Regent Singapore

• Thread starter Thread starter happy sunny
  • Start date Start date

Jam!! finally hear from u again!! CONGRATS!! so happy to hear a positive remarks... :D :D
How many tables do you have?? Ya ya.. i want to see your pics too can? Thanks so much!

Jenn.. green was never my favourite too.. but do u know wat i chose for the color of my EG?? Its apple green..!! And I was sooo worried.. but i'm glad that it turns out nice on me
I just had my PS yesterday.. PS is really no joke.. jaw pain, leg aching & perspire a lot..! But well, it was fun
oh ya.. when u viewed the Dreamz theme, did u take any pictures?

hi aegean,

i just signed up with regent.. their ballroom can hold up to 50 tables.. u can call them to ask for a tour there.. they are friendly pple.. we are holding our wedding there @ 19-Sep-07. ^_^

hi newguy,

regent's weekend rates are pretty high cos they are under the fourseason group.. so.. u need to take a balance lor.. either money or convenience or brand..

hi silentelf,

i didn't take any pix cos we weren't prepared to sign up when we went for the workshop... i saw all 4 themes set-up.. all are nicely done.. i know what jam meant by the not-obiang-chinios.. cos when i saw the pix from the file regent sent to me, chinios is a no-no.. but when i saw the actual pcs, all are nice n none look ugly.. i would say all are safe choice.. so.. it's up to individual now.. one thing u can asked ur coor is to try to arrange ur to visit their ballroom when they having the wedding theme deco ur are planning to choose. but the timing will be around afternoon time.. watch out!

btw, which bridal package u took huh?

Hi Jenn.. yes i did ask my co-ordinator to inform me if there's any wedding coming up. But the dates she gave me were mostly weekdays which i cant make it. eh.. let me know if your co-ordinator inform u too..

I went to see jazz theme during a workshop.. taken some pics but not very clear cos they were taken by our hp.. Actually the co-ordinator told me sometimes they might change the themes..

i took bridal pkg from French Bridal

hi jenn,

ginny, the coordinator has brought us on a tour around the ballroom and bridal suite.

we are most likely to decide on regent, however, we will like to negotiate for better perks. heehee!

hi aegean,

you should! if u paisey, get someone experienced (as in a recently married person) to go with ur to nego.. but let me warn u first.. they are very rigid on room stay.. i asked for 2 nights bridal room stay, they dun wanna give.. they say can only top up cash for that..

then again, since urs have more tables than mine n if u r taking weekends, they may be able to do more for u.. just go ahead to request la.. good luck babe!!

hi silentelf,

u went to the workshop too? what time was ur appointment? mine was at 4pm.. ya ya ya.. we saw the jazz theme too! haha.. my coordinator, wele, said sometimes they will change esp when the couples request add-ins.. the one we saw has the add-in stand along the alsie n the flowers is changed to red roses instead of cream color...

i also saw the dreamz theme when we went to sign up tat day.. wasn't fully done-up n i wasn't intended to take dreamz as my theme.. so.. never tot of taking pix.. :P
which theme are u looking at? we are aiming for the Summer Jazz theme..

wow.. French Bridal.. i've got a friend took up their package for their marriage few yrs back.. quite like their photography skill.. very soft n professional.. but erm.. i signed up with jazreel low collections cos their price seems most reasonable...

hi jenn,

sigh! the people in regent are so sticky about the perks. they said they cant give anymore perks other than what is stated on the package.

what kind of perks did regent give you?

hi aegean,

u mean u already nego with them? i managed to get increase the no of pax for food tasting, increase the % of invitation cards & some corkage waived (w/conditions that i must buy some wine from them)... not many hor... haiz...

PS : preferred not to indicate nos here esp i know pple from regent will visit this forum n it's ultimately an added perks.. gotta respect them in this case..

hi jenn,

im so disappointed in regent. they are so stuck up. can u believe it? they actually want to charge us for:
1) increase the no of pax for food tasting to 10 pax
2) increase the no. of invitation pax
3) waival of corkage fee for wine

we have 40-45 tables of guests and this is the kind of service I receive from Regent, a 4 seasons hotel? Forget it! We are not going to engage such services!

hi aegean,

when's ur wedding? do u wanna give it a try for my coordinator? he's a very polite guy... btw, which package did u opt for? i mean in terms of price.. i got the 768 package n i can increase.. i think ur coordinator may be new u know... u wanna try again?

Hi Jenn.. the workshp i went was last year. Dont think we both attended the same workshp. :p

I'm aiming for Dreamz theme lor.. cos I like the idea of kissing under the dunno what arch of love when we march in.. :p But i oso like the idea of lighting the candle for Tranquility theme.. Last time, I thot Summer jazz theme is only for lunch banquet, didnt know now it is one of the themes for dinner

Recently one of the better French bridal photographer left & he might be the one serving your fren.. hee.. Havent got to see my photos so i cant judge my photographer yet.. hehe..
oh jazreel low.., just opposite of French
have u select your gown?

hi jenn,

my wedding will be in march. ive opted for the $868 package (weekend). hmm.. can you give me the contact of your coordinator? so sorry to trouble you.

hi aegean,

u can call wele at 67253181. not very convenient to publish his handphone no here.. u can ask him when u get him ya! let me know if u need any help.. i'm gonna call him today.. maybe i can sound him a little later ya! ^_^

dun worry babe! wedding preparation should be happy!

hi silentelf,

the candle lightings is under the Dreamz theme right? i tot i saw tat in the presentation file sent by regent n the banquet sales manager did mention that during the recent workshop.. u wanna reconfirm with ur coordinator?

yes! they just start summer jazz theme this yr for dinner.. u can consider tat too! got extra 15mins saxophonist ensemble.. very jazz... hee...

i haven't choose / MTM my gowns yet cos our wedding date is Sep-07 mah.. still early.. but am going nx month to trial cuttings n designs.. will finalized by Nov-06 n PS at Mar-07.. can show me ur photos when u get the soft copy? my email add : [email protected]

thx!

thanks jenn. that's very sweet of u.

yes, wedding prep should be a happy one but somehow this coordinator has ruined my impression of her and the hotel.

hi aegean,

no problem babe! i've already spoke to wele.. he was asking for ur name but erm.. i can't tell him ur forum nickname right! haha.. anyway.. u can say u're the one jenny phua was mentioning this morning.. one thing he said is all these perks are with no obligations. i agree but being too rigid is no good too right!! i asked him to try his best to help.. dun worry.. wele is a very nice n polite guy.. everything can talk one! dun angry la... ^_^

Hi jenn.. ehhhh.. is the candle lighting under the Dreamz theme? .. wah.. i really must clarify with my co-ordinator.. then the kissing under the dunno what is for which theme? faintz.. think i got them mixed up .. :p

i like the idea of having the live ensemble too.. but i have already give that a miss when i sign the contract.. seriously, i hope i wont regret.. ;p

oh ya.. keep forgetting.. thot u getting married same period as me.. sure.. will show u the photos but dont think its so soon leh..

hi silentelf,

u wan he presentation file that regent sent to me? i can send to u to verify.. but the file only shows the main table deco for all 4 themez.. it may trigger ur memory a little.. hee.. send me ur email add?

hi jenn.. thanks! got your email.. i have never seen the Dreamz photo b4

wonder why i kept having this idea that we could 'kiss' somewhere when we march-in.. *hee

hi silentelf,

no worries babe!

haha.. u must be having this idea on wanting to kiss while marching in right.. erm.. leave tat till ur reach the stage ba.. the sabotage mostly requires kissing.. hee.. :P

hi jenn (glad to see u here) & aegean.. didnt notice there's a thread here dedicated for regent... *hee..

so u gals are dicussing about the perks? Well, just my little inputs.. i asked for perks too but they are quite strict.. and i think they are confident that the package they offered cant be found anywhere else..(that's wat i think).. so for my case (dunno if i was silly ;p), i asked for one to one exchange.. meaning if there's any perks in the package which i dont need, i asked for exchange to the things i need. for example, i gave up the 45mins live band ensemble entirely!! seriously i hope i have no regrets on that.. cos this is something that might make the banquet unique. for that, i have exchanged for increase no. of pax for food tasting, some vouchers.., etc.. (cant remember cos need to refer to contract). oh ya.. i gave up the montage service too.. cos we will be doing our own..

if you really like regent, the ambience, theme, u could look into the package they provide u and see what is the thing which u really need.. and i dont get my 2 nite stay too.. cos need to topup $$$.... and my package is $868

i dont know whether my information is useful.. anyway just for your reference

email me if you need any details: [email protected]

hi silentelf,

regent has 2 threads mah.. i always come both to see see look look.. i plan to give up the 45 mins jazz emsemble too... to exchange for wines.. i was relectant to do so but come to think of it, it may be once in a lifetime n 45mins will pass off real quickly. b4 we all know, it's gone.. so.. i rather be more practical.. ^_^

our package is 768. it's a wednesday date tat's why cheaper.. i intro aegean to my coordinator, wele n asked wele to try to help.. i find them rigid yet honest.. not like others, they promised u this n that but end up there's still alot tat need $$$.. not practical! i heard of such thing from my friends' wedding.. anyhow, we must believe regardless what, our wedding is unique to us.. the theme, food n even some guests are the same but the feeling is always different.. it's our special BIG day right gals!

hi jenn.. hubby attended a wedding at fullerton with live band too.., he said he didnt really enjoy the music becos they are too busy toking... and that's why we gave up the live ensemble for our wedding too.. ;p

frankly speaking, i did not get any waiver for corkage other than the one stated in the package which is for hard liquor (cant buy from DFS?) oh my god.. mom bot 5 bottles of martel at airport!! how? cannot bring to hotel rite? they will charge me rite? and i agree with u, i would rather choose practical things like more complimentary wine.. i dont even have free flow of beer though i asked for it ...

hi silentelf,

the hard liquor are to be duty-paid, ie. non-dfs product.. so.. ur 5 bottles cannot bring in liaoz.. but heng it's only 5 bottles.. if more, u'll lugi big time! ur package sounds funny.. no free flow beer one.. our has.. can email me ur package? maybe as time goes by, their package content change.. we can compare n see what they add or deduct! ^_^

hi jenn.. i think weekday is free flow, whereas fri & weekend only 1 barrel of beer something like tat.. since now we already signed our contract, i think our bargaining power is lesser hor?? do u know how much they charge for corkage on hard liquor?

hi silentelf,

i'm not sure on the hard liquor corkage leh.. how about u go buy the hard liquor from outside n bring in? u can ask ur coordinator abt the corkage price n compare with the actual price outside.. whichever less ex, u take which one ba...

i just review ur 898 package.. u got one night free superior room while ours need to top up to get it.. u hv montage from I Do Imaging but we don't.. so.. as compared, there's pros n cons...

hi silentelf,

just checked for u! DFS liquor is a total no-no.. meaning u can't even bring it in.. this is under the law of singapore. so.. u better go buy from outside (within singapore) n bring in the liquor to the hotel.. they mentioned they will identify by the size of the bottles n logos, etc etc.. not just the word 'DFS'...

alamak faint ah faint ah.. what am I going to do with the 5 bottles of martel??

by the way, my pkg is 868.. i gave up the montage by I Do Imaging leh.. exchanged for other stuffs.. Ya I have the free superior room whole day which i ask for day use only & exchange the 'nite use' to wine.. but cannot leh.. hahaha...

hi jenn and silentelf,

ive called your coodinator, jenn. they still refused to give in. he suggested to wait till their wedding show on 23 july as they may have more perks. still tinking on whether to wait anot.

oh! we will get the free montage? we dont need this so what can we exhange this for?

by the way, how much is the corkage fee for wine?

aegean.. the wedding show is worth waiting for.. becoz sometimes there are really extra perks.. cos i remember i missed one of the promo which was giving away 1 table free for confirmation of certain no. of tables!!

btw, when is your AD?
the free montage is given in the weekend package i think.. it depends what u want to exchange for & then ask them whether its possible.. and i did not get any corkage waiver for wine too.. i am hoping the no. of complimentary wine i have is enough for that nite! hehe..

hi aegean,

i spoke to my coor yesterday.. he said he had been quite busy recently n haven't got time to sit down n read ur long list.. he'll reply u asap..

so.. there's a wedding show going on this coming July.. erm... we should all go.. by default, all wedding shows come with good perks! we shall go there to grab right?! ^_^

for the free montage, u can check with ur coor if it can be used to exchange for other more essential stuffs.. it's open for negotiation!

corkage for wine = $25+++
cost of wine fm hotel (corkage waived) = $26+++

you can consider getting direct from them since the difference is not significant n u can save the trouble to monitor excess or shortages...

i have frens who cant get corkage waiver for wine and normally they just buy the wine from the hotel direct.. that's wat im going to do if the complimentary wine is not enough..

eh jenn.. we already sign contract.. u think we can still bargain for more perks meh? i dun think we are eligible for the wedding show rite? cos they normally reserve the seats for those who have not sign any contract...hehe..

Hi jenn & silentelf,

thanks! btw, he has replied my email. not a long list lah. heehee! he's a nicer coordinator though.

yeah! we shall wait for the wedding show. u mean we can still get the additional perks after we have confirmed b4 the show? so are you both going? we can all meet up on that day.

we are considering of getting the additional wine from the hotel as it will save us the hassle of arranging for delivery, storage and the remaining bottles.

hi aegean,

good to know that he replies.. heard from him yesterday he had been very busy recently esp after the workshop in May, alot of couples are looking for him... yes! i intend to get wines from them too esp to save the hastle to hv another contact pt to arrange delivery & payments.. find their rates quite reasonable for wine.. so.. worth the consideration..

hi silentelf & aegean,

we can try to check with our coor if we can attend n get more perks! we are existing customers n should be getting more privileges than those who need phyco right! haha.. no harm trying babes! let's update each other after we confirm with our coordinator.. if they allows, we shall meet-up tat day ya! am looking forward now..

hi jenn & silentelf,

ive checked. they cant give us the perks offered during the wedding show since we have confirmed before it. they are only applicable for couples who signed up during the show..

btw have started looking for the gown designers already?

hi aegean,

i haven got time to call my coor.. think we should be having the same one right?! hee.. anyway.. since can't, then bo bian lor.. at least we tried u see...

for my bridal package, i've signed up with jazreel low collections.. they offered reasonable OTR or MTM packages.. if u're interested, i can intro u there.. who do u hv in mind? or u've already confirmed ur package?

hi jenn,

hmm.. u really work fast huh? you're long way ahead of schedule as i remember u mentioned that your wedding will be on sept 07. wow! im really impressed.

ive yet to sign up with any bridal studios but we have shortlisted ted wu. will most probably arrange our 2nd meeting with him end of next month.

so what else have you planned for already? wedding bands? florist?

hi aegean,

haha.. i'm somebody very organised.. also, with the experience of helping out for 8 weddings, i more or less know we cannot wait for last min.. am trying all i can to minimise the last min work.. i booked JLC at Oct-05 & regent in Jun-06. should be able to confirm AD photographer & videographer by end this yr.. i no need wedding bands for this case cos am already registered in May-04. as for florist, it's not needed too cos JLC package has bouquets & corsages inclusive and my friend is helping me on the wrist & arm corsages (for helpers & emcees).. also, dun forget there's total 3 x lunar 7th month before my AD.. so.. it's good to do early.. liddat can reduce conflicts between parents & us.. u know la.. sometime will ganna nag for doing thing "insensibily".. i rather not take risk n plan early..

Hi aegean.. i'm with french bridal.. :D wah.. u like ted wu? His gowns are very special

Gals.. finally went to see the Dreamz theme.. I only got to know at the very last min that it was today so didnt have the chance to inform you gals..

was pretty disappoint with this theme becos it is not the 'garden' kind of theme that i'm hoping... its quite plain actually .. I guess I might have to stick to Tranquility theme. Though the co-ordinator told us that the nearest to 'garden' theme is summer jazz. But i cant remember much about summer jazz.

Hey Jenn.. u are fast..
do u mean next year there will be three months of lunar 7th month? This year there's two.

hi aegean,

i saw the dreamz theme tat day when i was down to confirm the package too.. it's not so much on 'garden' style.. summer jazz is really the one tat looks very 'garden'.. u can check with ur coord. if there's any summer jazz theme wedding coming up.. then u can go see...

there's 3 x 7th lunar month from now to our wedding date @ 19-Sep-07.. tat's what i meant.. there's 2 this yr n 1 nx yr.. so.. i've barely 11months now to prepare the wedding.. like i said previously, i dun like last min stuffs.. early birds get to eat the worm u know! hee...

Hi Girls..

Excuse me barging in to the forum thread.. am not a Regent bride but was one of the helper for a friend wedding the other night so I thought I give a little feedback on a slight bad experience we had prior to the march in.

Prior abt 3-5 mins to the bride first march in and I was briefing the brothers on how to pop the confettis cannons. One of the banquet manager who saw us armed with the tubes of confettis told us we cannot pop confettis. *faint* they should have list that in the contractif they really say no and not 5 mins prior to the wedding march in. I guess he was being a tad curt and I was not forgiving as well and rant how the hell are we suppose to do since we are commencing the march in soon! Luckily the co-ordinater step in after she heard our small scene, in time to allow us to continue otherwise I cannot imagine how my friend would do her march in. The manager reasoning that the confettis will mess up the entire hotel floor is unacceptable for me to be frank. Although I would accept the argument that the confettis could be a fire hazard.

Please co-ordinate such details with the planner to ensure you brides get your way. I find having to pay a premium for such a nice place they should render better services that what we received.

Hi Jenn, yeah.. i will ask my coord about summer jazz liao..

oh i see ..that's wat u mean by 3x 7th month.. :p u are efficient wor.. :D

Hi Ling, thanks alot for the advise.. actually i didnt know hotels reject confettis canon, i agree this is wrong.. i will take note of such details with my coord.. ;)