Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

mech

Hi people!

my recommendation for ceiling fan is amasco. Apparently it has life time warranty for it's motor. Also,if possible, for living room, try to get >52" . As for hood and hob, I bot turbo

devilboy

Hi Guys

For lights, if you are on a budget, here is my recommendation, I believe you have seen the picture of my hall with L Box and Lightings. It's pretty bright and well illuminated. Especially when you buy down light, it's significantly no differences if you are buying dual light tube and single light tube, refering to the same circular circumference. The price of dual tube container ($22~28) is twice the price of single tube ($13~15). You also do not need 13W, Mine is 10 watt and I already feel it is too bright. As down light is more for ambience, you dun not expect it to lighten up your entire hall. The next thing you need to take note when purchasing lightings is the interior fittings. The Ballast is an important component and you need to get good quality ones. The place to look for. Jalan Besar Tai Yong Electric Co... Absorb GST and free delivery and can bargain... remember to go before their closing timing at 7pm they willing to reduce a bit more just to close shop... hahaha... My wife tested and it works, however, their lightings selection is more old model but price is good and honest with you about their product.

The best part is that you can visit their neighbour Chuan Heng Hardware Trading for Hob and Hood, can bargain one... swee swee and absorb GST as well. The brand I got is Ellane, my mum got one as well for her current house and is using *she loves it for the triple ring fire. The good thing about ellane is that the electric starter runs on battery rather than wired plug, thus you can skip wiring running aroung your kitchen worktop. However, ellane hob and hood doesn't really looks nice. Chuan Heng Trading also sells accessories but for toilet accessories, I find you get better bargain in IKEA. For the 2 shops, please find the "LOCAL" staff, their foreign imports anyhow give qoutes and might turn you off. Hope this helps

devilboy

Hi Kwoni

For all wood flooring... you can't mop the floor... it will definately damage it. You can only sweep and clean it with slightly damp mop. Maintainence is high for wood. But it's a personal preference for the flooring.

heman

Hi HippoSheep,
I bought the KDK ceiling fan A11YS at $208.

Hi Nichiyobi,
I put the ceiling fan at living area. The insurance is the fire insurance, you have to buy at HDB.

devilboy

Hi Patsy there is 2 services, one is 859 whereby you can take from either Yishun/Sembawang interchange, but of couse from Sembawang makes more sense and shorter, but this service I tried before, the waiting time is like 15mins. It will drop infront of blk 491. Next is bus 962 which is the bus stop by the side of Sun plaza, in front of the taxi stand. But take note, the bus stop right infront of the taxi stand will take you to woodlands, you should cross the road and take from the opposite bus stop but it will only drop outside and you have to walk in, just alight at the 3rd Stop. The waiting time for 962 is irregular, it can have 2 buses coming in together and if you miss them, it will keep you wait 20mins. Anyway Patsy, walking is faster from Sembawang MRT, no worries, it very cooling to walk as the blocks and the garden provides great shades. Direct azimeth less than 1KM... 12 minutes and you will reach your block.

piggylover

hi Patsy, u can take bus as follow:-

- bus 859 from SBW bus interchange n alight at the opp road (next to the primary sch)
*859 travel yishun n sembawang

- bus 962 (take from sun plaza shopping centre, opp 7-11)n alight the bus stop before Naval base sec sch) n cross over will reach le.
*962 travel woodland n sembawang

jascmy

Seems like the public transport at our blocks are not convenient at all. Can we all suggest to govt to have LRT for us. Hehee....
Or at least a better public bus system. If not we all have to walk 15mins to & from MRT everyday so as to get to work and go out leh.

devilboy

Guys Ok la... dun build too many things... the beauty of Sembawang is that it's serenity and peace.. Actually walking is very good for health.. I enjoy walking back home despite Singapore humid conditions. Moreover... only 15mins lor...

devilboy

Jes

Bus pool is a solid Idea, great for environment and everyone gets to go to work on time!!! I think we can start gathering such info when everyone moves it.

edwin_teoh

I have collected my keys too..=p went straightt to open the door after that cause calender say today gd day to open door...finally....saw my unit!!! haha

huhu

hi vernon's mummy,
our FS master also ask us to open the door this sat. so excited! maybe will see u there!

patgav

Hi Fin, piggylover... thanks for the infor, yeah like it takes longer to wait for the buses... mayb will try to walk c hw far it is.. otherwise like need to wake up early to get to work.. zzzz sleeping is impt 2 me hahah....

I support bus pool!!! Working in CBD area also... dun forgot me :p

edwin_teoh

Congrats vernon mummy, i see the calendar online one. hehe...

raynard, they will give u defect check list. u r fast man... so fast install aircon...

haha... bus pool...is it gonna be cheaper???

raynard

thx vernon'smummy and edwin! hopefully no defects, then i can proceed with the aircon lah, else......

for the bus pool, quite a good idea, provided we have the economies of scale to bring down the pricings... heh

devilboy

Hi Guys

My wife have previous experience in Bus Pool to Queensway. It's usually $2.00 per trip and starts at the nearest MRT to the work place. It's more comfortable as you have guarantee seats and you are more likely to take those tour bus style. It's can be slightly more expensive than public transport of buses and mrts. I work in EAST side... sianz... difficult to pool liao.... hahahaha

young_jes

Haha.. Finn then you pool with those working in the East lah. Can be car pool also, so you guys can see who drives and work in the east, can drop you off at the most convenient location. Can share the cost of fuel or something like that,or maybe each person give the driver $50 per mth,win-win situation. hehe.

I will try to organise the bus pool once most of us have moved in, if its workable den maybe can pick us up at the MSCP area, no need to walk so far, hehe.

ottermum

Hey Finn may i ask how long did you actually wait for them to turn up do the cement screed? how long's the work process?

Just informed them today n was told to wait 3-4 weeks...gosh it's such a long wait!

n Cheryl...it's PAP education centre below our block...not a childcare centre...

devilboy

Hi Ginny

I waited only 2.5 weeks. The work process is roughly 0.5~1.5 day depending on your screeding area. If your entire house is running on Tiles, you can skip the screeding altogather, but if you only want your rooms (laying laminates or wood) it roughly takes between 0.5~1 day. If your house is fully laminate or wood.. it will take 1~1.5 day. Remember... you MUST let the flooring dried up completely (My contractor advised 7 days) before your laminates/wood are being applied, else the wood will suck up the water/vapour, this will degrade your laminate or wood flooring. So before the screeding is done, here are the following things you can do first
1) Kitchen Cabinets
2) Window grills
3) Aircon Piping
4) Lighting Points
5) L-Box and False Ceilings
Your contractor should be able to coordinate for you accordingly
By the time the above is completed, the contractor will come, usually will give you a call 3 or 4 days. Do refer back to the older post about the HDB contractor I wrote doing the screeding, I did not have a pleasant experience with him

charmer

Hi Sharon,

have u installed the fans? How is it? Mine will only be installed this week. Hope it will work well. There is actually a cheaper model. Although all Fanco fans also have life time warranty for the motor, was told that the cheaper model has very weak wind.

raynard

Hi Ginny, my aircon installation has to be postponed to maybe next sat cause my hacking 1 of the walls in my MBR and laying of the trunking cannot start after the wall has been hacked..Hence, my contractor needs to get the hacking permit and wait for it to be approved.

ottermum

Hi Finn...thanks so much for the info n advices...really appreciate that! I'm only laying laminates in the bedrooms...

According to my ID they're ready to start work anytime...now just gotta do the air-con piping 1st on Sat...keeping my fingers crossed everything goes smoothly from that on!!!

may i ask is anyone moving furniture n stuffs in during the ghost month?
My mum-in-law says it's ok but i'm a little skeptical about it...

devilboy

Hi Ginny

Glad I can be helpful.... faster everyone finished RENO, everyone can move in earlier.

BTW, if your house is a resale, probably you want to wait till after 7th Lunar Month coz you really have no idea anyone have died there before... but if it's a new house... it should be OK. Do remember, an custom used by many Housing Agents. Throw salts on every corner of the house before reno, it's like informing "everyone" that this house is purchase in decent means. Hahahahaha.... Don't ask me the origins, I seriously have no idea... it's more of a monkey see monkey do kinda thing... hahahaha

yukifire

Anyone got their air con from Kun Seng? Saw the advertisement in classified..not sure if it's good though their pricing sounds reasonable and cheaper.

edwin_teoh

raynard, which wall u hacking? masterbedroom wall? thinking about hacking too leh...but at the expense of a spare bed room. is it better to hack? btw how much is the hacking cost?

ottermum

Finn...ok ok...hahahaha! that day we 1st opened the door we've already thrown salt+rice on every corner already...hopefully it helps!

Oh according to my auntie you gotta throw it clockwisely...starting from your main door...dunno how true it is but no harm following the advice isn't it?

okok in that case we shall be moving things bit by bit in during the ghost month n officially move in after that!

raynard

Hey Edwin, we'll be hacking the MBR wall as it's really quite small.. i need to go back and check the cost of hacking as they have to make-good the floorings and corners after that too. I was told by my ID that we may have to engage a PE (Professional Engineer) to endorse the hacking because ours is near to the beam, as he has done similar for Fernvale. Nevertheless, he will go ahead and apply for the permit 1st, and will let me know if they require a PE or not.. Hopefully no need as a PE cost about $450!

hipposheep

for the HDB screening of floor,i actually got the HDB person in charge desk phone no. then my contractor contacted him and we got our screening very fast, waited for less then a week. and during screening of floor, my contractor buy them drink, so they can do a good job lah.

oh for laying of the aircon piping, it's always better for House OWNER to be there. becos certain wall cant go thru and decision need to be made.

for this is a NO NO laying as if hdb found that you had go thru the wall beam, then you will be fine about 2.5 k and installer will fine about 2.5k and on top of this need to pay $500 for amending the hole. so pls. be really carefully. no hacking of beam.

xiaofeizhu83

Hipposheep - Can you further elaborate on the aircon piping thingy? Sorry that I dun quite understand your earlier post.... but from the pic, the position of the aircon is the same as what I have in mind and my aircon installation is next week so pls help to enlighten me... thanks =)