Regent Singapore

junegroom

Hi Simon,

Oh i checked out her comments already...you can read them on her May 13th post in this thread..scary stuff if u ask me..

jenphua

hi lovely samsoon,

i'm not sure if they will waive but since it's on a not-here-nor-there period, it's best to call them to verify...

stacy_yx

i have met up with the coordinator and find that he is quite amicable and had tried to explain a few things to us within the short period of time.
however, am still considering the location, the reasons being:
1) seems like the elderly pple (relatives) are not well aware of The Regent...don't seem to even think it's a 4-5 star hotel..

2) that will mean that if we invite them to the wedding, they may give under market rate angpaos..which is something that is worrying us...understand that some losses are expected.. but i don't know how much to expect.

3) Not too sure if food is good. have not seen much comments on it. and perks are not as attractive as other hotels (of cos though the other hotels may not be in the same range as regent)

4) It's a little pricey for its location. (not as easily accessible as places like marriott)

Anyone care to share their experience?
Which hotels do you think are in the same range as Regent? (so that i can make a fair comparison)

I am also looking at intercontinental also.. which is another pricey location...

anyone can offer advice to me? =)

lovely_samsoon

hi stacy,

intercon was the other location that i considered before my banquet blew from 25 tables to 50 table affair

though i've already signed with regent, i do agree that they are inflexible on their perks. take for example the GST waiver. to name a few... they are also ultra sticky on giving additional nights stay
i also took like forever to explain to my dad (late 60s) on where regent is. it along some obscure road lah! cannot blame them. he kept thinking its along traders hotel's side :S

but having said that, i do really like regent's set up and themes.

blissful25

I just held my dinner @ regent this mth. decor n food were great (bird's nest was gd but fried rice sucks). i chose d jazz theme n my guests luv d saxophonist n live band provided in d pkg. but what spoils d evening was d banquet service i got 2 know fr some of my guests after i came bac fr HM.
1 of my relatives' table was refused wine even upon request to fill up their glasses. but at d end of d evening, we brought bac 1 carton! my coordinator said dat he did not instruct them 2 stop d wine.reali a loss of face there...
another thing is fr d photos we c, we realized dat d food was not served individually which we specifically requested. thought dat shld b d way in 4-5 star hotels...

junegroom

Hi Stacy,

As i have already signed up for Regent, my views may be a little biased so take it how you will...

1) Regent is certainly not as well-known as some other 5 star hotels but lets put it this way, how many elderly folks know which are the 5-star ones and which arent? Also, i think that they will give the same amount regardless, unless u hold it in a restaurant, in which case they will give less.

2a) For a 5-star hotel (believe me i have checked this out...they are related to 4 seasons, which i am sure most older folk will associate with good service) , i think that Regent's pricing is reasonable. Do not forget that it is NETT pricing. I was quite shocked to learn that Pan Pac and Oriental and even Marina Mandarin charge similar if NOT more than Regent.

By the way i too am quite apprehensive in how much i might stand to lose but no point worrying about what i cannot control.

3) Food wise is a moot point because one man's meat is always another's poison. I am sure that if i like one dish, someone else will say it is bad so u cannot please everyone. However, you can at least be comforted that Regent (unlike Orient, Marina Man and PanPac and several other well-known hotels) have an in-house Chinese cuisin restaurant...Summer Palace. Granted it is not as famous as Li Bai from Sheraton but it is certainly better than banquet chefs from those hotels aforementioned. trust me i have eaten at the Fullerton, Ritz, Marina, Orient and the food is all about the same...
it does not mean Regent will be better BUT i dont think it will be worse...

4) Marriot's location is indeed more central BUT peak hour traffic is a headache going in there. Same goes for those hotels in the Marina Man/Suntec blocks. Also, remember that the parking lots are also taken up by shoppers so Marriot may not be able to give u as many complimentary carpark coupons as say, the Regent...but i may be wrong here.

Location wise, i tend to think that Regent's location is ideal because it is still on Orchard Road, but away from the maddening crowd...Would u consider Shangrila lower class because of its location? Right...Besides, by the time your wedding comes, St.Regis Residences will have been built right next to it and people can sense it is an upmarket place and hopefully dig a little deeper in their pockets...

5) Personally, i like Regent because your guests actually have a place to sit (TEA LOUNGE) if they arrive early..particularly the older folk..other hotels only have standing room which i find a pain, especially since dinner usually starts 8plus and folks who arrive early have to stand for quite a bit...Also, the themes are pretty unique and the packages are quite comprehensive already...

End of the day, u make the decision and hope for the best...
hope it helps...

aegean

hi regent brides,

we r going for our foodtasting this week. any things we should look out for and what to expect?

simontemplar23

Hi Aegean
Ummm....me bridegroom can respond to you right?...:p

Look out for the temperature of the food and whether if the food is too salty etc. We had ours and we were told to write down our comments on a feedback sheet. Interestingly, they responded to all of our remarks!

Generally, there's no major issue with the food.

aegean

hi simon templar,

hehe! bridegroom's comments are welcome too..

ok.. noted. so can we request for change of a particular dish after the foodtasting?

btw, has anyone worked wity lil-art (the cards printer)?

zleeplesspig

Hi Junegroom,

Well said!! I'm a Regent bride too.

A lot of pple questioned my choice of hotel because they commented that Regent is very ulu and far from any MRT station. Some even mentioned that they dunno that there is a hotel at that location.

Whatever you have mentioned are exactly how I feel. That's why I signed up with The Regent! I've compared hotels like Pan Pac, Marina Mandarin, Oriental, Conrad, Traders, Raffles, Swissotel.. I still find Regent's pricing reasonable, given the quality of food and the hotel itself.

simontemplar23

Change dish? Can. But normally that may mean a lower-priced dish, can you bear to do that? Suggest you just stick to the original dishes and change the attributes of it, e.g. saltiness, sweetness etc.

Lil-art? U have to be very careful with the draft especially the chinese names part. Think the printer "eat potato", spell the chinese words wrongly sometimes. Think you can try other printers.

aegean

ok. thanks for your advice.

i agree with you on lil-art. i provided all the details to him and the draft was full of mistakes. english and chinese. doesnt even bother to check through the draft before emailing it to us. argh! think we will change to another printer.

jenphua

it's been a while since i last visit this thread.. how's everyone's preparations? erm.. maybe we should do a consolidation on our wedding dates ya! at least we know who we can ask n congratulate from the data.. ^_^

i'll start off the table here...

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-AM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">TABLE#</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">35-40</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Dave</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Tim</font></td></tr></table>

jenphua

jus in case.. here's the legend..

BTB = Name of Bride-To-Be
AD-AM = Date of Actual Day for morning customary
AD-PM = Date of Actual Day for banquet
VENUE = which Ballroom in Regent
TABLE# = Estimated or confirmed no of tables for banquet
BS = Bridal Shop name
AD-PG = Actual day Photographer
AD-VG = Actual day Videographer

jenphua

hey! i've added in the DAY &amp; THEME here.. at least we know who's gonna choose what and whether it's a weekday or weekend rates...

DAY = Day of AD-PM
THEME = Confirmed or potential theme to choose

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-AM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">TABLE#</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">THEME</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wednesday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Grand Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">35-40</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dreamz</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Dave</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Tim</font></td></tr></table>

lemony

hi, i am new to this thread. Am also a regent bride this november. Other than hotel (Royal Ballroom - 35 tables), nothing's confirmed...

lovely_samsoon

my wedding is in sept and the last time i spoke to my co-ord was many months ago. i cant remb what is the next step im supposed to take? which one is first? food tasting, confirm theme and collect cards?

*confused

aegean

hi jenn,

thanks for updating the table.

here are my details.

BTB - aegean
AD-AM - 30 March 2007
AD-PM - 30 March 2007
Day - Friday
Venue - Regent, Royal Pavilion Ballroom
Tables - 46 to 48
Theme - Tranquility
BS - Ted Wu
AD, PG - Kalyedoscope
AD, VG - Emotionpi*

jenphua

hi aegean,

thanks for the updates! here's the updated table..

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-AM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">TABLE#</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">THEME</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">aegean</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-Mar-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-Mar-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Royal Pavilion Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">46-48</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tranquility</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kalyedoscope</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emotionpi*</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wednesday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Royal Pavilion Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">35-40</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dreamz</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Dave</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Tim</font></td></tr></table>

let's heat up this thread abit by adding in ur data and discussion follows after which.. happy wedding prep! ^_^

lemony

I only have the following:
BTB: Lemony
AD-AM: 10 Nov 07
AD-PM: 10 Nov 07
DAY: Saturday
Venue: Royal Ballroom
Tables: 35
Theme: Not chosen yet.
BS: Not chosen.
AD-PG: Not chosen.
AD-VG: Not chosen.

jenphua

hi lemony,

thanks for the update.. here is it.. ^_^

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">BTB</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-AM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PM</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">DAY</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">VENUE</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">TABLE#</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">THEME</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-PG</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD-VG</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">aegean</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-Mar-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">30-Mar-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Royal Pavilion Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">46-48</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tranquility</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Ted Wu</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kalyedoscope</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Emotionpi*</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">jenphua</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">19-Sep-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Wednesday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Royal Pavilion Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">35-40</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dreamz</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jazreel Low Collections</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Dave</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Friend-Tim</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">lemony</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">10-Nov-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">10-Nov-07</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Saturday</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">Regent-Royal Pavilion Ballroom</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">35</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></TD><TD></TD><TD><font size="-2">??</font></td></tr></table>

jenphua

hey aegean!

time flies ya.. remember ur first time to this thread complaining about regent's slow response and now u're less than 2.5 months away from ur wedding date!

hv u done food tasting? can share some experience with regent so far? like follow-ups and services, etc.. ^_^

aegean

hello jenn,

oh yeah! u r right! time really flies. all thanks to your recommendation. wele has been really wonderful for the past few months. always prompt to reply my emails and queries. really professional!! thumbs up for him!

we are down to almost 2 months from our BIG DAY!! busy period for my work and has to plan for the wedding.. gg for my 1st fitting for my gowns in 2 weeks time. so excited.

food tasting has been great. we are pretty happy with the food, including the parents! hope regent can maintain this quality during the AD. keeping our fingers cross..

how's your prep?

jenphua

hi aegean,

mine still have 8 more months to go.. so.. am kinda sitting on it for a while.. adding-on.. my hubby is posted to china for good but come back once every 2 months.. duration period not fixed.. in a way need to squeeze all decisions stuffs to the time when he comes back... we are going for PS gowns / suits selections on 11-feb, then PS in Apr. think details confirmations for regent have to wait till may or jun time-frame..

dun worry abt it babe! am sure wele will ensure u're in good hands.. however, dun pin too high hope.. liddat u will feel happier when everything is perfect! ^_^

rojakqueeny

hi aegean;

congrats to your big day...have plenty of rest nearer to the day...

agree with jennn and aegean, wele is a great coordinator...he is prompt to your request or enquiry and never to fail to forget anything that you mention, haha...

mine still 9more mths to go and rite now busy with home reno and then going for selection of gowns for my PS...heh

rodrigue

went last week... agree that Regent is pretty inflexible abt additional perks.. even cockage waiver is hard..

anyone has liase with Denise before? Can you share your experience with me?

Thks

silentelf

Hi Jenn, Aegean and all Regent BTB.. its been a long time since i drop by this thread..

sorry ah.. have been busy for my AD and then busy after my AD too.. dunno why.. haha..

Its been more than 2 months after my wedding.. hmmm.. what can I say.. there's no perfect wedding.. of cos mine wasnt perfect but it all turned out very well.. other than some minor 'hiccups'....

Not sure if u still remember mine was Tranquility theme.. it was amazing.. very pretty.. i love the candles..

Not too sure what else to comment.. just let u know that I am Happy with Regent..

I do have some negative feedback.. but it was not that big.. so didnt want to post it here..

u could ask me if u need to know anything.. I will drop by this thread.. :D

All the best to all! I hope u will be happy with Regent like i do..

aegean

hi silentelf,

its so good to hear from you again. so did u had a good time during your wedding? back from your honeymoon?

yes. we have decided on tranquility too. im sure it looks beautiful.. so what negative feedback did you receive? care to share with me. pm ok?

silentelf

hi aegean... yeap i have enjoyed myself.. though i was disturbed by some sudden changes prior to the 1st march-in..

i would suggest that you advise your helpers on the wedding theme u would be using and the position of the reception table, floor plan.. prior to your AD... maybe i think it would be good to let them know what to expect on the AD.. show them some photos (theme, ballroom, etc).. it would be useful.. cos on the AD... definitely the bride will not be involved in the pre-wedding discussion or to check out the arrangement.. and the groom would be too busy to notice certain details.... if the helpers are aware of the arrangement b4 hand.., i think it would be good.

for eg.. i spent extra to decorate the tranquility theme. but i totally forgot to advise my helpers on the type of customization i did. so there were some mis-communication somehow somewhere i dunno how it happened &amp; things did not turn out as per my plan.. this is just one thing that i think can be avoided..
but like i say, there's no perfect wedding.. so no matter what happen.. smile at it ok? :D

hey i just posted previously that i will not mention the negative feedback.. but do not take the above as negative remarks.. becoz no matter which hotel we choose.. somehow somewhere there will be a mini hiccup..

i will think of more things.. so that i can post it here.. :D solly i very lor soh.. ;p

paulineda

Hi ladies, I'm considering Regent for my wedding lunch in May 2007. I think it is quite worth it for the table price but was worried about the transportation. Not much people knows where is Regent....

rodrigue

Hi Snowyz,

Yes she's professional, however due to the hotel's restriction on cockage, there's somethings which are rather inflexible..

their themes i believed are considerably beautiful and has a wider range to choose from..

I'm considering dinner therefore im not sure abt their lunch promo hehe

paulineda

Rod, I agree with you. And their wine prices are so expensive now! Currently at $28+++. I think they have the most expensive wine prices so far.

rodrigue

Hi Snowy..

True.. i tried bargaining for free cockage for wine... ended up "maybe" can give for a case (12 bottles) free cockage only..

but not to worry, if your guest dun drink much, it's alright as for dinner they have a option to choose 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table... not sure bout lunch though hehee =)

happi_bride

hey, yrs is not bad liao, a bottle of wine quoted by another 5 star hotel is at $38+++ per bottle..

if im getting my own wines, their corkage is at $30+++ per bottle. gosh!

anyway, its true that regent is quite sticky about their package perks. almost not much negotiate for. perhaps thats y their pricing is nett, slightly better than the others.

rojakqueeny

if there is only one joanne in regent, then she is the successor of wele...wele is leaving and his last day is on 2 Feb. I was told his replacement is call Joanne...

silentelf

hi lovely samsoon.. i will try to visit the thread as much as possible.. anyway i might not be able throw in my comments on whatever u guys are discussing cos outdated liao mah.. ;P

Actually i was worried about the wine too.. but i have 30 tables &amp; was given 45 bottles complimentary wine.. more than enough.. 1 carton is not open at all.. my wedding was on a fri nite.. location is kind of inconveninent cos its too far from the mrt station.. but i think most of the guest was rather punctual otherthan some 'spoil market'.. i started my wedding at around 8:30pm.. which i think is quite ok liao..

paulineda

Wow. 45 bottles of complimentary wine is very good! I only manage to get the deal of 1-for-1. I will buy 1 carton from them and get 1 carton from outside and corkage will be waived.

I guess mine is only luncheon so it is more difficult for me to ask for perks ya.

Anyway, we really love Regent so we will sign with them very soon! =)

charm_ed

has anyone liase with Gwendolyn before? will prob meet up with her soon. any perks i could ask for? looking at weekday dinner...thanks!