Segar Medow - BTO

I would think a more realistic estimate will be middle of 2011. I estimated a duration of 1 week to stack 1 storey in 1 block, which means 16 months for 16 storeys for all 4 blocks.

Foundation: 2 months
Stacking of 16 storeys: 16 months
Windows, doors, flooring, elevators, etc: 3 months
Carpark, pavilion, walkways, etc: 3 months
Handing/Taking over from developer to HDB, inspection by HDB, rectification by developer, etc: 3 months

Total: <u>27 months</u>

Dezumondo >> by your suggested timing, the flats should be ready in 2010 still ah,since they start in aug 2008... then 27 mths is Nov 2010...(I might have counted wrong... only have 10 fingers la...but I counted twice... LOL).

Unless HDB takes 6 mths to give us keys?!?!?! Or did I miss out a step somewhere??

BTW, this mth got pic?? I live very far away la, every mth I look forward to your pic updates of the site. lol

Hi hillgal83,

I meant 27 months from now, which means that my estimate would be middle of 2011 for us to collect keys. But anyway, it's only my estimation. Hopefully we can collect our keys earlier.

I haven't got the time to take the pictures, only travelled past there by train occasionally.

Just to give some updates, I noticed that about 3 weeks ago, they have started digging up the hole in blocks 457 and 458. They have been putting the metals, concrete and other stuff into the hole. From my observation from other recent BTOs, I think it will take another 2 months before they complete digging/filling up of all the holes in all 4 blocks, which I refer to as foundation. Once this "basement" is done, the stacking should start soon...

white7 > Yes yes, relax relax …. Keep pur cool, time flies.

dezumondo> Thanks Bro for providing some of Sengkang’s pic …. OH MY GOD, theirs are indeed faster man, can see all the foundation are done and 1 level are UP liao. So envy sia

I always passby Segar Meadow but lazy to take pic because I need to take a lift all the way up to have a good angle for the pic. Will try to take a pic soon

*sigh* why is ours slower than others?? Do you think it is because of the MRT track?? That they can't risk building the flats while digging the underground track?? I always see lots of cranes at the site, but NEVER seen them moving... I thought it was just my bad timing, but looking at Sengkang... i guess ours is SLOW!

hillgal83 > EXACTLY!!! After looking at Sengkang flat, i really felt that ours was much slower ...

Upon request, i went over just now to take a few snap at our Segar Meadow, pls take a look.

935550.jpg

I compared the pics for both months... no diff... at all..... when you went over to take the photos... was there movement in the site? Maybe they stopped work... maybe the contractor went out of money!?!?!

Actually if you notice closely in the pictures taken in January, you will see a small hole dug for the foundation for Block 457.

This month, the hole has been dug for block 458 as well. The metals and concrete have been laid into the holes for both blocks.

But still, it is quite slow because the process from digging to covering up should take only about 3 months, judging from other BTOs.

As for the MRT track, Segar is quite far from the station, so it should not affect at all. Anyway, I think they haven't started digging yet...

hillgal83 > There was movement wor .... heavy machine and workers moving around.

dezumondo > U are always eye for details, thanks for your analysis.

I've notice the difference between Segar &amp; Compassvale..
Well anyway we still got time to save some more cash for our renovation and household.

dezumondo>>>thanks a lot for your analysis..at least i can guess roughly when should i start sending out flyers to sell my present house.

white7>> Do u have a floor plan of Segar Meadows?
Juz asking for your opinion, ..from your view do u think we're able to to a walk in wardrobe in our master bedroom..?

garfieldhello>>> Yup i do have it but just asking White7 if he does have it..so that at least he could take a look at the floor plan and see if we're able to do walk-in wardrobe...Coz that's what i've always wanted...
I'm sure hillgal83 also would like to know it too since she's keen to make one too.

white7>>> what's yur advise...?

I dun think white7 have la... maybe one of us have to scan and upload the floorplan for him lo... i tried looking online, but cannot find la.... maybe i can find something that is about the same and post the link here... i'll try to find.

YanMan... I kind of give up on the walk-in liao, came up with another idea...

I found this floorplan of Sunshine Court (CCK), likes like ours, so white7, you can get an idea of our master bedroom from this plan... paisa.. a bit small...
938685.jpg

i got a unit too
yes it started to dig blk 457 &amp; 458. Previously all those stones thingy are for ground testing.. ground testing took few months to do it..if the ground sunk then they need to pound the metal into the ground to stable it :P

Hmmm let's hope 2010 will be ready

Contractors found touting for business in Punggol housing estates
By Liang Kaixin and Cheryl Lim, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 26 February 2009

SINGAPORE : It may be a property buyers' market now, but the poor economy has brought woes to another segment of the housing industry.

The business slump is turning contractors into casualties of the recession, forcing some to tout for business.

Residents in Punggol have recently become the targets of touts. Several callers to Channel NewsAsia's news hotline said they had been approached by many contractors seeking to do renovation work on their homes.

Checks with these contractors revealed that they have resorted to such tactics because of the bad economy.

The Singapore Renovation, Contractors and Materials Suppliers Association said the renovation business is undergoing tough times.

Many contractors said new home owners are now holding off plans to renovate. Those who do plan to have work done are asking for lower prices.

The number of customers defaulting on their payments has also risen in recent months.

On top of that, the Housing and Development Board's (HDB) Build-to-Order scheme, which offers flat with standard or premium finishes, has drastically reduced the need for contractors.

"Many of our members say they haven't had any jobs since the start of 2009. If the situation continues, nearly half the contractors in Singapore might close down," said Lim Ah Bah, honorary advisor of the Singapore Renovation, Contractors and Materials Suppliers Association.

Under the HDB's Registered Renovation Contractors' Scheme, registered contractors are not allowed to tout or solicit for business in HDB estates. Those found guilty of such offences can be fined S$500 and given demerit points. - CNA /ls

dezumondo > Thanks and well done Bro ... really can see your effort to take the construction site at 2 different angle. I can see that the foundation was almost done for Blk 457

Thanks dezumondo! I dun know how does the foundations look like, but if Garfield says 457's is almost done.... then it does seems that 458 one also almost done right.... the foundation seem to take very long le... then they still have not start on 455 &amp; 456... aiyo...

The foundation includes those concrete and metal structures in the "basement" of both blocks 457 and 458...

From the looks of it, it should take another 2 months before they cover up this "basement"...

did u all see that there are constuction work done beside our BTO near the expressway? I wonder what they are doing.. Hopefully they can build a rad in via the expressway.. hehe

I don't know whats that.. But now that mentioning its for MRT tracks could be possible.. You know when you drive pass KJE, you will see al the construction at the borders of the road.. Quite a big construction..

I wish lo. But the roads around our area are all 2 lanes, can they support the traffic if they open it to the traffic from KJE??

But if it really is going to be a shortcut, I will be freaking happy... easier to teach my mother how to drive to my new place.... LOL

Annie > "I thought it's a short cut road to join the KJE."

I also hope so because it gonna make our estate very convenient + flat resale value gonna shoot up too.

But but but, my father who is in a construction company say NO. So sad

Think they are doing some pipe laying activities, definitely not a short cut road to join the KJE or MRT tracks construction.

so, has anyone seen the site recently?? any improvement??

I happened to call HDB last week for other matters then kapo and went on to ask if there is any delays in the building of Segar, the lady told me no, still targeted to complete by 3rd quarter of 2011... I realy hope it would be earlier...

I also have a unit at Blk 457.. level 13...
any neighbours? I heard from my frez staying in Bukit panjang that they seems to have stop work.

Our flat is very slow... The ITE West at Teck Whye is coming to 5th floor..

I'm also at 457.... but I'm way way way below ur floor. LOL...

Yes our site is very very slow... I too commenting to my bf the other day that the ITE is coming up very quickly.

Yea saw the HUGE diff.. Sigh.. I wonder what happened? Our ground not suitable? I can't wait can't wait can't wait for our flats to be ready soon soon soon.. lol..
Anyway hopefully we can get our flats next yr.. Im praying that its only the foundation which is taking a longer time, after that, it will be much faster..

so jealous of compassvale now...
and they have more flats than us lo...
*sigh* dun think can get the flat next yr lo...
we will be all talking in this forum for another 2 yrs. Can't even move to a new thread like ' Residents of Segar Meadows' LOL

I went to take pictures again today. It seems that the foundation for blocks 457 and 458 are almost done. They are starting the foundation for block 456. And strangely, they are also working on the multi-storey carpark (MSCP). As for block 455, there is no news yet.

Pictures coming up shortly.

Hi dezumondo, Thanks for supplying us with all the pics..at least i can feel that they are doing something...
I'm feeling very excited upon seeing the pics from Dezumondo..
For the new comers..i sincerely welcome all of u to our forum hehehe...
Anyway do u all think that it's till early to plan for our renovation?

Hello Dezumondo! I look forward to the updates from you or Garfield every mth. Wahahaha! Yes la, finally see some improvement. Still jealous of the sengkang BTO.... they probably hit the 3rd or 4th level liao.

YanMan>> For renovations, I think a bit early la... who would want to draw up a plan for u knowing that the 'project' for them will only happen in 1 and half yrs time?? They sure scare if show u the drawing layout early, you have so much time to find so cheaper contracter to do lo... LOL
BUT to start saving $$ now is a must. LOL