Riverview Hotel

I am looking at RV as one of my options. What are your reasons for choosing RV?

Please enlighten me!

10 Qs!

maomao, it really depends on ur budget one loh. And whether u having ur AD on a weekday or weekend. For my case, we chosen this hotel becoz ...our AD is on a weekend. The price @ RV will be about 550 (forget the actual amount liaoz) if u check other hotels erm weekend will be about 600-700....thats out of our budget loh. The food there not bad lah ;) quite nice i can say.

But just one or two things to note, they dont provide free flow of beer, corkage charge involved for wine, and no free food tasting (for table below 28). U can try to bargain with them .. but i dont noe if they will give lah .. i only managed to get 12 bottles of wine waived :P

Hi maomao,
wat rannie say is also d reason why i chose RV,
mine is on weekend also ,, for 8 course is $550 n for 9course is $580. I actually went to view one of the wedding setup before i sign up, n it is beautiful.. Juz wat i expected.. nice n cozy ..n price is gd.I dun regret having RV as my choice.

Hi rannie,
did u engage a videographer for yur AD..
mi dun knw whether shld engage one or ask family member to take ... confused..

ashy, mi no budget for all this liaoz .. hehehe
even photographer!!! i engaged my bs one.....
will get my family members to take for me...

But u must know lah ... if u engaged ur family member to take for u .. u wont be able to see the full wed one loh .. sure got miss here and there coz they still have to eat dinner mah hehe

ashy, i din managed to see the setup leh....only once .. that was 2 yrs back .. dont noe any changes or not....hehe

oh!! aiyah... all is moneyyyy...so sian!! i met up with raymond last wk, n he told mi nw change again,,, nw is with candles on every tables,, n u will c flowers when u walk in with candles,,, n he told mi red roses is nicer n quality is better compared with yellow n ivory....

ashy, but the colour flower can change one right? doesnt mean must take red right? coz it really depends on ur wg & eg....coz if ur eg is red or maroon ... red rose will make ur dress dont stand out right....

hihi, i saw the setup for one of the wedding dinners in RV two months back, u can choose to have the arch or without. The flowers are not up yet, but in general, the settings is quite nice, more pink/ivory colours.

not sure if they have changed recently....think by my wedding, they probably changed!

Oh yes, i think if exceed 30 tables, the ballroom looks really cramped.

my AD will be on 22 jan 05....so still got 2mths .will b mtg him end of d mth again.ya, d colour can change to yur perference. Woh,, u still hav 3wks to go mann.. so fast.

mi still have 1 month ya :p not 3 weeks lah .. hehehe
meet up with raymond on wed evening. basically the meeting he is repeating all the things that is stated in the contract. he is abit blur already told him so many times regarding the payment today he still call me and ask me about it...... heheh hopefully he is blur with the $$$ also :P

hahah sierra, ya loh :P
excited? no leh...more excited with my HM hahaha.....btw will u be getting extra rooms for ur family members? I check with raymond .. he give me special rate $95+++ per room. When I check internet, the rates is $99+++ sighz....what kind of special rate is that

hi rainnie....
nope, i'm not getting rooms for my family members...dun wan them to disturb us :P

anyways it's only for 1 nite, next day go home already...are u getting an extra nite stay?

hello,,, rainnie
so hw abt yur own bed ,,did u do anything on yur bed,,, tat required u to sleep on it on wedding day!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sierra, ya only staying for one night.

Will be getting one or two room for my mom, sister and cousin bro ....coz will be quite late @ night liaoz .. let them have a good rest den the next day can go home together hahaha....

esther, I know must an chuan right? New bed arrived last month .. nothing is done yet .. hahahaha need to wait for my portrait to be hang up first den will pack my masterbed room :P
actual day i wont be @ new house sleeping mah so dont have to do anything ba? Will be @ hotel leh hahaha

ya lor ,,mi too neh think will b in hotel,,,
but my mil an chuan 4 mi leh,, dun knw which is better...havent buy my bed yet... names havent fully out yet... raymond need it by end mth..

???? y u need to confirm with him so fast meh? Ur AD is later den mine right?
I only need to send him the table arrangment and number of confirmed guest one week before my AD leh. U better check properly :P

oic....i need to provide him with the floor plan by next week. Chaim ah ... still cant finalised ... coz got a few ... can't make it

hi rainnie, i find that RV's list of songs is not wat i like, would compile the songs myself...hehehe relax, and smile more...be a beautiful bride tat day...

I have decided to use Lily Ballroom for my AD, my only concern is the inconvenience of the location. Intend to provide transport service for my guest. Any advise if any of you will be doing the same?

Hi.I had my wedding there recently and the co-ordinator, Kim Peng, is a very nice lady. She's new but her service is excellent. Gave plenty of advice. Did alot of follow up too. Sometimes, she even takes the effort to remind you of certain things that you should do. I even got a treat from her.

My overall grading for RV is 4 Stars.

Hi all, I just had my wedding .. with RV last sat...I am very disappointed with their service ya....althought 2 yrs back my uncle hold his wedding there.. i find that their standard drop alot! dont noe isit becoz my dinner starts @ 9pm every waitresses and waiters trying to rush the way thru. When we check in...there was a confusion den .. dinner time one of the waitress actually pour one glass of drinks onto my guest and before my guest can finish with the food the waitress took the dish away. Sighz
Den I was @ VIP table .. i actually saw one of the waitress refill the wine for one of my guest when the glass already got half a glass of wine. So please advise ur hotel coordinator...that dont pour wine when the glass is 1/2 full. Coz some of the guest would only want to taste the wine and not drink loh.

The place is not very ulu but hor....if u wedding is on a weekend abit jialet .. coz jam @ Orchard area. Coz normally ppl would come from there. And they dont have enuff car park slots so ur guests would have to go other place to park! time would be wasted there .. and cause dinner to start late.

My goodness!! The first negative comments so far.. But one negative comments is more than enough to cover for 100 of good comments... Feel abit demoralise liao.. Why did they start dinner so late? Did you request them to start at 9pm? Also Rainnie, did you provide transport for your guest?

Rachel, I did not provide tranport for my guests. Coz RV is quite centralise, where most ppl will take cab or drive. The reason why we start dinner @ 9pm becoz @ 8.15pm we only have about 60% of the guests turn up. The cocktail room was taken up by a Church Function (Xmas celebration) and they came quite early therefore I presume most of the carpark slot are taken up by them. Coz most of my guests feedback that they can't find a carpark slot. And I actually had issue them a carpark coupon...and the hotel staff did not direct them or exchange the coupon with them. Thats why a number of my guests are late for the dinner n we can only ask the hotel staff to start the dinner @ 8.45..when we march in is already 9pm.

So hopefully when u gals have ur wedding there .... there wont be a crowd there. Meaning ... most of the carpark slots are free...if not ur guests would have problem parking their cars....

Oh I see... My dinner is on Nov and hope not so many function.. But likely got function cos it is a sat loh.. Then I guess I will do without the transport bah.. Thks for the feedback and I believe it helps alot.

Rachel, did they provide u with the cameila room? The cocktail room? Try asking it for free....mine i couldn't get it .. althought they want to give..coz the church already book it. So if u have that room...guess .... carpark slot shld be ok loh. But i was told by my uncles ....they got limited slots even if the carpark is empty !

I been there before,for those taking bus from orchard,there will be a terrible jam at orchard road,becos of x'mas?any1 noe what is the max no of tables riverview can take?for the package,there is 1night stay at its bridal suite?riverview dun provide free flow of beer?how abt LCD projector?

hi rainnie,
In the end,u need to pay how much for your corkage?

Hi Rainnie, will try to ask for that room.. Thk for the advise, but not sure can get..Hope everything turns out well loh...

Cool,
max no of tables river view can take is 35-38. 38 very squeezy.. there is a night stay in bridal suite and it is high high storey so nice view.. LCD have so dun worry, just beside the stage hence good position. I din even take up any beer hence asked for a discount off the whole package.

cool, i din have to pay for any corkage. Coz they waive it off. U can try asking for it...

Rachel, u not having beer for ur dinner? Why? Sure have ppl ask for beer...are u bringing in?

hi rainnie,

that sounds bad leh....did they give u a discount or something?

cross fingers, hope all goes well when i have my wedding next year!

sierra, no leh........no discount....after toking to the banquet supervisor...i felt that no point toking to him coz he cant make any discussion...but any way ... its the past liaoz ... so dont want to bring it up to them loh.

Its best u can advise the hotel manager/supervisor before the dinner starts .... like if the wine glass is already 1/2 filled dont pour wine in. Only wait till 1/4 or 1/5 left......so that u can save on ur wine.....have ur wine & beer only when the first dish starts...unless u dont mind to fork out more loh. Coz I remember before the last dish the supervisor comes and tell us that no more beer again
so total we open 50 litre (including the free one)....abit regreted coz ... 20 litre cost $450 is abt one table of money liaoz.

rainnie: like you say, it's over. most impt thing is your marriage ahead....

i was thinking of just taking the wine from RV, and getting beer from outside. cos the hotel's beer is quite ex....

Hmmm.. Actually dun be surprise when I say that my banquet is full vegetarian, hence I think it should be ok to do without beer lah since all of them know it is a vegetarian banquet loh.. Thinking of asking for corkage waive for my vegetarian beer (non alchoholic)..

Hi all, I am actually shortlisting River View as my AD venue as it seems to be recommended in thread 2006 bride under a meeting place for brides. Rachel, you are the same person in the 2006 thread right? I am also a 2006 bride! Can I have more details regarding the package they offer and who is the person in charge?

sierra, ic ...the wine is ex also! I have a total of open 22 tables.......and used up 23 bottles ya..... my per bottle is $17 (excluding gst) so is cheaper den ... RV one
Under consignment ...if u wan can let me know .. i pass u the contact.

Rachel, oic.....

Puppy26, there's a few coordinator over @ RV. Mine is raymond....I din noe RV is so popular...haha the pricing is ok loh.....food quite nice. ;) Package wise u can ask dem to email u. If u really want to sign up with them remember to ask for waiver for corkage!

I have copy the package from the earlier thread here.... u can take a look ...

LILY BALLROOM

W E E K D A Y S

Monday - Thursday, excluding Eve of Public Holidays and Public Holidays
8-course Menu : S$448 +++ per table of 10 persons
9-course Menu : S$468 +++ per table of 10 persons

W E E K E N D S

Friday ¡V Sunday, Eve of Public Holidays and Public Holidays
8-course Menu : S$478 +++ per table of 10 persons
9-course Menu : S$498 +++ per table of 10 persons

*Based on minimum of 250 persons & maximum of 350 persons*

„Z An exquisite eight or nine-course menu

„Z Free flow of soft drinks, mixers and Chinese tea throughout the evening

„Z Waiver of corkage charge for duty paid liquor

„Z A complimentary 30-litre barrel beer OR
„Z Complimentary 18 bottles of red wine

„Z 20% discount on purchase of red/white wines

„Z 3-tier model wedding cake for cake cutting ceremony

„Z Individually packed wedding sugi or fruit cakes for all guests

„Z Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of
alcoholic sparkling wine

„Z Red carpet aisle with fresh floral stands and ¡¥misty¡¦ effect
during the Bridal walk-in

„Z Fresh floral centrepieces for the reception and VIP tables

„Z Elegant seat covers for all chairs

„Z A stylish sign-in scroll as a memento

„Z Exclusive wedding invitation cards with envelopes based on 70% of the confirmed attendance (excludes printing of inserts/texts)

„Z Complimentary one-night stay in our Bridal Suite including buffet breakfast for two persons in our River Garden Coffee House

„Z Complimentary light dinner arranged in the Bridal Suite

„Z Complimentary parking coupons for up to 20% of confirmed attendance

„Z One VIP parking lot at the hotel entrance

For bookings exceeding 28 tables, choose ONE (for 28 to 31 tables booking), TWO (for 32 to 35 tables booking) of the following :-

„Z Use of the Camellia Room for pre-dinner Cocktail
with free flow of soft drinks from 7pm

„Z A second night stay in the Bridal Suite with complimentary
buffet breakfast for two at the River Garden Coffee House

„Z A Wedding Anniversary voucher worth $188/-

„Z Complimentary food tasting for a table of 10 of the confirmed menu

„Z A carton of red wines (12 bottles)

„Z Use of LCD projector and screen

„Z A 30-litre barrel of beer at special rate of $450 +++

„Z Tastefully designed ice carving to adorn the stage

„Z Two reserved tables instead of one (no food takeaway)

Welcome puppy26. Din see you at 2006 bride thread leh or you use diff id?.. Mine is vegetarian food but tried their cooking not bad ya.. Package price is attractive as in weekend rates below $600. The ballroom quite nice and spacious and we actually saw the real set up for wedding before we decided we want to hold our wedding there. My coordinator is Raymond Ling and he is quite friendly. There is another coordinator think is a lady. Somehow I prefer to work with men.. Can be easier when comes to negotiation with little details..

Oh ya Sierra, your AD coming sept so long way leh hehe.. Mine longer way tho.. Feedback whenever there is anything happening or details with Riverview ya.. Grace also.. Soon is your turn.. So happy that Rainnie still with us after your AD guiding us and giving us advises.. Appreciate that alot!