Rendezvous Hotel Singapore

krisyjo

lavender/kokonuts.. if u gals are going down.. and if it is possible.. can you snap a few pix of the ballroom? tks......

piggysbride

Hello...

I have yet to decide. I have some choices - Furama Riverfront, Rendezvous, Traders, Club Chinois and Peony-Jade.

Have to visit these venues before making my decision.

kokonuts

Oh I shortlisted club chinois too. I love the food there and the wedding packages are affordable. I would have chosen there if I am taking 25 tables or above.

Kristine,
Its the gilttering(crystal) theme this Sat. Ok will take some pics back. =)

lavender_garden

Hi ppl

No prob. if i'm going down this Sat will try get a few picts to share..

Ummm.. the new theme is for next yr meh? I thought Eileen said is this yr?

Hi PiggySbride:
If u decided to take furama riverfront, u can look for Albert.. he is easy to work with.. flexible too...

ling27

Hi Kokonuts/Lavender,

Please share with me the pictures that you will be taking this sat. I would love to see the actual set up. Thanks!

kokonuts

Attached some pics i took on Saturday.
Its the crystal theme.
I think it doesnt look nice from my pics coz the tea lights are not light up yet.
It should be quite classy and romantic with the tea light and the ballroom dim lightings. =)

Saw a couple viewing the ballroom too. Is that any of you ladies with your fiance? =)

487065.jpg

ling27

How many themes does HR have? I remembered there are flower and crystal theme. Any idea if they will be adding some more?

Anyone who had their dinner at HR already, please let us know your choice of theme and comments so that future HR brides can have a reference.

happigal

I saw both crystal and flower themes and personally, I love the flower themes.
at least you can get to choose the flower/colour you like and it looks fresh rather than using the recycle stuff.

and the flower theme comes with candles as well and hence, it sweet and romantic at the same time !!!

just my 2 cents opinion.

all the best gals !!!

anabellegirl

Hi ladies, i am also a HR bride and my AD is 30 mar 08.. Heard from Eileen that there are 2 new themes end of this yr and it should be the flower and pearl (not confirmed) themes... did anyone of u managed to get HR to provide an additional one nite stay or etc besides their standard package...

kokonuts

Hi Anabelle,
I didnt get additional one day hotel stay. Only managed to get an additional helper room for day use only. besides tat, the rest r the standard perks. how abt u?

banga

My wife and I have shortlisted Hotel Rendezvous as 1 of the possible venue for our customary wedding(27 July 08). Just ROM @ Peony Jade last week. Have made an appointment with Eileen this coming Sat to check out/discuss the ballroom and the 07 package as there would be a wedding banquet on that day.

Any advice what to negotiate and stuff to look out for? Thanks.

anabellegirl

Hi Koko, I did not get anything additional as well and had tried to neg for extra one more nite... and it is a Big NO No... so when is yr AD?

anabellegirl

Hi Banga, no. I only manage to get 1 red wine for each confirmed table but fyi, I have to top up $100 more per table cus I am not able to meet the min. requirement of 18 tables. So did u manage to get the helper room and 10 pax for food tasting? Pls advise what are the additional perks....

banga

Hi Anabelle,

As mentioned from my earlier post, we'll be going down this coming Sat. So haven actually know whether there'll be additional perks thrown in or not. We're looking at 20 tables + 2 reserve.

ecclesia

gals,

I've some photos of the flower theme (taken when I & FH visited the hotel 2 weeks back)

Calling ex-RH bride help to share their experiences... can share your packages & perks with me please ? can I know which planner & banquet/floor manager is good ?

493271.jpg
493272.jpg

kokonuts

Hi Anabelle,
My AD is on 01 Nov 08.
So how many tables are you looking at?

BanGa,
All the best to your negotiation with Eileen ahh.

banga

Didn't manage to meet Eileen but met another sales banquet manager called Ignatius instead. He told me he was previously from Rendezvous's operational side. Well, seems to me hes very new into the banquet business but hes friendly and gave me some advice on choosing a venue for the wedding banquet.

When we were there, he showed us the ballroom, allowed us to take our time to look around and take pictures. After which, he showed us the different variety of wedding favors, guest books, hongbao boxes that Rendezvous has.

In the end, when we talked about perks, he told me he need to check them out with his superior before he could promise me any perks (such as helper room) thrown in. He also told me the 08 package will be out at the end of this month and the new 07 package could not be used for 08 booking anymore.

Well, in the end i asked him what if I want to secure the booking using the new 07 package. He would get back to me on Tues.

Ladies, what are your opinions?

I've attached some photographs taken during my visit. Flower theme.

494607.jpg
494608.jpg

anabellegirl

Hi Koko,
Wah, yr AD is 1 Nov 08 and you have confirmed yr package so early.... anyway, I have confirmed with Eileen that my confirmed tables is 12 and most likely I am looking at about 15 tables and above. Hopefully, I can reach 18 so that I need not pay for $100 more per table.

kokonuts

Hey BanGa,
When I liaise with Sharon via email, she also need to check with the management whether they can offer me 2007 package price (coz she said they can only offer it to couples getting married before June 08 and my wedding is in Nov 08). Same to the additional helper room. She didnt offer me that immediately.
So I guess its like tat. They dun dare to commit immediately.

Anabelle,
ya, i booked quite early. Looking at the yearly increase in banquet price, i think i dun mind being kiasu. :p
Wow if u r having 15 tables, u need to pay $1500 extra. equivilent to about 2 extra tables leh.. Really hope you can hit 18 tables!

banga

Koko,

I see. Well, I'll wait for his reply then. Thanks for sharing the info.

Anabelle,

I think it is more cost effective to take a few more tables than paying $100 extra for each of the 15 tables. I don't think the red wine that they would be providing is very high end type. (i.e. does not cost much). Like what Koko said, 1.5k extra = approx 2 tables liao. If you can't hit more than 12, probably you should look at other locations that require lower min no of tables.

ling27

Hmm... the flower theme looks nice..

Fyi. My contract with RH is 16 guaranteed tables and expected 18 tables. I signed up in Mar, managed to secure 2007 pricing and my AD is in Jun 08.

ecclesia

Hi koko and anabelle,

it seems to me that the sales rather hard to move in negotiation hey... I also tried.. with almost-no-luck result... *hai*... but I do like the ambience of the ballroom, except for the one pillar in there..

selina, wow.. that's good, they let you have the minimum of 16 ? sharon insisted I must have 18 tho..

kokonuts

Hi Ling.
Ya quite standard perks as other hotels.
Made a comparison with my friend who just signed with Novetel, he got quite similar perks as me. but he fought for the extra nite stay and got it!

banga

This is being offered to me. For confirmation of min 20 tables, below are the perks thrown in.

1. Day use room from 2.00pm to 8.00pm
2. Wedding cards at 75% of confirmed attendance
3. Food tasting for 10 persons maximum
4. 1 bottle of our house pouring red wine for every 2 confirmed tables (additional bottles at a special price of $22.00 nett per bottle)

I didn't even bother to ask for more complimentary parking coupons because they only have 60++ lots there. 20% of 200 pax is already like 40 liao.

The banquet package offered will be the 07 package + 2%.

I've made a tentative booking with Rendz for July 08. Any one of you managed to get free printing of inserts for the wedding cards?

anabellegirl

Wah... BanGa, yr is a very good deal... By the way, who is yr coordinator and I did try to look for other places with lesser min requirement but I can say that I prefer HR more than the others in terms of "ballroom".

krisyjo

Hi Banga,

For the inserts, i guess most hotels will not provide them. Did anyone of you check with HR on their supplier's pricing for the printing of inserts? Any recommendations?

banga

Hi Anabelle,

He is Ingatius Chia. His email address is [email protected]
From my exp, I'm given an impression that if you can confirm more tables, you will have higher bargaining power.

Hi KrisTine,

I read from elsewhere that it would be cheaper to print in JB, some shop at City Sq if I'm not wrong.

krisyjo

Hi BanGa,

I've got friends going into City Sq for the printing as well.. I'll check it out and keep you posted with the price lists. My AD is in Nov, so i guess i'll start researching on this next mth or so =)

pinklilies

Hi BanGa,

i am the ex rendezvous bride...Hope to give some advises over here..
Jus held my wedding dinner last sat,16th june..
The photos of the ballroom which u had uploaded above seems to be like my banquet room..
Hmm,can i ask whether did u take this pic on the 16th june?

Did u visit the hotel at 6plus?hehe..
As i saw ur post,saying that u are going down to rendezvous this sat(16th june) which ur post is on the 14th june..

I had actually asked for a ivory white roses,and with 2 vip tables side by side..

Hmm,,,maybe u can ask to talk to sharon,the hotel manager for ur wedding banquet..
She's great and had attend to all our needs over the wedding issue..

As for Thomas,he is our banquet manager for the wedding nite..He's gd too!!!

banga

Hi Sherryl,

Yes,I did go down on 16th June. Congrats to you and your hubby. Was there around 530pm and perhaps went into the ballroom a bit later. I did see another couple visiting the ballroom after that. I should say the ballroom was nicely done up.

When I left the ballroom, your jiemei and xiong di had already taken up their position at the recep table liao.

If I'm not wrong, yours is a 24 tables setup. Do you think its quite cramp or just nice?

Guess what, one of my colleagues told me that her bf's cousin was having their wedding banquet on that day oso. hahahaa... Didn't probe much also.

So, overall hows the exp (bridal suite, parking lots, food, servers???)? What are the perks that you'd gained? Can share with us?

pinklilies

thanks banga..
yes,,mine was the 24 tables setup..
We had actually asked for one colour for the rose,which is ivory white..as it seems more solid in the sense..

Really!!!hmm,,do u know the name of ur colleague bf cousin?hehe..

the bridal suite was great..
Quite standard,it had the kitchen,bar,the hall,the bedroom,toilet,wardrobe..
U can always request to see the bridal suite..They do allow that..

As for the parking lots,the hotel gave us 60 parking coupon plus another 15 parking coupon at the next building(in case not enough parking lot)

As for the food,well the portion was quite big,,based on the feedback from my guests.
But the serving given during the food sampling wasnt that much for us
Anyway,most of the guests had mentioned that the food was yummy..
I do feel the same too!!

The banquet manager on duty was doing his job very well..
Had taught us how to march in gracefully,could coordinate the whole event very well..
Overall,i am very satified with hotel rendezvous..
*hee..hee*

If u would like to get the hotel to ask their supplier to do the printing of invitation card for u,it is possible too!!
I got mine thru them..and it's simple and nice..

If possible,u can ask sharon,the hotel manager to assist u for the wedding dinner..she is gd...

Oh ya,i guess it is always better to choose the flower theme,since the crystal theme dont seem to look that gd...if there are other theme coming up,maybe can have a try on it...

pinklilies

forgotten to add this on..

during the first march in,there was suppose to have dry ice..But on that day,our guests was so daring and make the effect even better by throwing the plate of flower petals on us when we march in..

it was quite nice...

pinklilies

Hi Muffin
the menu which i had ordered is as following,,
1.Deluxe cold dish platter
2.braised shark's fin with crab meat bamboo fungus
3.deep fried crispy whole chicken with plum sauce
4.steamed red garoupa hongkong style
5.steamed king prawns with sherry wine
6.braised sliced abalone with spinach
7.fried crispy noodle with assorted meat and vegetable
8.yam paste

hope this help...

banga

Hi Sherryl,

I do not know the name of my colleague's bf wor. Has never seen him before.

Did you use up all the parking coupons? 75 is quite a lot sia..... You must have a lot of rich frds/relatives who drive.

How much do the hotel's supplier charge for printing the inserts?

The menu that you have listed is from the 06 package?

Looks like you've thoroughly enjoyed yourself on that night. That's great.

applemuffin

wow sherryl, how come some of your dishes are not in the menu at all. I wanted the steamed king prawns with wine but I got baked 'live' prawns with baked salt. I cant find such a 'prawn' dish in any of the menu eh. Is it a special request?

And the ee fu noodle = crispy noodle?

My chicken is the 'peking' chicken and based on description sounds like yours. Is it the same? heh. thanks thanks.

pinklilies

Hi banga,
well,,we didnt use up the 75 coupons..haha...Relatives and friends not too rich..
we still have some left over parking coupon as many of our friends didnt turn up..
We actually requested for more parking coupons
*kiasu*hee..hee...

As for the insert,
printing is $100 for 1st 200 pcs, tying of gold string to card is $0.10 per pc, and printing of map is additional $40 to total bill

yup,u are right the menu which i had got was from year 2006..
coz i had book this hotel and gone for food sampling in march 06,for my dinner on the 16th june 07..

Mind me asking,how much per table does hotel rendezvous charges u now?

Hi muffin,
the steamed king prawns with sherry wine is not special request from us,,it was already in the menu itself when i signed up with them..

Hmm,abt the noddle,it's sort of crispy with some gravy on top..

Abt the chicken,mine was the deep fried crispy whole chicken with plum sauce,think is different from yours..
Lots of friends love the chicken..

applemuffin

Thanks Sherryl!

sigh. How come HR didnt maintain 2006 menu? Your menu sounds so yummy-licious! ( :

I will try to ask them whether i can change to some of your dishes if i dun like mine during the food tasting end of this yr.

pinklilies

You are welcome muffin,,,
maybe can try asking them to change some of the dishes if they are able to,,,

Like my dessert,suppose to be sweet corn ...,but during the food sampling,we found that the sweet corn doesnt seem so nice,so we had it changed to yam paste instead,but not being able to try it at all..

banga

Hi Sherryl,

The 07 package for Rendezvous now is $668 + 2% for weekday and $728 + 2% for weekend. (menu A or B)
For menu C and D, $728 + 2% for weekday and $768 + 2% for weekend. Others might get at a cheaper price or good perks during a roadshow. I suppose the 06 package must be cheaper too.

I was told that the 08 package is releasing soon.

Thanks for the info.

Hi Muffin,

Do let us have your reviews for the food tasting, can?

applemuffin

Hi BanGa,

No problem. I'm trying to arrange my food tasting in september cos it's a good chance for our parents to meet up too. will update all of you. ( :

jyiah

planning to have our AD there too...but looking at the pics...seems like the stage abit small...cos we planning to soleminize too...like no space to put extra tables and chairs?anyone any advice?

anabellegirl

Hi Jennifer, u can request them to give u a bigger stage or a seperate room for yr solemenisation. For my case, i took the function room beside the ballroom so that it is more cosy.... after the solemize, then cocktail and then dinner.... fyi, they will use the chairs in yr ballroom for the soleminisation.

krisyjo

Hi BanGa,

I've signed up for the 07 package and has confirmed with the hotel that for weekend package is 728 + 1% (GST increase of 2% but cess was abolished thus -1%)

My AD is in Nov, i guess will have to do the food tasting in the next few mths..