Regent Singapore

aegean

i believe the couple has over-reacted on the incident. but i feel that the coorinators should take the proactive approach by calling the couples who will be holding their weddings at the hotel to explain this issue. this will reflect their professionalism. however, we have yet to hear from them anyway.

ivees

My wedding was held at the Regent Hotel in the Royal Pavilion Ballroom last month. Prior to the actual day, the wedding coordinator did a great job from liaising with us on the invitation cards, food tasting, selection of wedding favours and theme for the banquet. He was prompt at replying to our queries and also provided his advice on how things could be done better.

On the actual day dinner, the banquet manager took good care of us such that my hubby & I could relax & entrusted the important event to him & our good friends to run the show.

In addition, I received many compliments from the guests that the whole banquet was very well done & the food was in fact one of the best that they had tried.

Regarding the recent dispute, my hubby & I did go & ask our wedding coordinator on their side of the story. For couples who are intending to sign up with Regent, do listen to Regent's explanation first, do not be anxious to make a decision without understanding both sides of the story. For couples who have already signed up with Regent, pls have faith in the hotel. I believe your wedding with Regent will be as wonderful as ours! =)

Lastly, I understand from my wedding coordinator that Regent will be coming out to tell their side of the story soon... so pls wait patiently.

jenphua

hi noughtsson & JK,

i've been hearing good feedbacks abt regent.. u can seriously consider them for ur wedding banquet.. i don't think they hv 2088 package now.. suggest u call them to check and at the same time, ask them to put u in their mail list for any upcoming wedding shows/fair.. it's very eye-opening esp on their theme deco.. happy venue shopping!! ^_^

hi aegean,

wele did call me to tell me abt the news.. in fact, i doubt i will notice this if he dun call.. but not much explanation done from him.. he jus asked me to read.. anyway.. since there's gonna be reports on their side of story, let's wait ya! ^_^

hi poison ivees,

congratulations on ur smooth n happy wedding and thanks for sharing such good experience with us.. i've faith in regent and am sure mine will be equally the same.. ^_^

aegean

hi jenn,

we faith in regent too. just thought it will be reassuring if the coordinator could call up the couples to explain. haha!

in fact, we are looking forward to our beautiful wedding in regent.

justaguy

Just a thought, do you think Regent's coordinators read this forum to find out what's happening? I mean like to check on the mood and sentiments of the forumers?

rojakqueeny

wow jenn nice to know that wele call you to explain...he is in charge of my wedding too but i didnt even hear from him...haha ...

I only came to know abt it thru this forum...haha

justaguy

Actually i think we cannot expect them to call every single customer to explain the situation because i do not think Regent has officially given them permission to comment on this issue given that they themselves have not commented on it.

Can u imagine having to explain to God knows how many people...I think they are stressed enough as it is on a day to day basis trying to get more sales, trying to coordinate weddings etc so in my view it is fine...

for me personally, so long as they help me prep for my wedding and ensure things go smoothly, that is good enough for me...all else is secondary...

rojakqueeny

aiya i don't mind whether he tells me or not.In anyway, he has always being very efficient and responsible. To me this incident doesnt affect me too ...haha but more impt its for my wedding to be smooth....

But hor, honestly, if we are to look on the professional side, being on the service business industry, it is only right for them to send a mass email out to explain what really happen. It wldnt take too long esp with our today's technology. Just one click and they can easily blast out to all their customers' data.

blessedger

Hi Jenn, thanks for you adv and info!.. Did you hold your wedding at Regent also? Btw, Can anybody adv me on the perks that we sld be getting? Are they stingy on additional perks? Tks!

lovely_samsoon

hi poison ivees,

do u mind sharing who your co-ordinator is? thanks

jenphua

hi JK,

i'm a bride-to-be with regent in Sep-2007.

about their perks, what i did was to go thru one-by-one item on the package with my coordinator and told them my requests.. tat's how we go abt asking for the stuffs we want. before tat, u can refer to your friend's or other hotel's perks to see what u can ask for on the itemised perks. one thing i must share with u is regent is kinda stingy on rooms.. we attempted to ask for additional night stay but was rejected.. however, mine was the cheaper rate (weekday).. so.. maybe bcos of tat they don't hv much margin to throw in this for us.. u can always try asking.. ^_^

justaguy

Hi Joy,

If they have not changed the price, it ranges from $988 nett to $1188 nett per table of 10 for weekends. Not sure abt weekday rates...for me personally, it is one of the few hotels that use nett rates and for a 5 star hotel located in a nice cosy part of orchard road, it is value for money at under $1000.

Hi Joy,

If you have not already done so, you can download their pricelist in pdf files here.

There is also a virtual tour where you can take a look at their ballroom and setup.

december~bride

Did anyone manage to negotiate on perks with Regent? Not sure whether I can get corkage waiver. I heard they only give away on their wedding shows?

rojakqueeny

not too sure on that. Why don't you try asking? Like what my coordinator always say, "i can always try but he can always say no... haha" ....

but its true that they do waive corkage during wedding shows.

tunis

Hi Joy and Francis,
The price that you quoted is inclusive for 5% gst only. We need to account for the gst price hike of 2% from 5% to 7% for next year.

justaguy

Kah yen,

Thanks for reminding me...any Regent couple got a call from your coordinator saying that you now have to fork out 2% more for your wedding dinner?

I hope Regent can waive it? waddya think?

tunis

Me... A regent bride for Dec 2007...
Most likely have to fork out extra 500++ for the gst hike. We called our coordinator and tried to get them to wavie it, but failed miserably.

tunis

On another note, I agree with the rest that regent is rather stingy with additional perks. However, my (and my fh) contacts with them are pleasant so far and I foresee great food, service, and a nice experience overall. Talk to them and tell them your constraints. They will try their best to assist you. (Mine did!)

justaguy

I suppose if the gahmen does not effect the GST hike until after your wedding day, i.e. 2008 onwards, then Regent should not be raising your fees i hope...i think that is the best we can hope for

tunis

Thanks Francis.

Hi Deanna, glad to know you. I managed to get cockage wavier for all wines, beer and liquors (duty paid and sealed), but I signed during the wedding show. Try now if you can. Call them and ask them if they can do you a favour. (budget constraints. GST hike so now overbudget) They mentioned that they cannot waive GST as it is collected by the gahmen. Cockage is collected by them, so try. If we cannot escape GST hike, at least you can try for cockage wavier. Good luck and tell me if you succeed.

december~bride

Glad to know you too Tunis! I missed the wedding show by only a week and it is quite a bit of savings you have on that. Who is your wedding planner? My contract states the 7% gst so I guess no escape. I also agree that they are stingy on perks. The most you can negotiate is carpark and cards I think. Anyone has something better?

ling1411

Hi Poison Ivees,
I'm new to this thread... I am rather interested in holding my banquet at Regent.. but my FH is not too keen due to the price.. I was wondering if you managed to recover the full cost for your wedding dinner..

simontemplar23

Hi Ling

I know your post is not addressed to me, but I thought i would like to add in my two cents worth.

Generally, one should not seek a full recovery of banquet cost judging from the disparity of guests' contribution and table cost., unless 80% of your guests are generous millionaires. For example, during my dinner held on Sunday, I had somebody contributed $20/pax! For three persons! On average, collected about $80/pax that night. So hardly can make full reocvery that night! Always expect about 20% loss so that you are not dissapointed.

Anybody seeking to hold a banquet in Regent, or similar-classed hotels, should be expecting top-class service, ambience and style, not cost. In other words, u need to spend some if u want a wedding that u will not forget.

If you do want to recover costs from your wedding dinner, then go for $500+/table dinners. But if you do so, don't expect much.

justaguy

Hi Simon,

So how went your wedding? any tips on how to make the day run smoother or better? who was your coordinator?

Ling,

I think it is fair to say that people do not know (or choose to ignore) the market rate for wedding dinners so no choice, must accept a certain amount of loss. However $20 per pax is ridiculous!!! unless the person happens to be poor, in which case thats fine.

Francis,

I think that ppl do not have to pay according to market rate. The ang bao is up to them, even they don't pay there is nothing we can do cos all we need is their rsvp and attendance.

justaguy

True, it is entirely up to them how much to pay but i think sometimes people can go a bit too far like in the $20 mentioned above...i have even heard people wrapping magazine paper inside a $2 note to make it look big etc...so to me if the person can afford it, he should try to give as close to the market rate as possible because it just seems like you are taking advantage of the bride/groom.

ivees

Regarding the issue of recovering costs from dinner, it really depends on the guests you are inviting & the day your dinner is held (weekday or weekend). Sometimes guests give the same amount regardless if it is a weekday or weekend. Hence normally to hold a wedding on weekend, you run a higher risk of making bigger losses. Based on experience, it seems that most people give $80 ang bao for wedding dinner.

justaguy

Hi i was just wondering if anyone here has had Muslim guests at their Regent wedding? I understand from my coordinator that they do not have a halal certified kitchen but they do not have pork nor lard so that should be fine but i am a little worried about serving them something they are not supposed to eat.

Does anyone have any experience or info to share? I am sure Regent would have catered to Muslim guests before but just want to make sure. Do Muslims have a special menu?

bethan

Hi Simon Templar,

Allow me to beg differ on your stance that one should expect "top-class service, ambience and style" if you go for Regent. You really shouldn't expect "top-class service" and "style" from Regent especially. I'm sorry but I happened to read that quite a few of you imagined that Regent has very high standard where service is concerned and can't help but want to comment on this.

I was a Regent bride and was very unhappy with the actual wedding dinner. Lots of glitches which could be well avoided if they had been more prepared. This gave me good reasons to feel that they are inexperienced with weddings. Indeed, they would give you "a wedding that u will not forget". It's still quite sad to me whenever I recall what happened on that particular night.

Of course, I have nothing against those who have good experience with Regent. In spite of my 'unforgettable' experience, I wish whoever goes to Regent a smooth and hiccups-free wedding.

Hi Francis,

They do have a different menu for Muslim, but unless you have a table of 10 Muslims, they charge each Muslim guest as an additional number on top of your package price. You may want to check with your coordinator on the menu.

justaguy

Hi Life,

thanks for the reply, i will ask my coordinator about it.

By the way, it sounds like you had a terrible wedding dinner. Care to share what happened so i can avoid hiccups for mine?

justaguy

Has anyone here chosen to do the Waltz march-in for their wedding, or have done it already? i'm thinking of doing it but not sure if it will turn out nice or tacky leh

junegroom

just wondering if anyone here is planning to have the Jazz theme? In the brochure it says that a saxophonist serenades your guests. I have seen one wedding at the Regent where there is a solo saxaphonist playing during the cocktail reception and when guests walk into the ballroom which is very unique and nice

..does that mean that Regent provides the saxophonist automatically FOC if we choose this theme? Or is there an additional charge on top of it? Anyone have a clue?

simontemplar23

Hi Life

I am very much interested in what happened in your wedding. I cannot deny that there were some minor things that shouldn't have occurred, but they were not detrimental to the success of the wedding dinner. My guests were full of compliments so I was quite surprised that yours didn't go as what you wanted.

bel_vodka

Attended my Cousin wedding last night at Regent hotel. Decor is quite okie. alternate chair covers for normal guest tables. Quite innovative.
Wad i realli like is the bubbles that start appearing when my cousin and her HB was on the stage for cuttin cake session. My fave liking is their Flavours. Me and my Bf got different Flavours from the hotel. i got a small photoframe and he got a chinaware like container. very kawaii. As for the good wise, is Yummilicious... I couldnt stop eating at the banquet last night. The dessert is Tan Yuen with peanut soup. Two thumbs up.

jenphua

hi gals!

called my coordinator, wele liaoz.. there's confirmed an increase in per table price.. calculations as follows:

AAA / 1.1655 = BBB
BBB x 1.1766 = CCC
BBB x 1.1877 = DDD

Legend
AAA = Current Nett Price per table w/5% GST
BBB = Current Nett Price per table w/o 5% GST
CCC = New Nett Price per table if GST increase to 6%
DDD = New Nett Price per table if GST increase to 7%

if your package is non-nett (ie. with +++), ur can use the amt stated before the '+++' as BBB to calculate.

also, fyi, wele mentioned he heard not many hotels absorb the GST increase. he only heard Hyatt absorbing so far...

for those who's wedding falls within the budget review period, Feb'07, pls call ur coordinator to confirm the final rates.. remember to ask ur coordinator to write u an email to confirm.. dun trust verbal confirmations.. it's better to play safe. ^_^

december~bride

I hope it will just be an increase to 6%. Wele heard from my fiance about Hyatt.
But not sure whether there are any changes now.

Has anyone chose Bird nest instead of Shark Fins for their menu? I heard Bird nest is not as tasty.

junegroom

Ya i too heard that the birds nest not as nice. As for the GST price increase, i suppose we can use the government's offset package which they promised to help us foot the excess (i hope). I remember the last gsT increase they gave us a few hundred dollars in NSS shares?

lovely_samsoon

hi jenn,

u mean regent is willing to waive the GST rates if the banquet falls within budget review period? i guess mine no chance since its in Sept 07

simontemplar23

Hello JuneGroom

Just perhaps one minor thing was that when I instructed the waiteress to serve champagne at my "brothers" and "sisters" table, she had asked around other tables instead of that particular table. Didn't mind as I had enough champagne anyway. Had to re-instruct the waiteress again.

For most of Regent brides and bridegrooms, you shouldn't worry too much on the class issue of the banquet. At the end of the day, how "classy" the event was depends on the bride and bridegroom and their organisation, not so much the hotel. Case in point, if the bridal couple is a pair of ah lian and bengs, you can hardly expect a classy evening would you?

What I am really interested in is what disasters Life had encountered in her wedding that led her to condemning Regent? Her comments may help future Regent Brides and Bridegrooms.