Segar Medow - BTO

garfield >> i got Blk 457. I think Punggol diff la, gov't already say that they will be developing that area in a big way within the next few years. Of coz the prices will be higher la. I think Sengkang used to be the prefered choice over Punggol, but after the news came out... demand for Punggol is higher liao ba...

But I think BP also not bad la, with the MRT coming in 2015, and so much land left for more HDBs, the area will get a whole new group of young couples/families. Prices should be good too.

We are quite lucky, just look at Senja Green, the site came out after the MRT is confirm, theirs is standard flat but more ex than ours.

hillgal83 > But from Punggol, my friend who wannted to travel also finds it very inconvenient. Yes, we are very lucky le, Senja Green is much more expensive.

Garfield> Now not a lot of ppl at Punggol yet ma, why wun it be convenient once ppl stay going in and therefore businesses will also move in? It used to be the same with BP too ma.

I think HDB will continue doing BTO for the plots of land btw Segar and Senja, so I guess there will be lots more ppl coming in... you think they will build another mall?? I heard BP plaza is overcrowded nw liao.

BTW, you got blk 456 right? I think I read it somewhere.. ha

I know that foundation takes time...... but it really does look the same for the past 2 months...

BTW, is that large drain always so dry? Looks ugly le...

Yes I got 457.
And yes I think you will be garfield's neighbour.

I have not found any neighbours...

YanMan>> Is this your first flat too?

Currently stayin at Bt batok..at Segar will be first time applying under HDB...
I guess we are the lucky lot as for the new flat at Senja is more expensive than what we're paying for Segar.....
Lucky us...it's just beside LRT too..but at Senja is quite a distance from Ten Mile Junction....
Hillgal83>>>do u have kids?...I'm wondering if i could apply a school there for my son...before we move there so that he don't have to change school after a few years...
Any idea?

The Dec 2008 BTO is at CCK, which is actually my preferred location, got a bit pissed off when I saw the news. But looking at the offer of transportation in that area (only feeder bus), I still think our Segar is good.
In terms of price and transportation.

YanMan>> I'm not even married yet.
As for applying for school... how old is your son now? Given that you are living in Bt Batok now, and if you are looking at a nearby school, then it doesn't really matter that much where is the school located, the choices are all near each other.
If you have no preferences for school performances/rankings and is only concern about the location, then may I suggest that you look for a school near your current place, by the time your family needs to move to Segar, your son should be (my guess) Pri 3 or higher. He is older, should be more able to travel slighty longer distances to get to school. There is no need to change school la. Just my two cents worths.

dezumondo > Thanks again for your pic … always there to provide pic for us.

YanMan > Oi, u are making me so excited lah …. i … i almost forgot what is my unit number le. Ok ok, my unit number is JUST BESIDE U!!! Now only depending on which level u took le, kakakakakakakakakakakakaka. All of a sudden, I hope my flat is ready faster so that we can get to see each other there.
Yes, me too, my first new BTO. Compare ours is beside LRT and premium flat too.
U are thinking far for your son, that’s good, strongly suggest u should do that now since the flat will be ready in abt 2 years time.

hillgal83 > Ya loh, CCK is abit far from MRT and need to take feeder bus + there is a “hai yin gu shi” there, dunno will effect the house or not, in terms of feng shui.

Hei, i've noticed that the building of Segar is really very slow..as from the pics that Dezumondo always took for us..!!
Hillgal 83 > My son is now in K1, by 2010, he should be in P1.
I thought of enrolling, my son in P1 near Segar so that he doesn't have to change school and environment too. That's my hubby thought too!! But well it's still early but i have to do the planning now..just in case the construction finish earlier.....Hehehehehe!!!
So are u staying at Segar with your parents?

Garfield > Hahaha..me too ..i hope that Segar Meadows will finish earlier so that we could see who are our neighbours...Hahaha!!! Btw what's the meaning of "hai yin gu shi"..?

The two of u made this sound like a blind date lo... LOL.

YanMan>> If your son is in K1 now... then I think yes you should enroll him in a school near Segar la. Since we are all betting that it will be done by 2010 and we will receive the keys by 2011.(Must give them time to paint and tile the floor)
Me not staying there with parents la. Though my boyfriend's parents lives nearby and his bro also took an unit in Segar.

YanMan > "Hai yin gu shi" ah .... let me check what the map, english means what ... err .... Hai Inn Temple. If i am not wrong, the place have certain area use to store the ... the ... people pass away then burn ... then need to keep at the temple, something like that lah.

Yes, the construction is very slow at i can get to see it often. Foundation usually take a long time de, don't worry.

hillgal83 > Whahahahahahahahahaha, ya loh, like having a blind date.

my bf and I just drove passed the temple the other day and I pointed out a kind-of stand alone tower at the side of the temple and my bf said thats the place they keep the ashes. In terms of standards, if mandi is hdb and burial is landed property then to be housed in these temples/churches can be considered very high end condos. LOL

As for the construction, do you think they are on time?? Garfield, maybe you can go ask the construction worker again if they are on time to complete the whole thing by 3rd quarter of 2010. BTW, then he said completed the 1st time round, did he mean just the building or includes the interial flooring and windows too?

Hillgal83 > Wow kaoz, this is abit tricky wor .... i pai seh leh. Even if I ask liao hor, u can only take the foreman words for references only wor, coz end of the day, HDB will make the ultimate decision.

Agar agar is 3rd quarter of 2010 lah, be patience, don't gan chiong, hee hee.

Yes, you mentioned before it is 3rd quarter of 2010. Do you mean just the building or includes the interial flooring and windows too that will be completed by 3rd quarter of 2010?

.. So what make u guys to decide to get a flat over here at Segar meadow? juz out of curious.. I am looking for a flat too..

are you.. a newly wed?

hillgal83 > Err ... i also don't know wor, ha ha ha. Maybe everything?
Segar Meadow is just beside Segar LRT, price is very very reasonable.

For me is that this is the first BTO that came up in the area that we want, so we tried for it. I just want to be near family.Plus the LRT is a bonus.

Garfield>> thats why I suggest maybe you can go ask the worker again. haha

Hi All, sorry was busy with work n kids couldn't catch up with u guys../ gals...
Btw i was browsing through the My HDB page..a personalised webpage...

It's stated as the following :-

Probable Completion Date (PCD)(Estimated date of completion of construction of the flat) - 3rd Quarter 2011

Delivery Possession Date (DPD)
(Date HDB is required under the Agreement of Lease to deliver possession of flat) - 31 Oct 2012

These are the details i got for the BTO at Segar..

I would rather believe it to be ready by 2011..so at least my hopes are not dashed if it's not ready by 2010..But if it's ready eralier than that a BONUS for us...!!!

these dates were told to us when we signed the papers ah, but the lady at HDB also say will be earlier... either half yr to one yr earlier ba.

hillgal83>> Hoho.. Seems like u cant wait to move into your new flat huh? haha.. So ½ôÕÅhor..
Going to get married soon is it?

Anyway I heard that it will be already in mid 2010 bas..

not really la. Excited of coz, it is the first BIG purchase of my life. (The type that involves a loan)

I'm not sure if I want the flat earlier or later. Earlier is exciting because we get to start doing up the flat earlier, but I honestly need more time to save money....... later will give me more time la....

ha, I dun want to leave the flat empty while I save money le......

hillgal83>> Ya.. I understand how u feel.. When i got my first flat i feel the same as you. Expecially when i am planning for my wedding stuffes too.. Maybe you can start to plan your wedding earlier with your bf(if you are not married yet). At least when it is time, you have all the planning in mind..

Gals.. I am thinking of getting a 3 rm flat in Bukit Panjang.. Any suggestion?

Hi Cheer_gal>> Planning is not the problem, saving money for it IS. It is expecially stressful if the wedding and flat comes together.

When you plan to get a 3rm flat?? I think our Segar still has 3rm left, like 30plus units of them. But I am not sure when HDB will put them up for balloting. Then you are be our neighbour! LOL

Haha..
For some reason i cant get a new flat..
That y i have to get a re-sale from HDB..(SAD)!

hillgal83>> ya.. it is tough to plan both together.. Money will be an issue lol!

hillgal83 > I also can’t wait for the place to be ready too …. And also at the same time, need more time to save up to make my place nice nice, so I’m in a fix too.

Hi All>..Actually i dun mind if it's early or later...coz i've got everything ready except to wait for the house to be built..Maybe bcoz i'm already married for 7 years..and now is the 1st time i'm having a place that i can call my own home...Hehehe..!!!

I'm very excited to move into the new house so that i could design the house as per my taste and my hubby is going to built a walk in wardrobe for me...So Happy..!!!

YanMan>> How you plan to do the walk in wardrobe? I have stared at the floor plan for a long long time and still have not figure out how to built a walk in wardrode without one of the other bedrooms...
Thats why I kind of like give up the idea liao.

Garfield >> How much do you think we need to save in order to 'make the palce nice nice' ? I dun really know how much is enough le...

BTW: Happy Lunar New Year!

YanMan > Exactly, the feeling is not the same as current home, which is being shared with parent. Yes yes yes, a house call our home, that's the best part.

hillgal83 > Ok, if u are talking about renovation, i think we need at least $20k to have a decent reno.

Garfield>>> Then I have to save & save liao... or think of other ways to earn money...

BTW, over the CNy period, I noticed all the cranes were gone. I thought maybe the fountation is done....then they ALL came back last week......

and, I found out that another friend's friend has also gotten a flat here.

Summer>> I dun know about 455, but I know 2 from 458 liao. then I got 457, and Garfield is 456 right? how about you yanman?

Hi Summerbel,

I also got mine at BLK 455!!! is 11th floor! So excited to see this thread and all the future neighbours here!

Hillgal83>> Hi I've got Blk 456..

Me n my hubby had just finished going through the layout of the floor plan and deciding what items should be place at which area...Hehehe...Kind of abit Kan Cheong... !!!

Maybe we should all take note of each other mails so that we could keep in touch till we get to move into our new flats...I'm so excited...Really can't wait...
And if you think of it..2010 is just a matter of 10 months away...Hhahaha!!

YanMan>> More like end of 2010 la. At least still have to wait for one more full year. :P

As for the layout plan. I drawn in all the items too. Just to briefly see what are the things that I would need to save money for. (A lot lo!) My BF and I only confirmed where we want to place the wardrode and the kitchen counter.

You think if we all go to the same store to buy our stuff, we can get better discount? Last year, I went to COURTS to buy a TV and while paying I just ask the guy if I could get more discount if I were to get all my stuff from COURTS for my new flat, and he actually said yes! Just talk to his manager. So I was thinking, what if a few of us all get from the same place, the store gets to sell 4-5 TVs, washing machines, fans, fridges etc at one go. And all deliver to the same area somemore. Wouldn't the discount be better?

Congrats to all that got their new place.

When you guys going to renovate do rem to look for me ya.
Cheers~

white7>> Are u running renovation company or something..?
If you are..do u have any ideas and discount for us ...??
Do u have a website that we can view..?
And how much do u normally charge for a simple renovation..?

Hillgal83>> Ya..what u said is true..at least they (Courts delivery man) don't have to make a few trips..Hahaha..!!!

i live in the east... and he lives in northwest... and the choice of where we would live lies with our parents. whoever is going to take care of the grandchildren, we will live near who.

hillgal83 > Yes, I got Blk 456 …. Just saw a friend during CNY and so coincidence, she is staying 1 level below mine!

YanMan > Ha ha ha, I also wished that 2010 is just 10 mth away and our flat is ready by then. But I don’t think so and hillgal83 is right, at least 1 year plus before the flat is ready.

I am even more kiasu hor, I bought all the necessary item when got offer, I bought the curtain, bedsheet set, pillow etc few mth back le