Sembawang Green BTO sep 06

bigfish

Finn,
I am looking at eng wood cos i have concerns abt solid wood like the gaps in between and etc... so thot eng wood wld make a better choice... but need to find out more abt eng wood lor.

hmmm, i go and look thru my quotation again, 3.8K for 3 bedrooms (burmese teak) considered good??! Finn, what's the norm price you've gotta?

i wld drop by wood & wood today to see see look look... so that i wld have a better idea on the differences...

devilboy

Hi BigFish

Few contractors qouted me wood for the entire flooring is roughly at 9~11K *(Inclusive of installation, installation fee is usually $3~4 per square feet). But to be frank, Eng wood is not as strong as solid wood, so if you accidently drop an hammer, it will also dent the surface. For solid wood, you can vanish a couple of times where Eng wood can only do it a few times due to the miserable 3 mm real wood. Eng wood only better than solid wood is due to the fact it will not expand, warped and buckle due to heat and moisture easily but that does not 100% mean it will not and also the gap is vitually non existence. Wood is only good because it project a relax feel, making your house looks more warmth *Subjective. On the other hand, laminates can be better in term of wear and tear... however, it feels different stepping on it and it will also bloat in years to come.

BTW Big Fish... call before you go... make sure there is people there.

bigfish

Hi Finn, called up the place and brandon picked up the call.. so i'll drop by the place to have a look...

well... ... for dents, i wld have to live with it once the decision is made to have wood in rooms..

laminates: durable but more plastic feel and got the hollow-ness when step on it (i dont like)

eng wood: unsure of the benefits cos no contractor has been able to give a good idea on it. so if acccording to you, Finn.. eng wood wld eb a better choice since it wld not warp so easily and gives the solid wood feel... anyway, i dont think i wld re-vanish it so many times...

solid wood: good feel but fear of warp and very easily scratched

btw, a contractor told me that re-vanish the solid wood is very troublesome and smelly, so cant stay in that house for a few days.. so usually pple dont do that unless really necessary...

in my mind, i keep running these 3 things over and over.. hahaha...

piggylover

hi mech & jascmy, thanks alot for all ur info & advice! so nw no worry for me le. hehe.. shall keep happy n look forward collecting my key. =)

nichiyobi

I got a letter from HDB... asking me to submit bank loan offer.

Also ask if i need HDB to act for me in the mortgage.

Got the option
1. Purchase only
2. Purchase and mortgage
3. Mortgage only

So cheem. Don't really understand. In most case, we will tick option 2? So i no need to hire any lawyer?

kwoni

Ya..the unit facing the garden..isolated room install aircon is not possible without using pump to drain water in the outlet...Too much cost and complexity involved...gave uup the idea of installing aircon there...haha

kumpong

I'm starting my renovation soon....anyone doing base for the washing machine & fridge area. Have checked with the svc centre downstair & they told us the hdb tiles are not foc. Anyone encountered this problem?

kwoni

Yes u got to buy from them...and not from HDB...they will giv u the contacts and u get from the supplier yourself...not sure abt the floor..but the kitchen wall tiles r from somewhere near admiralty road west, senoko loop...

raynard

I would like to check, for those who have opened the door, is there a toilet paper holder given by HDB? Do let me know yeah? Thanks!!

kwoni

Is there anybody who encounter outsiders entering your still renovating flat without asking youand opened your shoe cabinet without permission right in front or you?

Today encountered 1 auntie who opened my main door and came in without knocking saying she wanted to view. However, as we had juz re-lay some of our tiles, our ID advised us not to step on it ...and we informed her abt this, she insisted that she had taken out her shoes and still wanted to come in -_-". After we explained, she opended our main door and asked a couple to look into our house...right in front of us!! And worst of all..opended our shoe cabinet without asking...and discussed abt it....as if we were non-existence!!! Felt so intruded and pi**ed...

Juz felt that its not right for such people to juz intrude into other neighbours' flat without asking...and even after much hinting and expanation..still insist on coming in...Wat a person~

a_pinglim

KWoNi,

we also encounter these kind of thing.
Remember to lock your door at all time.
Just tell them NO. tell them to go and view showflat. Unless the person you know , then you may let her/him to came in.

investor

Hi, I really need help from the seniors here as I no really knw how to use this forum to pm and so on. I from blk 490 and always outstation. My wife dare not make any decisions on the reno part. Recently just back just to settle the hdb paper works. Been searching high and low on the internet for a renovation contractor. Was approached by a lot of the contractors @ the void deck but the prices quoted was way off. I was thinking of bypassing those "middleman" contractors as I had some direct suppliers contact but I dunno how to go about it. Can any kind souls out there helped me with some renovation tips? Do I need to apply separate licenses if I decided to call in those individual suppliers? Thanks a lot.

devilboy

Hi Bee

Bypassing contractors is quite a stressful work to do. Anyone you engage to perform the work must be licenced by HDB. For example: Electrical wiring, Water and Gas piping, Windows and Grills, Tiles Flooring and etc... No offence, searching the internet and getting your real thing done up is 2 different thing, most certified solo carpentors, electricians and craftsmen does not have website solely just showcase their services. So better for you to know what you want in your renovation and seek advices from contractors... just be thick skin and ask and understand the process and learn to pick up from there if you truely want to do it yourself. From my research, as long as you engage a license craftman, they will help you to apply the necessary documents for renovation.

I am not sure about others contractor as I am using Ho Bee's services. I do find him hoonest, fast and efficient and his pricing and qoutes are pretty decent, so far I feel his pricing is much better than those approaching you at the void deck, however, he is no designer and mostly does want you want. He does give practical advises. http://www.hobeereno.com.sg/index.php?p=1_2 give him a call and meet up with him, he is someone who willing to share. BTW, anyone here uses Ho Bee or any other contractors? Do share your experience with the rest? Can give the 487 a good headstart... this way they also can reno faster and move in.

raynard

Thanks Kirvin. What about showerheads? I remember someone saying have though, but from the pictures taken previously, it seems like there isn't any showerheads...?

bigfish

Raynard, there are shower heads given in both toilets...

Finn, i've went to wood & wood.. most probably wld not take it up cos after including all labour and materials cost, it wld be more than what my contractor quote us for solid wood... so most probably wld go for solid wood instead..

oh, i didnt know that need to purchase tiles for the fridge base and etc... actually my contractor told us that no need fridge base or washing machine base one, cos nowadays, those items comes with elevated legs stand liao (not like last old times, when it is more flat to the floor one).. so wldnt need a base..
But i wld probably still do it for my fridge cos scare when i wash kitchen, water might got washed into fridge.. but i still considering for the washing machine base.. hmmmm, is the base really necessary?

devilboy

Hi BigFish

Yeap. Solid wood is always the best bet. The reason I did not take up solid wood is that I do not want the smaller version. Prefer those that are broader and longer 90 X 300 mm, which you see in the wood & wood showroom, but those that I like will blow my renovation cost out of proportion. So take Eng Wood lor for the same size... Most contractor that offers the smaller ones 180 X 50 mm, the price is cheaper. But the problems when you got for smaller ones in solid wood and parquet, there are more gaps... when they install, they will use sealant to close the gap but after 1 or 2 years, the sealant will dry up and eventuall peel off or crack... which is what happen to my current house, that gap alone will suck up moisture and dirt and dust which will enhance of course of the wood degration... Over my 10 years stay in my current house, my folks have to vanish it 2 times. Like you, when I was choosing my flooring, I was struggling between the real wood and eng wood, but somehow, Wood & Wood convince me of getting Eng Wood.

BTW, do you like their Ratten Furniture, Their sofa set not bad leh... pricing also quite good. hahaha

bigfish

Finn, i didnt check out their rattan furniture.. dont know how to appreciate such style of furniture..

so then, i think my quote must be quite good. cos the 3.8K is for solid burmese teak wood (at 90mm plank)... wah, now make me feel more assured...

investor

Hi Finn, thanks a lot. No worries, no offences at all. Right now i am very tight in timing as i still need to undergo an operation. Maybe i will take a look @ ur link 1st. Really thanks a lot. Catch up with you when i less overload with work. Btw, i am a kopi freak.. See which seniors here interested in kopi we can arrange for 1 tcss session when i back again.

investor

Bigfish, fridge base i think to my knwledge is a must but for kitchen cabinets wise, if you do not want the base, you can consider "suspended" kitchen cabinets bt that will "eat" into your storage space as the kitchen cabinets will be "smaller" in height.

devilboy

BigFish, glad you make up your decision. As long as you are comfortable with it, it the best choice for your house. You will never go wrong with Burmese Teak, they are consider very tough material among all wood material. I took oak for the colors... scarifice beauty for strength... hahaha

Their furniture very resort like lor... Coz I really love the simple and relax styling.

devilboy

Hi Sharon

Credit goes to my wife, she picked the color... :-, but my mum says, it looks like a aerobic/yoga classroom. hahaha

ladykirvin

Hehehe i dont have concrete base for kitchen cabinets, fridge and washing machine....
My Kitchen Cabinet is supported by those "legs"

I like the flooring too but too bad we opted in the flooring years back, assuming that we will not have budget for flooring anyway hehehe.

devilboy

Hi Kirvin

After a few years... you can go for Eng wood... installation over tiles is very fast and easy... no need to add plywood. Actually very clean if no plywood is being applied.

devilboy

Hi Edwin

You can look at the picture I have posted to get a feel of False Ceiling + L Box.

Hi Kirvin

I think there is no hard and fuss rules of whether to have a base for cabinets, Fridge and washing machine. Current fridge and washing machine is not like last time where the base will corrode easily as they are now made of reinforce plastics and stainless steel. The same applies to the Kitchen Cabinets

nichiyobi

Wow this is the first time i see the living room of the unit next to the lift. The floor color indeed looks like those aerobic studio flooring except you lack a full lenght mirror!

So happy that my bank loan is approved by POSB and should be able to submit all my documents and hopefully get keys by end of this month but i doubt can move in on time since reno can't possibly complete by 19aug to avoid lunar 7 mth.

Besides those dinning light..I wanted to ask you guys those lights for false ceiling e.g. L-Box the ID/contractor will recommend you or you must buy yourself then they fix in for you into the false ceiling? I want to make sure i get the energy saving lights bulbs.

Anyone getting a ceiling rotating fan? I just realised that being enclosed in a horse-shoe shape surrounding, the wind might not be able to blow into our windows. My friend unit in tampines is those like a maze type and because his unit is surrounded by blocks there is no wind at all very stuffy.

raynard

Nichiyobi, I'm getting the ceiling fan, but not sure what brand to get other than KDK (seems a bit ex).. the contractor will tell u if u get the energy saving bulbs, you may not get the effects you want. Like normal halogen bulbs, you can adjust the brightness, but not energy saving ones..

heman

Hi Nichiyobi,
I installed ceiling fan at my living room.

Hi Bigfish,
I didn't have cement base for fridge and washing machine.

hipposheep

hi bigfish,
my house is completing this week. yahoo. oh, for kitchen, i initially dont want to do concrete support but later after FIL, MIL and relative nagging and nagging, left with no choice but to do concrete. having concrete is to prevent next time you spend more money and time on redoing your kitchen. I have heard, one of my relative kitchen cabinet collapse after 2-3 years of usage (fyi, they always cook). but doing concrete is not cheap. for me i got to pay extra 2k more. sob sob but at least next time no problem for kitchen. my kitchen cost me 6k. heart pain.

hipposheep

hi, i have ceiling fan (kdk, controller type) cost me $175 for fan and $35 for installation. hmmm... KDK fan seams a litte bit small for unit as i only put one. can only put inbetween the two living room lights.

charmer

Nichiyobi,

I got my ceiling fans from the lighting shops. Think a lot of these lighting shops also act as agents for ceiling fans but they may carry different brands. Tried enquiring directly from the distributor but they were not able to offer better price than the lighting shops. Guess because the lighting shops can give package price together with all the lightings.

I got 52" Fanco w/remote at $330 + $55 for lamps and $40 installation. Was told better to have lamps below the fans so as to minimise the shadow effect of the turning fans.

Hope these help.

etzcsf

For ligthing AND CEILLING FAN can go extream lighting AT 371 BALESTIER ROAN , OPP SHAW TOWER . No GST , Free delivery .

nichiyobi

cherylkjh,

what insurance? tot go hdb appt they do everything one shot?

So you guys put your ceiling fan in the middle of the living room? or under the TV area?