Regent Singapore

jenphua

hi rinnie & simon,

thanks for sharing.. your are right! if u're not comfortable with the service, jus change.. no obligations.. at the end of the day, u jus wan ur $$ well-spent..

hi storeberry,

Regent is considered a 5-star hotel cos of service level n they are under 4-season group.. however, due to location (outskirt of orchard rd), they are currenty 4.5 star.. do hv a chat with wele and see how it goes.. aegean will be the best person to share her experience with u cos she was irritated by regent at the very initial period but was subtled down by wele's service.. we can only write to u our opinion.. the decision is urs ultimately..

hi aegean,

i've viewed all their themes in their last wedding fair in aug.. not gonna confirm the theme so fast but likely to go for the Dreamz, changing the main table-cloth from Green to Gold cos my dad is a cantonese.. dun like green green one.. hee.. the items i confirmed so far are the banquet venue, bridal shop & photographer.. gotta first settle my gowns selection by Jan'07 & photoshoot in Mar'07 then meddle with the banquet stuffs...

Happy wedding prep!

silentelf

hey gals!! how are everyone doing??? i am very very very busy now.. cos its 9 days to my big day!!! anyone interested to view Tranquility Theme with enhancement (must pay one hor).. do dropby and have a look ...hehe..

finally i have settled almost everything.. except ordering buffet lunch for my house... .. gosh.. time flies like nobody business.. hopefully everything goes smoothly for me.. :D

hey storeberry.. u still have whole lot of choices elsewhere.. if u are not happy then just forget it lah.. to be frank, my co-ordinator is not very pro-active too (depending on the degree of help u required..) and yes they always sound very business-like.. but i can still 'bear' with it lah.. as long they get & do what i want.. i dont really care how they sounds.. keke.. explore your choices.. its fun comparing & of course confusing too.. but yet its for ya big day.. everything worths the effort! take care ya!!

aegean

hi silentelf,

is yr wedding on the 3rd Nov? hmm... i may want to take a look at it again...

wow! i can imagine how crazy it can be as it is just a few days from yr big day.. all the anxiety and stress... hehe!

no matter what, just enjoy this day. it will just take place according to plan.. just smile, smile and more smile...

lavis

Hi, I'm new here, just wonder could any kind soul send me a copy of the wedding package for 2007?
BTW, Congrats! silentelf (silentelf)
Keep calm n smile on your big day! ^_*

silentelf

hi aegean... yeah u got the date right.. :D
hopefully the enhanced tranquility theme will not make us & u disappointed..

i couldnt sleep these days.. dunno whether izzit becoz i have too many things to do or am i too excited.. haha...

yeah sure sure.. will try to smile as much as possible.. hee.. thanks lavis.. but i dun have the package for 2007, u might want to call them up instead..

storeberry

Hi, thanks aegean and silentelf for your reply! I finally got the email from wele! And you know what, I suddenly received another two emails from another person from Regent! Their communication really cannot make it lei...

I fully agree that the coordinators are not pro active, maybe they pride themselves higher then the customers. If I spent that kind of money then I would rather go for Hyatt. But thanks for all replies, I think Regent is out for me!

And congrats silentelf for your upcoming wedding! All the best!

aegean

ok.. will drop by to take a look at yr wedding setup... so what kind of enhancements did you make?

oh yes.. i tink u r very stressed and excited.. since you have almost finished on yr arrangments, so shldnt be a prob..

maybe you shld concentrate on going for some massages and manicure to pamper yourself.. u deserve it since you have been working so hard for the wedding..

jenphua

hey silentelf,

wow!! ur AD is very near wor.. i doubt i will be able to drop by that day.. will see how ya.. aegean is right! u should pamper urself by going for spa massages & mani+pedicures! already spent so much time & $$ preparing for the BIG day.. u should spend some of each on urself alone.. hee..

Anyway.. CONGRATULATIONS BABE! Enjoy ur party and hv a blissful marriage.. ^_^

silentelf

Hi aegean.. we paid extra to add floweres on all the candles .. think i mentioned to u b4 that my MIL is crazy about flowers.. she will faint if she know our wedding has no flowers..haha... so we decided to ask what's the price if we want to customize the theme .. in the end, since we can afford it.. so just pay extra lor.. MIL happy, i oso happy..:D

yeap.. i booked mani+pedi liao.. as for spa..hmm.. not doing wor.. :p

Hi Jenn.. super super excited now.. haha.. its ok lah.. if u cant come, i can show u the pics next time..

Hi storeberry.. all the best ya!

aegean

hi silentelf,

in case i dont see you at regent on yr wedding day, here's wishing you and yr hubby a very blissful marriage... (",)

jenphua

hi silentelf,

3-nov is just this coming friday wor.. bet u must be very exciting yet busy with the last min stuffs now.. enjoy ur party ya and remember to send us ur photos once it ready.. really happy for u... ^_^

elias29

wow wow...did u all read Wo Bao newspaper today? Its a bad experience for the couple when they held their wedding dinner there. U all better beware of such thing happening again..

simontemplar23

Hi M&M

Unfortunately, I could not get a copy of the newspaper. Can you tell us what happened? I understood that a couple had thrashed the presidential suite in Regent and they were made by the hotel's insurance company to pay for it. Am I right? Any more detials?

simontemplar23

The news is out.

What I don't understand is how did the bridal couple manage to convince three newspapers to publish their case??? I wonder what did they expect when they damage things in the hotel....

jenphua

my coord called me today to explain abit on the situation.. the couple was said to "damage" the room by vomitting after the banquet on the sofa n carpet.. the thing is probably they didn't clear up shortly after vomit.. i suspect both of them are drunk n both vomit together.. hence, they are unable to clear the mess n waited overnight.. by then the stain was too difficult to clear..

for me, i feel the hotel has the right to claim the lost.. they spent so much on building the hotel n deco beautifully for all big events n comfortable stays.. the carpet n sofa are their assets.. the stains are unremovable and they hv to spend $$ to replace their assets.. it's a big lost to the hotel too.. think the couple wasn't very happy with the compensation and was wanting to gain public comments to 'support' their unhappiness.. maybe on 2nd tot, they are being nice to warn other couples to avoid such incidents.. oh well.. jus my assumptions n 2 cents worth.. ^_^

nelly_ng

My friends wedding at Orchard Hotel. Groom was drunk and vomitted on the bed. They paid $1600 for the mattress and comforter.

The hotel explained that the were red wine stain that cannot be cleared off. Therefore, they have to paid slightly more.

Sad..... I told my bf if he is drunk then I will put him in the bathtub.

simontemplar23

Hmmm....actually the claim was made by the insurance companies isn't it and not Regent? Anyway, I don't think the couple should have gone out and tell everybody how obnoxious they are. They claimed that Regent did not let them see the damage. Makes u wonder why didn't they see it in the first place before they leave? And is Regent suppose to hold the room vacant and wait for them to come back from their European honeymoon?

Look at the part about how "disatisfied" they were with the dinner reception, almost a cheap shot at Regent talking about it in the papers. I don't believe for once that there could have been metal filings in the soup! Regent leh!

Maybe they should pour some red wine on their own clothes and leave it overnight, then try washing it off.

georgias

Read the news about the recent furore on Regent and felt compelled to give my 2 cent's worth.

We held our wedding at the Royal Pavillion Ballroom last week and I must say that we found everything to be perfect. Since Patrina became our coordinator a few months ago, she had been an angel! On our wedding night, the staff were accomodating to our last minute changes. Patrina really came through with all her promises on making it not just a memorable experience for us but more importantly, for all our guests (based on the feedback we have gotten). The decor was wonderful (we had summer jazz as our theme), the food tasty and in sufficiently large portions, and the banquet manager (Arthur) took care of us well.

As we read the "developments" in the papers, we thought the negative publicity was very unfair, based on our experiences as guests in previous Regent weddings and the wonderful experience of our own wedding there last week.

First off, the whole incident arosed because of the partying that the couple and their friends did in the presidential suite and not anything to do with the food or the services provided by the staff at the dinner. The couple's allegations about metal filings, paper etc in the food seems to be an attempt to drag Regent's name through the mud in hope of gaining public sympathy. These are serious allegations, and I hope the couple have sufficient evidence to back that up.

Given that what they have damaged is the Presidential suite (while most of us only stayed in the bridal suite), the estimated damages do not seemed out of line. The couple said that the the costs (~16k after 50% waiver by insurers) will bankrupt them. To be honest, this is disingenuous in the light of their extravagant wedding and expensive European honeymoon. The complaint about the "misrepresentation" in their names is qute tenuous as well. I think the guests will be discerning enough to know that the groom is not taking on the surname of his wife.

Sorry for rambling on so but we both felt the damage from these claims can potentially be very large, which is really unfair for an excellant hotel like Regent. After our wedding last week, we stayed in the bridal suite for a total of 3 nights (we topped up for this), and Regent maintained its highest standard of service during our stay.

For those of you who had signed with Regent, but had yet to have your wedding, fear not, you are in good hands!

jenphua

i finally read both articles on straits time n newpaper today.. i hv the same thinking with georgias.. they hv the $$ to go europe, paying off $16k will bankrupt them!! maybe can't pay in full but partial shouldn't bankrupt them... abit not logical lo.. as for the foreign objects, i dun feel regent has this kinda standard.. i've good trust in their standard.. as for the surname.. they could hv got their coord or even the banquet manager to change.. am sure regent will acknowledge their fault and correct it immediately..

another thing i noticed after reading both articles.. they didn't clear the stains when they checked out!!! they only said it was not in a mess when the leave.. erm.. wonder what they mean by "not in a mess".. means toilet wasn't tear down, sofa & bed not shifted from it original position and the glass table & windows are not broken?? nothing abt them clearing the stains before they leave right?! i believe all hotels are prepared for such incidents and if the couple clear the stain earlier, the damage cost may be not hv to go this far.. to think they are in a presidential suite lo.. should know everything also more costly.. am not surprised some are limited editions or even need to air-in from overseas.. sounds outragous?! dun think this way.. it can be true... anyway.. jus my 2 cents worth.. ^_^

hey georgias, congratulations to ur memorable and great wedding.. thanks for sharing your good experiences with us too... wish u a blissful marriage ya! ^)^

I was wondering why the hotel did not check the room b4 they leave

I am sure they cleared the room for the 2 pm check in.Therefore, if there is any problem it will be solve and at least made known

simontemplar23

If only Regent can step out to give their version of what happened. I find the couple's version is too biased and general to accurately give us the true picture of what happened.

justaguy

Actually i thought it was Regent's insurer that claimed for damages and not Regent itself? From what i read, Regent claimed from their insurance company and the company then went to claim from the couple...i find it very strange leh...

Nitestarz,

I thought for a Presidential suite they would. Thanks for the infor.

Francis,
I also feel that only Regent can claim not the insurance company. Just like car insurance they will only claim from Owner not the driver.

Anne

elias29

Ya, i also tot hotel cleaning service will usually check the room for consumption of hotel beverages, cleaniness of room, etc when they return the key or at least should check right after they check out. So if there's anything missing or not right, the hotel staff should have called the couple on tat day. I still think their service is not that good in this aspect.

simontemplar23

M&M: Actually, as long as the hotel holds your credit card information, you are already liable for any damages incurred in the room. That's why an immediate aftermath check is really not necessary. This practice is more common in places such as chalets.

Anne: Regent did claim from their insurers and the insurers claimed from the couple. This applies for the car too.

Simon,

Since Regent has insurance and they can claim from it However, the insurance has to undertake the claims and risks.

For car, if there is an accident we can claim b'cos both parties has insurance which cannot be applied for this couple.

I hope I got it right. It will be best if Regent or the insurance company can let us know more about it.

simontemplar23

Anne: Perhaps so, but do you think our dear said couple is able to cover the compensation after an European honeymoon without "bankrupting" themselves? Perhaps the next best course would have been to claim from the insurance after all.

From the corporate point of view, it is not viable to not recover the costs from somewhere when they still have a business to run.

justaguy

Actually i was wondering. If one were to buy wedding insurance like the what NTUC income is selling, will we be covered for such damages?

Simon,
I don't believe they will bankrupt themselves. They had 380 guests attending the wedding and they went to Europe.

Francis,
I think there are wedding insurance, but I don't know it they can be used for claims.

Let's wait and see what happen.

Anne

simontemplar23

Hi Anne

Exactly, there is no chance that they can bankrupt themselves. However, why pay insurance premiums when you don't use it?

All in all, the story in the newspapers is too biased. I don't think we will ever get to know the real truth.

feb07bride

Hihi, does The Regent offer to the wedding couple dinner at the suite after the banquet? Also, did any of you get special rates to extend the stay at the bridal suite?

simontemplar23

Hi Mary

You will not go wrong with $200/pax. LOL!!! Time to spoil the market!

Really depends on the time and day of the dinner. I think generally at least $100/pax should be quite safe though those holding weekend dinners will cost almost $1100 per table, therefore works out to be about $110 per pax.

Of course, if you are close to the friend, you will need to give more. When is this dinner btw?

ernie_derek

Hihi Simon,

The wedding will be held on Friday. Is Friday consider a weekday rate or little weekend rate ar? *Blur Sotong*

So aga aga $100/pax hor? =)

Hey, thanks for the help dude!

Bluebearypie,

You are right, I attended one wedding on Sunday and it ends @ 1130pm, I was so tired and if there are anymore wedding on Sunday or (Mon-Thurs) weekday I might turn it down. I just attended one on Thurs it ended at 11 pm. It is so tired and for those with kids it will be worst. No wonder nowdays, some ppl gave different rates for weekday and weekend.

justaguy

I think nowadays for weekend wedding in 5* hotels should at least give $100...even 4* hotels on weekends have to give about $80-$90 if you just want to talk about helping bride and groom cut cost. Just look at the rates published in this website and you can gauge for yourself.

My own personal opinion is that if that person is not so close, you give just enough to cover cost but if he is a good friend than perhaps give more lor...

Of course you can give any amount you want but chances are i think when you invite that same friend, he/she will probably give you back the same amount coz they keep tabs on these kinda things...

blessedger

HI! We are interested to hold our wedding at The Regent as well. Any idea how is the food? Does anybody has photo on the bridal suite to share? is it nice?

justaguy

i think they do not have the price list for 2008 yet. as for the food, it is prepared by their chinese restaurant Summer Palace so it should be pretty alright. Bridal suite is OK as far as i can tell...for Regent, they do not give you the best suites in their hotel unlike some other hotels but i suppose it has to do with what happened recently in the news. Anyway seeing what happened, i also do not want to stay in their presidential suite....lagi stress