Regent Singapore

0phelia

I attended the wedding show on the 23 july, I think the new theme is so much more beautiful and grand. It oozes passion although I do not like the tentage area in the middle of the entrance. It is supposedly to allow the newly weds to waltz in during their march in.

the colour theme is gold and red.

I guess not everybody will enjoy the new theme unless you enjoy grandeur and romance with a nice touch of victorian.

I signed up on the wedding show and as far as I am concerned, I do think this hotel is a good choice, their coordinator very attentive and goes all out to assist me.

I do agree that the outter look of the hotel looks old, but its the interior you will be taking photos in right ? so that doesnt matter to me.

Just like a good book, do not judge a hotel based on its "cover"

jenphua

hi ophelia,

welcome to the regent hotel club!

btw, what perks did u get by signing up in the wedding show? have u finalised ur AD? who's ur coordinator?

janni

Hi Jenn,

I've received the photos.
kao_kiss.gif

silentelf

Hi Jenn.. thanks for the pics.. actually i think the new theme looks pretty romantic.. hopefully more themes.. so that i can choose them by these 2 months!! hahaha..

rojakqueeny

hey aegean its ok =)

i gt the photo from one of the coordinator so i decide to post it up here...hehe..hw does urs look like..is it almost the same

jenphua

hi diana,

sorry for the late reply... i wasn't checking the thread since last week.. anyway, i've emailed the pix to u already.. check ur mail ba.. let me know if ur need more info.. ^_^

jenphua

hi feb07bride,

everyone's requirement is different.. some wan more wine, some wan more beer, some wan more roomstay, etc etc..

i feel u should look at the package which u intend to sign up, then go thru one-by-one if everyone meets ur requirement anot.. if not, u'll hv to tell ur coordinator what u wan for every individual items.. they are more than happy to go thru with ur.. if u need more help on what to nego, try doing comparison with ur recently-married friends.. they should be able to tell some nos, like no of wines / beer, carpark coupons, etc..

one thing i must warn u is regent is quite rigid in roomstay.. dun get too disappointed if they "refuse" to extend extra time or days ya!

fond1711

hi Jenn

You have the pics for the new theme can send me? My email [email protected] My dinner will be at the end of the year anyone know when should the hotel contact the couple for invitation card or food tasting etc?

jenphua

hi fond,

u've got mail! ^_^

there's a list enclosed in the agreement with regent.. the period stated refers to the estimated time schedule before AD.. it should be able to help u..

1. Invitation Cards - 2 months
2. Food tasting - 1.5 months
3. Menu Confirmations (incl. special dietary) - 4 weeks
4. Room Setup - 4 weeks
5. Decorations (Color Theme) - 4 weeks
6. Signage - 2 weeks
7. Programme / Schedule - 2 weeks
8. Audio Visual - 2 weeks
9. Beverage - 2 weeks
10. Billing Arrangement - 2 weeks
11. Room Reservation - 2 weeks
12. Final Guaranteed Attendance - 1 week

jenphua

hi twinstarz,

u've got mail!

i never deal with Soo Ting before.. my coordinator is a guy.. let me know if u need to find out more about regent's package ya! ^_^

twinstarz

hey jenn! thanks for sharing! sori i took so long to reply, was on course the past few days. =) pics look good! is the ceiling high? cldn't really tell from the pics. heh. can't wait to meet up with the coordinator this sat!

jenphua

hi twinstarz,

the ceiling is not very high but it's acceptable.. i must say i doubt the biggest ballroom can hold 50 tables.. so.. if u plan to hv max 50, u gotta think twice.. however, 40 n below seems fine.. u gotta vary urself ya! let me know the outcome after the meet-up with ur coord this sat.. ^_^

twinstarz

hey jenn! soo ting was v nice when i met up with her. v patient and friendly. =) i like the feel of the hotel, nice lights and v clean cut.

but i wonder y the main ballroom is on the ground flr, whr most of the other guests will linger ard. guess i need to see some actual weddings in order to determind how the deco looks like.haha. so when's ur wedding?? or is it over alrdy?? which BS are u with?

lily_bud

hey gals..i booked my dinner at regent already last week. for those who have chose regent but have yet to decide on the themes, can take note of these dates to view the ballroom setup;

Friday 22 Sep 2006 - Tranquility
Saturday 23 Sep 2006- Chinois
Monday 25 Sep 2006- La Dolce Vita
Saturday 30 Sep 2006 - Jazz

lily_bud

Hi silentelf,

recalled my coordinator mentioned that for couples who wanted la dolce vita in 200, will have to pay extra..but i did not ask him further since my AD is next year.

silentelf

Hi Diana.. thanks for the info on the themes.. i only know about the Chinois theme on 23 Sep.
yeah.. my co-ordinator told me the same thing.. we got to pay for la dolce vita.. think i will give that a miss.. becoz actually im not willing to pay for a wedding theme.. ;p i have already spend too much on other stuffs.. so when is your wedding?

aegean

Hi diana,

thanks for the info.

we will be viewing the tranquility on the 22nd too.. btw u have any idea abt summer jazz?

silentelf

hi cyprus.. i tried the bird nest soup.. seriously.. i can hardly 'see' the bird nest... it tasted like a thick gluey soup/porridge to me.. So we ended up taking sharks fin instead... this is really my view together with my family members.. so if u wanna take tat.. i suggest u have it during your tasting... if u dont like, probably u can take sharks fin instead.

cyprusblade

Hi silentelf, thanks for letting me know. I tried the sharks fin with fish maw and the fish maw was very fishy was thinking of sharksfin with crabmeat. Any suggestions.

Unfortunately my food tasting is over so I can't ask for another tasting can i?

silentelf

hi cyprus.. i tried the sharks fin with fish maw & conpoy.. the fish maw was not fishy but the whole soup tasted a bit too salty. so we told them to be less salty. if u wanna try the bird nest, u could try at the summer palace at your own cost?.. but of cos i think u could ask your co-ordinator to make some special arrangement?

they requested us to use original CDs..
when's your wedding?

silentelf

wah cyprus.. your wedding coming soon liao!! excited? wat theme did u choose? i intend to take Tranquility.. & tonite there's a wedding with this theme but i have no time to go down.. hopefully any nice ladies here, pls send me the pictures if u manage to snap any..

cyprusblade

Hey silentelf, when's your wedding.

I have not decided yet but am thinking about Jazz but will decide after I see next week's jazz's theme. Sorry I don't have a camera with me otherwise would be glad to do so. I'm also not sure if I can go down tonight will need to confirm with my coordinator later.

Wish I was excited but I think I'm more fusterated and stressed.

silentelf

Hey cyprus.. dont stress.. think positive & enjoy the preps.. nothing is easy.. but if we take pride on wat we do, i believe we will do a good one.. anyway.. hiccups bound to happen lah..

i've seen the real jazz theme.. pretty cool too..

my wedding on 3 Nov..

cyprusblade

For the next few days I don't think any wedding couples chose the Dreamz theme but will ask my coordinator when I see her on sat.

I went to view the Tranquility theme last friday and it's more of a candles with rose petals theme so it is very cosy and romantic but I think I will choose the jazz theme.