos it was our first venue. I think I viewed 10 different ones.

hi choc cowgirl,
oh i see.. i act forgot abt it until you mentioned.. heh. so you thinking of somethg like that? i think it's very grand. too bad my fiance doesnt like it, he says it's a lil too 'chinese' for him. so i'll prob just fill the room with roses!!

hi titania,
haha.. ure so cute. make choosing a ballroom sound like some indiana jones adventure

i didnt have much of a prob cos i loved the shang ballroom from young and always knew i'd want my wedding there. only factor tt made me pause for awhile was the price cos it's more exp than the other hotels i chked with. but since my parents n fiance all said it's ok, plus my parents were bent on shang too(!), so i didnt hesitate! i didnt even bother to visit any other ballroom...

choc cowgirl is right, u really have to visit the ballrooms for yourself and see which one wows you over.. to me, food, service etc are secondary.. most impt is the ambience. sorry, so shallow ;p

dear ashie, not shallow. Just different priority. It's good to know what you feel is most important.

I think the oriental theme is too chinchong for me too. I think we will spend a lot extra filling the room with flowers. :P

*blush*

wow, really? dont think my fh will be too pleased if i did that.. but im sure yours will look lovely if ure gonna spend a lot extra on flowers.. then it'll be like the garden of eden!! *dreamy*

I thot you were also going to fill up the ballroom with flowers?
Not sure about theme yet, but trying to fix an appt with one of the florists to check out feasibility of colour theme.

hi titania,

I had went down FS last weekend (haha..saw ah-du & frienz walking down club21 boutiq)! Meet co-ordinator, I agreed she is nice & prof enuf to give advise on wine consumption & other extras that most couple may not even need.
But IMO, i feel that FS is a little small(so if u have 25 or so,it'll be an ideal place to wed), esp. the recept foyer, even the FS ballroom is quite packed once 30tables are up. (dat's my opinion but others may not think otherwise)The deco is nice, the card designs(4 selection) exclusive too. But the security rather tight,esp. u'll need key to lift etc. To others, maybe it'll be gd esp.terrorist. But if my relatives or gal frienz need to see me in my suite,they got to be escort by the recept. Gd & bad lar.
Have seen the suite too. There's a common toilet for guests & a personal inside the bedroom. The bedrm is separated from the living. To compare, it's smaller than Shang's premier rm, as Shang's toilet is superb big...*wink*. Overall FS is very english,european layout. For those who love such, will fall in love wif FS definitely.

I too went to Raffles that day. Meet Sharul, he's juz very jovious & direct tho. Clique wif him well. Wow, they've got lots variety of favours!!*salivate*. & I believe they will discuss wif couple & come up wif the theme that suits.So no each will be the same.It depends on wat u wan.
Raffles has a heritage feel. The lobby discribes it. The Lawn is awesome & there's a big fountain in another compound. A place to take pictures if you wld like during free time on AD. The only thing, my HB think otherwise is: the place a little 'mazy', esp. it link to shops...too many corridoors & easy get lost,perhaps we hv no sense of direction!(watsmore the building looks all the same to me,all white wif unique doors). The courtyard suit has a distance to the ballrm on 2nd flr, not so convenient compare to some. The lift a little slow & imptly, the reception area comes wif fan(HB can;t stand heat lar!!) & open. In case, it rains, it may affect the cocktail as rain may splash in.
But the ballroom looks elegant,British-india style tho it does not hv high ceiling,but the overall layout matches the setting! Sharul is quite flexible in throwing some freebies if it's within his means.

Hmm..abt Shang, the gals have said it all here.

Fullerton is not my SL venue hence cant comment. but sis attended frienz wedding comment on the stair leading into the ballrm, very inconvenient when going to ladies.(got to walk up the stairway)

Hope it helps ya.