Segar Medow - BTO

I guess the cheapest standard package offer at around 10k after browsing thru the net and enquiry from them.

From my point of view, if you can get direct supplier, by-passing the reno company, I tink it's much cheaper.

If you have frens can do some home furnishing like lighting and wardrobe will be much better.

I really dun wish to take reno loan lo.. saw my friend they took 40k reno loan and now still paying back lo.. very xiong..
Guess can only do a little at a time and find friends to help out and mostly on DIY bah..

Or we could keep it really simple,
- paint the walls ($1,200 - $1,600??)
- install the air con ($4,000??)
- do up the kitchen (ok... i have no idea what to expect here....)
- do up the toilets (same.... no idea how much I have to throw in....)

Everything else can be slowly bought in and have no need of an exterior contractor, even the warerobe. Whoever says warerobe must be a build-in??

Did I miss out anything?

If I did not... then the first lump sum of money should not be more than $15,000 right? for reno... then maybe we won't have to take too much of a reno loan...

we dun believe in reno loan..just keep it simple.after all end of the day..u can't bring all this fixtures out of the house..

Most imptly is to spend minimal amt but result turns out to be awesome.

My frez also renovated n took up 40k loan..now paying for both housing n reno loan..with e interest, in e end u pay so much more than 40k.

singaporean will always b in debt..fr education,car,wedding,housing,reno..that e result we pay to be in a high cost of living society..

Oh yes... Wiring and lighting.... Hmm... How much would that be?? Have to go check it out liao. For the wiring part?? What is the extend that HDB will do for us?

Paint the wall so expensive? I can get $150-$300 for the whole house painting but supply own paint.

Wiring also can get cheap (mayb around $200-$250) but supply own wire, truncking, switches and choice of lighting.

If anyone wanna make window iron wrought or aluminium grill, try find at Sungei Kadut. Several companies there make direct from factory. So can get cheap.

Wardrobe, kitchen cabinet, doors also can custom made at Sungei Kadut factory.

Not only that, can also shop for furniture at Sungei Kadut area... Cheaper than normal furniture shop.

Loan is not too bad if you know your repayment limit lahz. I think there are cases where people thought that its loan, so they borrow as much as they cant (forgetting that loan need to be repaid). but if cash flow allows,of couse no loan is the best

Oh yah.. and I had did some google. I think fixtures and installation are normally included, all you need is to provide them with the items to install. Painting of walls are included as well.

A typical Simple 4 room flat reno is just slightly above $10K - $15K (at most). but if you want to make it look nicer, of course its more lahz.

Anyway, can have a look at the below site (just have a feel of how the coverage of renovation will be)

http://www.homerenovation.com.sg/New_and_resale_HDB_flats.html

http://www.homerenovation.com.sg/HDB_premium_Design_and_Built.html

For those who had never gotten a BTO flat, please remember to go to HDB for a floor plan of the wiring and pipes. Every Wire and Pipe in the flat is concealed. You need to pay for your own blueprint. Forgotten how much it cost thou, please dont try drilling the wall yourself or before you get the plan, you wont know what you are drilling into.

you mean we still have to pay for the blueprint of our own home? Shouldn't they at least give us one copy first when we get the keys?? If we lose that then start charging us??

Acai>> can you place the info you gave above (about the furniture, and doors... and etc) in our facebook group... it is really quite difficult to search through all our archives here to find info...
I should start a discussion there and only answer if you have contacts to recommend. This would make our info search easier.

Must start preparing early... cause we are all kaisu singaporeans.... hahahaha!

hillgal83 > Both hands agree with u ... do everything bit by bit, not so siong.

SKII > Yeah man, i also don't believe in reno loan, we will end up paying alot more.

Hilda, of course not lahz.. i remember helping my parents to ask for it. and we paid dunno how much to get it from the HDB.

Really dunno what is the arrangement now, but from what i understand, Wire comes from Ceiling and goes downwards, pipe comes from Floor and goes upwards. all sockets are nicely connected, but you need the prints to tell you where u can drill where u cannot drill, and how deep u can drill into the walls.

Hi everyone!! Seems like we are all getting more n more excited le!!
Hey I have relative goes to CHina GUang Zhou to get their furniture,they say it cheaper.. if got 2 families and above go and share the shipping it worth it.. I wonder anyone interested??

There are still a few units in segar meadow available for sale in the HDB website. The price increased compared to the previous ones when we balloted.Seem that our hse has increase in value..

The price increase by ALOT lo... $280k for a 7 floor unit?? I think our highest unit then was only $260k plus only right?? ( I could be wrong la...)

Well, one thing good, I get to see the specs for our flat again... and I have cut and copy the whole thing into our facebook group.

The thing is... we have been discussing about reno cost right? I noticed that on the floor plan, HDB drew toilet bowls and sinks and even sink counters into the unit layout plan... so I went to the spec to take a look and true enough! there is this para
'Fittings
-Quality locksets.
-Quality sanitary fittings.
-Vanity top wash basin for attached bath/WC for 4-Room only, wash basin for other bath/WC, hot water pipes and tap/shower/bath mixers.
-Clothes drying rack.'

SO! if you don't mind or even like the premium flat toilet, you can save more money!! No need to add in anything for toilets... except maybe the shower head and heater la...

PLEASE correct me if you think/know I read the spec wrongly... and HDB is only giving us a very basic toilet with just tiles and toilet bowls...

Hilda, From what I understand, the toilet has everything u need except the holder for toilet papers and hrmm.. towels. ours might have everything coz PREMIUM :p

But Heater u need to put in. Shower Head and water mixer and Tap are all inclusive

wow..it look like we made a brilliant choice by buying premium flat..it really come with a lot of stuff at a lower price compared to e current market.. Helps us save $$..

Was reading singaporebride forum on home n deco..look like contractor is a cheaper option but lot of lousy comments..I believe sure can find 1 good among all e rest..

id is good but costly.. We tot of going ikea to study their idea..then dIy fr there..

SKII, hrmm.. I tried looking at IKEA sometimes back too, but the kitchen Cabinet is abit not-affordable. to fix up a proper set of cabinet, it will cost you abt $6K and that excludes installation which is another $200-$300.

As for the rest of ikea furniture, i strongly wont recommend as most of them are made of chipboard which will weaken when come into contact with moisture. There is only a few stuff such as Dining and racks that were made up of better quality Plywood or Solid Wood, but those were pretty costly.

I think, the only thing you can get from Ikea is their lamp, curtain and accessories, which are indeed very cheap

Oh yah, for those pple here who wants hotel style shower head, confirm must change the shower head one.. HDB installed shower head arent that great when it comes to showering.. haha.. And hrmm. Kitchen Sink not included hor..

alex,

Thanks for ur advice..we just like their design..dun think will buy their pdt cos it dun lasts..

I did not noe tt sink is not included..there is a thread on hotel like shower head..seems not Bad lei...

Summer > Go all the way to CHina GUang Zhou to purchase furniture? Hmm .... we are buying 2-3 pieces, guess not very ideal.

Oh gosh, Blk 456 #15-119 cost $310,200 now! Worst, selling price from HDB for first timer at current market rate.

General Specifications for Segar Meadows

Foundation
Reinforced concrete bored piles.

Structure
Reinforced concrete structural framework with reinforced concrete slabs.

Roof
Reinforced concrete roof slab with precast concrete secondary roofing.

Walls
All external and internal walls are constructed with reinforced concrete/solid blocks/bricks with cement plastering/facing bricks/precast panels/precast lightweight concrete partitions.

Windows
Aluminium framed windows with tinted glass.
Doors
Entrance : decorative solid timber door and metal gate
Bedrooms : decorative solid timber door (Type D10)
Bathrooms/WC : laminated semi-solid timber door (Type D10a)
Household Shelter : metal door
Service Yard : aluminium framed door with glass

Finishes
Ceilings : skim coated or plastered and painted
Bathroom/WC/Kitchen walls : glazed ceramic tiles
Other walls : skim coated or plastered and painted
Living/Dining floor : glazed porcelain ceramic tiles with timber skirting
Bedroom floor : timber strip flooring with timber skirting
Kitchen : glazed porcelain ceramic tiles
Household Shelter floor : glazed porcelain ceramic tiles
Bathroom/WC floor : glazed ceramic tiles
Service Yard floor : glazed porcelain ceramic tiles with ceramic tiles skirting

Fittings
Quality locksets.
Quality sanitary fittings.
Vanity top wash basin for attached bath/WC for 4-Room only, wash basin for other bath/WC, hot water pipes and tap/shower/bath mixers.
Clothes drying rack.

Services
Gas services and concealed water supply pipes.
Concealed electrical wiring to lighting and power points (including water heater and air-conditioning points).
Television points.
Telephone points.
Important Notes:
The Household Shelter is designed for use as civil defence shelter. The walls, ceiling, floor and door of the Household Shelter shall not be hacked, drilled, altered or removed.
Air-con panel in the main bedroom will not be provided.
You are advised to visit HDB’s website at www.hdb.gov.sg for information on renovation rules.

The plans and information in this brochure are the copyright of the Housing & Development Board (HDB), Singapore. The HDB reserves the right at any time without notice and at its sole discretion, to change any aspect of this project including but not limited to the omission, amalgamation of or increasing or reducing the communal facilities and amenities. All art renderings, illustrations, pictures, photographs and other graphic representations and references are artist’s impressions only. Similarly all dimensions, areas, plans, colour schemes, descriptions and specifications, noted herein are subject to change or alteration without notice if required by the Competent Authority or at HDB’s sole and absolute discretion. The void deck in any apartment block may subsequently be used for facilities, such as child care centres, education centres, residents’ committee centres and such other facilities as HDB may deem fit.

The Floor Areas are scaled Strata Areas.

Alex Chen > LOL, this is one the the "preventive measure" taken by HDB to cool the market ---> Selling new flat slightly cheaper than resale flat prices at "current" market situation.

went to check our old price list, 15-119 was selling at $230,300 during our initial ballot. Hmm that means good news for us cause our flat paper valur has definitely increase..heeheehee

sigh they have started to dig for the new project infront of our door step. after waiting for so long for our home and now has to endure the next few years of construction before we can really enjoy our home.....

Hi Guys

Dun worry. I guess having more developments around our area means that they will develop the "inner part" of Bt Panjang..

I think i got mine for 16 storey at 458 for ard $227K when i 1st applied. Think its time to start hunting for ID or contractor soon liao...

Anyone started sourcing and have the quotes already care to share here so that we can have a rough gauge on the cost and what to take note of.

I think Im the most Kaisu of all.. I have already gotten a drawin from my contractor, who is my bf's sis's fren.. Haven got the quote yet coz haven gone in details but we would have to decde the size of the fridge, bed, etc so that he can quote accordingly.. Haven gotten back to him on these yet coz still tot its too early so... shall see...

Hi Alex
If you need my contractor to quote, can let me know.. Not too sure if he is good anot la but he is highly recommended by my bf's sis.. So.. u all can decide on your own

hi alex,

pls remove my name from the list as I have just signed up with an ID firm which has all my requirements at a reasonable price..

if u want, i can pm the contact..

I have signed up with Home Success Designer's HDB Premium Promotion Package (4 room) at $19888..

basic package priced at $11988 which consists of :

Interior Designing & Services
- Design concept & budget consultation
- Space planning & layout plan proposal
- Hassle free ISO Format project management
- Soft furnishing consultation
- Computer Design drawings proposal
- Materials & Color Scheme Proposal

Masonry Work
- Supply & Construct 50mm kitchen base with tiles finish
- Supply & construct 50mm washing maching base with tiles finish
- Supply & construct 50 mm frisge base with tiles finish

Plumbing Work (we bargain for stainless steel piping)
- Extension of copper piping for new kitchen sink position
- labour for installation of kitchen sink
-laying conceal drainage pipe for kitchen sink
-extension of copper piping to new washing machine position
-laying conceal drainage pipe for washing machine
-supply labour to install bathroom accessories for 2 bathrooms
-labour for installation of storage or instant heater

Ceiling work
- supply & construct false ceiling at foyer area
- supply & cnstruct false ceiling at passage way
- supply & construct l-box light holder at living area
- supply & construct l-box light holder at dining area (omit this out fr the package, deduct $180)
- supply & construct 2 rows l-box light holder at master bedroom

Carpentry work
- design & fabricate 20ft kitchen cabinet with ABS trimming laminted door with

a) design handles & cultery tray
b) supply & install stainless steel dish rack
c) labour to install cooker hood & hob
d) supply & install stainless steel backing at ccoker hob area (omit out, deduct $120)
- design & fabricate 8'*8' feature wall c/w swing door at household shelter (we ask for 2 magnets-more stable)
- design & fabricate 6' * 6' tv console at living area
-design & fabricate 6' * 6' tv feature wall above tv console
-design & fabricate 6' wardrobe at master bedroom
- design & fabricate 5'L * 6' ft feature wall headboard feature wall at master bedroom (omit out, deduct $600)
-design & fabricate 2numbers suspended bedside table at master bedroom

Misc work
-supply & paint whole unit's wall & ceiling using ICI pentalite emulsion paint (6 color)
-supply & paint all pipes, door, door frames & gates with gloss paint (omit out, deduct $120)
-paint & revarnish of existing main door (omit out, deduct $50)
- supply & lay protection after completion of flooring
-chemical washing for whole house flooring
-general cleaning upon completion..

Additional work

A) Demolish/cement works
- supply equipment & labour to hack off partial wall btw living & bedrom 2 include make good with cement plastering $350

B) Carpentry Work (all cabinets using solid plywood with standard white PVC interior, ABS trimming for door panels. Exclude special fittings & accessories, unless specified)

i)Foyer
- fabricate & install 5ft (l) 4ft(h) 50mm shoe cabinet with cushion seetee with swing door panels in selected laminate finish $650

ii) Masterbed room
- To design & fabricate 9.5ft (l) bay window with cushion seatee & storage space in selected laminated finish ( 6 sliding doors, 3 parition for storage) $1425

iii)Bedroom 2

- fabricate & install 9ft (l) study table with drawers in selected laminate finish $1080

iv) Kitchen
- fabricate & install additional 3ft (l)kitchen cabinet in laminated finish (top up additional length fr package) $330
- supply & install slow close hinges for kitchen cabinet swing panels & 2 number of drawers $180
- fabricate & install 11.5ft(l) selected china granite single profile worktop with 40mm (h)selective font profile & 50mm (h) back splash, includes cutting of opening for kitchen sink & ccoker hob $1050 (granite can withhold scratches)

C)Plumbing work

- supply materials & labour to lay additional water supply & outlet stainless steel piping to new basin position at service yard $120
-supple labour for installation of basin at service yard $80

D) Window/glass work
- supply & install powder coated aluminium window grille for living & 3 bedrooms (white color) * base on 4ft height $936
- supply & install 10mm clear tempered glass 01 fixed 01 no sliding panel shower screen at master bedroom $710
- supply & install 8ft(l) 10mm clear tempered glass on wall btw living & bedroom 2 (includes labour for carrying glass panel to site) $940
- supply & install 10mm coloured glass backing at exposed wall area at kitchen cabinet area (cover the tile exposed in btw top n bottom cabinet)$780

E)Misc Work
-haulage fee for uplifting of materials from void deck to renovation site $250
- application for renovation permit, if needed FOC
- includes debris removal fee payable to HDB,Town council, PE endorsement fee (this item is always a hidden cost, pls bargain for free)

** The above package is subjective to 7% GST**
** Original price is $21184.93 after GST, Final Price is $19888, almost $1300 cash discount**

- Please bargain for waiver of GST..
- Payment is break down in 15%, 40%,40%, 5% (subject to variation)
- Pls include this clause in ur contract :

** The agreed total said price will not change and any variations as discussed is based on not more than Singapore dollar $500**

-> will protect ur pocket, as i understand, ID will tell you tt this material is out of stock n ask u to top up for better materials..

hope tt my quotation can give u a guideline and tips to bargain..

btw, my ID is Aaron from Home Success (however he is quite new in this industry)