Shangri-la Hotel

Happy Lunar New Year to all!

hi gals!

wow.. this thread has been quiet for awhile.. was just thinking of coming in to 'make some noise' then saw germ's post..

wow, snoop's wedding next sun?! must be so excited.. anyway if u happen to pop by, share with us how ure feeling ok?

germ, how's prep for you?

been very busy last 2 weeks with the last min stuffs. Had my rehearsal at shang on sat. Having mixed feelings as the date draw nearer... excited yet uncertain abt the change.

how u ladies doing? have u chosen ur BS yet?

Hi ashie,

Me didn't do much...juz 2 lazy. Haha....Going for my 1st appt in Mar...abit kan cheong cuz waistline got bigger....all thanks to the new yr goodies and meals.

Hi snoop,

What rehearsal did u go for? Have u confirm on ur decor for the nite?

Hi Zann,

I'm interested to see the decor for your wedding after seeing all the compliments...hope that I am not causing any inconvenience to you.

Can you tell me approx. hw much u spent on the decor? Urs is JM wedding concept rite?

hi snoop,
wow! im excited for you! a last min change before the wedding can be a good thg u know.. impt thg is, enjoy urself on ur wedding day n laugh off any hiccups! after all, it is supp to be the happiest day of your life
hey, pop by now n then to update us ok?! excited for u..
i signed up with silhouette.. fell in love with the gown.. n the designer!

hi germ,
oh that means ur 1st apptmt is SOON!! hehe.. arent u excited?? am sure ted will do a lovely job for u.
seems like im gonna be 2 mths behind u in all thgs related to my wedding.. my AD in dec, my 1st BS apptmt in may.. hehe.. when's ur PS btw? is it in aug? cos mine's in oct

Hi ashie,

Yeap,i hv signed up with Shangri-la...but at rasa.

I'm trying to ask ard, those weddings with good decor cos I'm thinking of doing it but worried tat the hotel might overcharge me... My AD is also in Dec. =D

Hi ashie,

U signed up with Sil..that's gd. Which designer are u with ? Miah is the 1 who attended to me with l'm there the last time.

Ya, kind of excited but also scare...hve to lose abit on the waist...to fat liao. My PS is in July cuz Aug falls in lunar 7 mth. Just try to avoid even though no1 told me that l cannot do anyting during that mth.

hi chanol,

oh really?? wat's ur exact date? mine's 10 dec.. good good, then can do planning together.

so u be having ur dinner in the ballroom or outdoors? my friend recently had hers outdoors, by the sea at sunset.. was beautiful
dont think u'll need to pay for decor.. at least for us it's included in the package. unless u want it super elaborate, then i think have to top up another thousand..

hi germ,

im with minda. requested for her cos she did a great job for 2 of my friends who got married last year. oh u put on weight cos of new year is it? hehe.. think all of us did ;p oh yes.. forgot aug is 7th mth.. wow! that means ur PS is barely 5 months away!

Hi Chanol,

Nice to meet you.
No problem, I have sent you my AD pic link.
The decor comes with the banquet package at Shang so i didnt have to pay extra for it.
Yes, JM wedding concept did the decor for my AD.

Hi ashie,

So, do u have any design in mind that u like? Ya, all thanks to the new yr goodies. Actually less than 5 mths cuz my PS is in the beginning of July cuz my hubby hve to go for reservist.

Hi zann,

How's married life so far? I have not started on compiling the songs....can't find a website so give up half way.

Hi germ,

i think is easier to find using audio file search software. U can find a number of such software in www.download.com. This type of software allow u to key in title or artist to search for the songs. Think previously i used ares (or something like that) b4 and found it good.

Hi ashie,

Ur AD is earlier than me by 1 day...My cocktail session will by the lawn. Dinner in the ballroom. As for the decor, it is actually provided in the package for the dinner only but not by the lawn. Yeah, its definitely a gd idea to plan together.. =) More heads more ideas...

Hi Zann,

Thank you, I saw ur photos. You look stunning... Sorry, I'm confused..You say the decor is provided as per in the package (FOC) but done by JM wedding concept....Can I say that Shangri-la subcontract to JM wedding concept? Pls advise me if I'm wrong....thanks.

Hi Chanol,

Thanks for your compliments!

Shang will let you have names of florists who are doing the ballroom decor for them. JM Wedding Concept is one of them. You will need to go down to the one or more florists to look at the type of decor they have and pick one florist. Personally, i find JM more varieties and more flexible.

hi shern

phew... i've finally managed to view your pics... hey your hb and yourself make a handsome couple. both of you look wonderful together.

can see that both of you were enjoying yourselves very much.

hi germ,

actually i decided to sign with them right after i was given this gown to try which made me go 'this is it!'.. so am going to take that one. but minda's nice enough to tell me she can help me change it a bit.. but i dont think so cos i really love it as it is. err, let me try to describe.. it's the organza type, with a train.. some gathers (cant rem wat she calls those) on the bodice.. basically the soft type, if u know wat i mean. hehe.. wat abt you? any ideas yet since ur 1st appt is so soon?

hi chanol,

wow! that means we'll really get to do lots of plannings tog!!
u got ur BS, PG etc alr? oh, they wont be providing decor for the lawn at all? hmm.. maybe u can cons balloons.. my fren threw a bday bash there once n there were lots of balloons. but of cos, they dont come cheap, and u might want to consider not spending too much on the reception cos afterall, the guests are only going to hang ard that area for a bit before proceeding to the ballroom. can try to nego with ur florist to prov some flowers for the lawn? that might do the trick too..

Thanks, zann..will try and hope can get those songs that l wan.

Hi ashie,

Ya, with organza the whole gown will look soft and romantic. Is it a bustier? No, l totally have no idea what l wan my gown to be....the only ting is l try not to hve bustier cuz 2 skinny to carry it. Did u take any pic of it?

hi germ,

yes it is.. but may want to add a piece to it so it becomes like an off-shoulder. ive always loved off-shoulder gowns.. but thing abt off-shoulder is it restricts movement quite a lot. so wat other kinds of neckline u thinking of? actually i thot bustier will suit skinny gals fine.. my friend who's skinny looked gorgeous in hers..

nope.. not planning to take any pics cos i dont want my fiance to see it until our PS. wanted it to be AD, but fiance wanted to do PS so no choice. heh.

Hi ashie,

yeap, I hv my BS but not PG yet...still searching. Anyway, thanks for providing the ideas of balloons. I will try to talk to my coordinator abt the decor one of these days. See if I can "psycho" her to provide anot...hee..

Enjoy the planning....

Hi ashie,

I totally have no idea wat kind of gown l like....every gowns looks gd...tink l will leave to the prof to advise me. Maybe ur friend is not very skinny...for me, l'm skinny and tall so it looks like a gown hanging on a pole. Hehe...

Does that means ur fiance will not be accompanying u for all appt with minda?

hi chanol,

no prob! keep us updated. so interesting to hear abt planning for a dinner at rasa in this thread.. very different experience..

hi germ,

hahah.. no lah, im sure it wont be that bad! actually if ure tall then im sure u'll look good in most designs. my mum always tells me height is very impt.. that's why ive been trained on heels! anyway yah think u shd see wat ted suggests.. let me know how it goes can? am excited for you cos ive always thought i'd be a ted wu bride until i realised i dont really like embriodery on my wedding gown, so no point going to him. hehe, so silly right?

yup, he'll be banned from all my meetings with minda

germ,

leave it to the pro but also must based on your own instinct...what u feel when u look into the mirror putting on the gown..

Hi ashie,

Certainly hope so...but l did try out some bustier and dun tink l look nice. I will let u know after l go for my 1st appt.

Hi zann,

Me 2 hope l can find those songs...dun wish to spend 2 much time on songs. Worst scenerio...buy some compilation CD and play. Ok l will keep ur advise in mind.

Hi Zann,

Actuali its ashie who tok abt PG 1st...I oso agar agar guess its photographer...Too many short forms liao

Ashie, am i correct??haha
Paiseh,I am consider an intruder here...cos different clan...Rasa n shangri-la orange grove so different. Hope tat u all dun mind...

Btw, rasa is renovating tis Sep till Feb next yr, n my wedding date is in between the reno period. I am cracking my head and upset abt this, tot of cancelling my banq wif them...going to Keng wif my coord tis sat. Any advise from you gals? Appreciate your advices....

ashie, glad to hear that you have signed up with silhouette - I'm sure you will be very happy with your gown.
I just had my wedding gown designed over the weekend at silverlining, now feeling a little jittery...not sure how it will look! It feels fabulous to settle more and more things for the wedding right?

hi zann! How is the married life?

the weekend is almost here! yay!

hi germ,
pls do pls do!! *ashie waiting patiently*

hi chanol,
opsss.. yah guess it's me. must have picked it up at the other thread

anyway ure right PG = photographer. aiyoh, dont say intruder.. we're all btbs n that's a BIG thing in common
hmm.. did ur coord tell u anythg abt how ur banquet's gonna be affected? is it major reno tt involves the whole premise? maybe can find out. cos if i rem correctly, the ballroom is to the left of the entrance whereas the rooms are to the right. so if they're reno-ing the rooms, i dont think it will affect u much. but better to clarify, n if it doesnt affect much, i'd strongly enc u to cont with it since u love tt place so much n have paid the deposit alr. for me, ive learnt tt no place (or thing) is perfect.. so we just got to try to overlook the bad side n conc on the beautiful side! right caitlyn? *wink* hope this helps

hi choco cowgal!!!
havent heard from u for soooo long! must be busy.. cant rem where we left off in the mails too.. hehe. wow, uve got ur WG designed alr? that's quite fast. curious.. when's ur PS? no worries gal, im sure it'll look beautiful! for me, nothing much to settle now.. 1st apptmt in may. u sound very happy abt yours.. im really so happy for you

Hi ashie,

Thanks for consoling me...If possible, I would'nt wan to change. Its very taxing to go n search for a new place again.I oso got to know tat Rasa is reno thru this forum from e thread in RASA. My coord. din call me to inform me abt it...she told me the lawn area will be affected aft calling her..Hope tat everything will turn out to be gd tmr.

Have a good wkend ahead...

My photoshoot is in august, but due to our schedule, we decided to design the gown earlier, my first fitting will be earliest in may. Not sure where we left off too, ashie.
MTM gowns have a greater 'unknown' factor than OTR ones. The designer can let you try a couple of gowns and tell you that your gown will look a bit like this or a bit like that, but I think one still cannot really picture the gown.
All brides will look beautiful! *hopeful* haha

hi chanol,
*hugz* evthg will turn out fine.. cos the bride will be so beautiful n the love celebrated by the wedding couple so strong n radiant that the guests wont even notice the reno going on..

hi choco cowgal,
oh yes.. rem both of u very busy.. heh. how's things on ur side? schedule better? oh if ur photoshoot in aug then i guess it's not that early afterall.. mine's in oct, so i still have time

oic. Do u like my AD photographer's work? If you do, i can recommend him to u.

chocolate cowgirl,

married life ok leh...just that more housework to do hahaha

Chanol,

oic. Do u like my AD photographer's work? If you do, i can recommend him to u.

chocolate cowgirl,

married life ok leh...just that more housework to do hahaha

hi zann, aiyoh more housework. haha, trying to slowly psycho my fiance so that he will do more housework in the future, so easier for me!

hey ashie, if you haven't designed your gown, just take your time looking thru magazines and all (try the us and european bridal mags too! us more classic and clean cut gowns, european more creative), if you know more or less what you want, easier for the designer too. I'm still busy as ever, it's tough with wedding to plan to juggle with my schedule.

anyone know what is this 'perfect wedding' thing that shangri-la is partnering with the link? it is in the latest style weddings. Wonder if it will affect those of us who already signed up? Maybe shang trying to create an even more 'atas' reputation?

Hi chocolate_cowgirl,

Ya, l'm also wondering what is this perfect wedding tinggy. Does any1 knows wat this is?

I am new to this post thingie. Am still trying to figure out how to use the PM. =P
anyways, am really keen on Shang as banquet venue...
Any comments on Azelea room? ( it's a smaller function room above the Tower Ballroom)
how's the food and portions?
Are the coordinators flexible?

Thanks for your feedback!

I am new to this post thingie. Am still trying to figure out how to use the PM. =P
anyways, am really keen on Shang as banquet venue...
Any comments on Azelea room? ( it's a smaller function room above the Tower Ballroom)
how's the food and portions?
Are the coordinators flexible?

Thanks for your feedback!

Hi Jaye,

i have sent you the link.
My coordinator was Wendy and i would say her service is good.
You just click on the persons nick and then there will be a statement that says:

"Click Here to send a private message to XXX"
Just click on the words "Click Here" to send private message to that person.
However, this only works if that person has opt to allow other users to PM her.

My wedding was at Tower Ballroom. The guests commented that their food portion is very
sufficient and food is good. Service is good as well. Hope this info helps.

Hi ashie,

SO sweet of you....Thanks.

Hi Zann,

Yes, pls send me more details of your AD photographer.

You have my email add, rite?

Thank you....