Riverview Hotel

Help! Someone commented in FBO that the food in RV is not so nice. I need some feedback verification. Anyone attended weddings there lately?

Hi BTBs, here's some details for those interested in the place. They are not very flexible when it come to bargaining, but still you can try for minor ones like partial corkage wine waiver. I tried to ask for free flow of beer but was not successful.

LILY BALLROOM

W E E K D A Y S

Monday - Thursday, excluding Eve of Public Holidays and Public Holidays
8-course Menu : S$448 +++ per table of 10 persons
9-course Menu : S$468 +++ per table of 10 persons

W E E K E N D S

Friday ¡V Sunday, Eve of Public Holidays and Public Holidays
8-course Menu : S$478 +++ per table of 10 persons
9-course Menu : S$498 +++ per table of 10 persons

*Based on minimum of 250 persons & maximum of 350 persons*

„Z An exquisite eight or nine-course menu

„Z Free flow of soft drinks, mixers and Chinese tea throughout the evening

„Z Waiver of corkage charge for duty paid liquor

„Z A complimentary 30-litre barrel beer OR
„Z Complimentary 18 bottles of red wine

„Z 20% discount on purchase of red/white wines

„Z 3-tier model wedding cake for cake cutting ceremony

„Z Individually packed wedding sugi or fruit cakes for all guests

„Z Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of
alcoholic sparkling wine

„Z Red carpet aisle with fresh floral stands and ¡¥misty¡¦ effect
during the Bridal walk-in

„Z Fresh floral centrepieces for the reception and VIP tables

„Z Elegant seat covers for all chairs

„Z A stylish sign-in scroll as a memento

„Z Exclusive wedding invitation cards with envelopes based on 70% of the confirmed attendance (excludes printing of inserts/texts)

„Z Complimentary one-night stay in our Bridal Suite including buffet breakfast for two persons in our River Garden Coffee House

„Z Complimentary light dinner arranged in the Bridal Suite

„Z Complimentary parking coupons for up to 20% of confirmed attendance

„Z One VIP parking lot at the hotel entrance

For bookings exceeding 28 tables, choose ONE (for 28 to 31 tables booking), TWO (for 32 to 35 tables booking) of the following :-

„Z Use of the Camellia Room for pre-dinner Cocktail
with free flow of soft drinks from 7pm

„Z A second night stay in the Bridal Suite with complimentary
buffet breakfast for two at the River Garden Coffee House

„Z A Wedding Anniversary voucher worth $188/-

„Z Complimentary food tasting for a table of 10 of the confirmed menu

„Z A carton of red wines (12 bottles)

„Z Use of LCD projector and screen

„Z A 30-litre barrel of beer at special rate of $450 +++

„Z Tastefully designed ice carving to adorn the stage

„Z Two reserved tables instead of one (no food takeaway)

Just attended a wedding dinner at Riverview (restaurant at level 2) last month. Food and service not bad, decor so so only...abit cheena though. Location not easily accessible by public transport. Overall still okie.

2 yrs ago my uncle hold his wedding there @ level 4 lily ballroom. Decor, food & svc not bad. I will be holding my wedding there this yr dec 04.

Hi Rainnie,
Have you gone for food tasting yet? Are they having the food tasting at the 2nd storey restaurant? Me having mine in Jan next year.
I have a friend having wedding too at level 4 lily ballroom three years back. However they opt for vegetarian soooo it turn out to be not so nice but must admit that the servicing for the dishes are big although not many people enjoy all veg dishes. The decor then is quite cheena lor...
Went to view the ballroom during our confirmation but doesn't get to see the recently decorated one.
Wonder it is still the same as b4...... hopefully there is slight changes.

Btw, if they provide the Camilia room as cocktail room, dun noe how's the decor tooo...

If you have more info.. do share. Thx in advance.

Hi Grace,
Mi & my hubby don't think we want to go for the food tasting. Coz its not free, anyway we thinks that even after tasting ... if it doesn't taste nice any thing can be done? I doubt so right so why spend $200+++ for that?
I was at my uncle's wed, the decor not bad and the food taste gd as well ;) but it all depends on taste as well lor..some might say not nice or normal.
BTW, when I was there the first time with my friend to meet up with the coordinator (cos my hubby working) we went to their chinese rest. for buffet dinner. The food taste nice I love their yam paste!
As for the deco, who did u liaise with? I liaise with Eileen- she resigned recently. She did show us photos of the decor for the past wed. Did they show u?
Sad to say....on my actual day (11 Dec) Camilia room have been booked by a group of christian for a dinner function ;( so I wont have any cocktail room...so decor ah i wont noe but i remember u can show ur video there but u will incur $$$ ya

Hi Rainnie,
Sorry for the late reply.... tot no one will response.....
We have paid 3k outfront and got the camilia room for the cocktail recept. As for the waiver, I dun remember them mentioning just stick to the package plan.

Yes I do recieve a call from someone in chinese name, can't remember too... heheee mostly the calls are diverted to be FH.

I've sign up with them my AD is Dec 04. Meet 2 different coordinators coz e 1st one I met resigns a few months after we sign the contract with her. The 1st coordinator is good she explains everything swee swee (nice nice) for u. As for the 2nd coordinator, meet him only once so no comments on him yet. But he will try to give in abit ;)
so see what u need ...mabbe can check if u can get it waive off heheeee

sorry sierra......din come to this topic for some time. I managed to get 1 carton of wine waived from Corkage.

Hi Rainnie,
How are you? I am going for food tasting next week. Hope the food is nice........
Will let you know how is turns out...

hi rainnie: thanks for the info, i've also got 1 carton waived. Have confirmed with RV as well
Hope all goes well!

let me know how it goes for the food tasting? PS: Who's the coordinator that you worked with?

Hi Sierra, y din u try to get more waived? For me i kinda too late to get more waived coz I already sign and paid deposit.

Sure will let u know how it goes for the food tasting. But i remember 2 yrs ago i tasted the food not bad...and recently went to their chinese rest. had ala carte buffet. It was nice ya ;) my coordinator is Raymond. What abt urs?

Happy evening!

hi Rainnie, they weren't able to give us any more waived, I think that's fine cos we are taking the wine perks...

my coordinator is kim peng, the lady. quite nice

hi Sierra, oic...hmmm my coordinator like a bit blur...used to be Eileen. Raymond is a new guy there ...to replace her
Hope every thing goes well

Sierra, coz I attend one of the wed there before. and I having my dinner on a weekend the charges there is reasonable. Thats why i guess hehe

oh hihi!!! i have finish with the food tasting last fri....forget to come and give comments ah...hehehe

Grace & Sierra, my food tasting not bad ya ... most of the comments given are quite positive ...
The portion given are alot!!! We have 10 ppl 5 men & 5 women....when reaching 4th dish we already feel full liaoz ;)

For ur veg & soup what did u gers order ah? Got something quite special u might wanna consider ya.....the one with Kingly mushroom....taste nice & special coz i've been to quite a few wedding dinner no one have this type of mushroom!

hihi rainnie!

Sounds good! hehehe, i haven't settle my menu yet cos it's still early (my AD is next sept). Cross fingers, hope the food is as good as your food tasting

cool....congrats! let me know how your AD goes that day at RV
how many tables do u have? i tot the ballroom would be just nice for 28-30 tables, anything more will be very cramped.

Hi rannie,, i called up raymond ,,,n he told mi must hav min 25 or28 tables than got waive 4 food tasting if not need to pay 50%.

hi esther....yup! must have 28 tables and above den got free food tasting....before u sign up with them u din check with them meh?

Hi rainnie...oh,,, i 4 got wat they say already...my AD is on jan ,, n i havent discuss anything with them yet...

oh.....but u shld have ur contract with u right....u take a look every thing is stated there loh. If u got 28 tables and above u can choose either free food tasting, free 12 bottles of wine or what ya....

ur AD is Jan 05 eh? which date? normally 1 momth before ur AD den will have the discussion one loh. But before that you have to collect the invitiation card from them ..... ;) @ that point u can check with raymond.

hey ladies!!! fyi if u are ordering cakes from bengawan solo right.....please order and make payment before 1st nov!!!! I just called them and place order. The ger told me that payment have to be made before 1st Nov coz they are going to adjust the pricing!!! So if u need to order please do it asap if not ur cake will be more expensive den the current price. Not sure how much it would be. ;p

Hi rannie ,,, can check with u hw much is d price 4 a wedding cake... r u ordering based on 3 tier ??Thks alot...

hi i think u r ordering boxes one rite,,, HEEHEE...my mind keep thinking abt d wedding cakes in 3 tier one ,,,

Nonono...i'm not referring to that leh.....hehehe not those tiers one...
i order one is to give relatives/friends ya
as for the 3 tier cake i'm not sure if they got increase the price or not loh.

Hi ,, anyone use d recommended printing insert from d hotel,...200pcs for $140... got any cheaper price recommended.. THks a lot..

esther, i din print my inserts with dem coz too expensive. If u dont mind using normal paper ...it will coz u 200 pcs @ $80 (Exclude gst).

Fyi, the reason why i use normal paper instead of the one RV recommends me is becoz most of ur guest will discard the invitation card...only a few will kept it. So why go for the better quality? Any way ... it turn out to be OK for me...i have print and send out my inserts liaoz ;)

Hi rainnie,,
i agree with u knw,, can i hav d number tat print yurs ... Thks alot,,,
I need to cut cost ,,,heehee,, Thks .

Hi Esther, the company name is call Hi Tech, number 64589455. Location is at Ang Mo Kio (industrial park)...from AMK central can take a bus in...its abt 5-10 mins only...they are quite efficiency loh....coz i went there on Saturday and they call me on Thurs for collection leh...