Regent Singapore

aegean

hi silentelf,

ive checked with my coordinator. no dreamz theme at the moment.

so u are considering the dreamz theme?

jenphua

sorry for MIA-ing this long.. tied up by lotz of workload recently.. haiz..

so.. how's everybody recently? good? am sure some are very near to their AD already ya! good luck and have fun ya! ^_^

silentelf

hubby went to see the tranquility theme last fri too.. wonder whether u notice him.. hehe.. actually i really like the idea of having so many candles.. but i find the stage very plain.. and u hardly see any flowers with this theme.. think my MIL will freak out if she knows there's no flowers in our banquet!!

yeah aegean.. im considering tranquility & dreamz.. i like dreamz becos the VIP table is really nice.. even the guest table looks nicer than tranquility.. i think..

well.. actually my mind has already set on tranquility, now just trying to convince hubby.. cos he thinks its too simple... haiz..

hi jenn.. great to hear from u again..

aegean

hi silentelf,

i dont tink ive seen him. we were there at about 6.30pm. we really like the tranquility theme.. hehe! so we decided to go for it. u have seen the dreamz theme at a actual wedding?

btw, we have seen the cards and favours. tentatively decided on 1 design alrdy.

hi jenn, welcome back. how have u been?

silentelf

hi aegean. i have seen the pics for dreamz theme.. never see the real set up.. ;p yeah tranquility very romantic.. good choice! hee.. btw, when's your wedding?

which card u like? i chose the pink one with satin ribbon in the centre of the card.

oh cyprusblade.., u still manage to see after 7pm? tot they told us we can only view bet. 6-7..;p

silentelf

oh the one in purple color with border? hee.. i can only remember the other design is in black, red & creme.. ;p yeah.. u made the right choice.. becoz i have problem tying the ribbons mann.. kept tying & un-tying.. waste time.. ;p

aegean

hmm.. tink the red and creme coloured ones.. yes. itz so tedious to tie the ribbons.. how about the favours? have u chosen that?

silentelf

hi aegean.. oh yeah.. i have chosen the flavours.. the heartshape salt & pepper shakers and the 'ah gong ah ma' figurines.. :D
what about u then?

aegean

hi silentelf,

we r most likely to choose the pralines as our favours. unless there are new choices coming up at the end of the yr.

feb07bride

Hihi ladies, Anyone with pictures of the dreams theme? I have only seen tranquility and chinois so far... What is the dreams theme like?

I went to see the tranquility theme and love it too but the stage is really too plain. I took my camera to take pictures and it didn't look nice on stage at all, and they said I have to pay more if I want to add more stuff :p

Any pics to share on dream theme or other themes? Thanks! [email protected]

silentelf

oh no.. i really cant remember the pralines.. cos i wanted something liddat, however i only remember the mini eggs.. hee.. how many pralines will be given as 1 flavour?

hi feb07bride, i have the pictures, will send to u soon, but not well taken hor.. if u have your co-ordinator presentation slides, i think they already have the VIP table pic.

ya ya.. i agree the stage for tranquility theme is really very plain.. but other than that i like everything else! how how? should i just give it a shot?

aegean

there will be 2 pieces. one milk chocolate and the other white chocolate. something practical... coz the guests can munch on something while waiting.. hehe!

i feel that tranquility is nice.. u can consider. feel that flowers are too common..

silentelf

ya pretty true.. normally guests would be hungry by 8pm ..haha..

flowers common.. but no flowers make it look so simple.. haiz.. 'shang nao jing'... i will have to decide fast.. but 95%.. i will be choosing tranquility.. 5% still thinking about dreamz.. ;p

silentelf

u confirm yours already ah?? tranquility?
yeah i just confirmed mine.. and it will be tranquility!!!! decided to go for it liao.. hahahaha.. let my MIL faint, dont care already.. hehe..

aegean

oh! that's great! yes.. we have confirmed on tranquility.. like it very much.. dont even wish to view the other themes.. hehe!

aegean

hmm.. at the grand ballroom. so where's the royal pavilion?

btw do u have any idea if the hotel will provide dinner for the couple b4 or after the wedding?

silentelf

the grand ballroom at lobby level rite? that one is royal pavilion lor.. kekeke...

me no dinner leh.. only a fruit cake.. sianz..

cyprusblade

I'm not sure if I'm spoiling market but you can opt for dinner or supper. But we will opt for supper and get a bite downstairs before the banquet. Feel can enjoy the meal better after everything is over.

You can also ask if you can change the fruitcake for other cakes, pastries. We changed ours to macroons.

We signed up during the wedding show so I'm not sure if there's any difference in packages.

aegean

hi silentelf,

oh! the ballroom at the lobby level is called the royal pavilion? hehe! i dont know abt this... hehe!

hi cyprusblade,

u mean we can opt for that? is it stated on yr package?

cyprusblade

Hi aegean, yes it's stated in my package (the lover's dinner or supper) but the change for fruit cake was a verbal thing. My coordinator asked me if I wanted to.

cyprusblade

I signed up during the wedding show. I also noticed the price was much higher but for the free corkage, I guess it was a give and take.

cyprusblade

Hi Hotsoup, received a message from you. Could you please activate your private message. I'm sorry I don't have any photos of the themes. The hotel seems to be sticky about this and they can only show you an album.

As for my coordinator, my wedding is her last wedding and she's moving on to the four seasons after that.

jenphua

hi fong li sar,

why dun you call regent to ask them to email u the package details? they will send to u without any bookings.. those we hv may be old.. i believe there're changes now.. in terms of new themes and probably promotions.. i'm not sure either.. just call them ba... happy choosing ! ^_^

storeberry

Regent hotel people really cannot make it! I emailed them to ask for package then this lady emailed me a form for the wedding show. I then emailed back to tell her I would like to see the package first before deciding whether to attend the wedding show & told her to send me the prices fast as I am comparing and would decide on a hotel soon. She then emailed me to asked me a few questions on the names, when is the wedding..blah..blah... I emailed back & GUESS WHAT????

Another irritating person from the hotel emailed me the form for the wedding show again!! Without the package! Why is the hotel so sticky about the packages? Or they simply don't understand what I am saying or there is serious miscommunication?

If that's the case, I wouldn't want them to hold my wedding!

aegean

hi storeberry,

im sorry to hear that. so far, ive no prob with my current coordinator. he is very prompt in replying and has been a great help so far.

y dont you try to contact wele at 67253181?

jenphua

hi aegean,

i've been very busy with work.. didn't hv much time to do wedding prep.. to make it worst, my hubby is always not in town.. only get to confirmed our photographer recently.. now left videographer-source, gowns selections & PS to be done within this 6months.. the final trimester b4 the wedding should be done after april'07.. what about urself?

jenphua

hi storyberry,

dun angry dun angry.. do call wele for help.. he's very helpful.. if u have problem even with him, let me or aegean knows.. we can call him to check... ^_^

storeberry

Hi thanks aegaean & Jenn for your replies! Hee not very angry only irritated la... because I am very urgent in settling the hotel but couldn't get anything from them so... Will try & call Wele tomorrow!

Want to rave about Holiday Inn Atrium service! I called Grand Plaza Park Royal & Holiday Inn Atrium on Sat to request someone to call me back. The director of banquet from HIA was very prompt in his response. He called me twice & when I didn't answer, he send me an sms to fix a appt with me & was very apologetic when I told him I am in a service. That's what I call proactive! But have to see what he can offer when I meet him on wed.

simontemplar23

Hello storeberry

I wonder if it occurs to you that it's because HIA is very free right now that they are desperate to call u back? I understand that Regent's catering department is very busy with banquets in and outside the hotel. Of course, this is not excuse for tardiness, but one thing I have also observed was that there are many new wedding coordinators these days. Maybe that is the reason for such minor cock-ups. Why don't you call Sunil, the director of catering, to clarify?

Just a side-note, I don't think you can compare HIA to Regent!

storeberry

Hi Simon,

I definitely don't think so because I had heard good reviews from frens & forummers on HIA so I don't think their is sooooo bad till they are so free to call me. I mean I wouldn't want a cheap package & not good service.

And I don't think Regent is very busy either. If you have read my post carefully, they are very fast in emailing back, BUT emailing the WRONG things! I mean busy is not an excuse of not knowing what the customer wants. If I wan the package prices, pls jolly well email me instead of pestering me to sign up for the wedding show!?? Right? Three wrong emails & you call that minor cockup? I don't think so....

And I think Regent prices are similar to HIA, HIA is a four-star hotel, is Regent 4-star or 5-star? And Hyatt had also slightly better service then Regent! At least they bother to call me back.

Have you done your wedding at Regent before? You happy with it? Are they proactive or do they have alot of hiccups? Thanks!

simontemplar23

Hi Storeberry

I am holding my wedding at Regent and seriuosly, since 1 year 1 month ago when I first contacted them, I have no issues with them despite a change in coordinators midway. Maybe you are one of those rare cases where cock-ups happened?

Btw, I don't think Regent prices similar to HIA. Are you comparing weekdays prices with weekend prices?

Anyway, the choice is yours. Don't take Regent if you feel that it is undeserving.

rinnie

I'm not having my wedding a regent but attended one there before..it was one of the best wedding that I've attended..in terms of food..I simply loved the chocolate mouse dessert..not sure if my friend top up though..reali nice..=) Serivce wise, i find that it's not bad too..I just dun like the pillars so din choose this venue..

aegean

hi jenn,

ive settled quite a few items for the wedding prep. confirmed the videographer, photographer, theme, cards, favours, shoes.... haha! very kiasu. dont wish to wait till the last min.

we will meeting my gown designer next month. very exciting about it.

so have u viewed any of the themes yet?

aegean

hi storeberry,

i guessed this is just one of the rare case of miscommunication. have a gd talk with wele and he will be most happy to assist you.