Shangri-la Hotel

hi pleasance,
oh yes.. forgot.. heh. it's [email protected]

hi germ,
yah.. but i guess he's so good tt he doesnt need to bother abt losing such customers.. hehe. but my frens were reali put off by tt.. guess it depends on the bride also

hey, did u visit any other BS before signing with him? er, if u have n dont mind sharing ur experiences, can send me a mail? thanks!

pleasance, something wrong with my email...can you pls email it to my other email [email protected]
Thanks, sorry girl make you email twice.

I went to tanjong pagar and went into a couple of BS, all mandarin speaking...is that like common along that road? I think I can manage with speaking mandarin but I may feel more comfortable speaking English to the designer. Any of you face this problem?

Hi choc_cowgirl,

r the ones u visit the taiwanese style ones? prob that's y they tend to speak mandarin.
those non-taiwanese style ones like the ones i visited: bridal veil, divine spoke english.

hi pleasance,

very pretty pics!! thanks soooo much for sharing.. i especially like ur ROM gown. u look reali sweet

n the ballroom's so pretty!! wow.. u made me realise i made the BEST choice for my banquet venue!! no worries abt the partitioning.. ballroom still looks as grand as ever.. in fact, i thot the stage being in front of those "lighted squares" had a very nice effect
will share with u when mine's ready! errr.. but dec this year.. so let me know if u still want to see it.. heh.

hi choc cowgirl,
i think snoop's right.. depends on which boutique u go to.. think there shd be english-speaking ones there too.. err.. am not sure, but am assuming TW is english-speaking? i may be popping by this weekend.. anyway, care to share with me which are the ones u visited? thanks!

hi ashie, I visited sophia and a couple others, can't really remember the names. Sophia has beautiful exquisite gowns but they are also quite expensive, however sophia is also a bit of a hard sell, put me off. Guess what, I just visited TW earlier in the evening, my fiance and I are smitten with it. Just have one more BS to go...silverlining couture...but I think we will probably go with TW.

Thanks pleasance! Your ballroom looks sooo grand and I loved your cheongsam! Which BS did you go to for your gowns and cheongsam? You looked so radiant in your photos.

Hi ashie
i'll wait here patiently for ur pix...:P
congrates in advance to ur wedding this dec 2005...R u having it at Tower Ballroom too?

Hi choc_cowgirl
Thxz, my gowns are all from Ted collection. Which ballroom or function will u having urs?
when is ur wedding?

Hi pleasance,
thanks for the pics. yap, ur ballroom environment looks great! i like the back of ur EG... very sexy!

hi ladies!! i am back!! : )

just want to tell u that i really enjoy myself last sat at my wedding. shang really lives up to its name as a 5 star hotel. service was great n my guests enjoyed themselves. the head waiter who was assigned to us was very experienced and guide us throughout the wedding. he even "warned" me that my friends gonna sabo me during the first march in.
ladies, just to let u know that shang will also assign a waitress to u the whole day. the waitress who was assigned to me was sooo sweet. she was constantly giving me warm water with a straw to drink and tissues for my husband to wipe his sweat. n not forgetting helping me with my long train.
overall, it was such a beautiful experience. i would also like to thank to wendy my coordinator. she is so obliging to us and always giving in to our last minute request. she is always helpful and prompt in replying emails.
gals, just relax on your actual day. leave everything to the hotel. trust me you r all have a wonderful wedding experience like me. : )

hello, sure. but not so soon.my photos will only be ready afew days before chinese new year.

pleasance, by the way do u feel sad when your wedding is over? esp when u leave shang?

Hi Cin,

i feel 'se bu de', wished that the moment will stay. True to say that my co-ordinators from Shangri-la gave excellent service on my wedding .

till now i will still miss my wedding

thats makes me keep watching my wedding VCD.

Hi ashie,

Me only went to 3 BS including TW. The other 2 is Kai and sil...u shd visit kai if u like lace....he really hve very exquisite lace gown. Didn't go with him cuz my hubby dun really hve a ting for lace. As for sil, me met up with miah....he is really sweet and very attentive....they hve gowns of many designs....but TW still the 1 that attracted us more.

Hi cin,

Welcome back...me went down on sat and saw ur ballroom decor...its very nice and loved the roses...very unique. Can l ask did u compile the songs for Shang to play...did u pay extra for the platform...loved this idea...overall, really loved ur wedding decor that nite.

Hi Pleasance,

Nice pics...ur decor is also very nice. Which florist did u go for? Loved ur stage decor and the nest like candle holder...very diff.

hi germ,

u were there? yeah, i love the platform. its good to have that so that guests from the extreme ends can see you when u march in. and it makes me feel like a model. :p

but the minus part is the kids love it too and they start playing around there during dinner.

as for music, we used our own favourite music. more personal.

Hi cin,

Ya, the platform is very nice and very diff. I'm sure the kids hve fun time playing on it. The entire effect of ur ballroom is very modern cum grand, l like it very much.

Can u share ur song list and can Shang system play MP3?

i play 2 albums from lisa ono. i burnt them into cd n passed it to them. regarding mp3, i m not sure, maybe u can check with them? i thk all these r not important. since u r with shang, u will bee in safe hand, so dun worry. i thk u shd start to decide on your bridal shop now

hi there pleasance! My civil ceremony will be at the pavilion and my banquet at tower ballroom, in Nov this year.
Glad that you had a good experience with Shang.

cin, I was there on Sat to meet my coordinator, but I realized that by the time I reached there, your wedding at the pavilion already started, not nice to intrude and kay poh, so I didn't peek. Are you going on honeymoon soon? Glad that you had a great wedding. Please share your pics when you get them...can't visualize what the platform looks like.

hey choc cowgirl,
i hear ya!! i don't think i can even say "lace" or "embroidery" in chinese, cannot make it lah ;)

would any girls care to share their TW gowns with me? [email protected] .. haven't started visiting any BSs yet but started researching.
also now "negotiating" with shang on their package.. anyone managed to get good rates for wine corkage?

Dear Shang Brides,

Hi! Am a Shang June 05 bride, will be holding my banquet in the Tower Ballroom. I've actually introduced myself once before, but haven't really been back since, so anyway, hi again
I would like to ask, did anyone have the tea ceremony at the hotel, before the banquet? Does anyone know if Shang charges for borrowing a room that can accommodate 30-40 people for tea ceremony? Many thanks!

Also, Pleasance and Cin, I'd love it if you could share your AD ballroom decor photos with me! Am doing some research on ballroom decor, but don't know where to start! Would much appreciate it! Email add is [email protected]

Thanks again!

Hi cin,

U played the entire album? One of the album is white color 1 rite? I find that album nice.I already took up TW and will be goin for my 1st appt in Mar. Did u received any feedback on the food and their portion?

Hi lso,

Have not started on my gown yet so do not hve any pics 2 share. My contract stated $20+++ for corkage. There are some gals here manage to nego for lower corkage charge...u may wan to nego for it.

Hi audia4,

I'm not having any tea ceremony in Shang so cannot provide u any info. U can check with ur coordinator.

Hi Choc_girl

my MUA is Sunny kor, my photographer is Leonard.

Hi Audi4
sent! i dun think they will charge u extra for the function room. I did my ROM ceremony on the same day in the hotel. they gave me a seperate function room a few hours b4 the dinner to do my solemisation. Try asking from ur co-ordinator.

hi cin,
congrats on your beautiful wedding!! weather turned out fine that day right? only slight drizzle in aft.. kept thinking of you that day.. hehe.. God answered your prayers!

cant wait to see your photos.. am sure you looked lovely

hi iso,
yes, pls do negotiate for lower corkage. just fyi i was quoted $40/bottle while most others were quoted $20. think can go as low as $15. just try.. no harm

hi germ,
hmm.. thankfully you asked.. cos i was wondering the same thing.. btw, if i wanna show video of morn highlights i'll have to bring my own dvd player is it? cant rem if they'll provide...

snoop,
ure up next!! excited??

Hi Pleasance,

Did Shang charge u anything for that?

Hi ashie,

I tot it will be provided by the videographer? I better go ask mine.

Hi germ.

No shang did not charge me anything extra, but i dun think their player is 'good'. the video is jerky when i played it during my dinner at shangri, but when i took the same disc ( morning highlights) to play it in my dinner in KL, the disc is perfectly smooth. so i guess its the player's problem.

maybe u can try bringing ur own laptop. i played the first video -the photoshoot highlighs before my 1st march in with my own laptop.

Hi Cin and pleasance,
Please include me [email protected] on your AD photos, thanks

Any weddings this sat, shang brides? I be there for dinner, tot can kay bo and view the tower ballroom's deco, before meeting up with florist to discuss on wedding theme

Hi choc, I did not managed to check through emails before i left for BKK, but i will be going again in Feb/march, therefore your recommendations are still useful
I managed to make some work shirts at Majestic tailor besides Marriot Hotel, only cost $27 for a cotton silk material. My HTB has made 14 shirts, can you believe it...

Ashie, germ,
when is your AD? Have you decided on BS?

Hi germ,
me will download the mp3 from website n then burn into cd. u decided on the songs already? me still undecisive leh.

Hi pleasance,
in that case, i think i betta bring my own notebook to play the highlights.

Hi ashie,
sure do... gan cheong cos haven't confirm on the songs n guest list yet. feel that a lot of things haven't settle leh. think going to have a nervous breakdown soon haha.

hi pleasance,
oh i see.. tks for warning us. will keep this in mind. brining a laptop's a good idea!

hi germ,
i guess if it's in your contract with your videog then he'll provide. i dont think it's the norm. u better ask

hi snap,
mine's in dec, germ's one is in oct. when's yours? nope i havent even started looking around yet! going to ted wu's this sat.. my first stop. you? hey, must share info with me, im super blur one..

hey where exactly is majestic tailor? sounds so reasonable!

hi snoop,
oh hehe.. but this is happy gan cheong.. right..? try to enjoy this time of prep.. think abt it, also only once in a lifetime! (dont wring my neck.. ) ok ok.. seriously, hope evthg goes well.. will pray for you! most impt, eat well n rest well..

Hi Pleasance,

If that's the case, better to bring our own laptop.Will confirm again with my videographer.

Hi snap,

Mine is in Oct'05. Wat abt urs?

Hi snoop,

Me also...dun know wat songs to play...l'm still considering whether to play jazz or love songs.

Hi ashie,

U sure its not a norm....tink l better ask.

i MIA from this thread for a while. In the midst of moving and new place not connected so can't come in as often as used to, am back again. Just got connected :P

thanks for your feedback! Will check with Wendy, my coordinator, about the room.

Thanks for your photos Pleasance, your wedding was gorgeous!!

Hi pleasance,
Thanks for the email... BEautiful bride, beautiful wedding. Love your CS especially. WHat was your deco theme, love the fairy lights, do you have any idea what colours does shang have for table cloth and seat covers?
Thanks for the tips on the Laptop, maybe i will bring mine down instead of using their player.

Hey zann, welcome back, been enjoying your love nest yeah

Hi Germ, mine 30th July. You've got your BS?

Hi Ashie, TW was my 1st choice, but i ended up with Amanda Lee, cos she has a package with Eric er as my PS photographer. Simply love her gown, especially i am going for the lacey gown. If you are a embroidery person TW is a good choice.
Majestic tailor is 5 min walk form Marriott Hotel. Thinking of going to BKK?

hi zann,
welcome back! nice to see u ard.. so how's married life?

hi snap,
i just visited ted wu's last sat.. act im not really into embriodery.. but when i tried one particular gown, it changed my mind completely! it was just SO beautiful! but i was told it belongs to the couture range.. which means have to top up about 600 for the extra beadings, which makes it really expensive! guess i'll visit a few other boutiques then decide

wow! lacey gowns are nice.. very very elegant. my mum simply loves laces.. been trying to persuade me to get one.. tough choice, but i think i prefer organza. so will yours be a fully-laced dress?
err... sorry but wat's BKK?

Hi Snap
would suggest if theres time, do test play ur video disc with the hotel player days b4 ur wedding to ensure.its good to bring along ur laptop too as a backup
onli my suggestion =)

i think they have shinning bronze, light bronze, white, red,silver . only remember these few:P

Welcome back, zann.

Hi snap,

Me with TW. I have a friend with Amanda Lee and she commented that she is very patient and nice. How is ur gown designing so far?

Hi ashie,

Glad u enjoy ur visit to TW. Ya, for couture range u need to top up...l'm not sure am l going for it or juz stick to the simple design.

Hi Pleasance,

Would like to ask..for the morning highlights, the video will be tested by the videographer himself rite? We dun hve to do anyting rite?

good morning all and thanks for the welcome!

i think is better to get someone from your side to oversee the video testing together as well. And I agree with Pleasance, is better to test pay the disc b4 the wedding.

Hi germ,
I think usually thats the case, as my timing is too rush for my videographer to do the express edit of the morning highlights, we engage an external videographer to do it..my hubby did the testing himself.

hi Pleasance,

thanks for resending your pic link to me~
Your wedding favour is nice. Do you have to top up additional for it? I didnt see this as one of the favours when i meet my coordinator to select the wedding favour. Did you also do the 2nd march on your own?

Pleasance,

i mean the couple bear...do you have to top up for it? You have a mixture of bears and photo frame as wedding favour per table?

no lah, i dun dare leh haha...
You look so cool in the pic when doing the solo...don't look like you are scared at all :P

Hi Pleasance,

Been busy with work so didn't hve a chance to ask my videographer....will call my hubby to ask. Will also take ur advise to bring our own laptop...just in case.

hi pleasance,'

wow! u did a solo march in? where did your hubby waiting for u then? i thought that was cool.

mine was so ungraceful!!! during my first march in, i was initially walking in gracefully till some of my relatives came next to the aisle n popped the poppers at us. i was so scared that i tried to "siam". the end effect according to my frds was i look scared n clumsy!!!

Hi cin,

As urs is a platform....did u have the dry ice effect? I will not hve the poppers cuz very scare of it and l'm scare of balloons 2.