Regent Singapore

jenphua

hi ling,

thanks for the head-up! at least we can talk to our coordinator first n plan for other type of march-in effect now..

hi silentelf,

how's ur wedding prep so far? let me know if u need any help from my side.. ^_^

aegean

phew! we have finally confirmed the hotel. all thanks to your advice and help. really appreciate that!

we can now proceed with the other details of the wedding. heehee!

jenphua

hi aegean,

great news indeed! what's your nx step now? bridal package confirmations? u mentioned u like ted wu right? so.. when u confirming them n how's their package like?

aegean

hi jenn,

yes. im looking forward to the next steps. will have to confirm the bridal package with TW by end of july.

we r not taking the studio and outdoor photoshoot. so will just get my 2 gowns and possibly the suit the studio.

jenphua

hi aegean,

oic.. why not the photoshoot? both of ur dun like to take photos? it's a once-in-a-lifetime.. u should take down ur most beautiful side u know.. anyway.. it's ur choice! ^_^

aegean

hi jenn,

i know. heehee! but we dont like posing for photos. prefer more natural shots so we decided to opt for day photography and videography..

jenphua

hi aegean,

my tea dress is inclusive in my bridal package.. it's on rental.. for cheongsam, u can either look for tailors at peninsula plaza or chinatown for help.. actually u can even ask TW if they can help u do one.. esp when $$ is about the same.. liddat u can save on follow-up contact points n travelling time.. ^_^

aegean

hi jenn,

TW does provide cheongsams. but im hoping that the cheongsam will be of a different style.. something different.

jenphua

hi aegean,

actually u can tell TW ur choice.. at least it's something to ur expectation right? if u go to new tailors that are not familar with ur likings, it may end up nothing special.. u probably wanna check with TW what they can do for u before u decide.. at least i feel TW will be a safer choice.. ^_^

aegean

hmm.. thanks for the advice, jenn.

yes. it will save the hassle to look for another one. it may be risky if i get it done with another designer.

jenphua

hi cybie20,

there's a wedding show at regent at 23-Jul-06. you may want to call regent - banquet sales dept to check how u can attend..

vixen

I've seen a lot of unpleasant feedbacks about Regent here so I just wanted to share my experience of Regent with everyone out there. Mine was a pleasant one.

My husband and I signed up with Regent Hotel during their wedding show last year October for our wedding (which was just over) in June this year.

Initially, we were quite worried after reading this forum and seeing so many not-so-good comments about Regent. Next, we were rather disappointed with our coordinator as she did not respond to our emails and phone messages. Our wedding invitation cards were slightly delayed due to the "hide and seek" with her. Shortly after, we found out that she had left the company and we were being referred to another coordinator. We were not very happy about it and feared what would happen next.

Fortunately for us, this new coordinator was very helpful and accommodating. He acceded to our every request and threw in lots of additional perks. He went through our contract carefully and reminded us on the little things that we had overlooked.

As my hubby and I were both first timer when comes to arranging such big scale dinner, our coordinator gave us valuable advises on the do's and don'ts. He also advised us how many barrels of beer and bottles of wines should be enough, based on our number of tables confirmed...

Our emails to him were always replied promptly and messages left for him were attended to as well.

Especially during the last few days before our AD, (busy... busy...) lots of our guests could not make it in the last minute and we have to re-shuffle our tables again and again. Vegetarian meals, 11 pax, baby chairs... absolute chaos! But he was very patient and very cool about it, and last minute adjustments were made with no complaints.

On the AD, everything was delightful from the moment our bridal car arrived at the hotel. I was surprised when the bellhop greeted us by our names. Personal touch.

There were no boo-boos or cock-ups during our dinner. In fact, everything went on as planned. Music was played correctly, smoke effect for 1st march-in and 2nd march-in was perfectly Q-ed and timed. Impromptu baby-chair request was attended to within minutes.

The waitress serving my bridal table was very attentive. I think she saw me drinking water from the water goblet, next thing I knew, she slid beside me and slipped a drinking straw into my goblet. Totally impressed!

I read that a few posts ago, someone was told not to pop the confetti cannons during march-in. Luckily I didn't face that problem. I had my confetti cannons sent down 1 day before my AD, and asked the hotel to arrange the confetti cannons on the tables for all my guests. There was no objection of any kind to that. (Maybe they had changed their regulations...?)

Overall, our experience with Regent Hotel was marvelous. All our guests enjoyed themselves and complimented on Regent’s services. I reckon the catering team had done a very good job. They had performed superb teamwork and provided excellent service at the same time. We have no regrets to have chosen Regent Hotel for our wedding dinner.

Two, no... Four thumbs up!!

jenphua

hi vixen,

thanks for sharing.. happy to see good compliments for regent.. am sure ur post will boost the confidence level of the regent-brides-to-be & even those who are still considering.. the coordinator will owe u one treat liao! haha.. anyway.. congratulations to you & ur hubby's successful wedding!! ^_^

haywiregirl

I saw the function rooms and not impress with the deco and rooms, maybe I should give it a try to go down to view it again and discuss, may I know who is your coordinator?

aegean

hi bendi,

u should go and view the ballrooms again. they look very cosy.

btw there is a wedding show on 23 July, Sun. check it out and you may be able to get nice perks or offers during the show.

jenphua

hi bendi,

i know regent has function rooms to cater for smaller group.. u can still try.. as for coordinator, aegean n my coordinator are the same -> wele.. u can call him thru the main desk to the banquet sales dept for help.. ^_^

aegean

yes, i agree with jenn.

he is a very friendly coordinator. If i remember correctly, Regent has smaller ballrooms on the 2nd level.

jenphua

hi aegean,

in this case, u better go! will get to see the other themes n hv better selections.. heard they hv one more new theme coming up for this wedding show! do share with us ur views after the wedding show.. thanks! ^_^

silentelf

hey vixen.. so good to hear positive feedback!! making me more nervous & excited for my big day..

hey jenn & aegean.. sorry for the disappearance... i have chose my invites already.. so happy.. they have a new range of invites (green, pink & bronze) which doesnt looks like wedding invitation cards to me.. but i think they are very special so I chose that as our invites..
now need to look for printer leh.. any recommendation from your frens? or frens of frens? :D

aegean

hi silentelf,

its good to hear from you again! wow! its nice to know that we have more choices of wedding cards to choose from.

so you have confirmed most of the items for your wedding? as for the printer, you can check with the regent coordinator. they can recommend some good ones to you.

simontemplar23

Hi Bendi

You mean the exterior of the hotel looks aged. That I agree. However, I think the interior look grand rather than aged. I guess the grand look doesn't appeal to you.

haywiregirl

simon,
Yes maybe you are right. I have a total different feeling when stepped into Oriental.
Most of the aged hotel has this "atrium" thingy but after reno for oriental, the feeling is right "for me la". Regent had the reno done 4 years back.

Anyway, we decided to book Oriental, even though the price is so much higher.

silentelf

Hi aegean, do ppl normally took up the printer which recommended by the hotel? Thot it will be more expensive? :p I think i will ask around first before using the one intro my regent..

jenphua

anyone going for the wedding show this sunday? i'll pop by around 4pm+ to check out the new theme deco.. ^_^

hi aegean,

i heard the jazz band is good.. very classic.. but it will last for 45mins only.. thereafter, they will play their own or ur preferred music thru-out the banquet..

aegean

hi jenn,

we will be there for a short while to check out the themed decor on sunday.

oh! that's great to hear. im quite worried that the band may not be good.

look forward to seeing you then.

aegean

hi silentelf,

ive just checked with my regular printer. he does printing of wedding invites. he is very reliable. i will be getting him to print mine.

So what's your email?

jenphua

hi ong,

the wedding show starts at 1:30am tomorrow..
if u're really interested, u may wanna call their banquet sales dept for help.. ^_^

jenphua

hi gals!

me went to the wedding fair yesterday at 4pm to check out their new theme.. i was telling my coordinator the theme looks RED!! a big entrance kinda feeling on the first look but on 2nd or 3rd look, it's kinda not very nice.. wat ur think? ^_^

aegean

hi jenn,

i was supposed to go for the wedding show. in the end, something cropped up. so missed it.

what's the name of the new theme?

jenphua

hi aegean,

the new theme is called "La Dolce Vita" (which means sweet life). I've requested for photos to be sent to me by wednesday.. do u wan me to email u once i received? if so, send me ur email address. ^_^