Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

azuma

Hi Finn, would like to visit ur lovely home too. But tis sat will be busy sourcing for my lightings, hood & hob.

Btw, anyone got good (and cheap) recommendation for hood & hob?

faz_inc

i f no idea if hdb let us to change the window bay grill.. but i did change to the one with the similar design that can sliding.

bigfish

wah.. you all have been house visiting liao?! so cool....
wish that i could join in.. cos am curious abt engineered wood too.. maybe i'll check out if i can push my appt later.. hee hee.. Finn, you mind if i join in??
(btw, finn.. my sis who is getting her new place is considering wood and wood for their engineered wood)...

devilboy

Hi bigfish, kindly arrange with Hippo ;-)... better come in a group one time than one by one... I am not staying there yet. Saturday appointment is quite tight too, my electrical appliances and furnitures are coming in, so it might be a little messy... hope you dun mind ;-)

devilboy

Hi Azuma

I think it Jalan Besar is one great place to start. I have tried Geylang and their lights are not cheap. ALWAYS REMEMBER, ask got GST first before they qoute. There are basically 3 mode of practice in their sales...

Mode 1:
Discount $5~10 on items over $300 then kick in 7% GST when you think you have gotten yourself the best bargain. Usually stuff like flourescent lamp which are cheap, they mark up to $50 dollars and tell you give you at $30.

Mode 2:
Collect everything you want, *usually mark up higher, say give you a 15% on all items... but usually there are 3~4 items (High price stuffs) they say cannot give discount. Then once everything in place, they add in GST.

Mode 3:
All price qoute to you inclusive of GST.

Most shops in that area basically sells the same stuff, so compare a few first before you decide. Do note that if the price is at extreme end, check with them the brand of the ballast. Because in all lightnings, the Ballast plays a very important part. No point you go for cheapo ballast and they fail within a few months, they are difficult to replace, especially those in your L-Box... or conceal in your false ceilings

For your hobs and hood, jalan besar is also a place to look out for. However, do understand your needs in the hob and hood, it can greatly influence your purchase decision. Heavy Cooker? Non-cooker? Light-Cooking?

hipposheep

Hi Finn,
can help to email your unit no. to the my email address as shown above? cos i dont really see my PM email add.

Hi bigfish,
pls. email to my add as shown above. i will garther all info as much as possible.

thx.

azuma

Hi Finn, thanks for the advice. I have visited a few shops in Jln Besar and did notice that the price quoted not incl GST for some shops. Will be doing a second round this coming Sat. One question, what is the acceptable brand for Ballast?

As for hood & hob, we are only doing light cooking. Considering Rinnai or Turbo. Any comment?

raynard

Hi Azuma, we gotten Fujioh for the Hob.. It's about the same as Rinnai, which has inner flames and safety mechanism that will turn off if the flame is blown off.. So far most of the comments i gotten on Turbo is negative, you may wana probe further..

devilboy

Hi Azuma

My mum uses Turbo, hmmmm I think the fire went bonkers after a few years but probably because my mum is a heavy cooker.

Fujinoh and Rinnai are from Japan, they are smart in design and functionality, will not go wrong, I got myself Ellane for it's triple fire ring and easy maintenance hood ;-)

Popular brand in Singapore should be Osram Ballast, however they are only 2~5 dollars more than normal Ballast.

heman

Hi shan, I got 25L Joven storage heater.

Hi Azuma, I was considering Fujioh and Rinnai for their function. End up decided on Rinnai for their stream line design.

I have officially moved in on 11 Aug.

simplet0tz

Anyone from 488 have their cable point checked?

To date, I have no letter from Starhub that they are coming to check.. We went to Starhub to ask abt it and the guy told me that if we request for contractor, it might cost us 100 to 200 buckz!! this is soCrazy...

Anyone know the cost if we request starhub guy to come by personally?

devilboy

Hi HippoSheep

Got some stuff to work on this saturday... Will not be around the new house. I update you when I am around. Sorry folks ;o)

winnie_gal

yup.. we went to the starhub shop and told them we want to install cable tv in our new hse.. so after a few days someome come my hse and install the cable tv..

yu83

hi all gt a starhub guy come knocking on my door offering a better price and offer than you walk in starhub shop.the person call jimmy..he told me he is walking ard the estate recently

kwoni

Tho i nvr hve the experience with MIO package b4... looking thru the progr i prefer SCV tv programmes..for broadband, I would think cable is more reliable as i had no problem surfing since i signed up at my previous address, whereas heard a lot of complaints fr frenz on Singtel broadband frequently slow and connections hard to connect..., as for phone line..Singtel should be better...but starhub is giving free digital voice phone line and with everybody owning a hp as well, the decision is clear...

So, i would rather wait for the person to activate my cable signal...

devilboy

Hi Guys

I got my TV cable signel checked. They said everything was good. However, my neighbour is abit suay. One of his point (Hall) was faulty, signal is weak.

I think his (Jimmy) offer was much better than what retail shop have to offer. Still thinking about it.

devilboy

Hi Raynard

I dun know leh..., you see sharon, also no people go and check for her, she simply just apply and start... The starhub one is more of a sales call from my point of view as MIO-Home package is also getting attractive, about $10 cheaper is you compare basic package vs basic package, so I think Starhub chiong to secure customer first. All the prom offer by Jimmy MUST sign at least 1 year contract.
Cable TV -> 1 year Contract
Internet -> 2 years Contract *Free DLINK N-Router *I personally prefer linksys.. hahahaha
Telephone Line -> No Contract but must pay activation fee of 42.80, *Free Local Call

I think I might call up that Jimmy to get the starhub setup also.. hehehe.. but must ask question first.

*Recent economy have see starhub lost quite a fair share of customers especially those with Football Channel and those who got their starhub HP laptop package 3 years ago.

raynard

Oic..since that's the case, then I may just wait till after I officially moved in then apply for the Starhub package, no hurry then.. heh..

kwoni

I signed up with jimmy too..got my cable pt checked b4 he came to us...he quite efficient coz i tink he all out to secure his sales hehe...signed the maxonline and cable tv with free DV...yah..his offer n svc better than the starhub counter sales...definitely...and once ur cable points r checked he can set up for you immediately if he has the stock..dun nid wait...

devilboy

I think I will join the starhub thingy next week.
Hi Kwoni,

Any payment need to be made?
Care to breakdown the cost for us?
For the digital voice, I think you will need a special phone?

kwoni

All payment will be billed to you...

SCV 3 basic groups + VV Drama + 6 mths free 1 channel = $19.26

Maxonline Express 35% off $38+ (forgot the exact) + Free Digital Voice

Dun nid to get special phone..juz normal phone to connect to the modem with the phone line...but the limitation is u can oni connect to the modem...1 output...so its better to get duo deck wireless phone...

kwoni

Yah...and he offered vouchers for mi too..while stock last...how much i dun tink wana say...coz not sure is starhub offer ornot..

u guys try to bargain for it...