Raffles Town Club

hi wise

i din take PS at RTC lors. no time lah. anyway i figure we could the phototaking on that day itself? but now i look at my actual day itinerary, like cannot leh. ke ke ke. anyway too late for worries liao. :P

hi shelle,

your pics very nice and you look very pretty. woah u so slim leh. *envy*. me have not got my proofs yet, only took PS last thu. will update u gals, ok.

hi scribblez

i saw the ctr pc provided by the new vendor grass. and i like it much, i think i wun be changing anything for the ballroom decor liao. cos grass using gold curtains. i think i will request not to put the red carpet and remove the plants at the entrance of the ballroom. me shud be meeting terence after 14 june to confirm the no. of tables. lor.

thanks girls! *blush*

The flower vendor for my dinner is Grass and the floral arrangement for each table is floating tealight with champagne roses (VIP tables, more tealights and red roses). When is your AD, blue?

hi shelle

my AD is on 4th july 04 (sun) lor. i think 1 week before your AD?

hee hee.

me should be choosing deep red roses for everything..

wish me luck too ...

Hi BlueAngel,

so fast hor.. 1 mth & 1 day left..... kan cheong?? so how's prep? cards all send out liao?
how abt yr chocolate boxes tingy??

For BlueAngel & Shelle,
Wish both of you galz have a wonderful wedding & a blissful marriage.

105532.gif

questions do you hv flower girls/ page boys?

BTW shelle, will u be ROM on tat day? how's yr schedule? we plan to hv it before dinner on stage.... tinking of it is giving mi cold feet.

105539.gif

thanks wise..

yes my ROM is on that day itself too. a small ceremony before the dinner.. (not during the dinner)

hi wise

Thanks for your well-wishes.

me already ROM ... i had my ROM/solemnization in concorde hotel function room last year ... 7 course wedding lunch. the service is excellent and they even put up a reception / guest book for us! :P it is really like a mini wedding as my hubby also engage professional photographer for our ROM pics. He is Nxxk Goh lor.

me should be having flower girl ... which is my 2 year old niece. provided she can walk on the aisle in a straight line. ha ha. that one, i let my sister decide whether my niece is up to the task lah. :P

as for the chocolates huh, urm... ke ke

Hi blueangel,

hahaa... u r right abt the flower girl. but anyway, since it a happy events it ok even she cant walk straight... may b must rehearsal before dinner. mi only worried for the kids is tat will get shock to see so many pple watching them.

Oh yes, mi got 2 pairs of kids to let mi "play" kekeee.... mi FH sister hv son & daughter age 3 & 4. then mi nephew & mi friend daughter 10 & 8. so most likely will "used" them. so tat the attention is not only on us. & it will be a gd experience for all to remember ...

btw, any idea how to make a flower ball?
105902.gif

btw, chk wif u, r u chartering bus?
105903.gif

Hi Wise,

PM you liao.

Hi Shelle,

Agree with the rest of the gals, you look very pretty!

All the best to you and to BlueAngel too!

hi wise

shall try ... i will be back in SG in aug after my HM.

anyone got lobang for cheap montage using flash?

so lucky, such a long HM! have fun..

i'm only going off for 1 week, then back to work..

my montage etc is done by Ken of WedTV..

Hi bluangel,

U got mail.

mi planning to take a month leave too. HM onli 1 week, the rest "hang around" @ home. think got no mood to work then... keee.

Oh yes, mi mght be "visiting" you galz in July @ RTC. gg to c the deco. not sure can "bump" into you galz.... wanna to see yr pretty faces... ;p

can check with you on this :
do I or my family members have to be a member of their club in order to have my banquet there? Raffles Marina counted anot?

Hi Princess Lee
Raffles Marina and RTC are not related...

When I booked, they required a membership no. Can be friends' or relatives'. But if you see the earlier postings on this, they may be flexible as well. Just call Terence of RTC and ask!

Hi BlueAngel and Shelle

..your big days coming soon! Must be quite exciting. Wishing you a wonderful time on your special days and happy years to come!

Hi Wise

Thanks for asking
Preps have been great so far..trying to enjoy every moment. Sometimes I think I'm KS but when if you see the mid year 05 brides thread, I'm not early. Now trying to pull my FH to be more active with the preps.
How's urs?
Me still trying to source for AD photographer, any to recommend?
Now considering Kalayedoscope, Yew Kwang, Hurricadia.

Hi all Brides-to-be here

I'm new to this thread and am considering RTC for my wedding, most prob in end 2005 or early 2006.

I would like to gather some feedback regarding the food quality and quantity, service level and overall ambience for their banquet. As a benchmark, maybe a comparison with more established hotels such as Orchard hotel and Holiday Inn?

Has anyone been to the newly renovated The Pines ballroom? How is RTC's ballroom compared to The Pine's?

Would really appreciate some honest feedback. Thanx in advance and happy preparing to all.

I'm also new and is considering RTC for my wedding too after attending a function at its ballroom.....any comments on why you have selected it? the perks that are different/unseen from other venues?

Hi Teng

U've seen the ballroom?? How is it? I've not seen it yet... only seen from the picture on the web and it seems quite nice. Is it pillarless and has high ceiling? Was it a wedding that you attended? How was the food and service?...

Actually I shortlisted based on the price, max capacity and ambience of ballroom... so now still in the process of doing research

Hi Teng and Shelyn
Yep, ballroom is pillarless, ceiling is relatively high.. have u been to RTC? If not just call them up to take a look.

As for the perks, I signed up during the wedding fair so the perks were quite good. RTC is a beautiful place, unique for a wedding and quite central. Food..I think from the comments from this forum and FBO forum..is so so. But min. is 40 tables. Service wise..until now quite ok coz I only met the coordinator twice so far.

i liked the setting and the long aisle..once in a lifetime so the longer the aisle the better and I like the staircase down to the cocktail reception area...I forgot the name of the ballroom liao....

so roughly sweepea...may I know how much did you pay per table?

Hehe..dunno mcu abt the setting though coz I didn't really compare with other ballroons. But I think its nice enough..and especially the stairs! As for the aisle, I think can use the aisle both ways (length and breadth) but the last time I went there it was the shorter aisle. There is only one ballroom and its the Dunearn Ballroom.

As for the price..I took the 600+++ package instead of the 688+++.

Hi SweetPea,

sorry for MIA for a while, am BZ wif work.

mi am looking for GDL stuff went to Jurong west WOW tat shop is exp man!.
u got other lobang??

Duuno if it's too late.
Just wanted to share some feedback that my friends gave after they just attended a RTC wedding dinner over the weekend. I just informed my coordinator about it too.

-Lovely setting.
-Food good but portions small.
-Waiters' service thumbs down coz they are inexperienced and overworked: Clear food without asking if the guests still want them and also it's about 1 server to 3 tables!
Took forever to get a glass of coke.

Hi Poohbear

U with RTC too?

When was the dinner ur fren attended?...Hehe might be Shelle's wedding

I did check with RTC abt this, they say its 1 waiter to 2 tables...hope they confirm this. I think good service is very impt. But anyway, I will also feedback to Terence again.. Thanks for sharing

Just some feedback here. I was at RTC for a wedding dinner recently.

My fren asked the waitress for a shandy (beer mixed with sprite) and she gave the "very unwillingly" look. And said that RTC is not a restuarant. Some crap excuse not to serve that "special" request.

After the sea cucumber dish, our dishes were all wet with the sauc, but they did not change the plate. Another fren asked the same waitress to change his plate, she just gave him a new one. He asked her to change for all of us, she ignored him. My fren fed-up and helped himself to the plates (cos we were seated near the serving area). One of the managers saw this then quickly asked the waitress to replace all the plates. Then she gave us the new plates without clearing the old ones.. Maybe it is only our table tat is so suay to kenna this waitress.

Food portions are okay except for the noodles. Divded among 9 of us, it was not even a full bowl each.

Hope this is useful to future brides like u all.

Hi Sweetpea,

Yup. Me with RTC too. Wedding in Nov.
My friend just attended it last Sun, Jul 4.

Hearing Yve's and my friends' comments, quite worried about their service. Must pray hard that they will improve from now on. When's your wedding?

Mine is 9 Jul next year...
Was also quite worried...now must make sure Terence fulfils what he says...2 tables to 1. I read from earlier threads that many brides also faced this bad service prob..sigh

Hi Sweetpea,

Well mine is earlier so shall continue to remind them.

2 to a table still not so bad but their service cannot be so bad la.... forgetting to serve drinks and looking unhappy really is very bad.

Yve, thanks a lot for the feedback. Must ask RTC which agency they used to hire the banquet staff?!

Sweetpea,

Sigh... coz now my house reno is the midst so almost forgot to book AD photographer. Luckily still managed to get one reasonably preiced one last week.

Tom going for photoshoot. So really buzi.....

Wow..must be so exciting! I can't wait for my PS..but mine will only be next year

Me also in the midst of getting AD photographer.

But BZ also can be happy when you are busy for something good..so happy planning. Which BS you with?

Hi Sweetpea,

My bridal is J&C. Very nice people...
Pray hard it doesn't rain tom. It has been gloomy these few days!!

Paid $500 for my AD photographer.
Dun commit so far. Take your time to source for good deals.

Hi PoohPooh
Hehe..yep. Good weather very impt. Hope you will have a good and fun time!

Me also planning my AD photographer around that 500-600 bucks range. Can I know who you engaged?

Hi Sweetpea,

PS finally over... fun but really tiring esp. when it involves shooting by the beach.
Luckily weather was OK.

I engaged the AD photographer Yu Hua from O Studio. Jaki assured me that she's good so i trusted his judgement.

Had another lobang, Mr Wee, which my second sis-in-law used. Good and reasonable: $450 for 8 rolls. Negatives returned. Free 4pcs x 8R.
(Quite a good deal hor... too bad he not free.)

Try surfing this forum for info on AD photographers. Found lots of interesting insights and u can really see the wide diff in the prices.

Hi Poohpooh

Glad you had a good time.
Mine PS will be after the CNY, and I think its rainy weather that time. Dunno if I should bring it forward.

I think I like Digital shots better, is your Digital?

Anyway, RTC having wedding fair again. You going?

Hi Sweetpea,

I think weather should be ok then. Must depend on luck. Now supposed to be hot but the last few days kept raining.

Yup. Mine is digital.

Oh... when is the fair? Dun mind to attend. How much they charging this time?

Hi Evelyn and Pooh
I got the date from the newsletter..but too bad I dun have it wif me now. Will go home a check and get back to you. Searched their website but not there leh.

Hi PoohPooh did you attend the last one in Mar? Dunno if it will be the same stuff.